User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1848 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 11, 2010
    3
    ill admit that i liked the levels where i could kill the people we are actually at war with, then when it shifted to the russia and an american as bad guys, i hated it. do we really want to start a real war with russia!!!!!! the single player wasnt even close to as amazing as uncharted 2! well, the part where D C was under attack was also cool, but it was ruined by the fact that theill admit that i liked the levels where i could kill the people we are actually at war with, then when it shifted to the russia and an american as bad guys, i hated it. do we really want to start a real war with russia!!!!!! the single player wasnt even close to as amazing as uncharted 2! well, the part where D C was under attack was also cool, but it was ruined by the fact that the russians were attacking and not the the tuscan raiders we are actually fighting. as for the multiplayer, it was fun but got boring really quickly. plus you dont even make multiplayer trophies like you do in uncharted 2. im still waiting for a military game to satisfy my warrior spirit, maybe medal of honor will. hell yea!!!!! Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    The single player may be way too short, the spec ops may be a bit tiring and seem pointless. But the multi-player always brings me back for more. This game is responsible for dragging me away from other great games, however i must say, red dead redemption broke that trend. Anyway, an excellent game and a must-have for all console games. There are many haters out there, but how can youThe single player may be way too short, the spec ops may be a bit tiring and seem pointless. But the multi-player always brings me back for more. This game is responsible for dragging me away from other great games, however i must say, red dead redemption broke that trend. Anyway, an excellent game and a must-have for all console games. There are many haters out there, but how can you complain, never before has a multi-player experience been so immersive. I'm not a fan boy, i play many games, but this game just stands out on the FPS market. Expand
  3. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    I know there are a lot of haters out there(I don't know why) but this is a great game. Trust the real game review sites, not a Battlefield bad company fanboy posting here. Amazing graphics, decent storyline, great sound, amazing co-op, and one of the best multiplayers. A must-have game!
  4. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    After Modern Warfare awesome release, this game is the best! The graphics are excellent, the story is great, and the weapons are cool! But, after playing the missions over and over again..it kinda gets boring. But when you play online, it is entertaining!!! But I liked the game alot!
  5. Oct 28, 2010
    9
    i am a call of duty fan and i have played most of the call of duty games and i think this was a very good game. The campaign was very enjoyable and spec ops is good as well its good teamwork builder. The multi player is very good i admit its full of campers and noob tubers but i cant in good conscience blame the game for that its not infinity ward fault for that its the noobs playing buti am a call of duty fan and i have played most of the call of duty games and i think this was a very good game. The campaign was very enjoyable and spec ops is good as well its good teamwork builder. The multi player is very good i admit its full of campers and noob tubers but i cant in good conscience blame the game for that its not infinity ward fault for that its the noobs playing but the game itself is very well made Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2010
    5
    If this game came out and no other games existed, then yes, this game would deserve a 10. Sadly, for IW, it wasn't. The plot-holed storyline made no sense. It also lacked the amount of suspense and awe that MW had. It is more of a shooter and less of a exciting COD title. The multiplayer is horribly unbalanced. The perks are shoddy at best. The reactions and physics are very unresponsive.If this game came out and no other games existed, then yes, this game would deserve a 10. Sadly, for IW, it wasn't. The plot-holed storyline made no sense. It also lacked the amount of suspense and awe that MW had. It is more of a shooter and less of a exciting COD title. The multiplayer is horribly unbalanced. The perks are shoddy at best. The reactions and physics are very unresponsive. You can knife someone from ten feet away but 4 buckshots from a 12 gauge won't bring you down? What? Despite the many flaws, I still had fun during sp. Expand
  7. Aug 26, 2010
    9
    If you dont have online capabilities do not buy this game. The single player mode is average at best. Split screen is annoying when playing two player. That being said, this game has a very good online multiplayer mode. I spent days playing with friends on this game. Its the best online first person shooter out there with so many different ways of killing your opponent with a vast arrayIf you dont have online capabilities do not buy this game. The single player mode is average at best. Split screen is annoying when playing two player. That being said, this game has a very good online multiplayer mode. I spent days playing with friends on this game. Its the best online first person shooter out there with so many different ways of killing your opponent with a vast array of weapons. One thing that is a bit annoying is that other than team death match and free for all the other modes seem a bit stupid, i mean who wants to capture a flag? this isnt paintballing its supposed to be modern warfare.
    Overall a 9 based on online play.
    Expand
  8. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    How much hate from Battlefield fans is this game getting? A lot. Many people who hate this game say they played the single player in something ridiculous like 3 hours. Simply, they didn't 'play' the game, they rushed through it on recruit deliberately trying to beat the game as quickly as possible so they could boast about how short it is. It isn't 3 hours long. It's probably around 6 or 8How much hate from Battlefield fans is this game getting? A lot. Many people who hate this game say they played the single player in something ridiculous like 3 hours. Simply, they didn't 'play' the game, they rushed through it on recruit deliberately trying to beat the game as quickly as possible so they could boast about how short it is. It isn't 3 hours long. It's probably around 6 or 8 hours long which isn't massive but the set piece moments are so epic they more than make up for it's length. Any longer and they game would feel 'too long' and ruin the single player campaign's 'perfection'. The multiplayer has been getting the most hate, with reviews on Metacritic as lazy as: Commando, Danger Close, One Man Army, unbalanced lag fest. I can't honestly understand the hate behind this game. Sure, it has it's flaws, but at the right moments it's satisfying and fun. The biggest complaint about the multiplayer for me, is probably the grenade launcher. Aside from that it's outright the best multiplayer experience of 2009. The graphics are fantastic, with just a few poor textures de voiding it of perfection. Special Ops is a little boring and uninspired when paired with Nazi Zombies but serves as a decent extension for those bored with the multiplayer. The bottom line is that the single player is very nearly perfect and the multiplayer will last you for many months if you can put up with dying once in a while. Expand
  9. Oct 17, 2012
    7
    While this is a fun game to play with friends, there are some things in this game that will surely disturb many non-hardcore gamers, like the "No Russian" mission.

    Aside from that, MW2 is good fun, just not great. It's the perfect game to play with friends, but you might as well play another game if you're on your own, like Bioshock.
  10. Sep 1, 2010
    7
    The only reason this game got an 8 is because of the multiplayer and spec ops. The single player campaign is really bad. I dont understand why people say its good. If you want a good sFPS campaign, get Killzone 2 or something else. CoD never has good campaigns. The multiplayer as expected is addicting but very broken. constant lag, undedicated servers, glitches make this mpThe only reason this game got an 8 is because of the multiplayer and spec ops. The single player campaign is really bad. I dont understand why people say its good. If you want a good sFPS campaign, get Killzone 2 or something else. CoD never has good campaigns. The multiplayer as expected is addicting but very broken. constant lag, undedicated servers, glitches make this mp frustrating. When you get on smaller maps, ll players do is shoot grenade launchers everywhere so you cant even move. the game needs to be fixed but the developers got fired so there is no fix coming. Expand
  11. Sep 2, 2010
    5
    The Campaign in this game is far, far worse than it's predecessor (not World at War, Modern Warfare 1) and the online action is unblanced, with overpowered guns, perks and killstreaks. Spec Ops is great fun with a mate, but alone or with a stranger online is a different story. Buy CoD4 instead.
  12. Nov 3, 2010
    7
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is an OK first person shooter but doesn't live up to the hype and is in my own opinion, an over rated shooter. I've played more enjoyable shooters on the PlayStation 2 for crying out loud. I didn't care for the story in the single player campaign and the campaign its self is short which is disapointing. In fact, I prefered Call of Duty 4's campaign mode toCall of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is an OK first person shooter but doesn't live up to the hype and is in my own opinion, an over rated shooter. I've played more enjoyable shooters on the PlayStation 2 for crying out loud. I didn't care for the story in the single player campaign and the campaign its self is short which is disapointing. In fact, I prefered Call of Duty 4's campaign mode to this one. There isn't really a lot new in terms of content and considering that when sold as new, the game costs 45 pounds which sounds like a rip off to me; the game feels like an expansion pack rather than a full sequel. However, the single player does throw some great set pieces at you and some of the vehicle sections are great like the Snowmobile chase. The graphics may not be a huge step from Call of Duty 4 but there are some great lighting effects and the environments (especially the snow environments) are nicely detailed. The games does throw you into some intense battles with the enemy and provides a decent challenge. The games audio is also good for the composed music, the dialog and the weapons. It makes you feel like your in an intense battlefield. The weapons that you use in the campaign are good with a nice selection of SMG's, Assault Rifles, Shotguns and Sniper Rifles which all look greatl.The multiplayer is ok and there is deep; there are perks, callsigns and loads of weapon upgrades to unlock like ACOG sights, Heartbeat sensors and FMJ bullets but the Killstreak rewards ruin the experience. Basically, its a reward system that rewards camping and punishes people who just want to play the game. The killstreak reward "AC-130" is just freaking hair tearing annoying and even more annoying is the 25 Killstreak reward "Tactical Nuke" which just ends the match; I just quit the game if it happens. It's so frustrating when you just want to shoot people and then get owned by a Pave-Low time and time again. The maps are ok to play on but I really can't see the point people leveling up to Level 70 because its boring and I got bored of the game when I reached level 50; all you do is unlock different call signs and perks. All you do is the same thing over and over again. The shotguns are over powering as well and I really don't care for the Killcam every time you die; I don't want to be shown how I died, I just want to respawn and get back into the match without having to repeatedly press Square to respawn. Oh yes, the spawning system is broken: Couldn't the game offer some temporally invincibility for you when you resprawn (The deathstreak Painkiller doesn't help at all) because it's so annoying having to respawn in an open space and then get owned by a Harrier shortly after! (On the map Rust, It's pretty much impossible to respawn and not have someones gun butt right up your backside). Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is an OK shooter but you can do a lot better than this game. The single player may provide a few thrills with some intense battles to shoot through with some mindblowing set pieces but Multiplayer is this games main strength which sadly is too flawed to enjoy that much with Killstreaks and campers. Expand
  13. Oct 18, 2010
    2
    You better read this you monkey
    Multiplayer is what everybody playes now.
    I was expecting a Great game with balance and teamwork. My First disapointment was you couldn't choose which map you wanna play, You can only choose with Mode you wanna play and this was for the PC, No mods, No Custom maps, No dedicated Servers, No updates at all. IW doesn't even listen to the players, they are just
    You better read this you monkey
    Multiplayer is what everybody playes now.
    I was expecting a Great game with balance and teamwork.
    My First disapointment was you couldn't choose which map you wanna play, You can only choose with Mode you wanna play and this was for the PC, No mods, No Custom maps, No dedicated Servers, No updates at all.
    IW doesn't even listen to the players, they are just releasning Map packs for 15$.
    Noobtube is a Big thing now with commando and Danger Close which is just like the Sonic boom perk from CoD4.
    G18 is a Major Problem they need to fix and the Killstreaks are too easy to get, 7 kills for Harrier Strike which is just like air strike + Helicopter.
    I didn't Enjoyed the singleplayer at all, Lame reharsh story, Tries to be epic but fails.
    Speciel Ops is only fun with a Freind
    Expand
  14. Sep 8, 2010
    4
    A game that somehow takes Gears 2's excellence in craptastic multiplayer, skullf*cks it, pour lime all over the body, and submerges it in the Pacific ocean. While having a playable SP (if you ignore the awful story) and awesome Spec-Ops, the multiplayer component of MW2 is utter crap. Anything that could have went wrong with the MP did go wrong, from horrible matchmaking to horrendousA game that somehow takes Gears 2's excellence in craptastic multiplayer, skullf*cks it, pour lime all over the body, and submerges it in the Pacific ocean. While having a playable SP (if you ignore the awful story) and awesome Spec-Ops, the multiplayer component of MW2 is utter crap. Anything that could have went wrong with the MP did go wrong, from horrible matchmaking to horrendous balance issues. Matchmaking is a joke, as you will often be paired up with complete morons, whereas the other team is stacked with Clans or users who have no life. The maps are all camper friendly, latency is horrific, often to the point where you will die before you realize you are being shot at. Perks are unbalanced, with some being useless and others (like the Big Three: Stopping Power, Danger Close and Marathon-Lightweight-Commando combo) allowing players to trump any kind of strategy or tactics that one can employ. Most Assault Rifles are way too accurate, allowing for sniper like precision that you can't even get with the actual snipers in the game. Other weapons are too inaccurate to compete with AR's, or are horribly limited in range (i.e. Shotguns). Explosives are used more often than bullets, and are coupled with Danger Close about 75% of the time. Blast Shield is useless against DC users, and Riot Shield users are somehow at a severe disadvantage against knife users in CQC (Two bashes with a shield vs one slash). MLC'er are able to run through gunfire and kill you in one stab. There are no equipment allowances to prevent noob-tube/RPG spamming, and One Man Army allows for users to have infinite tube grenades. Almost everyone spams the Big Three to no end, and Snipers rely on a Stopping Power shot to your kneecap to kill you in one shot, rather than a headshot. Glitches are rampant, and so is cheating. Overall, it's Baby's first FPS, where no skill is required to get a kill and to win the game. Expand
  15. Feb 19, 2011
    7
    Ok game but the online have all hacker, but the singer player good
  16. Feb 9, 2011
    8
    This is the first Call of Duty game I played. And to be honest, it was fun. Awesome gameplay, awesome graphics. However, while I think the game is indeed good, I honestly think there are other games more deserving of this game's billion dollar success.
  17. Sep 20, 2010
    8
    Modern warfare 2 is a great game, with a pretty good amount of stuff to do that will keep us coming back for more and more. I personally was a late adopter of the cod4 game, but once I got on I was in for the long run. When they announced a second one coming out I could not think of a thing they would add. I thought cod 4 was pretty much as good as that kind of game could get, and well IModern warfare 2 is a great game, with a pretty good amount of stuff to do that will keep us coming back for more and more. I personally was a late adopter of the cod4 game, but once I got on I was in for the long run. When they announced a second one coming out I could not think of a thing they would add. I thought cod 4 was pretty much as good as that kind of game could get, and well I guess I was right. The game is almost the same game with the smallest changes. While custom kill streaks and more perks is great, those are things that I could see being implemented in a add on pack or something, but the only thing that is dramatically better is the single player. I really enjoyed the single player on this one but was still not without fault. I think they were trying to go for a big blockbuster kind of game but for me to be a blockbuster you have to have everything, and to me it just feels like this game was trying to take itself too serious and were afraid of doing something different. Maybe it was the publishers pushing the developers but the game came out like a modern warfare 1.5 more than a true sequel to me. Expand
  18. Sep 20, 2010
    4
    The biggest follow-up fail EVER. The campaign is solid, but not nearly as good as CoD4's campaign and the multiplayers is atrocious. OMA dangerclose noobtubes flying everywhere, people literally teleporting 80 feet with commando, it is all for the scrubs, and nothing for the experienced players. Things like painkiller which TRIPLE your health make it impossible to spawn trap in dominationThe biggest follow-up fail EVER. The campaign is solid, but not nearly as good as CoD4's campaign and the multiplayers is atrocious. OMA dangerclose noobtubes flying everywhere, people literally teleporting 80 feet with commando, it is all for the scrubs, and nothing for the experienced players. Things like painkiller which TRIPLE your health make it impossible to spawn trap in domination or sabotage anymore. Marathon lightweight makes it ridiculously easy to run around the map in a a second. The The maps are terrible they encourage camping looking out windows., the assault rifles are overpowered, the boosting in Free-for-all is completely out of control and makes winning FFA's now almost impossible. The care package lets people get 11 killstreaks out of a 4 killstreak. Gamebattles have been ruined because of the extremely aggravating "join in session" BS. Sniper shotgun secondaries map camping even more encouraged along with unlimited claymores. Thermals allow people to literally be told where people are. You will be screaming at the TV constantly with this game. Anyone who is not a douche-bag who abuses these things in the game, and did not make the review before Christmas, has down syndrome, if they gave ti above a 6. Infinity Ward made tons of mistakes with annoying glitches like getting under the map in ranked lobbies. It earned the nickname Modern Warfail 2 Expand
  19. Aug 23, 2013
    6
    I know that you don't buy these games for the campaign. It's all about the multiplayer but Jesus Christ, the campaign is laughable and frustrating. If they at least put some effort into the story, I'd be ok, but it's just terrible. The multiplayer is virtually identical to every Call of Duty out there. It's fun but don't get ya a full hard-on.
  20. Sep 28, 2010
    8
    A really exiting and fun game, the attention to detail is outstanding, and the online play is one of the best around, however there are a few things that annoy me about this game, because it is spoiled by the perks and certyain equipment that ruins the gameplay. All infinity ward care about is taking your money.
  21. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    Very good game. Campaign was pretty good, enjoyable specials ops but you can solo most of them. Multiplayer is good, except for some overpowered guns, dual wielding and perks BUT there are ways to counter these sort of problems as a silenced weapon to mention one. I suspect that the most people who gave this game a bad rating is getting whipped, go into a rage and turn the console off.Very good game. Campaign was pretty good, enjoyable specials ops but you can solo most of them. Multiplayer is good, except for some overpowered guns, dual wielding and perks BUT there are ways to counter these sort of problems as a silenced weapon to mention one. I suspect that the most people who gave this game a bad rating is getting whipped, go into a rage and turn the console off. Yes, multiplayer gets frustrating but once you know the maps, gun combinations, etc this game is very good. Recently new modes was introduced like Barebones Pro where killstreaks are disabled!! So if you have any complaints about overpowered killstreaks just jump into this mode. Expand
  22. Oct 10, 2010
    6
    An over-hyped game with the worst single player campaign I've ever played. Spec ops is way too hardcore to play it on your own and the tweeks that are implemented in the multiplayer make it too unbalanced. Graphics are good, and so is the basic gameplay. This game just doesn't feel fresh.
  23. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    Call of duty Modern Warfare 2 is a really good shooter which has really good online as well. The missions are action packed with lots of action in each of the missions, it has lots of guns you can use in them with RPGâ
  24. Oct 12, 2010
    4
    A horrible, sloppy mess of a game filled to the brim with unbalanced weapons and perks, horrible maps, and glitchers. Modern Warfare 2 is a definitive spit in the face to long-time Call of Duty fans, opting to appeal to the masses with graphics and rookie-friendly gameplay rather than to the core fanbase with balanced gameplay and maps. Even the graphics are only decent at best inA horrible, sloppy mess of a game filled to the brim with unbalanced weapons and perks, horrible maps, and glitchers. Modern Warfare 2 is a definitive spit in the face to long-time Call of Duty fans, opting to appeal to the masses with graphics and rookie-friendly gameplay rather than to the core fanbase with balanced gameplay and maps. Even the graphics are only decent at best in comparison to other 2009 titles. There is little to no replayability offline, and online is an unbalanced lag-fest where shootouts are determined by connection speed/who hides more. Expand
  25. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    Call Of Duty : modern warfare 2, Is without a doubt the best shooting game out. the graphics are wonderful, The game play is awesome!, Playing multi-player online with friends is so fun that you could play it 4 hours non stop, also you never get bored with the game even after playing it 6 hours!. The only problem with the game is the story-mode is a little too short as you could completeCall Of Duty : modern warfare 2, Is without a doubt the best shooting game out. the graphics are wonderful, The game play is awesome!, Playing multi-player online with friends is so fun that you could play it 4 hours non stop, also you never get bored with the game even after playing it 6 hours!. The only problem with the game is the story-mode is a little too short as you could complete it within 6 hours. Overall the story mode is like watching a movie,The Scenes are very intense. At the end of the day i recommend this game to everyone even if you don't play console games you just have to play this game, it is well worth the money!.It is one of the most expensive games out at £55.00 but it is worth it!. The story mode is quiet complicated as you start of as a soldier in Afghanistan fighting the terrorists, The player assumes the role of various characters during the single-player campaign, changing perspectives throughout the progression of the story.
    Each mission features a series of objectives that are displayed on the head up display, which marks the direction and distance towards and from such objectives. Damage to the player is shown by blood shown on the screen. The player's health regenerates as time passes. Tasks vary in their requirements, having the player arrive at a particular checkpoint, eliminate enemies in a specified location, stand their ground to defend an objective, or plant explosive charges on an enemy installation. The player is accompanied by friendly troops who cannot be issued orders. Laptop computers that contain enemy intelligence appear throughout the campaign and may be collected. The Plot is quiet engaging, the Ultranationalists seize control of Russia and declare Imran Zakhaev a hero and martyr, erecting a statue of him in the heart of Red Square. Meanwhile, Vladimir Makarov, one of Zakhaev's former lieutenants, begins a campaign against Europe by committing acts of terrorism over the course of five years.
    Expand
  26. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    Modern ware 2 is a excellent game with epic shooting and epic bombings the whole sounds feel like your in the movie the single player mode is quite good with first hand shooting this game is very good but there is certain things I donâ
  27. Nov 1, 2010
    9
    A solid single player which was actually challenging on normal mode for a change, but the multi-player, as always is what i bought this for and it didn't disappoint, although it is still very laggy at times, and lots of games still end early even though though a new host is meant to be found, but seldom happens efficiently.
  28. Oct 23, 2010
    9
    From start to finish, this is the game all shooters should be compared to. The visuals are epic, the campaign is deep, cool and entertaining and the multiplayer is a breath of fresh air from those horrible clunky 3rd person shooters! In fact the only reason this game doesn't deserve a 10 is there's a balance problem. Noob tubes can be annoying and campers are just a huge pain in the ass.From start to finish, this is the game all shooters should be compared to. The visuals are epic, the campaign is deep, cool and entertaining and the multiplayer is a breath of fresh air from those horrible clunky 3rd person shooters! In fact the only reason this game doesn't deserve a 10 is there's a balance problem. Noob tubes can be annoying and campers are just a huge pain in the ass. I'm not a guy that hates a game for small flaws but these definitely count into the final score. People should really see past the fact that yes there's an extremely irritating grenade launcher and heartbeat sensor but if they took that out people would find another way to be **** noobs. IW did a class job on this game and it should be remembered for a long time to come. Expand
  29. Jul 8, 2011
    8
    This game is actually my first COD game and i truly enjoyed every minute of it and would recommend it to any FPS fan. The multiplayer stood out for me with countless replaybility and a lot of fun and the campaign is solid. IW did a lot of things right with the exception of a few things like the one army perk as well as the noob tubers but other than that this game is a lot fun.
  30. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    Single player is pretty solid. But lets be fair it's about multiplayer . Akelz7 made a very good point. People who are rubbish at this game & get owned say it's poor because they are no good. Put in a lot of time in this game. Experience the perks. The weapons , the attachments and the levels and you will appreciate it in a whole new way. This game is faaaar from perfect however.Single player is pretty solid. But lets be fair it's about multiplayer . Akelz7 made a very good point. People who are rubbish at this game & get owned say it's poor because they are no good. Put in a lot of time in this game. Experience the perks. The weapons , the attachments and the levels and you will appreciate it in a whole new way. This game is faaaar from perfect however. Overpowered air support. Stupidly powerful secondaries ( shotguns as secondaries come on!) . The guns also lack recoil and sway meaning they have a point and click feel and don't come close to a realistic feel. Taking into consideration all the previous points mentioned and the constant anger pointed at tubers and commando users and blah blah blah. It is still the best game on the market for people who want frantic, fun and action packed first person shooting. The only problem with enjoying this game online is that you HAVE to put in the time to be good at it FACT. Overall 2.5 years after it's release.6 months after Black ops and a few months after Killzone 3's release ( also a good game) it is still the best FPS out there by a long stretch. Expand
  31. Nov 2, 2010
    7
    Neither the masterpiece the media claims it to be, nor the horrible bland game the haters want you to think about it. It's simply a good game that happens to be overhyped. It's still an enjoyable game, just not earth-shattering.
  32. Nov 2, 2010
    5
    Modern Warfare 2 is probably the first direct sequel to any Call of Duty game in the series. The game it lays sequel to is the almighty Cod4 (AKA Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare.). Before that game the series was just another shooter to stack shelves with. The multiplayer is where people spend most of the time they have with their games on and this leads to a short campaign but a good oneModern Warfare 2 is probably the first direct sequel to any Call of Duty game in the series. The game it lays sequel to is the almighty Cod4 (AKA Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare.). Before that game the series was just another shooter to stack shelves with. The multiplayer is where people spend most of the time they have with their games on and this leads to a short campaign but a good one at that. The campaign delivers moments of intrigue and twist as it goes on. The game play features some unique battles to be remembered. It also features a sniper mission as does the original Modern Warfare because that's what everyone remembers from the original campaign. The graphics in the game are stunning and on par with the best in the industry today. The controls on the PS3 are OKAY and could use some improvement. This is where the review takes a dramatic turn. MULTIPLAYER. The dread of getting a game invite or even the seeing the multiplayer options is just about outrightly scary for many people. The number of people modding and cheating in this game is **** INSANE!!! Also getting screwed over is something everybody will have happen at least once a day in multiplayer. You can call in a bombing run for a consecutive number of kills and you better pray you don't die in it or it's possible that the enemy will receive at least 2 points off you because it's about 75% likely you'll die when you re spawn too. I suggest buying this game enjoying campaign until 100% completion (same goes for the special ops missions) and then selling it. That is all the game is worth playing for, Campaign and Spec-Ops. Expand
  33. Dec 28, 2010
    9
    This game is really great and there is no denying this. The campaign was solid, really exciting, adrenaline pumped, had a good plot, good scenes and cut scenes, and of course connectable bad ass characters. The sound is great and realistic, and the musical score really adds to make the scene. Specs mode is lots of fun, there are TONS of missions that will keep you busy for awhile which youThis game is really great and there is no denying this. The campaign was solid, really exciting, adrenaline pumped, had a good plot, good scenes and cut scenes, and of course connectable bad ass characters. The sound is great and realistic, and the musical score really adds to make the scene. Specs mode is lots of fun, there are TONS of missions that will keep you busy for awhile which you can do with your friends at different difficulties. All of them are unique in their own way and so much fun. Now lets get to the MP. It seems that now that it seems to be the "cool" thing to hate on mw2 ridiculously. I find this completely stupid and hypocritical. People the complain about the game continue to play it, which means IW must of done something right to make it that fun and addicting to make you continue playing. People don't give the game enough credit and fail to realize what it's done. It has awesome killstreaks, awesome tight guns, graphically beautiful and original maps. I have never had so much fun with an FPS before in my life. COD4 is more balanced, but as fun or as packed as MW2. Yes, the nuke boosting and noob tubes can sometimes be a nuisance but it's not the end of the world as hardcore gamers claim. It's liveable. I love using the AC130 and love going for the nuke as a challenge. And you know what? The flaws of the game make the game more interesting and provide for rants and a "booster justice" game mode. MW2 is by far a much better game than Black Ops. Anyone who says different, is obviously in denial and is a stupid hypocrite. Expand
  34. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    COD4:MW2 - Continues where it's older brother left off. It has to be said it isn't the strongest single player game ever released and most people probably don't even bother with that aspect of the game. Sure the graphics are good and there are some fun and memorable bit's but it is all very liner and so hectic that you have a job to know what's going on.

    The big thing about the COD series
    COD4:MW2 - Continues where it's older brother left off. It has to be said it isn't the strongest single player game ever released and most people probably don't even bother with that aspect of the game. Sure the graphics are good and there are some fun and memorable bit's but it is all very liner and so hectic that you have a job to know what's going on.

    The big thing about the COD series is it was one of the first console multi player first person shooters to be played online, COD and Medal of Honour have been played by PC gamers for years and years, but the console and COD bought it to the masses, there are quite a few people I know who own a PS3 and only have 2 games, COD MW1 & MW2, that is how cult this game has become.

    Nothing comes close to the experience you get from playing COD online and any other FPS games now really do get labelled as imitiations as COD were one of the first. The key here is the addictive way you are rewarded, by earning XP the online mode is more like an offline platform games, it hooks you in with the promise of shiny new guns or perks. A bit like the trophy system on the PS3 you are compelled to go back for more.

    You can pick it up and play it for 5mins, 10mins or 3 hours and have some fun, most other games require a lot more attention and concentration.

    Sure it's not realistic and can be frustrating at times, there are a few glitches in the game and people hacking their online scores to be top, but I've got hours and hours of fun out of it and I don't regret it.
    Expand
  35. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    The sequel to COD4 I'd give 90 out of 100 compared to the 94 out of 100 I gave COD4. This game added a few "tweaks" to the multiplayer making it even more fun. After all, the perks and leveling is what makes the game addictive and the "options" you have for kill streak bonuses are even greater. But, the single player was hard to follow. It again had some great moments but I'm sure manyThe sequel to COD4 I'd give 90 out of 100 compared to the 94 out of 100 I gave COD4. This game added a few "tweaks" to the multiplayer making it even more fun. After all, the perks and leveling is what makes the game addictive and the "options" you have for kill streak bonuses are even greater. But, the single player was hard to follow. It again had some great moments but I'm sure many felt it was more of the same but with much less plot or any direction. While SP was fun I didn't really understand what the story was all about because it seemed to jump around a bit with very little tying it all together. So, even though this game was great and equally addictive as COD4 there are definitely some irritations such as the knuckleheads that run around with marathon, lightweight, and commando perks. Imagine some teenage punk running around twice the speed as humanly possible, unlimited sprint, stabbing you from clear across the room before you can even put a single round into him with a sub machine gun... not very realistic. If they took away just a couple of these annoying perks the game would be more fun and probably the only reason I can't give this game a 10.

    I will be looking to Battlefield Bad Company 2 next to see what this is all about. It claims to be a more realistic MP experience and it might be a good change of pace for this genre. I will give my thoughts on that in a little bit after I've played it for a while.
    Expand
  36. Dec 22, 2010
    4
    I got this game only because I have some cousins who play it all the time and I thought it would be nice to play online with them, but after a few online matches getting my butt kicked I decided I needed to play single player campaign to get the hang of it faster without too much humiliation but even when I finished the campaign (it was really short by the way, took me 2 days) I keptI got this game only because I have some cousins who play it all the time and I thought it would be nice to play online with them, but after a few online matches getting my butt kicked I decided I needed to play single player campaign to get the hang of it faster without too much humiliation but even when I finished the campaign (it was really short by the way, took me 2 days) I kept sucking at mp, so I stopped playing this game and got killzone 2, I liked kz2 multiplayer more than mw2 even when I hated the stupid campaign (I hate science fiction that involves alien invasions) and I wasn't getting my butt kicked too badly so i asked myself wtf was wrong with me when I played mw2? and after a while I figured it was the unbalanced difficulty specially with the freaking perks and killstreaks. so after two months I sold it and never regretted. Expand
  37. Mar 31, 2012
    8
    Modern Warfare 2 was a hugely entertaining first person shooter. It's addictive online component was top of the class, presenting a brace of great maps, a ton of customization options and a pitch-perfect control scheme. The single player was massively over-the-top, like a video game version of a Michael Bay film. Heck, you even played out the shower scene from The Rock! But the campaignModern Warfare 2 was a hugely entertaining first person shooter. It's addictive online component was top of the class, presenting a brace of great maps, a ton of customization options and a pitch-perfect control scheme. The single player was massively over-the-top, like a video game version of a Michael Bay film. Heck, you even played out the shower scene from The Rock! But the campaign was all the better for it's insanity and although short, it was also completely awesome and unforgettable. Expand
  38. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    best call of duty, only people that dont like this game are people who are bad at it and dont like getting nube tubed. All the noobs complaining about this game is what brought black ops which is definitely the worst cod.
  39. Jan 21, 2011
    4
    Thanks to the mindless and downgraded story, a short campaign, a disappointing spec-ops mode, and broken multiplayer, Modern Warfare 2 is one of the biggest disappointments ever in gaming. On top of that, it is just a bad game, and does not live up to the quality that Infinity Ward has given us before. Modern Warfare 2 is a game that even Call of Duty fans should rebel against!
  40. Jan 25, 2011
    8
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is a pretty good game that was unfortunately stuck in the role of the bastard stepchild. It fell prey to the pitfalls of most sequels: most notably that developers simply tried too hard to top the original. That was a mountain to climb, Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is deserving of its unofficial title of the best shooter this generation. As a result, ICall of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is a pretty good game that was unfortunately stuck in the role of the bastard stepchild. It fell prey to the pitfalls of most sequels: most notably that developers simply tried too hard to top the original. That was a mountain to climb, Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is deserving of its unofficial title of the best shooter this generation. As a result, I think that while things are bigger, faster, louder, and crazier, that doesnâ Expand
  41. Jul 31, 2011
    9
    I really don't know why everybody is **** about this game, the story is good, good graphics, decent game play, amazing multiplayer (and no I am not a Cod bum, I am not even that good). Sure not much has changed but why mess with a good formula.
  42. Mar 24, 2011
    8
    More improved on graphics and sound makes it even more impressive than the one that was released two years ago. The problem I had was that the plotline was so over the top that it would have been better served if they added more background depth with cutscences, conversations, news reports. Sort of makes the story hollow when it's barely touched upon. Still, these are extremely fun games.
  43. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    Stunning. Could'nt lay down the controller in campaign mode. Getting into multiplayer as well, at first ridiculously tough, but now moving up in rank fast. Co-op special ops are fun too. Full-on, this game.
  44. Mar 16, 2011
    8
    I rate it an 8 purely on the multi-player. The campaign sucked and I mean it, I finished for the trophies. Great multiplayer! Keep it up IW! You should make stacked killstreaks again!
  45. May 23, 2011
    10
    This game has a user score of 57 as opposed to a critic score of 94. This tells me that it's a high quality game, but people don't like it because they suck. Now whether or not you LIKE a game is subjective, and I'm sure that there are people who actually don't. However, the majority of negative reviews here are just people **** that they got killed in MP.
  46. May 10, 2011
    9
    Following the groundbreaking and game changing Modern Warfare was never going to be an easy task. And whilst their are those who have slated and wrote this game off, I certainly don't fall into that category. Modern Warfare 2 is simply an amazing game. It doesn't have the effect that the original had on me but it was never going to instead its the all round improvement that makes youFollowing the groundbreaking and game changing Modern Warfare was never going to be an easy task. And whilst their are those who have slated and wrote this game off, I certainly don't fall into that category. Modern Warfare 2 is simply an amazing game. It doesn't have the effect that the original had on me but it was never going to instead its the all round improvement that makes you appreciate MW2 all the more. Just like the first game, single player mode is far too short. Thats the only disappointing aspect of the game you can complete it in under 5-6 hours. However the 5-6 hours are awesome. Again you play as 2 characters this time the your aim is to stop ultranationalist Vladimir Makarov who was a follower of MW villain Imran Zakhaev. The story takes you all over the globe from Rio to Afghanistan however it is a bit farfetched and at times you wonder what is going on but it is a game afterall. And the gameplay more than makes up for it. It uses the same engine from the first game, if something ain't broke why fix it? But somehow it seems better if thats possible! Also, the settings really do help with each level some of the graphics/visuals within each environment are gorgeous and only add to the experience. There's a big improvement in that department from the original, because as ive said visually MW2 is fantastic. The clincher for MW2 that makes it in a class of its own is Online/Multiplayer. Despite how short single player mode is Multiplayer more than makes up for it. You will find yourself engrossed online for hours on end, its terribly addictive. The levels give you a decent variety but aren't anywhere near as big as Battlefield. With multiple options on offer you can't go wrong online and you will always find yourself coming back for more! Then there is the new Spec-Ops which only adds to your experience and is an awesome addition to CoD letting you play alone or co-op with a friend you sample all the locations of the campaign but with different objectives and rewards which are divided into five different group mission, you can't go wrong with this and is a geat alternative if you get somehow manage to get bored online. As an all round package MW2 is dynamite. Single player will leave you both enthralled and frustarted by its shortness however is made up with the variety of options made available including the new Spec-Ops as well as the even dependable online, MW2 oncemore raises the bar and delivers another stellar performance and establishes itself as the number one game franchise. Expand
  47. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    Best Call of duty game in my veiw. Gripping Campaign, Brilliant multiplayer and i cant stop playing even though its 2011. the graphics are even better than black ops still 2 years ahead of MW2 i prefer it and many people i know do aswell.
  48. Apr 8, 2011
    6
    Ok, let's all be honest with ourselves for a moment: The SP story is B>A>D! Ridiculous, over the top, attempts at controversy abound! Ooooh, how badass! A scene where we mow down civilians... Don't even get me started about the "twist" ending! Utter garbage. The SP gameplay doesn't fare much better. What happened to the well crafted pacing of the first MW? A lot of the action is soOk, let's all be honest with ourselves for a moment: The SP story is B>A>D! Ridiculous, over the top, attempts at controversy abound! Ooooh, how badass! A scene where we mow down civilians... Don't even get me started about the "twist" ending! Utter garbage. The SP gameplay doesn't fare much better. What happened to the well crafted pacing of the first MW? A lot of the action is so overblown that you are usually left with absolutely NO CLUE as to what the hell is going on, let alone why. Same as the story. Wherein the last one jumping around to different locales suited the story... here it just leaves you shaking your head, wondering what the F is going on. VERY POOR. 3/10 for SP. Tops! MP is an entirely different animal, however, and saves the game from being the usual overhyped letdown. MP gets just about everything right. Most of the maps are well balanced. The mechanics solid. Matches are easy to get in and out of. Lag being the only considerable issue here. Why IW doesn't spring for dedicated servers is beyond me! It's not like they don't have the money. Mp gets 9/10. Update: MP was fantastic... right up until it got hacked beyond all recognition!!! Biggest security breach I have ever witnessed! I'm not sure if it's been fixed yet, as I haven't been back in awhile to check it out, but, seriously! Wow! Sadly, the hacking is creeping into Black Ops... Overall: 3/10 + 9/10 = 6/10 Expand
  49. Jul 26, 2011
    9
    Similar to the counter part ( Xbox 360 version) in every way. The graphics , even with Blue Ray integrated isn't much difference , nothing at all to be more specific. Gameplay is inverted if you have played the 360 version, for instance if you shot in the 360 version in the RT, therefore in the PS3 version you shoot in the R1. PS3 version got a taste of what or how good the multiplayerSimilar to the counter part ( Xbox 360 version) in every way. The graphics , even with Blue Ray integrated isn't much difference , nothing at all to be more specific. Gameplay is inverted if you have played the 360 version, for instance if you shot in the 360 version in the RT, therefore in the PS3 version you shoot in the R1. PS3 version got a taste of what or how good the multiplayer of MW2 , but the constant Hacker's, Bugs , glitches is a busy struggle for those that want a nice moment of entertainment . Either way, if you like shooters I recommend you to play Black Ops if you don't want multiplayer problems, absolutely . Don't get me wrong, Modern Warfare is still playable, the campaign is fantastic and the multiplayer plays nice, it's just that those problems deteriorate the enjoyment , if you insist , well then have luck, Even with the updates. Expand
  50. Apr 14, 2011
    4
    I have had this game for awhile, but never reviewed it. It doesn't even deserve to be reviewed. I do not know how this game got high reviews, personally I do not even look at "professional" reviews, because they are all lieing scum. I'm pretty sure that reviewers would of gave super man 64 a good review aswell if they paid them.
    The game is ugly, the sound is terrible, and the single
    I have had this game for awhile, but never reviewed it. It doesn't even deserve to be reviewed. I do not know how this game got high reviews, personally I do not even look at "professional" reviews, because they are all lieing scum. I'm pretty sure that reviewers would of gave super man 64 a good review aswell if they paid them.
    The game is ugly, the sound is terrible, and the single player was crap, even the multiplayer is garbage. The people who made this game didn't care that hard working people would waste their money on this crap, they were just in it rush it and make money.
    Expand
  51. Apr 17, 2011
    10
    This game has it all in my opinion. Great single player, the Special Operations games are fantastic and the Online Multiplayer is terrific. I don't understand the lows scores, since I would highly recommend this game as one of the best shooter experiences I've played. The whole package...
  52. Apr 20, 2011
    0
    This game is horrible, its loaded with glitches and the map design sucks. Beyond that the weapons are not balanced at all and there is no fun to be found.
  53. Jul 25, 2012
    8
    Whilst the story isn't as good as its predecessor, Modern Warfare 2 does build quite spectacularly on the multiplayer in the game, and adds the fun Special Ops game mode. However, Modern Warfare is going to need something to make it stand out from other shooters besides its reputation if it continues.
  54. May 24, 2011
    10
    Quite possibly the best game I have played in over 20 years of playing video games (definitely logged the most hours on this game by far). It boggles my mind to read so many negative reviews for this game. The campaign mode is amazing, and the multiplayer is extremely addicting. As with any game, there are some flaws (as noted in other reviews), but I'm pretty sure the perfect game has notQuite possibly the best game I have played in over 20 years of playing video games (definitely logged the most hours on this game by far). It boggles my mind to read so many negative reviews for this game. The campaign mode is amazing, and the multiplayer is extremely addicting. As with any game, there are some flaws (as noted in other reviews), but I'm pretty sure the perfect game has not been created yet. Can't wait for MW3. Expand
  55. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    This game was breathtaking. my first fps multiplayer experience was incredible. the graphics made me believe i was actually in the game. the campaign was awesome. the story did a horrible job of explaining itself, but each specific mission left me on the edge of my seat. it was short, but very good. the mp was great. there were quite a few bugs in the beginning, but they were fixedThis game was breathtaking. my first fps multiplayer experience was incredible. the graphics made me believe i was actually in the game. the campaign was awesome. the story did a horrible job of explaining itself, but each specific mission left me on the edge of my seat. it was short, but very good. the mp was great. there were quite a few bugs in the beginning, but they were fixed relatively quickly. i LOVED the title and emblem system. gave me a purpose to keep playing the game long after i had gotten to tenth prestige. most of the maps were great. they were a few that pised me off, but mostly they were great. there were problems with hackers and modders, but almost every game is going to have problems with that. i can see why people wouldn't like the game, but the pros GREATLY outweigh the cons. and please stop saying that BFBC2 is better. i played both, and enjoyed both. they are two separate entities. so please dont **** on our game and we wont **** on yours Expand
  56. Jun 5, 2011
    8
    Great game, that's all I can say. Not excellent, but great. Activision did a good job perfecting the previous gameplay mechanics from Cod 4, but I have to say that there wasn't much of a transition from Cod 4 to this one(excluding Cod 5). Starting with the single player, I had thoroughly enjoyed it, although didn't find it quite difficult, but the story, mechanics, graphics, and gameplayGreat game, that's all I can say. Not excellent, but great. Activision did a good job perfecting the previous gameplay mechanics from Cod 4, but I have to say that there wasn't much of a transition from Cod 4 to this one(excluding Cod 5). Starting with the single player, I had thoroughly enjoyed it, although didn't find it quite difficult, but the story, mechanics, graphics, and gameplay were awesome. The Spec Ops was my favourite part of the game, the numerous mini missions were quite intriguing as they progressively became more difficult. And finally, the multiplayer, although I have to admit that it was enjoyable, but there isn't much depth and it suffers through some equalization problems compared to Cod 4. Overall, it was a nice game, I do understand why all my classmates are addicted to it, and I admit that I was at a time addicted to it as well, but it isn't "The Game", so Cod heads out there need to get a grip, but nonetheless, a game worth playing! Expand
  57. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    cccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooolllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllcccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooolllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll ggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaammmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee Expand
  58. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    This game may not be the best game ever, but it has a fun not too hard story mode and has great special ops and is really fun to play with friends and online
  59. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    I think this is the best game in the world! I really like the single player and the spec ops are very funny.
  60. Aug 2, 2011
    7
    The Call of Duty creators must be criticized for having the greatest opportunity in the industry with unlimited resources to only coming up with something half good and not a masterpiece. Call of Duty MW2 has its production values, its popular, it has high quality models, shooting animations and sounds which do provides players some immediate satisfying gameplay (for a short time). But theThe Call of Duty creators must be criticized for having the greatest opportunity in the industry with unlimited resources to only coming up with something half good and not a masterpiece. Call of Duty MW2 has its production values, its popular, it has high quality models, shooting animations and sounds which do provides players some immediate satisfying gameplay (for a short time). But the overall 'game' of MW2 is a mixed bag and fails to be something really special, not just a 'fun' or 'popular' game. The single player story is a bad joke, the themes and meanings the story portrays are a contradictory muddled mess. The special Op missions do offer some well designed gameplay but why the story mode is not intertwined is confusing, I would have preferred the entire story dropped for more Special Ops. The multiplayer can be fun for short periods of time but does lack depth which is why it has not resonated as a competitive Esport title. I do recommend MW2 due its surface fun and value for money but it lacks to what should have been something much much more. Expand
  61. Aug 26, 2011
    9
    a good game,not reaching the levels of the first MW, but seen in its own self, a satisfying experience. Wish Infinity Ward had done something different to attract more gamers.
  62. Mar 21, 2014
    8
    Actually an 8.5. To me, this has the best online in the series, despite it being unbalanced. (The unbalance somehow make it awesome). The maps are also awesome. I don't why but for some reason, online feels better here than in MW3. As for single-player, the plot was just riddled with movie-references. It also suffers plot-holes. But to be honest, the US Ranger campaign is just amazing.Actually an 8.5. To me, this has the best online in the series, despite it being unbalanced. (The unbalance somehow make it awesome). The maps are also awesome. I don't why but for some reason, online feels better here than in MW3. As for single-player, the plot was just riddled with movie-references. It also suffers plot-holes. But to be honest, the US Ranger campaign is just amazing. Sure it's just another "Russians have invaded the US", but you feel like a real soldier, and that there's a reason to fight. There's an atmosphere of desperation, thanks to the soundtrack. If only the other half of the singleplayer was like this. Heck, I wish the present COD campaigns were like this! So I believe you ought to own this game. The singleplayer is great (at least the US campaign), and there's still people online. Expand
  63. Jul 8, 2011
    4
    I loved COD4. It had a great story and a multi player than was the one other shooters looked up to. Sadly Modern Warfare 2 does not do this. I am one of the few players who enjoyed the story of MW2 however. I thought the campaign was excellent. It was fast paced and gave the emotion that a video game plots needs. Spec Ops is also a fun mode, where you take on missions based on aI loved COD4. It had a great story and a multi player than was the one other shooters looked up to. Sadly Modern Warfare 2 does not do this. I am one of the few players who enjoyed the story of MW2 however. I thought the campaign was excellent. It was fast paced and gave the emotion that a video game plots needs. Spec Ops is also a fun mode, where you take on missions based on a campaign. These modes are the only reasons that MW2 gets a 4. The multi player is a complete disaster. With unbalanced perks that are more powerful than they are supposed to be. (ex Commando which, in theory gives you longer knifing distances but in use; can allow you to kill a player that is halfway on the other side of the map.) The kill streaks promote camping, due to the kill streaks going towards your next one.(ex. if you get a harrier and that gets 4 kills you can get a chopper gunner which is a very overpowered kill streak that can be used to get the nuke.) This creates players in corners camping with shotguns and tactical insertions. Not to mention the grenade launchers, RPG, and quick scoping; which in all ruin the experience. Overall the only thing MW2 is worth purchasing for is the single player and spec ops. Rent it before you buy. Expand
  64. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    This is my second cod game that ive played. I really enjoyed the single player campaign it was epic and a lot of fun. But too short. The spec ops is very fun after you've finished the campaign most missions are based on the campaign, you unlock more spec ops missions by earning stars. The Multiplayer is a fun but that fun can be taken away by: Shotguners, Greanade Launchers, RPG's. OverThis is my second cod game that ive played. I really enjoyed the single player campaign it was epic and a lot of fun. But too short. The spec ops is very fun after you've finished the campaign most missions are based on the campaign, you unlock more spec ops missions by earning stars. The Multiplayer is a fun but that fun can be taken away by: Shotguners, Greanade Launchers, RPG's. Over powered perks like commando. The killstreaks are way too over powered. Once you get a harrier you get 4 kills with it. That makes you move on to the chopper gunner. And that leads to a tactical nuke. These are bad parts about it. When you are doing very good and are on a roll it's highly addicting.Overall it's a great game. Expand
  65. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    For me, the best first-person shooter video game of the year (2009). I play some other Call of Duty titles, but this one was the best campaign ever made. The really good thing about MW2 is definitely de on line mode (the best that i ever play). I recommended.
  66. Aug 26, 2011
    9
    From Infinity Ward comes the much anticipated Modern Warfare 2. You are 4 characters in this game PFC Joseph Allen, Pvt Ramirez, Sgt Gary "Roach" Sanderson and Soap the main protaginast from MW1. My rant is the PC multiplayer it is only adhoc matches which is a total pain. But a bonus for the Console multiplayer is an offline profile I play alot of offline for practice and with fantasticFrom Infinity Ward comes the much anticipated Modern Warfare 2. You are 4 characters in this game PFC Joseph Allen, Pvt Ramirez, Sgt Gary "Roach" Sanderson and Soap the main protaginast from MW1. My rant is the PC multiplayer it is only adhoc matches which is a total pain. But a bonus for the Console multiplayer is an offline profile I play alot of offline for practice and with fantastic new maps and perks it is sort of great. The story is a bit all over the place until you get to the middle i loved the end. It is an auditory masterpiece from the heart pumping music to the guns i love it and it looks stunning in the top 5 FPS's ive ever played. Overall Modern Warfare 2 is the best COD game out i'll give it 9.5. The Review is on my blog at url http://maximalistgtg.blogspot.com/2011/08/call-of-duty-modern-warfare-2.html Expand
  67. Jul 22, 2011
    3
    A really generic, terrible, and easy game that was fun for the first half hour. So to start off, I'll talk about the single-player 'campaign'. The graphics are actually pretty good but are only above average compared to title such as Uncharted: Drake's Fortune (which came out in 2007 I must add), Uncharted 2: Among Thieves, Killzone 2 and 3, and the list goes on. Call of Duty 4: ModernA really generic, terrible, and easy game that was fun for the first half hour. So to start off, I'll talk about the single-player 'campaign'. The graphics are actually pretty good but are only above average compared to title such as Uncharted: Drake's Fortune (which came out in 2007 I must add), Uncharted 2: Among Thieves, Killzone 2 and 3, and the list goes on. Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare (which also came out in 2007) is still a much better game, with a story grounded in reality making it believable, immersive and just downright amazing. In Modern Warfare 2 the story follows a fictional team of renegade military combatants who somehow manage to gain access to elite weaponry despite being hunted down by the US military. This game took the amazing, compelling and non-gimmicky storyline from the first Modern Warfare and stuck it's mataphorical fingers up at it. The game's story focuses on crappy set-peices and stupid, overused moments of action that get to be boring after the first five times you do them. The story is horribly clichéd and patchily put together making this game a chore to play after the initial exitement has packed it's bags and left. As for length, the game will last at the very most, about 7 hours which is nothing compared to the much better Mass Effect 3, and that's on the highest difficulty, whilst finding all the intel, getting every single single-player trophy and taking you're time to doddle about in the pathetic mission design. It took me three hours to complete the game on regular difficulty the second time I played through it. To be honest, this game is like that high budget, badly acted, heavily clichéd action packed movie that you thought you wanted to see but were left disappointed and had that feeling of 'wow, what a waste of my hard earned money' at the end. This taking into consideration that this game was priced at £55 instead of the standard £40 that PS3 games are today. And for those of you who bought the £120 Prestige Edition of the game expecting an even better, more thrilling story than CoD4 like me, I know how you feel. Sick to the stomach. However the story isn't all that bad. There are extremely good levels to play (the snow airbase stealth mission for example), but they are plagued by disasterous AI and bad particle effects (is there even any?) in the enviroment. If you want a truly story driven masterpeice worthy of a bit of stealth and epic shoot-outs, and you want a game which will last about 20 hours which is a smart and tactical shooter buy Metal Gear Solid 4 brand new for abou £15 from play.com, it's one of the best games out there and trumps MW2 in almost every single way in terms of single-player. None of this is helped by the fact that 40+ members of the great Infinity Ward walked out during developement due to low payment and barely any freedom of developement due to the publishing company, infamous Activision, basically giving them an outline of exactly what the game should be like, with infinity ward just colouring between the lines. Vince Zampella and Jason West, original creators of the Call of Duty series and head developers at the former true Infinity Ward, publicly displayed thier anger at Activision after being fired by them as they tried to escape Activision's stranglehold on thier devolopement of thier game. On to the multiplayer element of this absurd game then. At first the multiplayer was extremely sattisfying and fun but a few weeks in and the main fanbase of brainless 8-16 year old monkeys and idiots flooded in spewing abuse over the mic. in every game you play. suddenly people start glitching the poorly designed maps and exploited them to get cheap wins and kills. Alot of these have now been patched but alot equally still exist, and the ones that have been patched are stupid negative pushing barriers or invisible walls. Just plain lazy. People start using all the unbalanced weapons like the now infamous UMP45 and 'noobtubing' incesantly everywhere. Another thing that cropped up in the CoD multiplayer is a thing called 'quickscoping'. Some fanboys of the series (who will completely disagree with this review, making MW2 out to be the best game that has ever existed) will say that quickscoping is amazing, but it really isn't. you go in a game and you're guaranteed that over 75% of people in the game will be playing with a sniper using it in the completely wrong way. This is an issue. As a long running Call of Duty player and fan of the series
    , I am deeply sorrowed to see the game take the same route as the Guitar Hero series did. It's sad to see what used to be my favourite multiplayer game get gradually worse and worse because of a lack of innovation as the multiplayer is just re-skinned year after year. Call of Duty must evolve or die, especially with upcoming Modern Warfare 3 looking almost identical to MW2. It's for these reasons I will be moving on to the smart gamer's FPS with Battlefield 3.
    Expand
  68. Aug 4, 2011
    5
    The story was quite enjoyable but it was hard to know what was going on and why stuff happened, Spec Ops is really fun especially with a friend. Now the mulitplayer, seeing as the multiplayer is the biggest part of this game it accounts for most of the score which you can see is very low. It is really unbalanced, you have the people camping to get the killstreaks and the weapons, well theThe story was quite enjoyable but it was hard to know what was going on and why stuff happened, Spec Ops is really fun especially with a friend. Now the mulitplayer, seeing as the multiplayer is the biggest part of this game it accounts for most of the score which you can see is very low. It is really unbalanced, you have the people camping to get the killstreaks and the weapons, well the weapons are totally overpowered and then you get the perk "stopping power" to make it even more powerful and then you have the hackers and glitchers. If IW released a multiplayer beta some of these problems might not exist but they don't care Expand
  69. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    This is the best FPS game I have ever played. Really good customization and the fun never ends with all the Map Packs. And thats it. All the Negatives are battlefield fans or noobs.
  70. Aug 17, 2011
    9
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, is the sixth installment in the popular first person shooter series. And yes, it's the best one yet. The Campaign is amazing, and first follows PFC Joseph Allen, a newly recruited member of Task Force 141. Meanwhile, Allen is later killed at an airport in Moscow. He was taking place in an undercover mission, which he was forced to participate in a massacreCall of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, is the sixth installment in the popular first person shooter series. And yes, it's the best one yet. The Campaign is amazing, and first follows PFC Joseph Allen, a newly recruited member of Task Force 141. Meanwhile, Allen is later killed at an airport in Moscow. He was taking place in an undercover mission, which he was forced to participate in a massacre of civilians. After the massacre, Makarov kills Allen, sparking a war between the U.S.A and Russia. The Modern Warfare 2 Campaign is amazing, and full of action-packed missions, and does have some jaw-dropping and shocking moments. This Campaign is the best story line yet, and will be hard to beat in Modern Warfare 3. Modern Warfare 2 now features a Spec Ops mode, which allows you to play individual missions with friends or by yourself. I enjoyed most of these missions and some of them were quite the challenge. Especially when you're playing on Veteran difficulty. It increases the capabilities of the enemies. Spec Ops is a great game mode if you want more action after the Campaign mode. After completing a Spec Ops mission, you earn a different amount of stars, depending on the difficulty you played on. Stars will unlock more playable missions. And then there's Multiplayer. My favorite part of the game. Multiplayer is basically perfect, with plentiful weapons, highly detailed and fun maps, incredible objective and team based game modes, and of course, playing with friends. The customization in Multiplayer could of been better, like Black Ops with customizable emblems and face paint. Multiplayer allows you to reach level 70, so it will keep you busy unlocking weapons, attachments, titles, and emblems. Modern Warfare 2 is an enjoyable, near perfect shooter game and is the best game in the series yet. Any Call of Duty fan would love this game and I highly recommend purchasing the game if you want an amazing, fun, and realistic shooter game like this. Great graphics and amazing gameplay all wrap up into this incredible game. One of the best games I've ever played. Expand
  71. Aug 23, 2011
    0
    my god u people r jaded . as of aug 2011 this still one of the best games they have made for the ps3. maybe pc gamers should lay off of the elitism a bit and have fun playing. servers? thats just one less thing the average guy doesn't have to deal with. it is the norm now. plenty of people r still crankin it on xbox too . black ops has now carried it on and im sure many of u have beenmy god u people r jaded . as of aug 2011 this still one of the best games they have made for the ps3. maybe pc gamers should lay off of the elitism a bit and have fun playing. servers? thats just one less thing the average guy doesn't have to deal with. it is the norm now. plenty of people r still crankin it on xbox too . black ops has now carried it on and im sure many of u have been **** about it the very same way. what u want is something that doesn't exist yet. perfection from human error. Expand
  72. Aug 24, 2011
    6
    This is a average call of duty game it has a weak campaign but it has one of the best multi-player of the entire call of duty series so i'd give it a 6 out of 6
  73. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    Let's put this in perspective. If you're one of those Halo or Killzone fanboys that gets mad when a Call of Duty game destroys one of your favorite games, don't even read this. However, if you're a regular person who enjoys fun and valuable experiences, MW2 is an excellent choice.
  74. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    Visually stunning, great gameplay and all-roundly very good perfomance on Playstation 3 - this is one of the best games made on Playstation 3. It's fun (if you don't take it too seriously) and even if you're not a gamer who plays shooters - you still will spend a lot of time with this title online. Plus it has nice co-op content. Single-player is ok but this game is all about online fun.Visually stunning, great gameplay and all-roundly very good perfomance on Playstation 3 - this is one of the best games made on Playstation 3. It's fun (if you don't take it too seriously) and even if you're not a gamer who plays shooters - you still will spend a lot of time with this title online. Plus it has nice co-op content. Single-player is ok but this game is all about online fun. Many strategies, funny moments and tight clashes. It's a game of LUCK and SKILL which is the best combination to make most of players feel good. The only weak point is if you take it too seriously. For competetive hardcore players I admit this has things that will not appeal all the time. But a small amount of luck/random makes everything (wins etc.) much more enjoyable because everyone can win sometimes. Expand
  75. Oct 23, 2011
    5
    Modern Warfare 2 was a bit of a disappointment to me because i felt is almost exactly like call of duty 4 concerning multiplayer. on the other hand the campaign was interesting but the only problem was that it was too short.
  76. Oct 29, 2011
    2
    a very linear storyline disguised by over the top dramatic sequences that is somewhat a copy of COD4.
    spec ops are mission that are derived from the story mostly. multiplayer has a very unbalanced weapons
  77. Dec 15, 2011
    7
    I was going to give this a 6 out of 10 so i give this a 7 out of 10. The graphic in this game were OK. Campaign was good, and multplayer was addictively cool. This is overall a good game.
  78. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Para mi es un gran shooter, es divertido, y ahora que han conseguido que vaya estable, me encanta!!
    tiene sus defectos y podria mejorar, pero a mi me divierte!
  79. Nov 13, 2011
    7
    While it is pretty similar to the first modern warfare, it does have some exciting moments. The gameplay is the same as previous games in the series.
  80. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    This game is so perfect, Gameplay, graphics, quick scopes with sniper, i love it so much, tactical nuke is the best thing i have ever seen. This game really rocks, best FPS ever made.
  81. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    Modern warfare 2 est meilleur que Modern Warfare 3 Très bonne histoire , très bon jeu en ligne !
    Il y a de très bon graphisme (Enfin sava)
    Il mérite d'avoir un 8/10
  82. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    This game was a masterpiece in 2009, and still is, also probably tis he last game of Infinity Ward's that was infused with hardwork. Enough said. R.I.P Call of Duty Franchise. May Activision find the guidence of the Gamer God or so, let that Publisher rot and fill bankruptcy never to hurt a video game again.
  83. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Really good game that sets the bar, graphically, for first person shooters. Alot of fun in the quick campaign. Spec ops is a blast. Mulitplayer is great, improves everything from the first entry in the series. The game feels like its following too closely in its predecessors footsteps and suffers slightly for it.
  84. Nov 14, 2011
    7
    Before I bought it I was so exited about MW2. Let me say that this game is fine. But! Kill streaks were over the top following by noob tubes and quickscopers. Which eventually killed the fun in online for me. Graphics look better compare to COD4MW. Story was going more crazy route which I personally didn't like. Overall it still good game just not as great as COD4MW!
  85. Nov 14, 2011
    6
    It's an okay game. I was one of the probably "only" in the world who got this 1 year late, and therefore i didn't get a chance to get good at the game. Also it seems almost impossible for me to find anyone in the game. None or the less, it seems to be a good game if you can actually play it properly >_
  86. Oct 3, 2012
    8
    Pues yo le doy un ocho. A mi parecer este juego fue el último que mereció la pena comprar de esta saga.
    Y aunque fuese totalmente continuista con respecto a lo visto en anteriores entregas y tuviese una campaña bastante mediocre, no se le puede negar que su multiplayer es excelente (al menos hasta que llegaron los hackers) y adictivo.
  87. Nov 19, 2011
    8
    So okay, it's repetitive, ugly and the server system is crap. But you'll forget the most once you start playing it. Singleplayer intense, but short. And online is as it should be!
  88. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    Call of duty MW2, a true successor of CoD 4 MW, return this time to the war as Soap and new allies, but look no further, the online multiplayer is amazing, new guns and sounds, and amazing new graphics, IW really nailed it this time and deserve a pat on the back
  89. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    People should stop comparing this to other games, great campaign that tests you on veteran along with a superb online that also does the same. If you are looking for a fun campaign this game is for you.
  90. Dec 15, 2011
    6
    I really sometimes have a lot of problems with this title. The lag sometimes gets insane the hacking is beyond repair and the killstreaks are just plain dumb. I do like to comeback to it and enjoy it like recently but i know in a couple weeks...no a couple of days ill be screamin at it again
  91. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    It's official. Modern Warfare 2 is one of the best games of the century. I'll give it a definite 10 for it's amazing graphics, excellent plot, and astonishing multiplayer. If you don't have this, well , I feel bad for you because you're missing out on an extraordinary game.
  92. Jan 7, 2012
    8
    First let me get this out of the way: there is LOADS of **** in this game the most out of any cod including commando, one man army and the ump45, but other than that, fantastic game. great campaign and multiplayer buy this game if you don't have it.
  93. Jun 7, 2012
    9
    96/100
    I thought this game was amazing. This game did almost everything right. The game was fun and exciting, and the campaign was breath taking. Although, I said almost. The game was not well supported, and boosters were everywhere trying to get there little Nuke emblem and everyone was hacking to get 10th and all of the titles and emblems they could never have gotten legit. The
    96/100
    I thought this game was amazing. This game did almost everything right. The game was fun and exciting, and the campaign was breath taking. Although, I said almost. The game was not well supported, and boosters were everywhere trying to get there little Nuke emblem and everyone was hacking to get 10th and all of the titles and emblems they could never have gotten legit. The scoreboards where hacked to death and that became useless. The saving grace of the game was the amazing Campaign. The campaign was compelling and the most exciting campaign to finish in any Call Of Duty game.
    Expand
  94. Feb 1, 2012
    9
    Don't listen to all of these negative reviews, in my opinion this is the best COD game out there. The campaign was good but not great but the multiplayer makes up for it.
  95. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    The Best CoD Game and nothing can beat it because of the Intervention and beating Mw3 and CoD4. I would definantly the best game in the whole franchise. The campaign is awesome even though they kill ghost and they put spec ops mode which put a sparkle to this game. The multiplayer was the best in this game and had the best perks, guns, and attachments. 10 out of 10 in my opinion of thisThe Best CoD Game and nothing can beat it because of the Intervention and beating Mw3 and CoD4. I would definantly the best game in the whole franchise. The campaign is awesome even though they kill ghost and they put spec ops mode which put a sparkle to this game. The multiplayer was the best in this game and had the best perks, guns, and attachments. 10 out of 10 in my opinion of this great awesome game in the series with the best System IW. Expand
  96. Jul 3, 2012
    4
    I am not going to lie to you, because you should pick this up if you are a fan of the franchise, or otherwise do not have a brain. But, if you are here on planet sensible, you will know that you should instead go out and buy CoD4: Modern Warfare. Modern Warfare 2 is an insulting, hopeless cash in on an alreattdy brilliant game, with an appauling single player, average multiplayer and soI am not going to lie to you, because you should pick this up if you are a fan of the franchise, or otherwise do not have a brain. But, if you are here on planet sensible, you will know that you should instead go out and buy CoD4: Modern Warfare. Modern Warfare 2 is an insulting, hopeless cash in on an alreattdy brilliant game, with an appauling single player, average multiplayer and so full of plot loops that it gives the **** developers more reason to release rediculously overpriced DLC to expand the "story". Couple that abominable experience with the fact that Call of Duty is designed for you to give $80 a year to Activision so they can produce more stuff for you to buy and you have the mess that you got yourself into by buying this rubbish of a game, and the fact that you will have seen everything in the first hour and you will experience more helicopter crashed (with you inside, of course) than Michael Bay on an acid trip. This game really doesn't have any redeeming features except for the barely on par graphics allowing for a steady frame rate, and the fact that the killcams (which you will probably skip anyway) give you something to laugh at. I would even reccommend Black Ops over thi, even though that doesn't even deserve any acclaim. When you buy this and finish the abysmal four hour campaign, you will wonder why you bothered to spend so much money on it in the first place. But, if you DO live in the land of insanity (otherwise known as my brother's mind) then you will enjoy this game until the day you die, probably name it GotY for 2009 and campaign to change the law so that yo can marry it. Of course, if you have five minutes, you just wanna kill **** and you find this game in the shops for $3 then it is also a vaguely interesting experience, until GameStop rings up and asks why you returned it when you were finished with it. Buy Killzone, or Medal of Honor, or maybe a brain, because if you consider buying this, that's what you'll be needing the most. Expand
  97. May 14, 2012
    9
    Does MW2 deserves the "Game of The Year" (2009) award? Not really, but It is and was a strong nominee. Gameplay is extremely fun, but the graphics didn't impress me at all. Still it delivers a great single/multi player experience. (9.3)
  98. May 18, 2012
    0
    Trickshotters ruin this game, little kids spinning around yelling in their microphones.
    The game is ruined!
    Really not fun at all because of the kids
    ...................................................
  99. Jun 2, 2012
    9
    Everytime i want to play a ego i always grab the good old MW2 Box. Maybe only for 2 or 3 Mission, but it has some kind of magic at playing it. Very good balance in the different mission, also the characters are guys i want in my team. Technically it is not perfect i agree, but as i said the balance is really well done. You get a 9!
  100. Nov 24, 2012
    5
    A shoddy story where every section is just the same old enemy waiting to be shot, along with his friends. Multiplayer is supposedly "amazing", but a game swarmed with children aged 10-15 with the odd adult is just annoying. If I couldn't hear them it would be fine, but the little **** don't know how to mute their mikes. So each time a new one joins I have to go out my way to mute them. TheA shoddy story where every section is just the same old enemy waiting to be shot, along with his friends. Multiplayer is supposedly "amazing", but a game swarmed with children aged 10-15 with the odd adult is just annoying. If I couldn't hear them it would be fine, but the little **** don't know how to mute their mikes. So each time a new one joins I have to go out my way to mute them. The only above average section here is the spec-ops. Enough said. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 67
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 67
  3. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 crosses into the must-have category of video games effortlessly. It offers an unmatched shooter experience, a compelling story mode, a slick package of mini missions and a multiplayer which is pretty much unparalleled in depth.
  2. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 offers epic gameplay, a stunning Spec-Ops mode and a huge amount of adrenaline.
  3. Despite certain controversial elements, this game is an FPS fan’s dream. Game of the Year? Hell, yeah!