Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5204 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is a direct sequel to the previous game in the series, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, with a campaign storyline continuing the struggle of U.S. forces against an invasion by the Russian Federation following the framing of an undercover U.S. agent in aCall of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is a direct sequel to the previous game in the series, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, with a campaign storyline continuing the struggle of U.S. forces against an invasion by the Russian Federation following the framing of an undercover U.S. agent in a terrorist attack on Moscow. Together with classic Call of Duty multi-character control, Modern Warfare 3 contains deep multiplayer support, including two-player Co-op Survival mode. The game also contains all-new Kill Streak categories and customizable strike packages that offer more options for player combat styles and strategies. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Operation Kingfish Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    100
    Modern Warfare 3 concludes the trilogy with a solo campaign that goes beyond my expectations, and a multiplayer with subtle yet efficient revisions. It boasts better balancing and takes into account the supportive players more than ever compared to the regular solo guns blazing hero. Quite comprehensive, it also re-introduces the beloved Spec Ops mode, and the launch of Call of Duty Elite grants him the best available service in that category. Even though in terms of production values, and scope of the competitive multiplayer, Battlefield 3 harms Activision's champion, it remains a title that is firmly anchored to its traditional strengths, and doesn't get lazy. The lovers will be ecstatic, the haters gonna hate.
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    90
    Modern Warfare 3 doesn't bring a lot of new stuff to the table, but it has refined single-player and multiplayer experiences to the point where they are as slick as any Hollywood production.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    90
    Modern Warfare 3 meets expectations. The core elements of multiplayer and the campaign remain fundamentally unchanged, but the game serves as a great example of how many subtle tweaks can add up to an improved overall product.
  4. Feb 10, 2012
    90
    There's a tangible insistence from gamers that this series needs to evolve, but it seems unwarranted when it still leads the FPS class. The engine's definitely in need of an overhaul, but when it comes to thumping set-pieces and addictive multiplayer design, Modern Warfare 3 is still in a league of its own.
  5. Nov 22, 2011
    86
    It's all too familiar to MW2, and the multiplayer hasn't really changed either.
  6. Nov 28, 2011
    85
    Some will be disappointed by the fact that MW3 is not a drastic departure from previous iterations of the series and that is a very valid criticism. MW3 still offers so much content and still proves to be one of the best online experiences around. MW3 is a game that will certainly keep you busy until next year's release.
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    70
    Modern Warfare 3 doesn't reinvent gunpowder, but sticks to the recipe of the previous games in the series. With a decent story and good multiplayer it's a game worth playing, but the lack of willingness to add improvements in gameplay show a laziness often found in a complacent game series.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    So it's an expensive map-pack? Correct. However you won't find more people online playing a game with a more solid foundation and set ofSo it's an expensive map-pack? Correct. However you won't find more people online playing a game with a more solid foundation and set of mechanics. Shame? Yes. Could they have done more? Yes x2. Is it still going to keep you hooked for months? Yes x3. Expand
  2. Apr 9, 2016
    10
    Great fun game with new characters fun multiplayer and some people hate this game and I don't know why great multiplayer and fantastic singleGreat fun game with new characters fun multiplayer and some people hate this game and I don't know why great multiplayer and fantastic single player and I may sound like a fanboy but I also play Battlefield. The only bad part is soap is dead :( fun game and I like the maps 100/100. Expand
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    I am really disappointed in the people that gave this game 0's. No game should deserve that. Everyone is a tyrant for doing it. I love ModernI am really disappointed in the people that gave this game 0's. No game should deserve that. Everyone is a tyrant for doing it. I love Modern Warfare 3 Expand
  4. Jul 31, 2013
    3
    MW3 improved a lot with the introduction of the new map packs but overall it was disappointing.
    It is still worth playing though, for those
    MW3 improved a lot with the introduction of the new map packs but overall it was disappointing.
    It is still worth playing though, for those that love the COD franchise.
    Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    I want to give this game a 0, i really do. But I have to give it a 1 because playing multiplayer is still entertaining enough although i couldI want to give this game a 0, i really do. But I have to give it a 1 because playing multiplayer is still entertaining enough although i could have just kept playing black ops. I was beyond disappointed in this game. It is beyond lazy! There were no advancements made in technology, creativity or gameplay. This might as well have come out as an expansion DLC to MW2. If you are considering buying this, DON'T! Save yourself some money, keep playing Black Ops and MW2. Obviously Activision is trying to replicate the Madden/NCAA football model. Trust me DO NOT BUY THIS GAME for more than $30, in fact you would be better off just buying back your MW2 for $20. I will not buy a new COD until they put out an ACTUALLY NEW game. Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    bonjour excusez moi mais mw3 c est une merde vous avez trop pensez a largent des bonus de merde et des maps de merde on s est fait avoir enbonjour excusez moi mais mw3 c est une merde vous avez trop pensez a largent des bonus de merde et des maps de merde on s est fait avoir en plus de ca vous voulez qu on paye les dlc grosse arnaque !!! Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I owned MW1, World at War, MW2, and Black Ops. I thought that they were great games, they are by far the games that I played the most but byI owned MW1, World at War, MW2, and Black Ops. I thought that they were great games, they are by far the games that I played the most but by the time Black Ops came out I was getting tired of buying the same game over and over again. So with MW3 I have been hesitant to spend $60 on it. One of the things that bothers me the most about these games is the gradual lack of effort to create even a decent game. The story from MW2 left a bad taste in my mouth. Its obvious that the story suffered from the focus on multiplayer. What was great about MW1 was it had a solid campaign mode and a great multiplayer feature. Its even more obvious that they really don't care about the campaign anymore. My brother beat the campaign in 4hrs. Really? 4hrs is the best you could do?
    I did play with my brother online for several hours so i could get a feel for it and I have to say I wasn't impressed. I definitely wasn't any more motivated to spend $60 on this. What bothers me the most is the idea that they're going to have new DLC every month. So from the start they're telling everyone that they selling an unfinished product. I can't imagine walking into a Carls Jr, paying full price for a hamburger and only getting half of a burger. Then when I ask for the rest of the burger they tell me that i have to purchase the rest in fourths but its ok because its a quarter of the price of what I originally paid. The worst part is that out of the DLC that I have purchased in the past is that there are usually only two maps that are any good.
    This game is definitely not worth paying $60 for. The value just isn't there. I can see paying $40 for a new copy, maybe....
    As long as people keep paying for poor quality and over valued products they're going keep making the least amount of effort for the most cost to consumer.
    Expand

See all 2245 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.