Call of Juarez: Bound in Blood PlayStation 3

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 97
  2. Negative: 6 out of 97
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. samurais.
    Aug 3, 2009
    9
    I thought it an absolutely OUTSTANDING gaming experience! One of the most enjoyable games I've ever played. It totally captures the feeling of the wild west in a very realistic way. The weapons feel spot on and the atmosphere is truly inspiring. One complaint is that you can't move while in slow-mo mode and they could've added a few more "face" designs to the friends & I thought it an absolutely OUTSTANDING gaming experience! One of the most enjoyable games I've ever played. It totally captures the feeling of the wild west in a very realistic way. The weapons feel spot on and the atmosphere is truly inspiring. One complaint is that you can't move while in slow-mo mode and they could've added a few more "face" designs to the friends & foes. Other than than that, this game is an absolute rootin' tootin' good time!!!! Expand
  2. DaveD.
    Jun 30, 2009
    8
    My first 19th century FPS, and a good one. Mind your ammo. Went on sale this AM at the military base I'm at (Korea, 13 hours ahead of Eastern Time). It opens in the middle of a battle in the Western theater of the Civil War and you, as Ray, have to bail out your brother Thomas. Challenging.
  3. ThomasM
    Jul 3, 2009
    8
    Let me start off by saying I am a huge fan of western themed games. The lust, greed, power, violence, and outlaw aesthetic appeal of the western genre are a few reasons that make me love these types of games. Anywhere between the rough cowboys, working girls at the brothel, corrupted town officials, or Indian raids western games are my favorite. In Call of Juarez, not only do we get two Let me start off by saying I am a huge fan of western themed games. The lust, greed, power, violence, and outlaw aesthetic appeal of the western genre are a few reasons that make me love these types of games. Anywhere between the rough cowboys, working girls at the brothel, corrupted town officials, or Indian raids western games are my favorite. In Call of Juarez, not only do we get two hardcore cowboys known as the McCall brothers, but we get a dramatic story ranging from their home roots, to their days in the Confederate army, and eventually their dangerous hunt for treasure as they succumb to the Call of Juarez. Throughout the game you can have the option to play as Ray or Thomas McCall, each character has their own unique abilities and fighting styles. Also between some chapters you will enter different large open worlds which you can do side quests (wanted posters), protect settlers/travelers, visit the gun shop to purchase ammo and weapons, or just simply explore the beautiful landscape. I have to give props to Techland and the Chrome 4 engine because this game looks simply AMAZING graphics wise. The lighting, bloom, and focus effects are all great on my 1080p tv. High def textures and detailed environments add to the pure eye candy. Some of the scenery is so good that I stop what I am doing just to admire how wonderful it looks. The graphics are even great on multiplayer (especially on Stinking Springs). The character models are fantastic ( though in cut scenes they are a bit stiff, but that is a very minor complaint). My friend said that in some areas Call of Juarez looked better than Crysis.. As for the multiplayer portion, it isn't really impressive by any means, but it gets the job done. I love all the modes especially Wild West Legends and Posse. The online portion also has 13 different classes (5 of which are unlock at the beginning, the others need in-game cash in order to be unlocked). My only big complaint about multiplayer is that you can only earn money to unlock the 8 locked classes in ranked matches. I don't see why they couldn't allow you to keep your money in un-ranked matches. In this dry market of good games this summer, you should definitely look into this great game. Expand
  4. GerryJ
    Jul 5, 2009
    9
    Well done! Techland did a good job on the first title, but it wasn
  5. Aug 17, 2010
    7
    This game is solid, decent storyline, well crafted environments, good graphics, good characters, western thru and thru, shooting mechanics are good, showdowns are good fun and sometimes challenging, concentration modes are fun, is a fairly average length, around 15 hours, multiplayer is less than inspiring however and the game really does everything GOOD but not GREAT, so a good solidThis game is solid, decent storyline, well crafted environments, good graphics, good characters, western thru and thru, shooting mechanics are good, showdowns are good fun and sometimes challenging, concentration modes are fun, is a fairly average length, around 15 hours, multiplayer is less than inspiring however and the game really does everything GOOD but not GREAT, so a good solid shooter for a western fan, otherwise a good game to rent if no better options exist, really nothing special but still good fun for the short while it lasts. Expand
  6. Nijinski1
    Oct 15, 2009
    5
    Shootouts and concentration mode are cool but like the rest of the game are repetitive. As long as you use your rifle the on rails gameplay will never really challenge you. It's essentially shoot a load of guys move to next settign shoot a load of guys then a showdown and repeat. I'm a major western movie fan and shooter fan so this shoudl be an ideal game for me. The only thing Shootouts and concentration mode are cool but like the rest of the game are repetitive. As long as you use your rifle the on rails gameplay will never really challenge you. It's essentially shoot a load of guys move to next settign shoot a load of guys then a showdown and repeat. I'm a major western movie fan and shooter fan so this shoudl be an ideal game for me. The only thing that makes this worth playing is a reasonable story, an the mexican chicks fien ass.... i know she is just polygons but it doesn't matter. Expand
  7. ScorpyM.
    Jul 14, 2009
    3
    The game tries to tell an interesting story, but the controls for just about everything it tries are awful. The automatic cover system is garbage. Having to repeat what would be simple sections of the game due to clunky controls and a broken cover system made this game frustrating. I am unemployed, and did not care to devote enough time to this game to finish it. Keep it simple. I The game tries to tell an interesting story, but the controls for just about everything it tries are awful. The automatic cover system is garbage. Having to repeat what would be simple sections of the game due to clunky controls and a broken cover system made this game frustrating. I am unemployed, and did not care to devote enough time to this game to finish it. Keep it simple. I don't need automatic cover systems, let me choose when to go into cover. I died several times trying to get Doofus McCall into cover. The game also tracks terribly hit/miss of mobs. The cursor on the screen will turn red, and it will not register a hit. The game does look great on a 1080P screen, that is about all I can say positive about it. If you have the patience to put up with a clunky, broken control scheme, then this game might be for you. let me know how the story ends, I have no intention of finishing it. Sent back after about an hour of playtime. Expand
  8. Feb 16, 2017
    9
    Despite its technical flaws, this is one of the first-person shooters I have enjoyed the most. The main campaign is enjoyable enough and the most difficult mode represents a decent challenge to test your skills. Plus, I found the online mode frankly addictive -which I seldom do-, as it is long and competitive.
  9. JustinD.
    Jul 14, 2009
    7
    Good game, fun to play with a solid story, the only problem I have with the game is it seems like more story then game play, just as you get into the game, there is a cut scene. Also there is a slight pause when you reach checkpoints that is very annoying, kinda dissipointing that Ubisoft would release the game with such a major & obvious flaw.
  10. Sep 4, 2010
    8
    This game is a solid first person shooter. Call of Juarez: Bound in Blood definately captures the Wild West theme well with the level design, weapons and sound design. The weapons sound awesome and realistic when you fire them (especialy the sound of the Heavy Sniper rifle), the music is gripping and the game play is fast and furious with epic gunfights. The "Duel's" work well too but youThis game is a solid first person shooter. Call of Juarez: Bound in Blood definately captures the Wild West theme well with the level design, weapons and sound design. The weapons sound awesome and realistic when you fire them (especialy the sound of the Heavy Sniper rifle), the music is gripping and the game play is fast and furious with epic gunfights. The "Duel's" work well too but you definately need to be fast to shoot your opponent before he shoots you. It is a shame, CoJ doesn't have any offline of Online Co-Op because in singleplayer you have a choice to play as 2 characters: Thomas or Ray McCall. Ray favours close quarters combat while Thomas likes to use bows and Rifles to kill at a distance. The multiplayer is also interesting: You pick a veriaty of classes (like Gunslinger, Sniper etc) and can play with upto 12 players in a variety of modes such as Posse (Team Deathmatch) and Wild West Legends (the defending team has to stop the attacking team from robbing a bank or blowing up the town gates). Multiplayer can be unstable sometimes however. It sometimes can take one shot to kill someone with a sniper and then 2/3 shots the next. The Ping in some matches can sometimes be a pain as well; the game frezzes you in position. Call of Juarez: Bound in Blood is a cool Wild West experiance and should not be avoided. Expand
  11. Aug 5, 2014
    5
    This game can best be described as "beauty is in the eye of the beholder". I have tried to get into this game several times but I only make it to about 15 minutes and keep turfing it. I think the reason I try to like this game and keep trying is because it has good reviews and also the story plot seems interesting....So, why can't I play this game? Well, to me this game is sooooo dated IThis game can best be described as "beauty is in the eye of the beholder". I have tried to get into this game several times but I only make it to about 15 minutes and keep turfing it. I think the reason I try to like this game and keep trying is because it has good reviews and also the story plot seems interesting....So, why can't I play this game? Well, to me this game is sooooo dated I just can't get past that. It seems like it was made in 1995. The aiming visuals don't seem right to me, in fact all aiming seems wrong rather than use both left and right analog sticks together I found myself targeting only with my left analog and then shooting rather than involving my right analog as well (hello remember early gaming days?)...Sprint seems not much different than walk, concentration mode seems lame (how does painting my L3 button across targets help me feel im having fun??) I found the cover mechanics pretty weird and what got me most is i don't want to watch every cut scene every time but am forced to watch it.....and I didn't like that you could target enemies through trees (full visual cover) and such with no consequences. So, I heard there is a really good underlying game here but I just don't think I have it in me to try to find it. The quality or the outdatedness of this game is just too much for me to get past. I keep going back to youtube to watch more of this game and it always makes me think I made the right choice by saying no, don't even try to go back and try again. I just have to admit sometimes in life you are a parent...and if you have an ugly kid, well to you that kid is probably the best looking kid on the planet....and I think such is the love of western gunfighting or at least this game. You have to have a love of this stuff so much so that you can look past what the rest of us are looking at. Expand
  12. May 17, 2011
    10
    If you are looking for an authentic western experience then look no further this game absolutely nails it,the west conjures up images of a landscape that is wild,free and goes on forever and this game does a fantastic job of presenting that image of the west,It has a great story that you will get emotionally invested in. Fantastic game
  13. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    It captures the old fashoned game experience pretty well, although it is not as good as other games like it. You might like it for the most part but it is a little shaky at times.
  14. Jul 9, 2012
    8
    While this was a good game, I was left wanting more. The game is fun, and a great Wild West experience, but the controls are funky and the graphics are pretty mediocre. Definitely worth the buy though.
  15. Apr 18, 2017
    3
    I dont know if I am unfair, because I am rating a 8 year old games with todays standard (not deliberately, though), but this game was just crap in my eyes. Everything, from how the levels were made, to the "story" that was really poor, and the cover-system that was barly working. I reached a point where there were no ammo at all and I had to protect the brothers. Cant do it with no shotsI dont know if I am unfair, because I am rating a 8 year old games with todays standard (not deliberately, though), but this game was just crap in my eyes. Everything, from how the levels were made, to the "story" that was really poor, and the cover-system that was barly working. I reached a point where there were no ammo at all and I had to protect the brothers. Cant do it with no shots left. Thats were I left this piece of garbage. Dont know how someone could give this above a 5, but maybe I would say something different, when I would have played it, back in 2009. Expand
  16. Oct 2, 2014
    6
    The Wild West is captured well and has an intriguing storyline but it won't keep you coming back for more. Few will want to replay. Hard to judge the multiplayer since it was doomed from day one with very little support.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Call of Juarez: Bound in Blood is much better than its predecessor in all areas. The gameplay is well balanced, the duality of the gameplay works well and can give you reasons to play the game at least twice. The action is more intense, the scenery changes very frequently, and some sequences differ significantly from competition. Some players will find some choices limiting, such as the inability to use at will the cooperative actions, but we can assure you that the level of quality of the design and pressing action, tend to make you forget the substantial linearity.
  2. A fantastic shooter that FPS and western fans are going to love.
  3. Call of Juarez: Bound in Blood is a good shooter to play. It really makes the player feel they are an outlaw in the Wild West. The story and gameplay drives it all home, but the multiplayer aspect probably won’t make the player stay after one or two playthroughs.