User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 94
  2. Negative: 3 out of 94

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 9, 2010
    9
    This is the best Download-able game on the market. the gameplay is easy to pick up and easy to master, and the graphics are good for what the game's supposed to be. I am disappointed by the minor changes and the lack of DLC (in comparison to the XBOX 360 version), but this game is still so amazing and similar to the other that it doesn't really matter much
  2. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    I feel like such a tool by giving the first game I ever score on metacritic a 10, but honestly...this game deserves it. probably the most perfect downloadable game ever made. Imagine my surprise when this actually lived up to the hype.
  3. Sep 18, 2010
    10
    Lately it appears to me that I really enjoy cheap games. My current favorite games cost 20 dollars or less and this is another one on the list. For example my brother and hung out and play some video games (which doesn't happen too often) and we played Kane and Lynch: Dog Days and this game. I spent $54 dollars on Kane and Lynch and $15 on this one. We both realized that after beating Kane and Lynch that we should have spent more time on this game. It is absolutely perfect. I have no complaints. It may not be as deep as a Final Fantasy game or as action packed as Call of Duty but overall it's FUN. Pure and Simple mechanics and funny cartoon animations = happy. If anyone remembers playing Earthworm Jim when it originally came out and the joy of how stupid, silly, and fun it was will come to appreciate this gem. You have to play this with more than one person if possible because it just makes it even better. All hail the cheaper better games! Expand
  4. Sep 4, 2010
    9
    I love this game. Excellent hack n' slash, rpg elements, good difficulty, and fairly good multiplayer modes are brought down a little bit by some connection issues, slowdown, and not much re-playablilty for most people ( I enjoyed playing with unlocked characters and insane mode.) If you are looking a for a really good hack n slash that's fairly long and excellent with friends, pick this game up. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  5. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    Easily the greatest PS3 downloadable of 2010 along with some other titles. This Beat Em' Up game features amazing 2D graphics and a wide array of enemies and bosses that each require a special tactic to defeat. You spawn in a castle partying when a siege is launched on your kingdom. Plunged into battle, you see your king being paralyzed while a deranged wizard steals the kingdom's magic crystal. And while this is happening, 4 princesses have been stolen and taken to various locations around the map. Multiplayer is required for boss battles because of teammates ability to rejuvinate allies after they've fallen in combat. It's not about checking your wallet or getting the demo. I speak to you saying-
    GET THIS GAME!!
    Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    dear mr. castle crashers ... how did i ignore you this long? i saw your release...i played your demo and let you just sit there... recently i just bought you jus' cuz...and i played you... and i said huh? this is kewl.. hack and slash at its finest... even the little pink knight with the kiss on his head (HE supports breast cancer) you gotta pay for him... i don't i'm just chilling enjoying this game rescuing princesses Expand
  7. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    I don't understand how this game only has an 8.6. Castle Crashers is one of the top 5 games on XBLA. It's full of awesome animation and graphics, great controls, fun & simple hack n slash gameplay, and good replay value. I love Castle Crashers. Simply put - JUST GET IT.
  8. Apr 2, 2011
    10
    For those who are old enough to have played a lot of the old arcade side-scrolling adventures, this game is a must. It's simple, fun, and pleasantly twisted to boot. I played this game for the first time with three other people and we had an absolute blast. This is what video gaming is really about.
  9. Jun 19, 2011
    9
    One of the best downloadable games for the PS3 out there. This game is FUN. A great game to play with your friends, you'll have a great laugh. The graphics are great and quite funny. The music is average but not too bad. Overall worth every penny, although could be even longer.
  10. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    takes me back to Metal Slug days.... very fun!
  11. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    This game is amazing. I put off playing it for the longest time because I didn't think it could possibly be that good, but I was so wrong. Everything about the game from the smooth game play to the customizable characters to the awesome, humorous artwork is amazing. My only wish is that the game was expanded a little more in future updates or sequels: why not more support and healing characters classes? Maybe expand character attributes beyond just four. Maybe make the difference between different characters more pronounced. At any rate, the game is a blast as it is, and just a little extra development could make it a classic. Expand
  12. Mar 11, 2013
    9
    This is a really great game, and one of the best PSN games by far. I love the quirky art design with some hilarious moments, and the RPG elements fit in perfectly with the beat 'em up style of the game. I haven't beaten Castle Crashers yet, but so far I am having a blast. The game is insane and especially fun if you get some friends together to play with you. If you're a fan of beat 'em up-style games, then I cannot recommend Castle Crashers more, especially at its incredibly low price point of $14.99. Expand
  13. May 10, 2013
    10
    Everything is just gorgeous in this game, the graphics, the music, the gameplay, is just so beautiful in so many ways and really unique at the same time all of this without loosing the appeal that is still a video game.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. It's during the co-op play that this really hits its stride. [Jan 2011, p.121]
  2. Jan 13, 2011
    84
    Fit-to-bursting with fun, Castle Crashers is a rare PSN treat. [Jan 2011, p.96]
  3. Dec 29, 2010
    88
    The gameplay is fast and furious. [Issue#200, p.102]