Castlevania: Lords of Shadow - Resurrection Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
2.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Follow up to Castlevania: Lords of Shadow Reverie. Gabriels fate and that of the Belmont clan is laid bare, as he battles the evil demon known only as The Forgotten One. Imprisoned by the original founders of the brotherhood, this evil is now breaking free from its dimensional prison. WhoFollow up to Castlevania: Lords of Shadow Reverie. Gabriels fate and that of the Belmont clan is laid bare, as he battles the evil demon known only as The Forgotten One. Imprisoned by the original founders of the brotherhood, this evil is now breaking free from its dimensional prison. Who will prevail? A demon who wishes to destroy mankind or a dark soul filled with furious rage, intent on revenge at any cost. Find out in Resurrection, the stunning finale to Castlevania: Lords of Shadow. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Castlevania: Lords of Shadow - Die Belmont Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Jun 23, 2011
    50
    Between sloppy design (only a few encounters with spirits and skeletons keep the in-between interesting), a lackluster boss encounter and utterly no resolution as to the game's fantastically out-of-left-field post-credit sequence, Resurrection isn't worth its $10 asking price -- and with the rest of the game as good as it is, average just doesn't cut it.
  2. Jun 20, 2011
    40
    Resurrection doesn't live up to its expectations: it should be the epilogue of an epic adventure, yet it fails, shaping itself as a mere extension of the main game. Poorly designed platforming sessions and a non-exciting boss fights are definitely not worth their price.
  3. Jun 20, 2011
    40
    Quotation forthcoming.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 5 out of 6
  1. Aug 2, 2017
    6
    Ok, I found this DLC better than the previous one, it's still short and the animations are still pretty poor, but it ends well for the end ofOk, I found this DLC better than the previous one, it's still short and the animations are still pretty poor, but it ends well for the end of LoS, but it's not worth buying, it's short and very unnecessary, MercurySteam could have thought better Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2015
    3
    I bought this DLC because i was curious to see how it comes to Gabriel transformed to Dracula. "Resurrection" consists only of an introductionI bought this DLC because i was curious to see how it comes to Gabriel transformed to Dracula. "Resurrection" consists only of an introduction part and the Boss Fight itself. The Boss Fight is very hard and very unfair, but i hoped for answers at the end. My recommendation for those, who're thinking buying this DLC: DON'T DO IT! You won't get any answers and you won't get a good game-play. It only destroys the great end of the story and the mystical atmosphere of the main game....I can't believe, that i paid money for this! Expand
  3. Sep 16, 2011
    3
    This is a poor end to a fantastic game. This DLC consists of two segments, a run-and-hide bit where you avoid falling into lava while hidingThis is a poor end to a fantastic game. This DLC consists of two segments, a run-and-hide bit where you avoid falling into lava while hiding from the gaze of the Forgotten One, both of which will instantly kill you and consist of dying quite often and only proceeding through copious amounts of trial and error. The second segment is the boss fight proper, which is a huge letdown for a game that took such pains to make enjoyable boss encounters. The Forgotten One isn't fun, but rather very frustrating. Firstly, there are no magic or health fonts in the entire chapter, and by the time you reach the boss's final form you're probably out of magic and health. Secondly, the boss's final form can only be hit by aerial attacks, and even then you're probably going to miss more than you hit. Not so bad in and of itself, but any aerial combo leaves you completely vulnerable to attacks. It's nearly impossible to hit the boss without him hitting you back, and since you're probably out of health and magic this becomes very problematic.

    In the end, I swallowed my pride and lowered the difficulty level just so I could beat him, even though I had beaten the rest of the game on paladin difficulty. This boss was just too unfair to beat on harder difficulties.

    And for all this, I was rewarded with nothing. The final scene tells you nothing about Gabriel's transformation into Dracula, or the fate of the world, or anything at all. Merely that the Forgotten One is destroyed, and nothing more. A very disappointing end for an otherwise great game.
    Expand
  4. Jan 8, 2014
    2
    If you liked Lords of Shadow, don't play this DLC. It's so bad that it actually made me like LoS a little bit less. Take everything you didIf you liked Lords of Shadow, don't play this DLC. It's so bad that it actually made me like LoS a little bit less. Take everything you did like about LoS and remove it, replace it with a lot of dumb platforming and puzzle-solving. Then top it off with the most frustrating boss fight of all time and you have Resurrection. Then, after all that nonsense, you are rewarded with a bit of story that falls flat and assumes its audience is stupid. Konami and Mercurysteam have damaged a 25-year old franchise by trying to cash in with this garbage. AVOID IT AT ALL COSTS! Expand
  5. Jun 7, 2012
    2
    Well, I loved the main game Castlevania: Lords of Shadow, although the combat system could be better. Anyways a few days ago I watched theWell, I loved the main game Castlevania: Lords of Shadow, although the combat system could be better. Anyways a few days ago I watched the first trailer of Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 and I got pretty excited about this sequel. Since the prices of the DLCs Reverie and Resurrection were reduced last week I thought I could give them a chance but it was a waste of money: No CGs, almost no new enemies and a boring boss. I was expecting more of the plot and about how the history should continue. Even the promotional price of 6,50 Euros for Playstation Plus members is way to much for such a bad DLC. Collapse
  6. Mar 13, 2016
    0
    This could be the worst thing I've done in my entire life.

    If you love LoS and want to 100% all three games, just pretend these DLCs don't
    This could be the worst thing I've done in my entire life.

    If you love LoS and want to 100% all three games, just pretend these DLCs don't exist. I know you want to 100% all of it but seriously.. buck it. Don't do it. Don't touch them. They will change the way you are You'll get all serious and laugh less and all that stuff that psychosis do to you.. You wont be the happy kid you once were anymore.
    Expand