Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 PlayStation 3

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 510 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 70 out of 510
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    6
    please stop accepting mediocrity
    the game may be great in some parts the but the overall experience is no more than passable
    the game has some great score and art direction but the stealth sections and the bland city levels are just unacceptable
  2. Feb 25, 2014
    5
    Ever since the announcement of Castlevania Lords of Shadow 2, I've been pumped and eagerly awaiting the highly anticipated release of this final installment. Being a huge fan of the first Lords of Shadow, I was ecstatic that the MercurySteam team were taking fans' criticisms seriously and implementing a better camera system along with an open world game design. I had a lot of confidenceEver since the announcement of Castlevania Lords of Shadow 2, I've been pumped and eagerly awaiting the highly anticipated release of this final installment. Being a huge fan of the first Lords of Shadow, I was ecstatic that the MercurySteam team were taking fans' criticisms seriously and implementing a better camera system along with an open world game design. I had a lot of confidence in the team and gobbled up each video interview that shared a little more of the game each time. Thats why I'm very disappointed and confused after seeing the final product in action. While I appreciate the awesome artistry of the game's locales, the magnificent soundtrack, and the much desired open world design, I'm completely baffled with some of the team's decisions game design wise. Most of the game feels a huge step backwards than forward in terms of game design. What is with the poorly implemented stealth sections that don't fit this franchise at all?? What is with the present day London setting?? The reason I loved the first game was because I was able to explore medieval settings with a fantasy element and it was in tune with Dracula's character. The modern day setting feels completely out of place. Also, the movement of Dracula seems unpolished and doesn't make him feel like the badass character that he is. The platforming traversal of the game also feels unpolished and clunky. Another annoyance is the constant handholding of what to do next, while other times there is no intuitive indication. The game starts off really slow and boring, and the plot doesn't give you much motivation to slog through this bloated, mess of a game. It's really a disappointment because there are a lot of things the team does right, like the beautiful art design, soundtrack, and combat. Ultimately, the game just lost its soul and what made the first game stand out. This time around it feels like a generic Activision Spiderman game. A game that doesn't really have any distinct memorable gameplay elements of its own. Just a cluster of generic gameplay elements thrown together with a forgettable plot. I think this game could still be enjoyable if you are longing for a game starring Dracula or the gothic artistry, but I think most other gamers will want to pass on this one, unfortunately. Being, a huge LOS fan, I can't even drag myself through this game. Here's hoping the next team that takes up the 3d Castlevania helm will bring a brilliant, well rounded, memorable game that all fans can be proud of! Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    6
    The first lords of shadow is remembered as a commendable achievement from a relatively small team working to a comparatively tight budget. it's sequel, by contrast, cannot disguise the resources with which it was made. lords of shadow 2 is clunky, ugly and deeply misguided. it's a game that sees the lord of the damned as a vehicle for rat-powered linear stealth, and that takes a futureThe first lords of shadow is remembered as a commendable achievement from a relatively small team working to a comparatively tight budget. it's sequel, by contrast, cannot disguise the resources with which it was made. lords of shadow 2 is clunky, ugly and deeply misguided. it's a game that sees the lord of the damned as a vehicle for rat-powered linear stealth, and that takes a future gothic-london setting and then sets the action in tower blocks and sewers. mercury steam says this will be the final game in the lords of shadow saga, and on the evidence of the cluttered, bloated and forgettable mess repetitive dialogue when fighting, it's just as well." 6.7 Expand
  4. Feb 27, 2014
    7
    Castlevania Lord of Shadow 2, un vídeo-juego muy esperado y que nos mostrara el final de la trilogía hecha por Mercurysteam, tratando de mejorar lo hecho ya en su primer trabajo en la Saga Castlevania.
    No he leído ningún análisis de ninguna Web, estas son mis primeras impresiones tras jugar 4 o 5 horas, la verdad se me fue rápido el tiempo por las ganas de ver el final y por la emoción
    Castlevania Lord of Shadow 2, un vídeo-juego muy esperado y que nos mostrara el final de la trilogía hecha por Mercurysteam, tratando de mejorar lo hecho ya en su primer trabajo en la Saga Castlevania.
    No he leído ningún análisis de ninguna Web, estas son mis primeras impresiones tras jugar 4 o 5 horas, la verdad se me fue rápido el tiempo por las ganas de ver el final y por la emoción que sentía, pero bueno al grano; Lord of Shadow 2 me a dejado con una sensación de estar jugados a dos títulos distintos en estas primeras horas ¿por que?

    Entornos y gráficos: El juego tiene dos mundos donde podremos jugar con nuestro protagonista las cuales son: las alucinaciones o la edad media, el cual el entorno es un pueblo y el castillo de Dracula donde me sorprendí por el nivel artístico es sublime, gráficamente supera con creces su antecesor, con una posibilidad de exploración de principio a fin, eso si, algo que siempre caracteriza a la saga de Castlevania es que no podrás ingresar a cierta zona hasta no tener cierta habilidad así que siempre nos invita a re-visitar los lugares para poder encontrar los objetos de colección o algún secreto escondido en los rincones del castillo.
    Esta la otra cara de la moneda el cual es el entorno de la era moderna, donde el mundo no es tan espectacular, gráficamente se nota un poquito mas flojo y no llega a sorprender como en la edad media, con un nivel de exploración muy escaso.
    En lo personal lo que se refiere diseños de escenarios y variedad tras las primeras 4 o 5 horas comparando con su antecesor el LoS 1, se ve un poco mas limitado, solo superándolo en el nivel de exploración.

    Jugabilidad: El momento de la acción el mejor punto del título, los movimientos de nuestro protagonista son muy fluidos al momento de correr saltar y al momento de combatir, en este apartado se nota lo mejorado que esta el juego, dando combates muy entretenidos, muy intuitivos, siendo realmente cómodo pelear contra un jefe final o cualquier enemigo, cuando llegas a tener mayor repertorio de armas se nota que todo sirve, que un combo o una habilidad especial sera de utilidad, con una variedad envidiable de combos, dando así un resultado genial, algo que Mercurysteam sabe hacer muy bien.
    Los momentos de la plataforma, no me gusta nada, los veo muy automatizado al momento de saltar de un candelabro a otro o de una tubería a otra, escalando con una facilidad extrema, sin dificultad alguna, siendo un apartado un poco mas flojo.
    En la era moderna cambia un poco la tónica, donde veremos unas fases de Sigilo, siendo muy curiosa y le da ese algo distinto al juego en el cual tendremos que evitar los enfrentamientos directos, con una posibilidad de transformarnos para no ser descubiertos por el enemigo y también distraerlos con nuestras magias oscuras, todo esto en entornos cerrados, esta fase siento que no fue lo mejor explotada de lo que debía y son ¡¡muchas!! fases de este tipo.
    El Menú, el libro donde mejoraremos nuestras armas, leeremos información de los personajes con un alto nivel artístico excelente en los dibujos con un nivel épico excelente, también veremos la lista de combos como dije de una cantidad impresionante.

    PD: Aun en falta de ganar el juego me a dejado verdaderamente indiferente en estos primeros compases, donde puedo decir que esta superando en algunos aspectos a su antecesor, pero en otros deja algo que desear. Aún me falta por terminar el juego luego daré mis verdaderas impresiones sin hacer análisis de lo jugado. OJO el primer Lord of Shadow la primera vez me estuvo así, al no aceptar tanto cambio luego lo aceptaría con una alegría. La ¡¡NO!! inclusión en Lord of Shadow 2 de los Puzzles; no he encontrado ninguno y eso me tiene mal, porque para mi eso le daba una identidad ¡¡ÚNICA!! a este Lord of Shadow y me decepcionaría no encontrar estos en lo que me resta de juego.
    Expand
  5. Feb 28, 2014
    6
    The fighting is great, as usual, but the minigames are just so horrible and the plot makes absolutely no sense. It's like the writers didn't know what to do, so they just used any random ideas that came to mind.

    Minigames include running around being transformed like a rat, sneaking around unbeatable cloned robo-demons. Oh and there's (at least 2) "sneaking" parts, where you have to
    The fighting is great, as usual, but the minigames are just so horrible and the plot makes absolutely no sense. It's like the writers didn't know what to do, so they just used any random ideas that came to mind.

    Minigames include running around being transformed like a rat, sneaking around unbeatable cloned robo-demons. Oh and there's (at least 2) "sneaking" parts, where you have to avoid a character who's chasing you (only to kill them 5 minutes later without breaking a sweat). The problem is that sneaking is retarded. It's nothing like MGS or The Last of Us. You have to take a path the developers intended, and no other, because if you do, you get instakilled. So, basically, I wasted 20 minutes of my life, finding the perfect path. Very very annoying.

    I thought that, being Dracula and all, the plot will be darker. But instead, it's a lot stupider compared to the 1st game. At one point of the game, you have to waste about 3-4 hours to find pieces of a mirror, your son wants, fully knowing it's a dream. Not only that, but there's a minigame in which you have to place puppets onto a stage at the right moment. And after that, you fight a fat clown.

    I mean, how hard is it to make a good game about Satan coming to Earth and his acolytes causing massive chaos? I cannot stress enough, how bad the plot is. So bad, even the good gameplay can't hold the game together.

    Oh, and there's a bug. 2/3 of the game, I jump into a hole, and see I'm back at the beginning of the map practically. No prob, load checkpoint. And it gets me back to the location after I jumped into the hole. Amazing. No prob, I'll just backtrack. And, the switch doesn't work anymore. I'll probably have to replay the whole level to finish this.
    Expand
  6. Mar 4, 2014
    6
    If you're looking for a action fighting game like bayonetta or god of war 1 where you can just combo baddies and get in the flow this is not the game. LoS 2 is just way too fragmented by cut scenes, exploration, and stealth to be comparable to any great hack and slash game. All the comments about how they fixed the fighting are true and false, they did fix the responsiveness of theIf you're looking for a action fighting game like bayonetta or god of war 1 where you can just combo baddies and get in the flow this is not the game. LoS 2 is just way too fragmented by cut scenes, exploration, and stealth to be comparable to any great hack and slash game. All the comments about how they fixed the fighting are true and false, they did fix the responsiveness of the controls but they failed to implement those new controls and moves in satisfying gameplay. For the first four hours of the game you're lucky if you fight more than 3 baddies every hour. There are tons of moves to unlock yet they are either unnecessary or impractical unless you're playing on the hardest difficulty. The exploration aspect (backtracking) in the game is more tedious than other metroidvania style games but don't ask me why, it could be all the loading or the poor world map and navigation. If you loved the first LoS you might love this game, they are basically the same overall with strengths and weaknesses swapped around. This company is obviously incapable of making an A+ title and most likely will consistently produce 7/10 products like raven software. I could go on for pages about how this game is painful average and how I expected so much more based on some reviews but I'm going to save some time and just say if you loved the first LoS and have no concern for old castlevania games then you should play this. Just because this game is the standard of mediocrity does not mean its a bad game, it's just one of those things that comes down to how in love with the world and characters you are instead of how well structured the gameplay is... Expand
  7. Mar 3, 2014
    6
    There was a good game somewhere in this thing, but it was overshadowed by some very poor design choices. The positives were definitely the music score, the combat, and the art design; like the first LOS, the music was top notch. The combat system was fun and rewarding--I enjoyed having to learn and actually use new moves to power up the weapons. It made the combat more varied than spammingThere was a good game somewhere in this thing, but it was overshadowed by some very poor design choices. The positives were definitely the music score, the combat, and the art design; like the first LOS, the music was top notch. The combat system was fun and rewarding--I enjoyed having to learn and actually use new moves to power up the weapons. It made the combat more varied than spamming the same 3 attacks in most similar games. The art design was quite good, the characters and settings were quite striking.

    The downsides ruined a great deal of the game for me. Foremost among them were the stealth sections--whenever the game seemed to be gaining momentum, these sections immediately brought the action to a screeching halt. It wasn't even that they were very difficult, they just took a great deal of trial and error to find the correct path. It felt like there were a lot of other mechanics that were thrown in, but given up on--there were several coop sections where you briefly worked with an NPC, but the idea was never carried through. The puzzle design left a lot to be desired, too.
    Expand
  8. Mar 13, 2014
    7
    I was going to give this game a strong 8, but I felt the last few chapters of the game (4-5 hours of gameplay) were really disappointing and felt rushed. The game starts out strong with the acts transitioning you from the castle to modern day. The castle sequences were the best part of the game because it reminded me of the first one(which is vastly superior to this one), and had the rightI was going to give this game a strong 8, but I felt the last few chapters of the game (4-5 hours of gameplay) were really disappointing and felt rushed. The game starts out strong with the acts transitioning you from the castle to modern day. The castle sequences were the best part of the game because it reminded me of the first one(which is vastly superior to this one), and had the right bit of platforming and combat. The modern day environments felt shallow and dull compared to the toy maker and the ancient castle settings.

    A lot of complaints about the stealth sections, but apart from the garden one (you'll know when you face it), they weren't that bad. Unnecessary and out of place, but not worth the gamebreaking scores.

    Still, the soundtrack is amazing and the combat is very fluid. The last half, especially the ending, just felt disjointed and a sense that the team might've rushed to finish the game on time. The ending is also a huge disappointment considering the game's plot. I still recommend it if you played the first one, but be prepared that it isn't as epic.
    Expand
  9. Mar 3, 2014
    6
    First off before I justify my average score or "yellow" score, the game was fun. This of course is coming from a Castlevania fan who also thoroughly enjoy the first game in this portrayal of the long time video game adaptation of "Creatures of the Night" as were some of my fondest memories on NES as a child. With that being, I also do not get caught up in the typical "God of War clone"First off before I justify my average score or "yellow" score, the game was fun. This of course is coming from a Castlevania fan who also thoroughly enjoy the first game in this portrayal of the long time video game adaptation of "Creatures of the Night" as were some of my fondest memories on NES as a child. With that being, I also do not get caught up in the typical "God of War clone" dribble that meat-headed IQ lacking gamers tend try to compare any 3D action game that has been created since that serie's release. Apparently there is a plethora of uneducated, inexperienced gamers who have never played DMC, RE, and even Castlevania Lament of Innocence.

    Before the negatives, I will say that yet again Mercurysteam has created another beautiful world of Castlevania, definitely much darker than it's predecessor. The combat is more challenging and engaging, requiring the thinking cap & press continue button alot more than your typical button mash action game. That was very enjoyable IMO, and the bosses were great too. The overall gameplay + combat was very good in this game and getting play as Dracula in a Castlevania game for the first time ever is another bonus.

    Now that I've gotten that out of the way, on to the nitty gritty of the negatives. I have been anxiously awaiting this game since the after credits cut scene from LoS 1, and I can't deny that it was a cool, fun ride. I can't help though leaving this game with a feeling that it felt rushed due to the fact that they tried to do too much, but couldn't fit it all in their time frame. Going from the past to present day and seeing modern technology in a Castlevania game just felt awkward to me, but I played on none-the-less. Even with this aspect in the game, certain other aspect just felt tacked on and cheap such as Chupacabra's shop which I never used once, especially since it requires currency from which you must also use to acquire new abilities. The entire relic system seemed overdone, half of them were never used from my experience so that felt wasted as well. Although the game is meant to be "open world" it still feels a bit limited, and can be exhausting traveling around to find previous secrets, especially considering that some areas are impossible to get to without completely backtracking around. The map room which is supposed to reduce travel time is somewhat confusing, and was rarely used as well. When you went somwhere, you would oftentimes feel lost if you were not on the main mission path. The also felt very short in a sense that they wanted to do so much with it like I said earlier, but because of the scale/magnitude with I imagine development time constraints, they had to hack up a lot of what they wanted to do and piece together what is currently Lords of Shadow 2.

    I don't really see myself doing any second playthroughs, shooting for any completionist acheivements or anything like that TBH but I could be interested in DLC for a continuation of the storyline. Others may have been happy with it, but I feel rather disappointed and short sold on the ending with out giving away any spoilers of course. It's not a terrible game by any means and I don't regret my purchase or playing it, but I think this game could have been so much more. Think the developers should have stuck to one time period or the other, then focused on making the story better than the first...
    Expand
  10. Aug 16, 2014
    7
    Castlevania: Lords of Shadow was a great game and is often considered the first 3D Castlevania game to get it right, and it's not surprising to see why. With absolutely amazing combat, a fantastic story, a lengthy campaign, great graphics and a fantastic twist ending, Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 had a lot to live up to. Unfortunately, LOS2 doesn't live up to the expectations, and is anCastlevania: Lords of Shadow was a great game and is often considered the first 3D Castlevania game to get it right, and it's not surprising to see why. With absolutely amazing combat, a fantastic story, a lengthy campaign, great graphics and a fantastic twist ending, Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 had a lot to live up to. Unfortunately, LOS2 doesn't live up to the expectations, and is an overall disappointing experience.

    Combat was the first thing I had high expectations for, and the game actually does well. Instead of the combat cross, Dracula now uses his own blood as a hardened whip to fight enemies, so combat essentially works the same. One improvement LOS2 added was the ability to block and dodge in the air, which I'm thankful for because there are enemies which require you to jump to reach them. Along with that, all unblockable enemy attacks have clear visual and sound cues, making these attacks very obvious, and way easier to dodge than in the the previous game. Then there's the light and dark magic meters. Unlike LOS, where both magics were tied to your main weapon, they instead have their own weapon. Light magic is tied to a sword and heals you, while dark magic is tied to gauntlets that doubles damage and break shields. Unlike in LOS though, where the meters would deplete over time, the meters in LOS2 only deplete when attacking an enemy. This way you can actually approach combat calmly, instead of frantically attacking enemies knowing that your time with the magic was limited. This is a fantastic improvement, and the limited range of the sword and gauntlets help to balance this mehanic. Better yet, the combos for the blood whip, gauntlets and sword are all the same, allowing you to seamlessly switch between your magics and blood whip without disrupting the flow of combat, making switching just as smooth as the previous game.

    However, not everything about combat is an improvement. For example, the unblockable attacks are easy to detect, but they're not always easy to avoid, often having a range of attack that's too large. So, even if you manage to dodge when prompted, you'll still end up getting hit. These attacks should've been blockable instead. Also, throughout the game, most of these attacks happen two seconds after the cue, so it becomes instinct to dodge immediately. However, some attacks have a delay on them, meaning that you'll instinctively dodge too soon and get hit. This is unfair because the game teaches you to dodge immediately, only to fall victim due to inconsistency. Lastly, because this game takes place in the current time, guns have been added, and end up becoming ridiculously overpowered. Unblockable, long range, and often waves of bullets being fired at the same time, enemies with guns are not fun to fight. It's bad enough when demons start to use them, but the human controlled mechs are just as bad. These mechs often hide behind their shields, and your gauntlets don't actually break through fast enough before they back up and launch an unblockable attack, requiring you to attack right before they do. This would've been alright if you had to fight one at a time, but every time you're going to be swarmed with them. Luckily, the quick time events in the game heal you, which helps balance out the unfair advantages enemies have. It's still annoying though.

    Combat may have had improvements and flaws, but pretty much everything else is worse.

    The story isn't all that interesting. It's all about how you, as Dracula, are weakened and have to regain your power to ultimately defeat Satan upon his return. However, moving this game to a modern setting feels very unusual for a Castlevania title. The plot is interesting enough, but it's so boring and broken up that it makes the story hard to follow. Plus, the ending is very abrupt and cheap, making the ending feel rushed. The story's only saving grace is the sub plot in which Dracula is either hallucinating or traveling back in time (it's never made clear), and Dracula sees his family. These are the moments where Dracula seems more like Gabriel, and makes you realize that he's not entirely evil, but angry. These are the moments where the story shines. Unfortunately, the sub plot has no wrap up whatsoever. It just ends.

    As for the campaign, instead of being a linear chapter to chapter campaign, LOS2 goes more open world, but with Dracula constantly traveling between the past and present, the environments change drastically, and there is no sense of direction at all, making collecting items a grind. Finally, stealth segments feel out of place, and seem more like a replacement for the puzzle segments of LOS, which are missing from this game, but they're not fun. In one case, the stealth was brutally difficult because the level was so poorly designed.

    Ultimately, LOS 2 disappoints, but that doesn't mean it's terrible. If you liked the last game, you should at least try out this game. Who knows. You may end up liking it.
    Expand
  11. Mar 31, 2014
    7
    RANKING: 7 – 10 (Its Awesome but nowhere near perfect.)

    If you love the Lords of Shadow series and you want to continue on with the story, pick it up otherwise, wait for a price drop. As a major fan of the Lords of Shadow series, to finally see the arrival of Lords of Shadow 2 is a sight to behold, being introduced first to the game’s combat system, visuals and soundtrack, it’s hard
    RANKING: 7 – 10 (Its Awesome but nowhere near perfect.)

    If you love the Lords of Shadow series and you want to continue on with the story, pick it up otherwise, wait for a price drop.

    As a major fan of the Lords of Shadow series, to finally see the arrival of Lords of Shadow 2 is a sight to behold, being introduced first to the game’s combat system, visuals and soundtrack, it’s hard NOT to get hyped about this game! THEN the first level happens, introducing a broken and shallow stealth mechanic that is cringe worthy and THEN we are introduced to the open world exploration with in Dracula’s castle. Though the stealth mechanic exists and we have several parts of it, some of the voice acting and story (IM LOOKING AT YOU ENDING CUTSCENE) is really off part compared to Lords of Shadow 1. What this game does get however is the fantastic score, improved combat system, and the multiple and AMAZING boss fights! I’m Silly Nero, and this is the **** Review, Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2

    Gameplay: Remember how Lords of Shadow 1 was bashed for how it’s game play was bashed for being a God of War clone? This doesn’t help it at all, but improved what Lords of Shadow 1 lacked. Now replaced with the Light and Dark Magic, we have the Void Sword and Chaos claws, introducing two different weapons with their perks and faults. The focus Meter is still in play with the game, now being hit while dishing out damage to fill the meter. the upgrade system is as it was for LoS1, get enough XP from killing enemies and you can get new moves, but heres a nifty little additions. WEAPON MASTREY. It is a new feature that you can use different moves and it will improve your weapons power over all. Though it can be easily exploited, since you can spam the move to easily get 100% on the attack. Once you get 100% of said move, you can use it to improve the weapon mastery. The exploration for the game has become now an open world game where you can explore segments of the city and castle, to find items, upgrades, and even extras, though most of them you can’t get until near the end of the game. Enemies vary from Corrupted Vampire soldiers to Massive Mechs and even massive Demons. Some are easy enough and some will spam you with Unblockable attack that will send you airborne then become wombo comboed.

    Stealth Sections. . . .stealth sections are a mess. All you really do is either distract a guard with the swarm of bats, use the mist ability to slide through walls, or turn into rats to slide though vents. It’s uninspired, sometimes clunky, and I swear the guards are either blind or have a malfunction to say, “OH LOOK! A CLOUD OF RED AND BATS. NOTHING IS WRONG HERE!”

    The best part about this game is the AMAZING BOSS FIGHTS! The cut scenes have enough leading up the fight where you prepare yourself mentally and physically, hanging onto your controller, ready for the fight ahead of you, coupled by the amazing art direction and score.

    Story: The Story continues off from where LoS1 ended, with Dracula being offered the chance of a real death if he helps his old enemy/ comrade, Zobek. Though out the game, he is sent back to his castle in his mind to recover his memories prior to the beginning of the game when Drac wakes up. What really falls for the game is how weak the ending is, ESPECIALLY the amazing lead up it had. Even though the game said it was the “Epic” conclusion to the Lords of Shadow series, it may just lead up to another series. Or DLC endings. Which is ****

    Visuals: On a good note, the visuals for this game are FANTASTIC, ESPECIALLY for the castle levels, with beautiful colors, amazing textures, and lighting effects. The character models are fantastic as well, mainly for the main cast and bosses. The city levels however are really dull, almost making the player beg to be back in the castle. The art direction is gorgeous, especially looking at some of the character logs in the journal and the item pictures.

    Soundtrack: The game’s score is one of the BEST I have heard in a long time! Though the voice acting with certain characters feel lazy and uninspired, mainly with some of the enemies and non- main characters.

    Verdict: An unsatisfying ending story wise, but the visuals, soundtrack, and boss fights make up for it to be a decent game. If you can, just buy it when It is at a lower price and you wont feel as burned. Though for me, it’s a bit disappointing compared to the first Lords of Shadow.
    Expand
  12. Mar 2, 2014
    6
    Imagine where the next platform is to your right, but you can't press right and jump to reach it, instead you press down and jump to reach it. What kind of BS are you dealing with? Platforming in Lords Of Shadow 2, that's what. The platforming sucks big time and there is no other save games that you can reload from if you are stuck there with very little health.

    This is what exactly
    Imagine where the next platform is to your right, but you can't press right and jump to reach it, instead you press down and jump to reach it. What kind of BS are you dealing with? Platforming in Lords Of Shadow 2, that's what. The platforming sucks big time and there is no other save games that you can reload from if you are stuck there with very little health.

    This is what exactly happened to me when I was stuck in the train sequence. Finding out painfully that right + jump doesn't move me to the next platform and getting shot at = losing quite a bit of life. Surprisingly, this isn't the first time that this happened in the game either. Then to top it off, you are supposed to be avoiding those platforms on the train sequence and sometimes your controller won't respond to your command either. And you can't load from another save point because the game choose the load point and you can't load from another one unless you want to start the mission all over again which means you wasted like 20 - 30 minutes.

    The combat is decent but some of the choices of enemies are very dubious, like several demons carrying a shotgun in a small corridor that I have to get through. Or how about an enemy hitting me with a projectile as soon as I climbed up from a stair into the battlefield. The enemies should not have spotted me yet but according to the engine, I'm already in combat.

    The stealth element is very much restricted, why can't I knock out the guards if I'm spotted? I should be able to knock off the guard if I'm being spotted, but no they carry a big ass gun and pretty much means I'm dead by the time I'm spotted. These stealth elements are lacking.

    Overall, Lords Of Shadow 2 is a big step backward from the excellent Lords Of Shadow. It is unfortunate that MercurySteam thought that it would mix up the element with crappy platforming and crappy stealth. Plus with most of the plot seems to be making not a lot of sense either, it does not help either. Too bad the Lords Of Shadow trilogy have to sent off with such a mediocre effort, fans deserved better.
    Expand
  13. Mar 2, 2014
    5
    Full of holes, poor gameplay, zero innovation and messy characters story. Definitely do not recommend either a hack and slash, look for DmC. Ok que é um desenvolvedora pequena, mesmo assim o jogo não vale o preço.
  14. Mar 3, 2014
    5
    Whoever is giving this game a 10/10 must be the developers themselves or need a serious reality check.
    I loved the first one to a degree that was borderline unhealthy. This on the other hand is just about the most aggravating half arsed piece of **** that has been released all year. To even put in the same title is an insult.
    This game will have you screaming at your TV more times than
    Whoever is giving this game a 10/10 must be the developers themselves or need a serious reality check.
    I loved the first one to a degree that was borderline unhealthy. This on the other hand is just about the most aggravating half arsed piece of **** that has been released all year. To even put in the same title is an insult.
    This game will have you screaming at your TV more times than you can count. Especially the retarded sneak sequences alone are worth the deduction of 5 points, not only do you get instakilled if you get spotted, the game starts you all the way at the beginning of the chapter again and as topping it even loads the goddamn thing once again, even though you just walked 3 steps and got killed. On top of that the game is epicly bad at indicating where you need to go next, which especially is a problem in these sneak sequences.
    The whole thing feels generic and like padding to make it last longer than it needs to.

    All in all, I would give the first Castlevania a 9/10 - this a 5/10 tops - anyone who has played the first can then compare on their own.
    Expand
  15. Mar 10, 2014
    6
    I had high hopes for this game. I was a fan of the first Lords of Shadow and when I heard the sequel was coming out, I made sure to reserve it right away. However, when I played it for the first time, I have to say that it wasn't the game I thought it would be. I thought playing as Dracula for the first time ever in the series would be more exciting. Though it does deliver on goodI had high hopes for this game. I was a fan of the first Lords of Shadow and when I heard the sequel was coming out, I made sure to reserve it right away. However, when I played it for the first time, I have to say that it wasn't the game I thought it would be. I thought playing as Dracula for the first time ever in the series would be more exciting. Though it does deliver on good action, it is not too much different than the last game and let's be honest, even the last game was a God of War clone. The stealth sections were a chore to go through and slowed down the action. I also thought even though the characters were nicely designed, the rest of the graphics, especially the majority of the areas you explore were a bit uninspired. The voice work was good. Robert Carlyle and Patrick Stewart both did a great job. I thought the game was okay, but that's it; just okay. It wasn't as great as the first game, but it was still decent. Probably good for one or two playthroughs, but not much more. Expand
  16. Aug 23, 2014
    7
    + good story with a nice twist in the end
    + combat is interesting though it's not much different from a Devil May Cry
    + gothic dark scenery and environment with good graphics. - lots of gaps and unexplained random events in the story - less than desired combat opportunities. - many potential game mechanics that are never given the opportunity to be explored freely and creatively. -
    + good story with a nice twist in the end
    + combat is interesting though it's not much different from a Devil May Cry
    + gothic dark scenery and environment with good graphics.

    - lots of gaps and unexplained random events in the story
    - less than desired combat opportunities.
    - many potential game mechanics that are never given the opportunity to be explored freely and creatively.
    - too linear in progression.
    Expand
  17. Jul 16, 2015
    7
    No aporta mucho con respecto al anterior. La historia no termina de cerrar y la ambientación no es tan buena como el 1. Así y todo para pasar el rato sirve.
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 55
  2. Negative: 8 out of 55
  1. Apr 18, 2014
    74
    Konami's newest Castlevania sequel is marred by repetitive gameplay, terrible stealth missions and an uninteresting story that overstays its welcome
  2. Mar 23, 2014
    90
    Castlevania Lords of Shadow is a must play game on the PlayStation 3 that really draws you in from the start to give you a spectacular journey of good versus evil in this beautifully presented sequel.
  3. Mar 21, 2014
    50
    Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 mixes elements from popular games without really understanding how the pieces must be assembled. The result is a tedious and sloppy game that most feels like something that the developer Mercury Team wanted to get over with. Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 lacks even the ambitious driven from its predecessor. It's not a bad game, but not worth playing.