Conan PlayStation 3

Conan Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Conan is an action adventure game featuring a story of epic brutality, sheer evil and visceral combat. Players follow the journey of Conan the Cimmerian as he fights a vicious battle against a variety of enemies and an elusive power that threatens to consume the Hyborian world. Playing asConan is an action adventure game featuring a story of epic brutality, sheer evil and visceral combat. Players follow the journey of Conan the Cimmerian as he fights a vicious battle against a variety of enemies and an elusive power that threatens to consume the Hyborian world. Playing as Conan, players take advantage of a deep and gratifying combat system that offers a variety of deadly weapons, fighting styles and interactive environments to battle hordes of enemies. In addition, the Conan harnesses next generation hardware to deliver a cinematic game play experience, complete with special effects, lighting and a powerful, epic soundtrack, to capture the essence of the Conan universe. [THQ] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    85
    Conan is at its best visceral and furious fun with limbs and heads flying. Unfortunately, the adrenaline level drops when the speed slows down on harder adversaries and when the enemies do not have limbs to detach or heads to pop. Also, boss fights tend to follow the same pattern too much. Still, it is worth the time and effort. Experimenting with different moves never gets old. [Oct 2007]
  2. If you're into the character Conan or the action/adventure "hack and slash" style genre then you owe it to yourself to spend an evening or two with this game. Sometimes the guilty pleasures in life are the best kind.
  3. For what its worth, Conan is a rather intense and short game. Fighting through all the hordes and spending time backtracking only amounted to about seven hours of gameplay, and with no multiplayer or secrets to unlock, that’s quite a disappointment in terms of replay.
  4. Just make sure people nearby don’t hear the topless maidens cry out “My clothes! Where are my clothes!” every so often.
  5. AceGamez
    70
    A balls to the wall action game with little need for subtlety. This is big, brash and dumb as a bag of hammers, a relentlessly violent, uncompromising adventure that's fun from start to finish with a combat system that packs a visual punch as well as a technical one.
  6. Conan the character is brutal, honest and straight to the point, and so is Nihilistic’s version of Conan the game. Even though there isn’t much past the combat, Conan is still a lot of fun if you’re into mythological lore, saving naked woman, and getting vicious in battle.
  7. PSM3 Magazine UK
    45
    Every slasher on PS3 is better than this, even "Genji." A ropey "God of War" tribute act. [Dec 2007, p.80]

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14
  1. DavidG.
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    This game has SICK animation, and gameplay controls... It's like driving a little GI Joe action figure that does everything you tell it This game has SICK animation, and gameplay controls... It's like driving a little GI Joe action figure that does everything you tell it flawlessly. I can see how some might think the high production value of this game is an indicator of its flaws, but I see it as an indicator of its greatness. The only thing this has in common with GoW is that its a Video game, about a character Kratos was inspired from, and has floating orbs to heal/give you exp... and the magic, which shouldn Collapse
  2. Corbin
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    A game about Conan!!! Need I say more.. The game has smooth controls, good camera work, lots of satisfying gory moves, pretty graphics, giant A game about Conan!!! Need I say more.. The game has smooth controls, good camera work, lots of satisfying gory moves, pretty graphics, giant bosses. Took me over 10 hours to complete. Downside was the lame story, but no worse than most games. Also no Red Sonja. Expand
  3. IndependentFilm
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    It's clear by the reviews that this is a love it or hate it game. I totally enjoyed this one. The gameplay and general entertainment It's clear by the reviews that this is a love it or hate it game. I totally enjoyed this one. The gameplay and general entertainment value helped me to look past its drawbacks. I wasn't expecting Heavenly Sword graphics or production value, but how could I? This game had nearly no marketing, which is a good indicator that it didn't have the kind of budget Heavenly Sword and God of War (both Sony titles) benefit from. Think of it like you would an independent film and you might be able to see past it's shortcomings. Expand
  4. bestreviews
    Nov 7, 2007
    7
    Wow, didnt think it was goign to be as good as it was. Even though it was a great and entertaining game it didnt utilize the six-axis control Wow, didnt think it was goign to be as good as it was. Even though it was a great and entertaining game it didnt utilize the six-axis control and the graphics were as good as a playstation 2 game. I rented this game and I have to say I still would like to buy it. I can tell you this, if they made the price $10 cheaper this would of sold crazy. Controls are great, combos are pretty fun and the gore makes it a worth your time game. Expand
  5. GregT.
    Nov 21, 2007
    7
    This is a reasonably good game, fun, lots of button bashing and entertaining sword play. The voice acting by Ron Perlman and Claudia Black is This is a reasonably good game, fun, lots of button bashing and entertaining sword play. The voice acting by Ron Perlman and Claudia Black is good even if it is not in synch with the characters and the lack of over bearing storyline is a refreshing change. The graphics are PS2 grahics which is a shame as they are selling it at PS3 price £50. Like another reviewer I rented this game and throughly enjoyed the experince. For gaming wonder buy/rent God of War 1 or 2 for light hearted sunday slaughtering if like me youv'e done both those games this one doesn't have any real rivals on PS3....yet! Expand
  6. Giderdone
    Oct 12, 2007
    5
    C'mon this game is just bad. it's like a Heavenly Sword with Downs Syndrome. Any site that rates this above a 7 is highly suspect. C'mon this game is just bad. it's like a Heavenly Sword with Downs Syndrome. Any site that rates this above a 7 is highly suspect. Conan is about as good as Arnold's acting in the original movie. Expand
  7. ZiftK.
    Oct 29, 2007
    1
    Utter garbage. Any self respecting human will not go near this game. I give it a one because it made me laugh. The graphics are horrid by PS2 Utter garbage. Any self respecting human will not go near this game. I give it a one because it made me laugh. The graphics are horrid by PS2 standards. Hmph...... what i'm trying to say is, stay away from this game. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews