Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Dec 25, 2010
    70
    While Costume Quest is an utterly charming RPG...it's a rather simplistic affair that offers very little challenge. [Issue#199, p.103]
  2. Oct 25, 2010
    70
    The result is a game that may not leave you full, but it'll taste pretty sweet while it lasts.
  3. Oct 22, 2010
    70
    If you had a brother or sister growing up, then Costume Quest will speak to you whether you like it or not, much like that pesky sibling. Not only does it capture the spirit of Hallowe'en, but it perfectly encapsulates the brother/sister relationship into a short, six hour period.
  4. Oct 20, 2010
    70
    A few fundamental problems sour a game that exudes delightful personality.
  5. Mar 17, 2011
    60
    Costume Quest ultimately fills the same void as the candy filling the kids' buckets: it tastes good, but it's not terribly filling.
  6. Jan 15, 2011
    60
    Despite all the the good premises, this last game from Tim Schafer proves to be a small project with short and repetitive gameplay.
  7. Oct 27, 2010
    60
    Costume Quest makes it clear that Double Fine may not be used to developing games for the little ones : the humor and gameplay seem shy. It dares, but not too much. If you have a 10 years old kid wandering next to your game console, Costume Quest would probably be a better fit for him than GTA IV. That said, when I was that young, I was playing Ultima II.
  8. Oct 22, 2010
    60
    Another charmingly scripted adventure with bright cheery graphics, a loveable cast and… tedious combat and frustrating exploration.
  9. Oct 20, 2010
    60
    Costume Quest is cute and funny, so it may look like a good game for kids. Let me assure you: After completing the adventure (which took me about five hours), I can't recommend Costume Quest to gamers of any age.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    Fun and engaging -- witty without taking itself too seriously, this game has all the hallmark's of a Double Fine game. I haven't finished itFun and engaging -- witty without taking itself too seriously, this game has all the hallmark's of a Double Fine game. I haven't finished it yet, but it's one of the most enjoyable PSN experiences I've had in a long while. Well done! Full Review »
  2. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    I love the combat system in this game. It is perfect to not have another real-time hack and slash diablo clone. I also love the HalloweenI love the combat system in this game. It is perfect to not have another real-time hack and slash diablo clone. I also love the Halloween theme, it is well done from the music to the visuals. This game is great and worth every cent. Full Review »
  3. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    Don't listen to Joe Juba from Game Informer. This game is awesome. It's funny, fun, and can be a challenge later on. At 5 hours long, it'sDon't listen to Joe Juba from Game Informer. This game is awesome. It's funny, fun, and can be a challenge later on. At 5 hours long, it's also the right length. It ends when it should and leaves you wanting more, which is a good thing. Do yourself a favor and download the trial. Full Review »