Crysis 2 PlayStation 3

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 407 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 407
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 27, 2011
    1
    I just can't underastand where all the positive reviews are coming from. Crysis 2 has to be the worst multiplayer experience I've ever had. Here are the reasons why it is so terrible.

    1. Poor framerate. I've played games where the framerate might dip when a lot of stuff is going on, but it wasn't terrible. In Crysis 2, the framerate is game breaking. Running around, the screen updates
    I just can't underastand where all the positive reviews are coming from. Crysis 2 has to be the worst multiplayer experience I've ever had. Here are the reasons why it is so terrible.

    1. Poor framerate. I've played games where the framerate might dip when a lot of stuff is going on, but it wasn't terrible. In Crysis 2, the framerate is game breaking. Running around, the screen updates slightly faster than a power point slideshow. Close encounters tend to just be random, because neither player gets enough visual information on the screen to be able to react quickly enough.

    2. Controls are sloppy and unresponsive. I turned up the sensitivity, but it doesn't help much. Pulling up sight and aiming at someone is clunky. It reminds me of the controls in Killzone 2 (though that was a solid game otherwise).

    3. Lag/hit detection are embarrassingly bad. It can take a whole clip to kill someone, or it may just take a couple bullets, you never know. Gun battles are clumsy and awkward, and has nothing to do with skill, and everything to do with luck and lag. Aiming right at somebody and firing more shots doesn't mean you will win. Every gun fight I've been in seem to be both players struggling to stay on target. Close encounters will have both players spraying and meleeing wildly. Midrange has people aiming and strafing, hoping enough shots will be detected. Long range gun fights seem to be nonexistant, and would be utterly pointless anyway.

    4. Graphics are just terrible. Low resolution and muddy textures. This is one of the worst looking games I've played on the PS3. Even Black Ops has better graphics, and that's saying something. I can accept bad graphics if it means higher framerate and more responsive gameplay (Black Ops), but I get none of these benefits in Crysis 2. 5. People's playstyle have to accommodate the terrible framerate and lag. This means a lot of people just sit cloaked until you run by, then they switch on armor and shoot you. You can't turn around and shoot back accurately because of the lag and terrible controls. It's just not a fun game when 90% of the players are just sitting somewhere cloaked and waiting. But I can't blame them, it's almost the only way to guarantee you'll get a kill.

    Overall I am hugely disappointed with this game. I paid 60 dollars for it, and it is so bad I never want to play it again. I will probably force myself to try it a few more times, to try to get my money's worth, but it's just a hideously bad game. I am really upset, because I was expecting this game to be amazing. I can't understand where all the positive critical reviews came from, but now that people are playing it, some of the negative reviews are starting to appear. Apparently this game is actually good on PC. But on PS3 (and Xbox from what I hear), it's just terrible. There are no redeeming qualities to this game right now. Maybe they can fix some stuff via patches, but I don't think they can completely overhaul it enough to make it a good, playable game.
    Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2011
    4
    SUMMARY: Crysis 2 is ultimately a disappointing experience on the PS3. If I could, I would buy a beefed up PC just to experience it the way it should be, with sparkling graphics and at a frame rate of 60 fps. GRAPHICS: 2/10. Crytek completely butchered the PS3 version. The framerate is below 30fps and the resolution is sub-HD (this means less than 720p). ThisSUMMARY: Crysis 2 is ultimately a disappointing experience on the PS3. If I could, I would buy a beefed up PC just to experience it the way it should be, with sparkling graphics and at a frame rate of 60 fps. GRAPHICS: 2/10. Crytek completely butchered the PS3 version. The framerate is below 30fps and the resolution is sub-HD (this means less than 720p). This is not an HD game. Textures appear blocky and blurry. Single player graphics suffer from severe pop-in of objects. Whenever the player is in an open area, objects and animations (such as fires) suddenly appear out of nowhere. The chunky frame rate "encourages" you to approach each confrontation in a stealthy manner because the frame rate can make u miss your target if you choose to attack directly. Multiplayer graphics have no pop-in (good). However, sniping from a distance is almost impossible due to the fact that everything is so blurry so don't be a camper! GAMEPLAY: 6/10. The stealth play in single player is interesting. Performing stealth kills and infiltrating buildings underwater never gets old. Sometimes, you get to go toe to toe with enemies and this is where things degenerate into filth! It turns out that Crytek forgot about collision detection and enemy AI is hit or miss. Sometimes enemies are smart enough to outflank you and kill you. Other times they run in circles! Sometimes that stand way up on top of air while shooting at you! Sometimes you fire at the enemy directly but your bullets are blocked by the airspace of a nearby object. Objects have greater hit zones around them and this airspace around them can absorb bullets. The gun play is horrible. Frames tend to skip when the action gets hectic causing you to miss your target unless you're far away and attacking with a sniper rifle. The frame rate is not locked at 30fps. It seems to fluctuate between something below 30fps and 30fps. In multiplayer, things are thankfully much different from all the Call Of Duty games because you get to choose to use the stealth, armor and power attributes of your suit. Wanna hide in a corner with stealth on and shoot at passers-by? You can! Wanna charge in with Armor mode on and take out enemies with your heavy machine gun? You can (but you'll more likely get killed unless you have squad mates to support you)! Too bad the frame rate is horrid and the graphics are one big blur! Other problems include your weapon sights disappearing in multi-player (that's right, when looking through your sniper scope, sometimes your crosshairs will disappear). Sound: 3/10. Some sound effects randomly mute themselves in multiplayer. Sometimes you never hear your heavy machine gun firing! In single player sound is much better. You get to hear the conversations of enemy soldiers before wasting them. Guns sound better than CODMW2 but worse than Killzone3. Crytek should have beefed up the sound. Crytek should also have made sure that the player can hear many sounds, it seems that certain sounds completely cancel out others hence the silent heavy machine gun problems in multiplayer. CONCLUSION: This game was hyped up like crazy. Not only does it not live up to expectations, it fails miserably. Rent this game for the single player experience once and then trade it in for another game. Once again EA has released an unfinished product. I understand it could be patched in the future, but I paid $60+tax to play a good game NOW! Not 1 or 2 or 3 months from now! Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2011
    2
    I must be playing a different game that the professional critics. The graphics are good, but not great, the gameplay is sound, but gets boring in a hurry, the story is mediocre, at best, and the multiplayer is a buggy, laggy mess. How could anyone rate this above 80?? Trade-in bait for me, purchase at your own risk.
  4. Mar 28, 2011
    0
    This feels unfinished in so many ways. Maybe it's just my copy, but maybe not. The first time i started playing, I had to restart the game, because I couldn't get off of the submarine! Did you know that you can run out of breath? After dying 5 times, I restarted at a lower difficulty, and I was finally able to get off the submarine. After playing the game for half an hour, I put itThis feels unfinished in so many ways. Maybe it's just my copy, but maybe not. The first time i started playing, I had to restart the game, because I couldn't get off of the submarine! Did you know that you can run out of breath? After dying 5 times, I restarted at a lower difficulty, and I was finally able to get off the submarine. After playing the game for half an hour, I put it on pause to grab some food. When I came back and un-paused it, there was a constant machine gun audio, which only stopped several minutes later when I chose to die to see if that would fix it. Upon starting back up it became clear that the enemies could see me through walls when I wasn't using stealth. Other negative points include slow controller response, sub-par graphics compared with what I was expecting, horrible vehicle control, poor matching of NPC voice overs....Getting back to my main point....It just feels very glitchy and unrefined....especially when there was all of this hype for the last half year about how mind blowing this game was going to be. The only thing mind blowing, was the fact that I bought it at all. Already put it on Craigslist, and I got to admit, I joined metacritic, just so I could warn other of this truly awful gaming experience. Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2011
    3
    Graphics are good in not for the resolution. Gameplay seems fun until you run into ai glitch, I have to admit that it ruins the fun. Lastly, the game is unplayeble for me at the moment because of freezes/crashes. I had to reboot my console more than 10 times now but now I encountered the section where game hangs every time and can't progress any further. Where is quality contra? For aGraphics are good in not for the resolution. Gameplay seems fun until you run into ai glitch, I have to admit that it ruins the fun. Lastly, the game is unplayeble for me at the moment because of freezes/crashes. I had to reboot my console more than 10 times now but now I encountered the section where game hangs every time and can't progress any further. Where is quality contra? For a £40 it's pathetic. Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2011
    3
    This is a review of the single player portion only.

    The first Crytek game, Far Cry, was tremendously fun: it brought to the table a huge sandbox environment in which the player could really experiment with tactics to achieve objectives. There was also a masterful balance between wide open terrain, and underground corridor style gameplay - whenever one style started to get stale, the
    This is a review of the single player portion only.

    The first Crytek game, Far Cry, was tremendously fun: it brought to the table a huge sandbox environment in which the player could really experiment with tactics to achieve objectives. There was also a masterful balance between wide open terrain, and underground corridor style gameplay - whenever one style started to get stale, the gameplay switched, keeping things interesting. Now comes Crysis 2, and gone are all the quirks and innovations that made Crytek stand-out. We have a standard boiler-plate console-style FPS with all the trappings. Endless, pointless cut-scenes that take you out of the moment, B-movie actors, tons of scripted moments that look great to the marketing execs but take the control away from the player and add nothing to gaming enjoyment, etc... The way the game industry has developed it seems like a group of managers with who fancy themselves as movie directors, produce an amateurish, B-movie story-line that is then rendered with the game engine and voiced by low-grade actors. The game developers are then tasked with generating some 'game-content' to tie the cut-scenes together. This results in an on-rails, predictable game where the player pushes the game forward usually by guiding the protagonist through beacons on a map to trigger the piecemeal cut-scenes. Boring... Guys, here's a tip - throw out the cut-scenes and get back to some basics. I mean one basic rule, in any game really, is to progressively throw harder and harder type enemies at the player. Why is it that throughout the game the fight is always the same against the same 2 or 3 types of alien? And why do the levels all look almost identical (the same NY street backdrop)? Even the earliest 8-bit games knew to have some kind of scenery progression to make the player strive to see what would come next. The single-player FPS experience is abysmal these days, I was hoping to see Crytek innovate again like they did with Far Cry, but no such luck. I guess there's too much money involved to take risks.
    Expand
  7. Mar 28, 2011
    3
    I don't understand how there are all these 9&10's. It has motivated me to sign up and write a review. This game is extremely average. I am about 4-5 hours in and have been very underwhelmed with the very scattered story telling - I don't even know what it's about really :-/ The extremely glitchy AI has ruined numerous battles. The aliens in particular are extremely prone to gettingI don't understand how there are all these 9&10's. It has motivated me to sign up and write a review. This game is extremely average. I am about 4-5 hours in and have been very underwhelmed with the very scattered story telling - I don't even know what it's about really :-/ The extremely glitchy AI has ruined numerous battles. The aliens in particular are extremely prone to getting stuck in the environment - it is ridiculous. I can't believe this made it into the final product. The game play is very rinse and repeat - but still a bit of fun and has its moments. I would recommend picking this up once it hits the bargain bins. Definitely not worth the full price. Expand
  8. May 5, 2012
    0
    Can it run Crysis? Yes it can but do you really want it to? No you don't. This game is just as over rated as the first Crysis. The multiplayer is boring I don't really know what FPS I could compare it to because it's kind of different, maybe halo. Single player sucks and hearing "Cloak engaged" over and over and over and over will make you want to rip the hair out from your skull. EnemiesCan it run Crysis? Yes it can but do you really want it to? No you don't. This game is just as over rated as the first Crysis. The multiplayer is boring I don't really know what FPS I could compare it to because it's kind of different, maybe halo. Single player sucks and hearing "Cloak engaged" over and over and over and over will make you want to rip the hair out from your skull. Enemies are dumb, story is generic, confusing and barely makes any sense from the opening cutscene I had no idea what the hell was going on. This game is basically the definition of a polished turd. It receives no score from me. Expand
  9. Mar 26, 2011
    0
    ok i too nearly dident buy the game over the botched demo but i m sure glad i bought it.the whole game is well thought out and graphics wise amazing.you can go in guns blazing but its much more fun to think your tactics through first the only game i can compare this to is the farcry series in its stealth but it is more faiirer than farcry more forgiving but a lot more fun.the customizationok i too nearly dident buy the game over the botched demo but i m sure glad i bought it.the whole game is well thought out and graphics wise amazing.you can go in guns blazing but its much more fun to think your tactics through first the only game i can compare this to is the farcry series in its stealth but it is more faiirer than farcry more forgiving but a lot more fun.the customization of yor nano suit is a great addition great game all round but crytek..dont release a shoddy demo a week before a games release it will hurt your sales. Expand
  10. Apr 1, 2011
    1
    i had written a review, on the 10 things that made crysis 2 a horrible game but somehow only the 10th point was posted, so it's late and i'll have to do it later.
  11. Mar 31, 2011
    1
    the game is awsome and epic, but the ps3 version sucks in both graphics and performance buy xbox so your money will be worth it. the game sequals the first game but with a complicated story
    graphics: superb, and the textures are prime 10/10 for xbox and pc 6/10 for ps3 the textures are terrible but the graphics are bad though.
    gameplay:great gameplay but xbox controlls are very
    the game is awsome and epic, but the ps3 version sucks in both graphics and performance buy xbox so your money will be worth it. the game sequals the first game but with a complicated story
    graphics: superb, and the textures are prime 10/10 for xbox and pc 6/10 for ps3 the textures are terrible but the graphics are bad though.
    gameplay:great gameplay but xbox controlls are very comfortable and superior to ps3
    multiplayer: superb and entertaining
    overall:im not an xbox fanboy nor a ps3 hater, i love both but xbox is superior of the both consoles
    Expand
  12. Apr 9, 2011
    0
    stupid game, not interesting, there is nothing new in it, just another FPS, I don't know what people liked about this game seriously, the game was just a lot of deja-vu
    hated this game
  13. Apr 12, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this is a **** I don't know what happened with the original crysis, I hope too much more about this game. the story mode is cool but the online gaming just sucks is the worst thing ever, lag, few player, few modes. doesn't worth the money (60 bucks to the garbage)...........................................................................................gfdgdfggdggggggggjfkdsnjkfhsdjfnjsdnjfnsdjfnsdsfoisdjfosdjfisjdifjsdifjsidfmsdmfisdmfisdfsdijfisdfsdfsdfqweqweqweqweq Expand
  14. Apr 15, 2011
    4
    Massive disappointment. The storyline is very poor for the first half. Graphics seem perfect until you notice countless glitches. There are whole portions of levels that you can complete just by sprinting through. The tactical options are pointless. 11 hours to complete is ok. Massive glitch stopped me reloading a chckpoint when i dies in one level. You'll see enemies walking into walls,Massive disappointment. The storyline is very poor for the first half. Graphics seem perfect until you notice countless glitches. There are whole portions of levels that you can complete just by sprinting through. The tactical options are pointless. 11 hours to complete is ok. Massive glitch stopped me reloading a chckpoint when i dies in one level. You'll see enemies walking into walls, sometimes disappearing into them and getting stuck. This is the worst fps i have played since haze. Online, lag can be huge, gun battles never reach the intensity of COD, and in my last session an entire tree was rolling around the level. There are also many cheaters. Worst game i've purchased in years, after all that hype. Expand
  15. Jun 16, 2011
    2
    this game sucked, i don't know why everyone is making a big deal about the graphics because they look nothing special to me, in fact i believe its not even 720p output its below somehow. Frame-rate is terrible the actual game is OK but the stealth missions are boring and frustrating and there's a lot of them, even more if you choose to be stealthy throughout the game but i recommend youthis game sucked, i don't know why everyone is making a big deal about the graphics because they look nothing special to me, in fact i believe its not even 720p output its below somehow. Frame-rate is terrible the actual game is OK but the stealth missions are boring and frustrating and there's a lot of them, even more if you choose to be stealthy throughout the game but i recommend you don't. I found the best way to play this game is just shooting like hell at the enemies, it may not be the most strategic way of playing buts its certainly the most fun way of playing it. Its another over-rated game that doesn't deserve the scores its getting, maybe for the pc version but not consoles. Expand
  16. Aug 19, 2011
    1
    If you have already played FPS games, then you have already seen everything that Crysis 2 has to offer. It's just another generic shooter with barely any plot at all, with no replay value and only few different types of enemies you have to shoot whole campaign, 10 hours streak. Crysis 2 has nothing new to offer. There is simply no reason for this game to exist. It borrows everything fromIf you have already played FPS games, then you have already seen everything that Crysis 2 has to offer. It's just another generic shooter with barely any plot at all, with no replay value and only few different types of enemies you have to shoot whole campaign, 10 hours streak. Crysis 2 has nothing new to offer. There is simply no reason for this game to exist. It borrows everything from other games, and brings you the repetition; same old enemies, same old powers, same old weapons, same old office buildings, same old sewers, same old aliens... And yeah, it really gets boring fast... Expand
  17. Oct 30, 2011
    2
    As I've said before, you can have cover-based shooting in your game, but you can't base your whole game off it. Crysis 2 has absolutely no story. The shooting mechanics are pathetic. If you so much as move an eyeball a nanometer, your HUD goes bobbing up and down and the screen becomes blurry like someone is firing a **** pressurized hose in your face. There is NOTHING fun about this game.As I've said before, you can have cover-based shooting in your game, but you can't base your whole game off it. Crysis 2 has absolutely no story. The shooting mechanics are pathetic. If you so much as move an eyeball a nanometer, your HUD goes bobbing up and down and the screen becomes blurry like someone is firing a **** pressurized hose in your face. There is NOTHING fun about this game. Avoid it at all costs. Expand
  18. Dec 31, 2012
    4
    The first Crysis was a really fun game the second could be that as well if it wasnt BROKEN!!! i cant finish the game because of this damn ammo glitch that doesnt allow me to refill or reload my ammo or my guns and after almost 2 years this game has been out this hasnt been FIXED!!! This is unexeceptable and just leaves this game a broken mess and the developers should be ashamed for notThe first Crysis was a really fun game the second could be that as well if it wasnt BROKEN!!! i cant finish the game because of this damn ammo glitch that doesnt allow me to refill or reload my ammo or my guns and after almost 2 years this game has been out this hasnt been FIXED!!! This is unexeceptable and just leaves this game a broken mess and the developers should be ashamed for not having this patched with in the first week of the games release. So i will make sure to buy Crysis 3 used so i make sure not to support theese lazy bums. Learn to do your damn job. Expand
  19. Nov 15, 2012
    4
    Crysis 2 gave me a awesome single player experience, the story line was both trilling and epic at the same time. The story comes together if you played crysis 1 to be able to chain the story together and your able to think back what they meant with that comment. However, when i switched over to the multi player aspect, my dream to have a awesome multi player experience, falls into theCrysis 2 gave me a awesome single player experience, the story line was both trilling and epic at the same time. The story comes together if you played crysis 1 to be able to chain the story together and your able to think back what they meant with that comment. However, when i switched over to the multi player aspect, my dream to have a awesome multi player experience, falls into the depths of the sea.. horrible lag issues, game breaking problems that made your playstation freeze (is still possible on the single player), and a very weird and not beleave able looking kill cams.

    4/10 because i think there are still problems and lag issues on the game they did not fix yet, and they wont, they are already working on the next one, great story, but a horrible mechanics.
    Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    87
    Crysis 2 may not live up to every expectation, but its pleasant surprises make up for most of its shortcomings.
  2. Jun 5, 2011
    80
    The game is fun though. It does get repetitive, and it does feel like a corridor at times, but the desire to see all of New York City, destroyed and lying in ruin, is what will drive you forward. Towards the end of the game it does overstay its welcome, and you'll be wishing you could just walk through the levels with no enemies in sight, detracting from the wonderful visuals. With all that said, the suit powers are enjoyable the first few times and any fan of shooters will have a good time in the game's dystopian New York City.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 27, 2011
    90
    Don't make the mistake of viewing Crysis 2 as a new shooter on the block that has to desperately prove itself to all the established PS3 heavy-hitters. In many ways it's actually the other way around. [May 2011, p.69]