User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 220 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 220

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 26, 2012
    8
    Hey let's play some hack'n'slash! Like GoW? Yes,but i have and xbox so let's play Dante's Inferno! Cool! So any of copy-yelling user out there,not everybody can afford both xbox360 and ps3,so if you got and xbox then you don't deserve to play games like GoW? For the game it's really awesome nice graphics,epic bosses,sometimes hard as hell,but a decent game.And it even got into Portable version!(PSP with some drawbacks of couse) Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    yes it is similar to god of war, and yes it is using one of the greatest poems of all time as its story. THATS WHAT MAKES IT F-ING AWSOME. its not like getting more god of war stlye games is bad, and this one stays close to the inferno's descriptions and story. that and how many people have READ THE POEM?
    it a brilliant way to bring people into the story. that and I DIDNT KNOW THAT GOD OF
    WAR TRADEMARKED THE IDEA OF LIGHT AND HEAVY ATTACKS, OR THE IDEA OF A RECHARGEABLE MAGIC METER. Expand
  3. Jul 26, 2011
    2
    The game is great, but the nudity is supreme. Younger people will wish they were 18. Only people living dependently can play it, sorry for family guys out there but this game is inaccessable for your kids.

    But what the **** Dante beats Lucifer like hell while others only dream of, making this game unrealistic and uncomparable to life. Forget about the graphics and gameplays, this game is
    just a brick to a whole cut story which makes this game "ain't enough for a storyline". Expand
  4. Nov 6, 2012
    8
    Ah, Dante's Inferno. One of my favourite Playstation games. Fanboys cry about it being a copy of GoW, and sure the gameplay is similar but you can't really compare anything else. I recommend it to everyone. Hell, if you liked GoW why would you not play this one? Battlefield and Call of Duty are extremely similar but people love to play both, so even you GoW fanboys should get it.
  5. Dec 2, 2012
    1
    If you like games that take a day to beat this is your game. The action is just a god of war rip off with hints towards the fight for good and evil while Dante is looking for his wife's soul in hell. Just a terrible story line because it is uninteresting and at times just bland. The ending is funny to say the least about big black things. I was excited for this game and bought it brand new and it traded back in 2 days later in disappointment. For people who only could play this hack and slash game instead of God of War: I feel bad for you and say maybe it is time to switch over to ps3 with not paying for internet access it pays for itself. I could not imagine paying monthly to play online 10 times a month what a ploy to bleed money out the gamer. Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2010
    9
    A very very good game. Not as deep as I thought it would be - Depth as in, what COD:MW 2 had or BF:BC 2 had. But still... very fun and very realistic. Single player campaign is short which isn't a good thing but DICE makes it all up for Multiplayer. :)
  7. Nov 26, 2010
    7
    I would score this game a 7.5, but I am rounding down to 7 because of a nagging dissatisfaction with the game. The story is what it is... a horrible video game version of a classic piece of literature. The presentation of the story is actually quite good, there are some nice cinematic scenes, and the mix of CGI videos, comic art, and sweeping camera vistas works very well. The gameplay is fairly tight and obviously totally derivative from God of War, but that does not make it any less fun. I find a few things with this game really frustrating: the (at times) terrible camera placement, the ridiculously cheap falling deaths, and the location of some save points. It is really annoying to go through an area, find an artifact or silver piece, etc, then die due to a cheap platform fall and have to redo everything again. I wouldn't mind replaying if the deaths were not so cheap, but some of the platforming just feels terrible. The use of quicktime events is also an old convention that needs to die (that applies to this game and others, including God of War III). The levels do start to feel a bit repetitive, and the "everything is brown" color scheme starts to get old as well. However, all negatives aside, the game is still quite enjoyable and if you like button mashing action games, you can do much worse than this one. I think Visceral Games could really make a top notch game in this genre if they give it another go, but this one falls well short of being a great game. Good, fun, interesting, but too many problem spots to be great. I would recommend buying it at it's newly discounted price. Expand
  8. Nov 1, 2011
    7
    A very well done hack and slash that has been done a million times before. Visually impressive. One thing I really didn't like about this game was that it seemed like too many people worked on it and each did a small section of the game. It almost seemed like hundreds of 10 minute sections. I do know most games try to change up the environments to stop the game from getting stale but this game went way over the edge to the point that the story, if any, seemed lost. The game seemed like a chaotic assemblage of individual software demos from every staff member who contributed to the game rather than being a cohesive game package. Now one other thing, I certainly don't mind nudity but considering this game was made for the younger crowd it also contained a very irresponsible amount of it. As i said I'm not against nudity, I'm all for an open world but i do feel that there was an unnecessary overabundance of it in this game and do feel it was added to sell copies of the game. I cannot believe what EA will do to make more sales. They are so pathetic. Expand
  9. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    i guess i'm one of the very few ps3ers not memorized by the hatred of kratos in god of war... i found it boring but then again vengeance ain't really my thing....darksiders puzzles were just difficult for the hell of it and killed its fun form me. however going into the bowels of hell to save my girl with the power to absolve others sins...short journey?...fine. nice graphics. absolutely disgusting visual metaphors used... the penis is barely tolerable but c'mon. how utterly disgusting can we get i feel totally violated by some of what i saw...despite that i enjoy dantes inferno... even if i have to shower afterwards Expand
  10. May 25, 2012
    5
    Given some of the excellent action / adventure games around, this game is purely average. What it does have is a good combat system allowing your character to develop along two different paths - light or dark. Unfortunately the subscreen is the best designed part of the whole game, as the gameplay is simply boring or downright frustrating. The action is constantly interrupted by ridiculous cutscenes, the platform sections are dull and constantly plagued by a fixed camera that seem to be designed to make it as difficult as possible to see whats going on. Worst of all is that the environment is the same from start to finish - dantes infernos' "hell" is 12 levels of monotiny with the same colour pallette and dull graphics throughout. While i did play until the end, it was an effort rather than a joy. Only for the hardcore hack n slash fans i suspect Expand
  11. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    Dante's Inferno is one of the best god of war like games in 2009 it has lots of level that are great to play a look at. On the ps3 it is much better then the Xbox. Also it worth much more then what you pay for with custom attack selection for killing hell spawn. Finally the end of the story is very satisfying. Go pick up when you have the chance
  12. Jan 24, 2012
    6
    Dante`s Inferno
    This game is quite entertaining, the story is actually not bad, it is quite intriguing. The graphics is decent and the voice acting is good. The battle system is good and the game play itself is not too shabby. You can get this game for a great price now and I recommend you try it out. The boss fights is quite good and the upgrade system is good. The level design is pretty
    well executed and it varies well when your character descends into the 7 stages of hell. The game can at times get a little repetitive but the fight themselves is entertaining and the game runs smooth. It is overall a good experience and well worth the low retail price you get at the most retailers at this time. Expand
  13. Aug 3, 2011
    6
    Ignoring the fact that this game is the lesser version of God of War it is an entertaining day length trip, though it doesn't offer enough for replay value. Now my opinion of this game could be a bit biased because I've studied the epic this game was based on, and not to my surprise this game is inferior to the book. While I have no gripes with the combat as it is functional enough it feels weird the judge celebrity damned souls considering Dante in the game is a self righteous moron. Most of what happens in the game is his fault and it feels weird for me to go into hell because his lover decided to take severe punishment for things that were entirely his fault. While in the book Dante had growth while in the game it seems cheesier than some of the anime I've watched. He leaves hell the same person he came in as. And it's also more than a little jarring when the last two rings of hell are short and dull. As I said it's a fun little game good for wasting a day of your time, but compared to the book it's based on this game is insulting. Expand
  14. Oct 15, 2011
    6
    It's not a game, it's experiment - experiment that show how games can treat literature from absolutely classic top. It's interesting enough to end, to thinking about fate of dante, but fails in them ost important thing - fun of playing. It offers just mediocre combat system and exploration segments.
  15. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    This is probably one game that is way underrated. DI is GOW3 copycat but so what ?Just because this game is copycat does not mean that it deserves lower scores. This is like saying that any FPS is copycat of Doom ?! This game plays well and it is truly tons of fun. Graphics are great,combat is well done and there is not much really that i can say is bad in this game.If you like GOW then you will love this title. Lots of blood and slashing. What else can you want :) Expand
  16. Dec 17, 2013
    8
    I like the combat of God of war but the constant backtracking and puzzles are a gamebreaker for me. Dante's Inferno takes God of war's best part and leaves the worst. That's about as simple as I can put it.
    The world created is engaging and beautiful although the graphics are a bit rough.
    Hell was never this fun.
  17. Jan 6, 2012
    7
    A god of war clone I bought for my xbox 360 that I never finished. It's great if you don't own a ps3, but I just couldn't finish this installment.
  18. Mar 24, 2012
    8
    What the game lacks in originality, it makes up for with incredibly inventive (and often disturbing) art direction. And considering the game it's cloned after is great to begin with, if you enjoyed God of War you should enjoy this as well. A lot of license has been taken but the circles of hell are still generally accurate to the book. I'm not usually interested in cutscenes, but these are so well-rendered I was fairly amazed. It's epic fun, a little bit mindless, but that suits this genre. Expand
  19. Apr 6, 2012
    5
    The game is pretty much what happens when God of War and the bible have sex and make a bastard child that ends up locked in a shed. In no means is Dante's Inferno a bad game, its just a bland game. I mean sure its just bread instead of a tasty sandwich, but at least its better than dirt, sure it very well is a knock-off God of War type game and had very little to bring to the table in the sense of originality, it at least solid. Its not as pretty as a God of War or Devil May Cry title but if you have $20 and a weird obsession to horde games like myself it might be worth picking up, but then again $20 of bread would be equally as satisfying. Expand
  20. Jul 23, 2012
    5
    Fans of 14th century poetry will find a solid title in Dante
  21. Aug 15, 2012
    7
    Another hack and slash, not a bad one at that, the cut scene's are great, but over all it's just another god of war..
    But for $20 it isn't a bad buy..
    My opinion of what dante is thinking: "I wish I was cratos" nuff said..
  22. Oct 25, 2012
    8
    Yes, this video game adapation of the classic poem plays like a "God of War" clone, but it's good fun and the production values are phenomenal. Made by Visceral Games (developers of "Dead Space"), "Dante's Inferno" is a visual triumph that should please fans of the horror genre. Extremely dark and over-the-top, it contains a few intense images that are quite freaky. The game takes liberties with the source material by making Dante a not-so-holy Christian knight during the time of the Crusades. After he returns to Italy, he discovers the dead body of his beloved wife Beatrice. She was murdered, but her soul lives on and is literally taken to hell. Determined to find her again, Dante plunges himself into the depths of hades to save her from Satan himself. As he embarks on the journey, he is tormented by his past sins and challenged by a variety of demonic creatures. The game borrows much from the "God of War" series including its engaging combat system. But what makes it really stand apart is the dark horror tone. While its nowhere as good as "Dead Space", "Dante's Inferno" proves that the developers at Visceral Games know horror. They have a knack for creating morbid and intense imagery. And as a fan of the genre, I was able to appreciate it despite its similarity to the superior "God of War". Expand
  23. Dec 6, 2012
    7
    I love the Divine Comedy book so I was really waiting for this game, when I started playing it I was not amazed even thought I know the history behind the game, but I played further and liked it more, i forgot about using all the special moves that you buy throughout the game using only the blade and the cross, I loved the enemies in this game, but the game play it's a bit repetitive but I don't see how can anyone compare this game with GOW it's totally different it may have similarities but that's common in any action TPS. Mi final thought it's that the game it's entertaining. Expand
  24. Aug 17, 2013
    8
    a very nice hack n slash the story is based on a famous poem and it is really good the gameplay wasn't good and still it wasn't bad as you get more moves while you advance like rpg element and the places in this game are so good as you advance in nine places in hell in the end a good hack n slash game that deserves a shot
  25. Jun 27, 2013
    6
    It takes a really interesting concept/story and turns it into an okay game. Yes, it's a poor man's God of War, but it's still fun. Unfortunately, I was expecting more than fun. I was expecting epic, because it's based on an epic poem, which I've read a few times and love. I had always wondered how the poem would be if it were turned into a movie or game, now I know: enjoyable but disappointing. Sad thing is, I think it could've been epic if it was made by a better company. Expand
  26. Apr 30, 2013
    9
    I think this game is definitely worth playing, but once it's completed I myself wouldn't want to play it over.

    Its not a God of War rip off but it dose use certain game play element's from it and it also uses many other elements from many other games, so not by any means original hence the 4 stars.

    although not original it dose offer loads in the way of trophies, blood, gore,
    violence oh and not forgetting certain favored womanly body parts, it can be addictive but I fear if I played it for to long I would want to bludgeon someone to death or something.

    Graphically it could be better but still good enough, for what you get the price should be a bit less so maybe just rent it and help your local DVD shop out.

    By no means let your children play this game its 100% not suitable, I know the rating is sometimes harsh but not this time.
    Expand
  27. May 14, 2014
    3
    I'd be a lot more lenient with the score if it weren't for the fact that the game is needlessly frustrating and punishing at points. Difficult is one thing but having to replay the same cutscene/tooltip messages over-and-over again because you failed over something stupid (there's a section where you have to kill 'x' enemies without losing your combo, otherwise it's game over). You'll wind up getting stuck in parts that have absolutely no enemies in them because for some reason Visceral Games thought it'd be good gameplay to have you die at random points and spend two-three minutes a pop going over the same unskippable scenes.

    Action games are supposed to be challenging, difficult and most of all entertaining. They decided to go the route of expecting everyone to have capped out spatial awareness and luck. Only real redeeming factor to the game is it's storyline and art style, beyond that you should probably play a game that doesn't focus on three second "oops I got hit" animations.
    Expand
  28. Nov 18, 2013
    8
    This is the perfect example of when a copy surpasses the original. It may have a little variety of combos, but the rest is just great, primarily the story.
  29. Aug 1, 2014
    9
    This is one of my favorite games because of the great art direction and story. It is a video game rendition of Dante's Inferno the 'poem' by Dante Alighieri and it reminds me alot of the God Of War series. The game takes you through the various levels of hell like in the story and the games gives you a great blend of button mashing and strategy, especially if you play on a higher difficulty level other than zealot. One of my favorite elements of the game is how you can buff your magical abilities to holy or unholy. The boss battles are very fun and challenging to a degree. The game has very dark overtones and really makes the game great for older crowds. The games artists did a great job of rendering a great deal of interesting textures and enemies for you to hack and slash through.

    To any God Of War fan or Dynasty Warriors fan, I would recommend picking up this game for the sheer fact that it can be found for under ten bucks at alot of video game stores and it definitely worth playing through at least once or keeping in your library.

    Revelation 13:16 #BornWithHorns
    Expand
  30. Feb 23, 2014
    6
    It tries really hard to be as good as a God of War game but falls short. The level designs are cool and the stories pretty good. However, it just feels like a ripoff of God of War. Replay value is quite low after you beat it.
  31. Jul 3, 2014
    8
    Although many here call it a GoW clone, I cannot deny it, but this still is a good game.
    It was annoying occasionally, with all the stupid falls over the edge or dumb placed checkpoints, but if we ignore it and focus on action and game graphics, it's very enjoyable.
    For example, leveling up is much more interesting then in GoW.
    I find it doubtful that GoW fans won't like Dante's
    inferno as well. Expand
  32. Jun 8, 2014
    4
    A bland God of War clone that does nothing to fix the mistakes God of War makes. If you could stand the awful camera's, horrible platforming sections, quicktime events and repetitive combat of God of War you might enjoy this as well, but don't expect anything more. You will still fall to your death every single section because of horrible camera's and terrible platforming. You will still get a sore thumb from mashing the Circle to do trivial things such as open doors, finish off enemies and open chests.

    The story is good, and the way it is told through cutscenes and cartoons is cool, but the tedious gameplay, repetitive and idiotic platform sections and horrid checkpoint placement will probably kill any enjoyment you can get out of the story.

    I especially enjoyed the parts where they placed a checkpoint prior to me opening three chests (that each involve mashing the circle button to open) followed shortly by a jump with a horrible camera that, if you miss it, forces to open the three chests again. It's a bit of a shame that there were numerous parts just like this throughout the game.

    The progression system is good, leveling up your abilities with holy/unholy experience and gathering relics to improve your abilities is fun as well. The combat isn't awful, but it isn't any better than God of War either.

    I normally do not mind games cloning other games, as long as they improve upon the original game in some way. Dante's Inferno does not do this. It makes all the mistakes God of War makes, and it makes a lot of them even worse, in addition to its own mistakes. If you can stand constant horrid quicktime events, awful platforming sections and a sore thumb from mashing the circle button, you might enjoy this game, but if you ever got frustrated with God of War you will be ten times as frustrated with Dante's Inferno, in that case save your money.
    Expand
  33. Jun 10, 2014
    6
    Un juego que conceptualmente y también a nivel de diseño gráfico es fantástico pero que su jugabilidad es una copia regulera de los GoW. Lástima no haberse atrevido a perder un poco de acción y crear sencillamente una pieza menos botonera. Aún así vale la pena probarlo y pasearse por sus escenarios y ver los enemigos de La Divina Comedia.
  34. Oct 7, 2014
    8
    Dante's Inferno Game-Play:The game in a well executed hack n slash game and it use some magic as well.the game is full of combos ranged and melee and some good boss fights. Story:This is the strong point of the game.The original story is based on a novel nad is very well executed as well.It will keep you about 8 to 9 hours. Graphics:The game have nice graphics. Notes:I would like more weapon than just two and also some more magic.Also there are some items in the game you can equip but the item are useless. Expand
  35. Aug 31, 2014
    10
    I will five this pearl 10 of 10 - anyway!
    Allthough it made me mad at certain points!
    10 ALONE for the fantastic artwork! The Game graphics rock at every second and I couldn't image a "better" hell than the very different bleak stages of Dante's Inferno - Congratulations and Kotau to the Creative department - worldclass to my opinion.
    The gameplay itself reminds often of God of War
    series and is a mixture of hack&slay (fantastic animations and effects) and (terrific and partially annoying) skill tests - it'S flawless but not new.
    The skill tests (jumping sequences, time based tasks etc.) are like already metioned hairy but solvable at last.
    I mastered it without cheats (if there exist any) but there were 5 or 6 situations where had to try a level more often than I'm usually accepting in Games (that means I then stop playing).
    The scenario itself kept me trying nevertheless and I can only recommend this game to enthusiastic gamers who appreciate stunning graphics and a real challenge to master (at least it was one for me)
    Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Despite its visual aspect that was a bit below the standard ofn the genre, Dante's Inferno is able to provide fun and hold you until the end of the game. For some it can become repetitive and uninteresting, but it is a great choice for lovers of the genre.
  2. Obviously, critics will obsessively compare Dante's Inferno to other games, or complain about the quick time events, but don't let those nitpicky issues prevent you from experiencing this imaginative and fun adventure. It's one Hell of a good time..
  3. A copycat, yes, but when it's this thrilling, brutal and frankly, awesome we don't care.