User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 242 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 242

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Luigi
    Mar 17, 2010
    6
    There are only two things you need to know about this game: 1. It's a total & almost complete clone of God Of War. Gameplay is shockingly similar with only very few basic mechanics offering anything original. 2. The story isn't actually a telling of Dante's inferno - it's a story the developers made up and simply set in a version of 'hell' that is inspired by There are only two things you need to know about this game: 1. It's a total & almost complete clone of God Of War. Gameplay is shockingly similar with only very few basic mechanics offering anything original. 2. The story isn't actually a telling of Dante's inferno - it's a story the developers made up and simply set in a version of 'hell' that is inspired by the original story. This would be fine but for the fact that the devs decided to put a 'save your girlfriend' storyline from the 80's. Isn't deserving of anyones money IMO - unless you can pick it up for about a tenner. EA deserve a big slap for this one! Expand
  2. Aug 15, 2012
    7
    Another hack and slash, not a bad one at that, the cut scene's are great, but over all it's just another god of war..
    But for $20 it isn't a bad buy..
    My opinion of what dante is thinking: "I wish I was cratos" nuff said..
  3. KostasI.
    Mar 23, 2010
    6
    Ok i will say this first, the game is a complete copy, a clone if you like, of God of war albeit it unfolds into hell and the 7 circles of the 7 deadly sins. The game has some good moments going for it and you will most likely ador the setting especially if you are a little bit of a religious person but the game has 3 severe flaws. 1. The combat is shallow in the same manner (if not more) Ok i will say this first, the game is a complete copy, a clone if you like, of God of war albeit it unfolds into hell and the 7 circles of the 7 deadly sins. The game has some good moments going for it and you will most likely ador the setting especially if you are a little bit of a religious person but the game has 3 severe flaws. 1. The combat is shallow in the same manner (if not more) as God of War. Just millions upon millions of hellish demons to be slain. Cheap shots from them are common, there is no stagger system or a good counterattack system let alone some of the more subtle mechanics that games like Devil May Cry, Bayonetta and Ninja Gaiden are blessed with. Its just functional in a way for you to clear the path and thats about it. 2. Camera system is flawed. Its completely set and you can not move it in any way and it does not like to capture the action to help with the combat. Instead it makes it difficult and enemies will be stringing attacks on you just because the camera fails to show you what it should. Same with the jumping and QTE sections, you will die more than once because its not immediately apparent where you should be going next despite the linearity of the game and you will often plunge to your death. 3. Deceptive difficulty. No matter how much you pump up the difficulty curve the game never makes it fair for you. Its completely out of your hands and controll of how you will perform and yes the previous 2 flaws do account for many of the third flaw. All in all, Dantes Inferno is a good game but i would not recomend a buy for it. Rent it first, play it and then decide if you want it in your collection or not. Expand
  4. Oct 15, 2011
    6
    It's not a game, it's experiment - experiment that show how games can treat literature from absolutely classic top. It's interesting enough to end, to thinking about fate of dante, but fails in them ost important thing - fun of playing. It offers just mediocre combat system and exploration segments.
  5. ChrisS
    Feb 20, 2010
    6
    The first levels were amazing. Then you realize that they start borrowig from themselves more and more liberally as the game continues. The relics and spells you pick up are so trivial that you often forget to use them and when you remember them, you're not all that worried about dragging them out agian. And the scythe? It's awesome. Get used to it, there will be no alternatives The first levels were amazing. Then you realize that they start borrowig from themselves more and more liberally as the game continues. The relics and spells you pick up are so trivial that you often forget to use them and when you remember them, you're not all that worried about dragging them out agian. And the scythe? It's awesome. Get used to it, there will be no alternatives and the fighting does very little to evolve as the game gets further along. It seems like they had some great levels started and then just copied and pasted them to fill out the release. The worst thing? I recomended this game based on the first levels to everyone. I've had to go back to them hat in hand and give them the rest of the story. Sorry guys. Expand
  6. JaneB.
    Feb 9, 2010
    7
    Although I haven't finished the game yet, I'm impressed by the surrounding environment. The big enemies are extremely well done, however the smaller ones tend to lack in detail sometimes (even in HD). It's a God of War clone set in another time and another world. As a matter of fact I acctually feel Kratos as he, as the war of god he became, is looking down on Dante and the Although I haven't finished the game yet, I'm impressed by the surrounding environment. The big enemies are extremely well done, however the smaller ones tend to lack in detail sometimes (even in HD). It's a God of War clone set in another time and another world. As a matter of fact I acctually feel Kratos as he, as the war of god he became, is looking down on Dante and the crusades. Angry as always waiting for the time to unleash from his throne. My biggest fear so far is that the game is too short (which sadly is too common these days). Certain circles move by too quickly. More than once I've played through a section and was left with a feeling of just getting started. A lot of people say they don't like hammering buttons. Those people should stay away from this pure hack n slash game. Insane hammering is crucial when hordes of the damned rage towards you. As mentioned the environments are great but sometimes I'd like more of these grandiose parts. All in all a really enjoyable game. Not what I had hoped for but still worth the bucks. It's violent, there are bare breasts, subtle genitalias and pretty much anything touchy moral panic parents frpn a good christian home wont like. Expand
  7. DallasB
    Feb 15, 2010
    5
    I first want to say, that I was super hyped about this game coming out! I pre-bought the PS3 version, because it was the Divine Edition, containing extra content. I wanted as much game content as I could get. The extra content was a nice touch, since there was no price increase in gaining it. Yes this is a God of War clone, but that does not make it a bad game based simply on that fact. I first want to say, that I was super hyped about this game coming out! I pre-bought the PS3 version, because it was the Divine Edition, containing extra content. I wanted as much game content as I could get. The extra content was a nice touch, since there was no price increase in gaining it. Yes this is a God of War clone, but that does not make it a bad game based simply on that fact. Imitation can be a great form of flattery! Though this game has excellent backgrounds throughout the entire game, you never get to explore it in an open sand box style, but you are rather, confined to very narrow corridors, that are the same throughout the entire game. In Fact this game is made up entirely of nothing more then mini-games. When you get to the end of the game it is made up of 7-9 challenges, that all must be completed by a specific requirement. These challenges favor those who use the Holy route as the cross must be used specifically, in one Challenge. Since I chose to go the Unholy route and use all my souls to upgrade the Unholy Tree exclusively, which once you do that 100% you are awarded a trophy. I simply thought that once I beat the game with the Unholy Tree totally upgraded, I would go back and play the game all the way through upgrading the Holy Tree only to get the trophy for that! I highly recommend that you upgrade the Cross on the Holy side of the Upgrade Tree, all the way, just as soon as you can, as you will need it towards the end of the game! All the levels of the Hell have great Set pieces that show great potential, and they are never used as you get to see them briefly, and then you are confined to narrow corridors. Almost all levels are identical in game play, with some levels of Hell being extremely brief before moving on to the next one. Another Extreme frustration in the game is the platforming. There will be some levels that you fall to death over and over, as you try to judge distances in jumps, or grabbing lines to swing. Some of this is due to poor camera implementation as well. Simply put the game play through out the game becomes repetitive, boring and at times down right maddening. Based on just game play, I would score the game play a 5 out of 10. The bright points in this game are the characters, set pieces, and Cut Scenes. I would give that a 9 put of 10. Sadly though, none of this matters if the actual game play suffers, and it suffers badly. It is almost as if the Visceral team was so caught up in the Super Cool Characters, Set Pieces, and Cut Scenes, that they forgot to make a game around all that. The game play is really horrible. Since the game ends with a, " To be Continued." I will not be pre-buying it. I feel like I got burned! In fact even with all the DLC coming out I will be trading this game in right away. I am very sad, as I was looking forward to this game, and Visceral's interpretation of this Epic Poem. Simply put, Gorgeous Game, Gorgeous Cut Scenes, Truly inspired Characters, and Horrible and at times broken game play. Expand
  8. GeoffR
    Feb 23, 2010
    6
    This game was a massive disappointment and a lesson in what it is to be Bi-polar. 3 or 4 of the levels were really really well done, with great bosses, fantastic lighting and awesome level design. However the rest of the game was a abysmal, with poor textures and lighting. Though the game took me 8 hours to complete, 1 hour of that was pure filler in the form of challenge maps. The worst This game was a massive disappointment and a lesson in what it is to be Bi-polar. 3 or 4 of the levels were really really well done, with great bosses, fantastic lighting and awesome level design. However the rest of the game was a abysmal, with poor textures and lighting. Though the game took me 8 hours to complete, 1 hour of that was pure filler in the form of challenge maps. The worst part of these challenge maps was that the they were poorly textured, uninteresting and without story. This game had great moments which ultimately led to an even harsher feeling of disappointment when the clearly rushed 50% of the game came into view. This game had the technical tools to be awesome, but lacked the solid vision to be anything more than mediocre. Expand
  9. Notverygoodbutnotbad
    Apr 21, 2010
    7
    After completing half of the walkthrough, I've already felt bored. This game does not give me any excitement, even when fighting the giant bosses. This makes me have no mood to have a second playthrough. Moreover, in the circle of Fraud, there are some challenges with restrictions, I don't like this idea in the story part gameplay. Although the game has a very stable high frame After completing half of the walkthrough, I've already felt bored. This game does not give me any excitement, even when fighting the giant bosses. This makes me have no mood to have a second playthrough. Moreover, in the circle of Fraud, there are some challenges with restrictions, I don't like this idea in the story part gameplay. Although the game has a very stable high frame rate, the graphics is not so good, the anti-aliasing is poor in this game. Expand
  10. Nov 26, 2010
    7
    I would score this game a 7.5, but I am rounding down to 7 because of a nagging dissatisfaction with the game. The story is what it is... a horrible video game version of a classic piece of literature. The presentation of the story is actually quite good, there are some nice cinematic scenes, and the mix of CGI videos, comic art, and sweeping camera vistas works very well. The gameplayI would score this game a 7.5, but I am rounding down to 7 because of a nagging dissatisfaction with the game. The story is what it is... a horrible video game version of a classic piece of literature. The presentation of the story is actually quite good, there are some nice cinematic scenes, and the mix of CGI videos, comic art, and sweeping camera vistas works very well. The gameplay is fairly tight and obviously totally derivative from God of War, but that does not make it any less fun. I find a few things with this game really frustrating: the (at times) terrible camera placement, the ridiculously cheap falling deaths, and the location of some save points. It is really annoying to go through an area, find an artifact or silver piece, etc, then die due to a cheap platform fall and have to redo everything again. I wouldn't mind replaying if the deaths were not so cheap, but some of the platforming just feels terrible. The use of quicktime events is also an old convention that needs to die (that applies to this game and others, including God of War III). The levels do start to feel a bit repetitive, and the "everything is brown" color scheme starts to get old as well. However, all negatives aside, the game is still quite enjoyable and if you like button mashing action games, you can do much worse than this one. I think Visceral Games could really make a top notch game in this genre if they give it another go, but this one falls well short of being a great game. Good, fun, interesting, but too many problem spots to be great. I would recommend buying it at it's newly discounted price. Expand
  11. Nov 1, 2011
    7
    A very well done hack and slash that has been done a million times before. Visually impressive. One thing I really didn't like about this game was that it seemed like too many people worked on it and each did a small section of the game. It almost seemed like hundreds of 10 minute sections. I do know most games try to change up the environments to stop the game from getting stale but thisA very well done hack and slash that has been done a million times before. Visually impressive. One thing I really didn't like about this game was that it seemed like too many people worked on it and each did a small section of the game. It almost seemed like hundreds of 10 minute sections. I do know most games try to change up the environments to stop the game from getting stale but this game went way over the edge to the point that the story, if any, seemed lost. The game seemed like a chaotic assemblage of individual software demos from every staff member who contributed to the game rather than being a cohesive game package. Now one other thing, I certainly don't mind nudity but considering this game was made for the younger crowd it also contained a very irresponsible amount of it. As i said I'm not against nudity, I'm all for an open world but i do feel that there was an unnecessary overabundance of it in this game and do feel it was added to sell copies of the game. I cannot believe what EA will do to make more sales. They are so pathetic. Expand
  12. May 25, 2012
    5
    Given some of the excellent action / adventure games around, this game is purely average. What it does have is a good combat system allowing your character to develop along two different paths - light or dark. Unfortunately the subscreen is the best designed part of the whole game, as the gameplay is simply boring or downright frustrating. The action is constantly interrupted by ridiculousGiven some of the excellent action / adventure games around, this game is purely average. What it does have is a good combat system allowing your character to develop along two different paths - light or dark. Unfortunately the subscreen is the best designed part of the whole game, as the gameplay is simply boring or downright frustrating. The action is constantly interrupted by ridiculous cutscenes, the platform sections are dull and constantly plagued by a fixed camera that seem to be designed to make it as difficult as possible to see whats going on. Worst of all is that the environment is the same from start to finish - dantes infernos' "hell" is 12 levels of monotiny with the same colour pallette and dull graphics throughout. While i did play until the end, it was an effort rather than a joy. Only for the hardcore hack n slash fans i suspect Expand
  13. Jan 24, 2012
    6
    Dante`s Inferno
    This game is quite entertaining, the story is actually not bad, it is quite intriguing. The graphics is decent and the voice acting is good. The battle system is good and the game play itself is not too shabby. You can get this game for a great price now and I recommend you try it out. The boss fights is quite good and the upgrade system is good. The level design is pretty
    Dante`s Inferno
    This game is quite entertaining, the story is actually not bad, it is quite intriguing. The graphics is decent and the voice acting is good. The battle system is good and the game play itself is not too shabby. You can get this game for a great price now and I recommend you try it out. The boss fights is quite good and the upgrade system is good. The level design is pretty well executed and it varies well when your character descends into the 7 stages of hell. The game can at times get a little repetitive but the fight themselves is entertaining and the game runs smooth. It is overall a good experience and well worth the low retail price you get at the most retailers at this time.
    Expand
  14. Aug 3, 2011
    6
    Ignoring the fact that this game is the lesser version of God of War it is an entertaining day length trip, though it doesn't offer enough for replay value. Now my opinion of this game could be a bit biased because I've studied the epic this game was based on, and not to my surprise this game is inferior to the book. While I have no gripes with the combat as it is functional enough itIgnoring the fact that this game is the lesser version of God of War it is an entertaining day length trip, though it doesn't offer enough for replay value. Now my opinion of this game could be a bit biased because I've studied the epic this game was based on, and not to my surprise this game is inferior to the book. While I have no gripes with the combat as it is functional enough it feels weird the judge celebrity damned souls considering Dante in the game is a self righteous moron. Most of what happens in the game is his fault and it feels weird for me to go into hell because his lover decided to take severe punishment for things that were entirely his fault. While in the book Dante had growth while in the game it seems cheesier than some of the anime I've watched. He leaves hell the same person he came in as. And it's also more than a little jarring when the last two rings of hell are short and dull. As I said it's a fun little game good for wasting a day of your time, but compared to the book it's based on this game is insulting. Expand
  15. Jan 6, 2012
    7
    A god of war clone I bought for my xbox 360 that I never finished. It's great if you don't own a ps3, but I just couldn't finish this installment.
  16. Apr 6, 2012
    5
    The game is pretty much what happens when God of War and the bible have sex and make a bastard child that ends up locked in a shed. In no means is Dante's Inferno a bad game, its just a bland game. I mean sure its just bread instead of a tasty sandwich, but at least its better than dirt, sure it very well is a knock-off God of War type game and had very little to bring to the table in theThe game is pretty much what happens when God of War and the bible have sex and make a bastard child that ends up locked in a shed. In no means is Dante's Inferno a bad game, its just a bland game. I mean sure its just bread instead of a tasty sandwich, but at least its better than dirt, sure it very well is a knock-off God of War type game and had very little to bring to the table in the sense of originality, it at least solid. Its not as pretty as a God of War or Devil May Cry title but if you have $20 and a weird obsession to horde games like myself it might be worth picking up, but then again $20 of bread would be equally as satisfying. Expand
  17. Jul 23, 2012
    5
    Fans of 14th century poetry will find a solid title in Dante
  18. Oct 25, 2012
    7
    Yes, this video game adapation of the classic poem plays like a "God of War" clone, but it's good fun and the production values are phenomenal. Made by Visceral Games (developers of "Dead Space"), "Dante's Inferno" is a visual triumph that should please fans of the horror genre. Extremely dark and over-the-top, it contains a few intense images that are quite freaky. The game takesYes, this video game adapation of the classic poem plays like a "God of War" clone, but it's good fun and the production values are phenomenal. Made by Visceral Games (developers of "Dead Space"), "Dante's Inferno" is a visual triumph that should please fans of the horror genre. Extremely dark and over-the-top, it contains a few intense images that are quite freaky. The game takes liberties with the source material by making Dante a not-so-holy Christian knight during the time of the Crusades. After he returns to Italy, he discovers the dead body of his beloved wife Beatrice. She was murdered, but her soul lives on and is literally taken to hell. Determined to find her again, Dante plunges himself into the depths of hades to save her from Satan himself. As he embarks on the journey, he is tormented by his past sins and challenged by a variety of demonic creatures. The game borrows much from the "God of War" series including its engaging combat system. But what makes it really stand apart is the dark horror tone. While its nowhere as good as "Dead Space", "Dante's Inferno" proves that the developers at Visceral Games know horror. They have a knack for creating morbid and intense imagery. And as a fan of the genre, I was able to appreciate it despite its similarity to the superior "God of War". Expand
  19. Dec 6, 2012
    7
    I love the Divine Comedy book so I was really waiting for this game, when I started playing it I was not amazed even thought I know the history behind the game, but I played further and liked it more, i forgot about using all the special moves that you buy throughout the game using only the blade and the cross, I loved the enemies in this game, but the game play it's a bit repetitive but II love the Divine Comedy book so I was really waiting for this game, when I started playing it I was not amazed even thought I know the history behind the game, but I played further and liked it more, i forgot about using all the special moves that you buy throughout the game using only the blade and the cross, I loved the enemies in this game, but the game play it's a bit repetitive but I don't see how can anyone compare this game with GOW it's totally different it may have similarities but that's common in any action TPS. Mi final thought it's that the game it's entertaining. Expand
  20. Jun 27, 2013
    6
    It takes a really interesting concept/story and turns it into an okay game. Yes, it's a poor man's God of War, but it's still fun. Unfortunately, I was expecting more than fun. I was expecting epic, because it's based on an epic poem, which I've read a few times and love. I had always wondered how the poem would be if it were turned into a movie or game, now I know: enjoyable butIt takes a really interesting concept/story and turns it into an okay game. Yes, it's a poor man's God of War, but it's still fun. Unfortunately, I was expecting more than fun. I was expecting epic, because it's based on an epic poem, which I've read a few times and love. I had always wondered how the poem would be if it were turned into a movie or game, now I know: enjoyable but disappointing. Sad thing is, I think it could've been epic if it was made by a better company. Expand
  21. Feb 23, 2014
    6
    It tries really hard to be as good as a God of War game but falls short. The level designs are cool and the stories pretty good. However, it just feels like a ripoff of God of War. Replay value is quite low after you beat it.
  22. Jun 10, 2014
    6
    Un juego que conceptualmente y también a nivel de diseño gráfico es fantástico pero que su jugabilidad es una copia regulera de los GoW. Lástima no haberse atrevido a perder un poco de acción y crear sencillamente una pieza menos botonera. Aún así vale la pena probarlo y pasearse por sus escenarios y ver los enemigos de La Divina Comedia.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Despite its visual aspect that was a bit below the standard ofn the genre, Dante's Inferno is able to provide fun and hold you until the end of the game. For some it can become repetitive and uninteresting, but it is a great choice for lovers of the genre.
  2. Obviously, critics will obsessively compare Dante's Inferno to other games, or complain about the quick time events, but don't let those nitpicky issues prevent you from experiencing this imaginative and fun adventure. It's one Hell of a good time..
  3. A copycat, yes, but when it's this thrilling, brutal and frankly, awesome we don't care.