Darksiders II PlayStation 3

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 417 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 91 out of 417
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 2, 2012
    7
    After more than 20 hours playing my opinion is that Darksiders 2 is a great and large adventure with a funny combat system and a well-balanced story-telling that fails to be a masterpiece due to lack of innovation, a repetitive dungeon-crawling and some annoying bugs. The Good :

    -Great story and great combat system. -Good balance between combat, exploring and problem solving. -Fresh
    After more than 20 hours playing my opinion is that Darksiders 2 is a great and large adventure with a funny combat system and a well-balanced story-telling that fails to be a masterpiece due to lack of innovation, a repetitive dungeon-crawling and some annoying bugs. The Good :

    -Great story and great combat system.
    -Good balance between combat, exploring and problem solving.
    -Fresh Ideas (looting weapons, leveling up character, some "RPG style" )

    The Bad:

    - Too similar to the first part (lack of innovation)
    - Storytelling is somehow boring ("10 go to the new place, 20 speak to the king of XXX, 30 find three XXX, 40 obtain help and find a new place 50 go to 10" )
    -Too much (really annoying) bugs.
    Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2012
    6
    Darksiders 2 is not what i wanted in a sequel. I won't say It was bad, but I definitely can't say it was as memorable as the first. Many people threw off on the first installment due in large part to its lack of originality. I could give a crap about that because fun is fun; and i would insert a thought about what constitutes originality, but I'm sure that's been done before. The firstDarksiders 2 is not what i wanted in a sequel. I won't say It was bad, but I definitely can't say it was as memorable as the first. Many people threw off on the first installment due in large part to its lack of originality. I could give a crap about that because fun is fun; and i would insert a thought about what constitutes originality, but I'm sure that's been done before. The first game felt perfectly sized for it's genre(hack and slash/action/adventure). The environments where captivating, varied, and had a cohesive feel to them. Darksiders 2 has a faster combat system that, if one puts the time in, is very rewarding and is composed of a much larger scope. the latter point is the failing aspect of the games development. while yes, it is huge and at times very pretty, the levels feel empty. The first game had claustrophobic moments of unrelenting action but this time around the threat of an enemy attack, while not in a dungeon, is almost non existent. this is a huge spot of contention for me because I like to fight things and be challenged. speaking of challenge, the boss battles in this game were not memorable at all. sitting here typing i can only remember one that was memorable(Sammy). they didn't have that ominous feel that Tiamat or the dune-like worm the Stygian possessed from the first darksiders. the last boss in Darksiders 2 was to say the least, lame. i hope they make another darksiders, but narrow their scope. focus on action, setting, and story. don't bloat the game with unneeded filler like loot, tons of fetch quests, a lackluster bosses. shiny graphics will not make up for these things. Expand
  3. Aug 16, 2012
    7
    PROS: -loot system is very appreciated and works well -agile platforming akin to prince of persia -art style/environments -combat -fresh new feeling and polish compared to the first game -case is shiny just like the first one -well designed dungeons with a plethora of mechanics and some great bosses -large game with plenty of content CONS: -slight technical hiccups (tearing, fps drops, tooPROS: -loot system is very appreciated and works well -agile platforming akin to prince of persia -art style/environments -combat -fresh new feeling and polish compared to the first game -case is shiny just like the first one -well designed dungeons with a plethora of mechanics and some great bosses -large game with plenty of content CONS: -slight technical hiccups (tearing, fps drops, too frequent loading, blinky shadows, sluggish menu, bugs, etc) -menu keybindings are of questionable design -platforming controls could be smoother -quick view of loot outside menu could be slightly more extensive to show you what you are losing, not just what you're gaining -narrative is a little to distant from its connection with the first game and only slightly advances the lore forward -anti climactic boss and unfulfilling conclusion NOTES: Although having noticeable flaws, overall its a good game that manages to focus all its different elements together into a single identity that is bigger, better, and more varied then its predecessor in almost all areas. Expand
  4. Aug 25, 2012
    7
    Biggest issue are the controls on the PC. Someone who is not used to using a gamepad is going to be very frustrated, as even the possibility of rebinding the keys (except some keys like Del seem to be forbidden to bind anything to them) is insufficient. This issue is most annoying during climbing as you'll realize you need an extra set of fingers for some moves.
    DO NOT buy this game if
    Biggest issue are the controls on the PC. Someone who is not used to using a gamepad is going to be very frustrated, as even the possibility of rebinding the keys (except some keys like Del seem to be forbidden to bind anything to them) is insufficient. This issue is most annoying during climbing as you'll realize you need an extra set of fingers for some moves.
    DO NOT buy this game if you are a pure PC gamer who does not use gamepads.
    Expand
  5. Sep 1, 2012
    7
    So far, this is the GOTY 2012. Don't listen to the 0.8 average user score because all of it is just spam hating agaisnt the ps3. This game runs perfectly on ps3. The new additions added in this game are delight because of all the RPG elements and dungeons. This game will definitely provide many hours of entertainment and fun, even to just casual gamers. The art style is just beautiful andSo far, this is the GOTY 2012. Don't listen to the 0.8 average user score because all of it is just spam hating agaisnt the ps3. This game runs perfectly on ps3. The new additions added in this game are delight because of all the RPG elements and dungeons. This game will definitely provide many hours of entertainment and fun, even to just casual gamers. The art style is just beautiful and the soundtrack by Jesper Kyd is phenomenal. The combat is confusing in the beginning, but as the player progresses in the game, it gets easier but the game always tends to challenge you. Expand
  6. Sep 3, 2012
    7
    Its like a darker toned zelda with inspiration from the Devil May Cry series from Capcom. Plays smoothly and no apparent lag issues. Playing as death is cool in itself, storyline could be better, wont go into to avoid spoilers
  7. Nov 23, 2012
    7
    and screen tearing...veryyyyyyyy bad....i sold it....bye bye..................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
  8. Oct 30, 2012
    6
    Darksiders 2 is another shameless mix of the original's forefathers - Zelda and God of War. I grew tired of the God-of-War-style gameplay a while ago and this is just a carbon copy. The graphics are adequate sufficiently smooth, unfortunately the cutscenes look awful. There's a certain requisite magnanimity expected when playing as Death himself in a videogame, but THQ never manages toDarksiders 2 is another shameless mix of the original's forefathers - Zelda and God of War. I grew tired of the God-of-War-style gameplay a while ago and this is just a carbon copy. The graphics are adequate sufficiently smooth, unfortunately the cutscenes look awful. There's a certain requisite magnanimity expected when playing as Death himself in a videogame, but THQ never manages to convey this, cool horse though... Also, you shoudln't really be able to die as Death should you? The game certainly informs you this is the case, but after 5 or so hours I was dying a lot. Oddly fun to play at times though Darksiders 2 was, this is derivative fluff. Expand
  9. Jun 10, 2016
    7
    This is a good, but not great game. The core gameplay is fine, your typical hack and slash gameplay with bosses and puzzles thrown in here and there. What makes this game better than most in this genre, is the random loot you get, it's almost rpg like. Everything you get from enemies and chests produces gear around your level with different stats and rarity level, with the rarer, theThis is a good, but not great game. The core gameplay is fine, your typical hack and slash gameplay with bosses and puzzles thrown in here and there. What makes this game better than most in this genre, is the random loot you get, it's almost rpg like. Everything you get from enemies and chests produces gear around your level with different stats and rarity level, with the rarer, the better stats. This game is also semi-open world, where you can roam a limited open world and fight optional side bosses/ look for hidden objects to upgrade your character. All of this shows that they tried to innovate in this game, and while they work, it just falls flat in terms of "fun". When you grind for better weapons, sometimes one drop will last you 3-5 levels, so basically the fun of getting loot gets tedious. The open world just isn't very interesting to look at, with bland environments and repetitive game play. the hidden objects/chests are fun to find, but that's the extent to it. Now the story was completely uninspiring, it's basically go from point a to point b, just to find out you have to go to point c, rinse and repeat. Game play-wise there's nothing wrong with it, as it is actually fun, with gameplay very reminiscent of god of war. The bosses present a fun challenge; and generally there is a decent amount of variety of enemies. However, Death nearly bored me to death, no likable trait at all, makes it a grind to finish the game playing as him. To end, it's a good game, but for every good thing you find, you'll certainly find something bad about it; especially if you put a lot of hours into it. It's a typical hack and slash, period. Expand
  10. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    The good:

    Great boss fights Large game Plenty to do More challenging than the first one The bad I hate it when there are small things like determining which gear is slightly better than the other, it's like ev training in pokemon. I find that some of the enemies have an absurd amount of health, and it becomes a chore to constantly dodge, wait for an opening then attack and
    The good:

    Great boss fights
    Large game
    Plenty to do
    More challenging than the first one

    The bad
    I hate it when there are small things like determining which gear is slightly better than the other, it's like ev training in pokemon.

    I find that some of the enemies have an absurd amount of health, and it becomes a chore to constantly dodge, wait for an opening then attack and repeat for 5 minutes to finally kill it. Overall this wasn't as good as the first one, but it was still good. What's sad is that it is better than most games that have came out recently.
    Expand
  11. Oct 9, 2012
    7
    As a sequel Darksiders 2 improves so much, It has great production values, excellent voice cast, fun level design , epic Boss Battles and puzzles, sure It borrows from great games such as Prince of Persia, Legend of Zelda and Legacy of Kain Soul Reaver. But what 's not to love about them? Where Darksiders 2 fails in a great and unforgivable way is in the technical aspect of the game,As a sequel Darksiders 2 improves so much, It has great production values, excellent voice cast, fun level design , epic Boss Battles and puzzles, sure It borrows from great games such as Prince of Persia, Legend of Zelda and Legacy of Kain Soul Reaver. But what 's not to love about them? Where Darksiders 2 fails in a great and unforgivable way is in the technical aspect of the game, terrible framerate issues, game freezes, screen tearing,terrible and confusing ending,music off sync and akward world map. Oh and the Crucible pass really sucks, who in their sane mind forces an online pass into a game that has no online, just a series of repetetive challenge arenas. Collapse
  12. Oct 15, 2012
    6
    I have high hopes put on this game because I found the first Darksiders simply AWESOME. That Zelda like sensation with it's own brand was amazing. But then I found they sacrifice every good RPG aspect in favor of the action part. The story, simply put, is too simply and has practically nothing to do with the first game. Death is treated like an idiot, all day running for one place toI have high hopes put on this game because I found the first Darksiders simply AWESOME. That Zelda like sensation with it's own brand was amazing. But then I found they sacrifice every good RPG aspect in favor of the action part. The story, simply put, is too simply and has practically nothing to do with the first game. Death is treated like an idiot, all day running for one place to another and dificulty curve it's absurd. Ok, it's a good action game, but it's feels like it has nothing to do with the first game. And the horse could have been ommited perfectly. Expand
  13. Nov 10, 2012
    5
    The games is too detailed and it actually make it looked messy, i think Darksider I is better than II. Not reallly worth my money to buy something that is almost the same as the first one.
  14. Jul 2, 2014
    7
    A truly massive hack n' slash with RPG elements. It's Zelda for adults. Death the lead, is perfectly nonchalant and has these wonderful moments of pure facetiousness, the way he talks to NPCs is scripted and voiced to perfection. Darksiders 2 is huge, its long and unfortunately its too drawn out. I looks great, sounds great howver there is just too many go here pick up this kill 100sA truly massive hack n' slash with RPG elements. It's Zelda for adults. Death the lead, is perfectly nonchalant and has these wonderful moments of pure facetiousness, the way he talks to NPCs is scripted and voiced to perfection. Darksiders 2 is huge, its long and unfortunately its too drawn out. I looks great, sounds great howver there is just too many go here pick up this kill 100s of baddies return, kill more baddies rinse and repeat. It needs shorter main quests and more side quests. Some of the dungeons are hours long, and just when you think one is going to end, it expands. The bosses are pretty good but all way, way too easy. The way it ties into the original game is really good. It's a bit too much of a chore to warrant more than one play through its just too long and not varied enough. Expand
  15. Nov 4, 2014
    5
    I'm partial on this game because I didn't find it to be that good. The graphics are good, but the gameplay mimics God of War too much, mainly the fighting and what not. The bad thing is the fighting isn't as good as GoW so if anything you may as well play that game. I would have to say I played the game approximately 4-5 hours and couldn't fully get into the game. The one area this game isI'm partial on this game because I didn't find it to be that good. The graphics are good, but the gameplay mimics God of War too much, mainly the fighting and what not. The bad thing is the fighting isn't as good as GoW so if anything you may as well play that game. I would have to say I played the game approximately 4-5 hours and couldn't fully get into the game. The one area this game is nice is the open world aspect as those games come around more and more it's setting a standard and makes games much more fun. Aside from that though I can't really say much about the game besides I don't think it's worth playing. Expand
  16. May 18, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  17. Oct 9, 2012
    0
    As a sequel Darksiders 2 improves so much, It has great production values, excellent voice cast, fun level design , epic Boss Battles and puzzles, sure It borrows from great games such as Prince of Persia, Legend of Zelda and Legacy of Kain Soul Reaver. But what 's not to love about them? Where Darksiders 2 fails in a great and unforgivable way is in the technical aspect of the game,As a sequel Darksiders 2 improves so much, It has great production values, excellent voice cast, fun level design , epic Boss Battles and puzzles, sure It borrows from great games such as Prince of Persia, Legend of Zelda and Legacy of Kain Soul Reaver. But what 's not to love about them? Where Darksiders 2 fails in a great and unforgivable way is in the technical aspect of the game, terrible framerate issues, game freezes, screen tearing,terrible and confusing ending,music off sync and akward world map. Oh and the Crucible pass really sucks, who in their sane mind forces an online pass into a game that has no online, just a series of repetetive challenge arenas. Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    85
    Darksiders II is an extremely deep and well balanced game. While Darksiders II may not appeal to everyone, its certainly going to please those looking for a deep and enjoyable action adventure title.
  2. Oct 27, 2012
    80
    The setting and the scope of it all is simply massive and as a pure action-adventure it does a great job. On the technical side of things it's a lot less impressive, with poor graphics and everything that comes with, but nonetheless Darksiders II is a great game.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 14, 2012
    89
    Darksiders 2 adds a lot of variety compared to the original. The RPG elements are decent fun, but what really stands out is the superb musical score composed by Jesper Kyd. [Sept 2012]