Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 378 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Awakened by the End of Days, Death, the most feared of the legendary Four Horsemen, embarks upon a journey to restore mankind and redeem his brother’s name. Along the way, the Horseman discovers that there are far worse things than Apocalypse on earth and that an ancient grudge may threaten all of Creation. Become the terrifying force which everyone fears but nothing can escape. Death Lives in Darksiders II. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Aug 14, 2012
    94
    Another powerhouse from Vigil Games, Darksiders II is a must have.
  2. 90
    Darksiders II is an exhilarating action-RPG set in an enormous game world. Featuring an addictive loot system, tons of side quests, and rich gameplay, Darksiders II easily deserves a spot alongside the other greats of the genre.
  3. Aug 27, 2012
    90
    There are no doubts that Darksiders II is one of the action/adventure games of the year.
  4. Aug 14, 2012
    85
    It is an adventure game through and through, and it manages to capture the feeling of fun and exploration in a way that few games can.
  5. Sep 3, 2012
    85
    It still isn't that original, it still isn't that deep and some bugs and glitches kept spoiling the fun. Still, Darksiders II is a massive adventure with an epic story and gigantic, interesting worlds to explore. An improvement on the first one and overall a game nobody should pass on.
  6. Sep 4, 2012
    80
    Play as Death, the fourth rider of the apocalypse and fight your way to victory. It's not very memorable, but the art style is great and there's a lot to collect in the big world.
  7. Aug 14, 2012
    70
    Whilst Death's entry in the Darksiders series certainly has better gameplay mechanics and a better style than War's, the story fails to make a mark and the game, for as big as it is, can soon become monotonous at points.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 67
  2. Negative: 10 out of 67
  1. Sep 7, 2012
    10
    I really liked, not loved, the first game, and Vigil Games takes everything that worked with the first and makes it better the second time around. The lead protagonist Death is awesome, the locations is varied and the story is really good for this type of game. A great new feature is the loot system, which makes sure you have enough hours for 20+. I'm on New game plus right now, not a option I useually take, but even after 21 hours of fighting I wasn't satisfied, so I take another round. So far one of the best games this year. Expand
  2. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    I've had a gaming itch this gaming generation that I could never scratch. I missed playing games like Jet Force Gemeni, Donkey Kong 64, Super Mario 64, Conkers Bad Fur Day, Zelda's Wind Waker. These were games where you had a big open world where you could wander around and everything you saw in the distance, you could eventually get their somehow. A strong emphasis on puzzles along with combat were key to these games. The best things about these games were that you really felt like you were in a different world and the sense of adventure you would get wondering what was next to see and do. Vigil games finally helped me scratch the hell out of that itch and damn does it feel amazing. Darksiders II is one of the best games ever created. An instant modern classic. Vigil games has brought the action-adventure genre back to life. Relish the joy of playing this game because these kind of gems come about rarely. This game just oozes so much greatness, its astonishing. First off, Vigil nails all the big elements in the game. Controls = 10...everything is laid out very well. Combat = 10 never gets old and thats saying something when the game is so long Platforming =10 wall jumping and climbing is very smooth, music = 10 the soundtrack is one of the best soundtracks ever and fits the mood and game perfectly. Certain tracks will slowly pump you up getting you in the mood to whoop ass, while others have an epic, dark foreboding tone to it. Loot system = 10 love the option to quickly equip something, Menus = 9 Menus are great except the loading in between each page is kind of annoying, also the buttons mapped seem backwards. Level Design = 10, the game oozes with atmosphere, the action adventure genre has a tendency to be very cookie cutter where all the dungeons look similar, etc. but Darksiders II stands out in this aspect. Every place is very unique. You never know what to expect. It brings back the adventure in the genre. Voice acting = 10 The voices are superb. They draw you into the world. Enemies = 10 theres so many different kind of enemies to keep the game from getting stale, boss fights = 10 its so fun to figure out each bosses weaknesses, puzzles = 10 puzzles are also very fun to figure out, they are challenging so its very rewarding when you figure it out but not too challenging that it pisses you off. Atmosphere = 10 The landscapes are breathtaking and gorgeous, so much detail too. Lasting Appeal = 10 this game is looooong. I've played 25 hours so far, done a ton of stuff and I'm only half way at the most through the game. There's so much to do in Darksiders 2 and all of it is very fun. Graphics = 10 graphics are top notch, the comic book art style is superb, the color palette is very diverse, bright, and colorful. Characters = 10 I love all the NPCS, they all fit very well into the world and are fun to talk to. Epicness = 10 from the environments, to the voice acting, to the boss battles, to the dungeons, this game is the epitome of epic. FUN FACTOR = 15 This game is just so much fun, its hard to put down. There hasn't been any dull moments so far where I couldn't wait to get past something. The best element about this game is it has soul. There's so many cool little touches in the game that show you how passionate the developers were about making this world come alive. One thing I love is how Death's color palette is purple and you can see that theme throughout the game and in Darksiders one Wars was orange. Very neat idea. This is just one of the cool extra touches in the game. Theres lots of sidequests that are seamlessly implemented into the game and are full dungeons not just some small side stuff. As you can see from this ridiculously long review, this game attempts to do a lot of stuff. Great thing is it nails all of it in my opinion. BOTTOM LINE: If you are a fan of the action-adventure genre, Do yourself a favor and go get this game!!!!!!!!!! You won't regret it ;) Expand
  3. now
    Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Open world the most beautiful by a long story Alllab wonderful graphics stunning all this and more and grandmother in this Alllabh It's more than a game she is the best I think it will be a game-General and I think that's the opinion of many people so Saqimha 10/10 because they deserve it more what I liked GPU + Audio+ Thriller has surpassed Part I stages Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    Despite losing the epic sensation of the first game, is still a big improvement in almost every way. While it lacks in story, the rest is completely better than the first Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2012
    8
    Its kinda like "God of War" had sex with "Zelda", then they had a baby named "Zod of Zar". Meanwhile "Kingdoms of Amular" and "Assasins creed" went out drinking, got drunk, then banged with a busted condom. "Kingdoms of Amular" wanted "Assasins Creed" to get an abortion, but she didnt. This bastard child "Assingdoms of Creedular" then proceeded to slip a roofie in "Zod of Zar"'s drink one night, 9 months late Zod of Zar, birthed a monstrosity of a child and named it Asszod of creedzar.....This child reached the age of 20, cut off its genitals, changed its sex, and named itself darksiders 2. If that story sounded appealing to you, then you will probably like this game!



    This game is good....but it feels mediocore. It just lacks focus...it attempts to do everything, and it does everything well just not perfect. I really wanted to love this game because it looked good and played well, but I just couldnt really get into it. It just felt generic and a lot of the dungeons felt tedious and bland. Some parts were absolutely gorgeous, fun, and amazing....but it felt that I had to play through an hour long boring dungeon just to reach a cool part of the game. It is a very good game, but I traded it in after 15 hours....there are just too many other great games I need to try, and this game offered too much(which isnt a bad thing)....all the things it offered were fun, but failed to draw me in. If I had less videogame systems and wasted less of my money on videogames I would have loved this game! If you only have $30 and are looking for a couple good older games that dont have multiplayer, I would just get this instead! All the gameplay mechanics(climbing, combat, loot) are comparable to newer titles, so you should just try this game first because you could surely spend 100 hours with it. Just buy it at gamestop used, then return it within 7 days for a full refund if you dont like it.
    Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    The good: Great boss fights Large game Plenty to do More challenging than the first one The bad I hate it when there are small things like determining which gear is slightly better than the other, it's like ev training in pokemon.

    I find that some of the enemies have an absurd amount of health, and it becomes a chore to constantly dodge, wait for an opening then attack and repeat for 5 minutes to finally kill it. Overall this wasn't as good as the first one, but it was still good. What's sad is that it is better than most games that have came out recently.
    Expand
  7. Oct 6, 2012
    1
    I'm an upset user of your game on ps3, because the game seems to have a bug that doesn't allow me finishing the game!.
    The bug appears on the
    side quest heart stone part #2 I destroyed my construct to get the shadow ball into the slot in the room to the eat to let bring down the barriers so i can get to the heart stone. Instead I threw the ball in to the water by the stone crusher. Expand

See all 67 User Reviews