Darksiders II PlayStation 3

Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 398 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Awakened by the End of Days, Death, the most feared of the legendary Four Horsemen, embarks upon a journey to restore mankind and redeem his brother’s name. Along the way, the Horseman discovers that there are far worse things than Apocalypse on earth and that an ancient grudge may threatenAwakened by the End of Days, Death, the most feared of the legendary Four Horsemen, embarks upon a journey to restore mankind and redeem his brother’s name. Along the way, the Horseman discovers that there are far worse things than Apocalypse on earth and that an ancient grudge may threaten all of Creation. Become the terrifying force which everyone fears but nothing can escape. Death Lives in Darksiders II. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Aug 14, 2012
    94
    Another powerhouse from Vigil Games, Darksiders II is a must have.
  2. 90
    That's what Darksiders II is all about, exploration and an epic quest. I also applaud the team at Vigil Games for taking the risks that it did with the focus of this title and the scale to which it is built.
  3. Aug 27, 2012
    90
    There are no doubts that Darksiders II is one of the action/adventure games of the year.
  4. Aug 14, 2012
    85
    It is an adventure game through and through, and it manages to capture the feeling of fun and exploration in a way that few games can.
  5. Sep 3, 2012
    85
    It still isn't that original, it still isn't that deep and some bugs and glitches kept spoiling the fun. Still, Darksiders II is a massive adventure with an epic story and gigantic, interesting worlds to explore. An improvement on the first one and overall a game nobody should pass on.
  6. Sep 4, 2012
    80
    Play as Death, the fourth rider of the apocalypse and fight your way to victory. It's not very memorable, but the art style is great and there's a lot to collect in the big world.
  7. Aug 14, 2012
    70
    Whilst Death's entry in the Darksiders series certainly has better gameplay mechanics and a better style than War's, the story fails to make a mark and the game, for as big as it is, can soon become monotonous at points.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 70
  2. Negative: 10 out of 70
  1. Sep 22, 2014
    10
    It's not boring, it has tons of tasks and you don't get lost! There's a map which gives directions to where to go and what to do! Bonus,, YouIt's not boring, it has tons of tasks and you don't get lost! There's a map which gives directions to where to go and what to do! Bonus,, You can upgrade your weapons as you'd wish "fire/ice".. I bought it for my PC,, playing on PS3 is much more fun! Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Awesome, I am not speak english very good, but i must say, that this game is perfect, THANKS VIGIL GAMES!!!!, DEATH IS AWESOME, THE GAMEPLAY,Awesome, I am not speak english very good, but i must say, that this game is perfect, THANKS VIGIL GAMES!!!!, DEATH IS AWESOME, THE GAMEPLAY, THE ARTISTIC WORK, THANKS!!!!. Expand
  3. now
    Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Open world the most beautiful by a long story Alllab wonderful graphics stunning all this and more and grandmother in this Alllabh It's moreOpen world the most beautiful by a long story Alllab wonderful graphics stunning all this and more and grandmother in this Alllabh It's more than a game she is the best I think it will be a game-General and I think that's the opinion of many people so Saqimha 10/10 because they deserve it more what I liked GPU + Audio+ Thriller has surpassed Part I stages Expand
  4. Sep 1, 2012
    9
    I have to start with my dislikes first, surely not the best way to start a review, but it needs mentioning.
    (1)I found myself hating the same
    I have to start with my dislikes first, surely not the best way to start a review, but it needs mentioning.
    (1)I found myself hating the same tired formula in each new world, you have to find a set number of keys/souls/bone characters/head horns for arena, etc, it felt really lazy to be honest, adding no variety, just solve puzzles, kill enemies, find item, then repeat.
    (2) the bosses, they felt completely underwhelming, i kept waiting for a wow moment, something to stand out , like in GOW but nothing.
    (3) the running speed of Death, i would give anything to have a button to make him sprint.
    That's it for things i disliked.
    Because of (1) especially, it made the game feel like a chore at times, when i was just wanting to see the environments and more of the story, which i feel should be awarded some special prize.
    The environments felt amazingly detailed, with tiny details added to give the world realism.
    The voice acting felt spot on, although i really missed the interaction between War and The Watcher, having a silent crow in DS 2 made the game a bit less enjoyable.
    I do not know if the developers were fans, but i feel as if DS 2 is a spiritual successor to Legacy of Kain Soul Reaver, or at least was intended to give a few nods to it, given Death's body shape, fashion, and moving abilities, but the game is more than worthy of being nominated for Game of the Year.
    Expand
  5. Sep 11, 2012
    8
    I had been patiently waiting for this game to be release since it was annouced, because it looked like Diablo + Legend of Zelda + Devil MayI had been patiently waiting for this game to be release since it was annouced, because it looked like Diablo + Legend of Zelda + Devil May Cry. And it's exactly that, if you don't like RPG levelling up or skill tress this won't be the game for you but if you loved the original Darksiders game, and like the idea of collecting loot etc, then you'll love it.
    Its true that there is some technical glitches that pop up now and again and I don't feel like it's as polished as the first game, but still it's a great game with lots to do. Highly recommended.
    Expand
  6. Sep 1, 2012
    7
    So far, this is the GOTY 2012. Don't listen to the 0.8 average user score because all of it is just spam hating agaisnt the ps3. This gameSo far, this is the GOTY 2012. Don't listen to the 0.8 average user score because all of it is just spam hating agaisnt the ps3. This game runs perfectly on ps3. The new additions added in this game are delight because of all the RPG elements and dungeons. This game will definitely provide many hours of entertainment and fun, even to just casual gamers. The art style is just beautiful and the soundtrack by Jesper Kyd is phenomenal. The combat is confusing in the beginning, but as the player progresses in the game, it gets easier but the game always tends to challenge you. Expand
  7. Oct 6, 2012
    1
    I'm an upset user of your game on ps3, because the game seems to have a bug that doesn't allow me finishing the game!.
    The bug appears on the
    I'm an upset user of your game on ps3, because the game seems to have a bug that doesn't allow me finishing the game!.
    The bug appears on the side quest heart stone part #2 I destroyed my construct to get the shadow ball into the slot in the room to the eat to let bring down the barriers so i can get to the heart stone. Instead I threw the ball in to the water by the stone crusher.
    Expand

See all 70 User Reviews