Darksiders PlayStation 3

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 313 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 313
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 18, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2014
    7
    Jack of all trades and master of none, Darksiders borrows heavily from well-loved franchises like Zelda (and even Portal towards the end) but still manages to craft its own identity. Surprisingly long and challenging, it's a fine effort for a new IP.
  3. Feb 26, 2014
    5
    I was disappointed to be honest. This game is nothing more than a button masher. The storyline is definitely original but not captivating, it's easy to forget about. It's a good game if you've had a hard day and feel like sitting down and mashing some buttons, but there's little skill involved in it. Zero replay value.
  4. Oct 25, 2012
    7
    This game is a lot of fun. Only lacks originality because it's a copy of what is the Zelda and God of War combined. And both of these (especially Zelda) are way better. Never the less it's fun to play. Money and time well spent in my opinion.
  5. Oct 3, 2012
    7
    Darksiders is just like any other God of War knock off, poorly done. Darksiders is without a doubt a repetitive game that you might not even come back for a third, or maybe even second, time to play. One great thing about Darksiders is the story. The story isn't much to begin with but once you meet other characters you'll learn more about Darksiders story and what it has to offer.Darksiders is just like any other God of War knock off, poorly done. Darksiders is without a doubt a repetitive game that you might not even come back for a third, or maybe even second, time to play. One great thing about Darksiders is the story. The story isn't much to begin with but once you meet other characters you'll learn more about Darksiders story and what it has to offer. Darksiders does a good time the first time around but after awhile is stalls and you start to realize it's faults. Darksiders doesn't fail as a clone of LoZ or GoW but it still has much to learn if it wishes to be like it's inspirations. Expand
  6. Jul 1, 2012
    6
    The game is pretty decent. The graphics are decent, the gameplay is decent, the story is decent, the voice acting is decent. Overall it's a decent game. But the game just doesn't give me anything. I play for long stretches at a time, not feeling anything in particular. It's a game that can kill time, but not much more than that. War feels kinda clunky and slow (which is reasonable, seeingThe game is pretty decent. The graphics are decent, the gameplay is decent, the story is decent, the voice acting is decent. Overall it's a decent game. But the game just doesn't give me anything. I play for long stretches at a time, not feeling anything in particular. It's a game that can kill time, but not much more than that. War feels kinda clunky and slow (which is reasonable, seeing as he weighs a couple hundred pounds at least) and running around feels annoying because of that slowness (I also don't understand the fact that you have to wait for half-a-second to use the R1 Charge...). As usual in these hack-and-slash games, you aren't awarded nearly as many souls (the currency in the game) or weapon experience (you can level the weapons up) that you should.

    Overall, as I've said before, it's a decent game, but I think it lacks the small details that make a great, or even a good game, like War's speed and mobility, the amount of souls and experience received, the fact that in reality, you only really need to use the sword and that the rest of the weapons are pretty useless, also it could've probably gotten a 7 if the music was decent or made it's present heard because you can play for hours with there being close to no music at all, which is a strange decision since it would have added to the atmosphere.
    Collapse
  7. Apr 1, 2012
    6
    On the surface, Darksiders is an excellent game. It has good graphics, phenomenal art design, a well scripted and acted plot, descent combat, memorable bosses and some fiendish puzzles. Why then only a 6, I hear you cry... Despite all these attributes, Darksiders just didn't float my boat. I think, ultimately, it was the fact that the game is, from start to finish, one LONG dungeon crawl.On the surface, Darksiders is an excellent game. It has good graphics, phenomenal art design, a well scripted and acted plot, descent combat, memorable bosses and some fiendish puzzles. Why then only a 6, I hear you cry... Despite all these attributes, Darksiders just didn't float my boat. I think, ultimately, it was the fact that the game is, from start to finish, one LONG dungeon crawl. You can argue that the overworld isn't a dungeon and changes up things a bit... But that's just a disguise. You still fight your way through the overworld in exactly the same way as you do in the dungeons. There are no towns or NPC's to randomly chat with. Only the dungeon. Lot's of fingers point towards the likes of Metroid and Zelda as inspirations, and whilst this is undoubtedly true, the sad fact is that Darksiders isn't as well designed or made as either of those franchises. That said, if you can bear the idea of an endless dungeon slog, or the notion of a solid-yet-inferior Metroid / Zelda hybrid truly appeals to you... Darksiders might well be the game for you. Expand
  8. Jan 10, 2012
    7
    This game could have been truly awesome. The first half of the game pulls you straight into a zelda style romp around some beautiful looking areas with some excellent level designs and intriguing puzzles. Though somehow it all seems to fall apart and the game loses its direction and becomes a bit tiresome as it shoves you along without properly developing its story or its gameplay. TheThis game could have been truly awesome. The first half of the game pulls you straight into a zelda style romp around some beautiful looking areas with some excellent level designs and intriguing puzzles. Though somehow it all seems to fall apart and the game loses its direction and becomes a bit tiresome as it shoves you along without properly developing its story or its gameplay. The problem here is that its an open RPG without any NPC's to help structure the story. Aside from the eccentric shopkeeper and an angry blacksmith its really just your somewhat one-sided character trundling from one waypoint to the next, with very little real challenge even on the hardest mode. The developers are promising a sequel with towns, side missions and a wider cast of characters, that could be the recipe for a really great fantasy RPG. Lets hope! Expand
  9. Jun 2, 2011
    7
    hmm lets see your war and you slaughter legions of angels and demons fight awesome boss battles and your helper is voiced by the guy who played as luke skywalker and voiced the joker from batman the animated series so pretty epic huh? There's just one little problem with it, IT'S TEDIOUS!!! Seriously at the beginning I feel like I'm dragging that huge sword War carries and seeing how weakhmm lets see your war and you slaughter legions of angels and demons fight awesome boss battles and your helper is voiced by the guy who played as luke skywalker and voiced the joker from batman the animated series so pretty epic huh? There's just one little problem with it, IT'S TEDIOUS!!! Seriously at the beginning I feel like I'm dragging that huge sword War carries and seeing how weak I am I'm surprised I moved it at all fortunately the pacing gets better once you collect the ever so fun mercy handgun, the lovely gore decapitation moves and riding War's hell horse. What could drive you to complete it is facing the final boss the destroyer (sounds epic huh) unless you watched it on youtube and seen the surprise then there's no point in continuing. despite my negative outlook in playing this I still had fun with it and since this is vigil games first game its pretty impressive with the art-style and all the stuff they put in it and I think its some of the familiar gameplay like Zelda, God Of War feel and playing it safe makes it a bit boring at first and since War's personality is a just the stare and very annoyed look the character doesn't give much motivation to I MUST KNOW MORE ABOUT THIS MAN quest. But with one game under their belt and a upcoming sequel for them to address the flaws and take risks and experiment to make it unique I am very looking forward to it and hearing that you may play the other horseman excites me to see how each play differently especially the character Strife because if he uses his guns in hand to hand combat then I will be having a lot of fun seeing him blast them apart than just simply punch or slash will that not be awesome?! Expand
  10. Dec 21, 2010
    6
    A decent third-person action adventure of good length that unabashedly mimicks Zelda, God of War, and Portal but fails to establish a personality of its own. Too busy trying to be cool and violent when a bit of humor might have made a world of difference. Not bad per se, just forgettable.
  11. Aug 30, 2010
    6
    A very attractive game with a pretty interesting plot, voice work is above the usual standard going hand in hand with the script.

    I was disappointed by what I felt was a cobbling of on trend games mechanics done in a less than polished fashion a prime examples of this is the portal style elements which I felt were poorly delivered and a horse riding element which didn't feel like an
    A very attractive game with a pretty interesting plot, voice work is above the usual standard going hand in hand with the script.

    I was disappointed by what I felt was a cobbling of on trend games mechanics done in a less than polished fashion a prime examples of this is the portal style elements which I felt were poorly delivered and a horse riding element which didn't feel like an integral part of the game. Combat is enjoyable and can be varied once you learn your way around the controls and visually the game looks stunning.

    If Darksiders concentrated on the parts where it really did well in (story and combat especially) I would of rated it higher but the addition of elements that detracted me away from those areas really let this game down.
    Expand
  12. SteveC.
    Jan 25, 2010
    6
    I know it's symptomatic of the genre, but this game is far to linear. I never felt like i was actually in control of War's journey. It was always so obvious where to go next. "Get the key, open the only door that you found that needs a key" type of thing. Boss fights are somewhat of a joke. Each boss has a total of 3 moves max that they will use against War, and each is easily I know it's symptomatic of the genre, but this game is far to linear. I never felt like i was actually in control of War's journey. It was always so obvious where to go next. "Get the key, open the only door that you found that needs a key" type of thing. Boss fights are somewhat of a joke. Each boss has a total of 3 moves max that they will use against War, and each is easily identifiable before being launched. As already mentioned everywhere else, this game borrows too heavily from God of War. I don't understand why these linear button-mashers are still being produced given the quality capable in the sandbox genre. The thought of being a Horseman in an open, destroyed earth... that sounds impressive and far more inviting. Expand
  13. SamR
    Jan 15, 2010
    5
    Look, I agree its a good game and the monsters and angels are cool so is the storyline and everything but seriously guys? It's just God Of War with the hero being Altair wearing the Ares armour from GOW and he has the Blade of Olympus. If anything it also copied Beowulf the game which also copied GOW. Im sorry but I couldnt give it full credit seeing as the whole game i was just Look, I agree its a good game and the monsters and angels are cool so is the storyline and everything but seriously guys? It's just God Of War with the hero being Altair wearing the Ares armour from GOW and he has the Blade of Olympus. If anything it also copied Beowulf the game which also copied GOW. Im sorry but I couldnt give it full credit seeing as the whole game i was just thinking GOW, GOW, GOW. Even the way he climbs the walls and attacks on the walls is exactly the same even down to the brutal (kill ur enemy by pressing 'O') thing. It's silly. The gameplay had no originality. GOW still destroys on this game Expand
  14. Jul 1, 2012
    0
    The game is pretty decent. The graphics are decent, the gameplay is decent, the story is decent, the voice acting is decent. Overall it's a decent game. But the game just doesn't give me anything. I play for long stretches at a time, not feeling anything in particular. It's a game that can kill time, but not much more than that. War feels kinda clunky and slow (which is reasonable, seeingThe game is pretty decent. The graphics are decent, the gameplay is decent, the story is decent, the voice acting is decent. Overall it's a decent game. But the game just doesn't give me anything. I play for long stretches at a time, not feeling anything in particular. It's a game that can kill time, but not much more than that. War feels kinda clunky and slow (which is reasonable, seeing as he weighs a couple hundred pounds at least) and running around feels annoying because of that slowness (I also don't understand the fact that you have to wait for half-a-second to use the R1 Charge...). As usual in these hack-and-slash games, you aren't awarded nearly as many souls (the currency in the game) or weapon experience (you can level the weapons up) that you should.

    Overall, as I've said before, it's a decent game, but I think it lacks the small details that make a great, or even a good game, like War's speed and mobility, the amount of souls and experience received, the fact that in reality, you only really need to use the sword and that the rest of the weapons are pretty useless, also it could've probably gotten a 7 if the music was decent or made it's present heard because you can play for hours with there being close to no music at all, which is a strange decision since it would have added to the atmosphere.
    Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. If ever there was a pure gamer’s game, Darksiders is it.
  2. When viewed as a whole, it is clear that Darksiders was made by skilled developers who truly love video games. If there ever was a game that could be all things to all people and tastes, Darksiders is it.
  3. 90
    A great action RPG. Solid, ever-evolving combat meets solid, ever-evolving puzzles in some really evocative environments.