User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 256 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 256

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    i bought this game its not bad i thought all time it was out it be crap game but it best game i ever played stories got me sucked into it like other game before
  2. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    Hands down! One of the best games this gen.. The Story is AMAZING!! the main protagonist is badass... I liked this game more than Devil may cry 4 and God of War 3 !! I dont know why people are saying that Darksiders is a **** game and God of War 3 is better!! To be honest i liked God of War 3 , but Darksiders is soooo much better!! The gameplay and the story makes it one of the best games this gen... It a very long game too.. I finished it in 27 hours it will take you less if you didnt explore enough (the game is semi-open world ) it will take you even longer if tried to platinum it Expand
  3. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    Hands down! One of the best games this gen.. The Story is AMAZING!! the main protagonist is badass... I liked this game more than bayonetta and God of War 3 Darksiders is soooo much better than those games The gameplay and the story makes it one of the best games this gen... It a very long game too.. I finished it in 22 hours and the game is semi-open world so it will take you even longer if you looked for collectables and tried to platinum it Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    MOST UNDERRATED GAME EVER!!!!!!

    One of the BEST games ever.. Simply AMAZING! The story is really, the characters are really likeable, and the game is FUN,, i recommend this game to EVERYONE!
  5. Mar 19, 2011
    9
    So I wrote a review on this game, and it hasn't shown up yet in my feed or here in the list, so I am going to re-write a quick version. So if my original shows up, apologies for the double post. The atmosphere is great and filled with a lot of diversity. Some levels are dark and depressing, while others a bright and colorful. The combat is tight although you will never really need to use any of your extra weapons. Your primary weapon is where it is at. In other official reviews I read that the combat got old, I never felt this way. I thought it was fun till the very end trying to pull off as many combos as possible. The temples were good, if not a little on the easy side, however the last temple you are in really shows the potential that the possible sequels could have. The puzzles where challenging and engaging with just the right amount of combat worked in. My one issue is that the game was a little on the short side for what it was. I finished at a little over 20 hours. That is long for most single player games today, but when it is in the same general genre as games like Zelda that clocks in around 50+ hours. If you are someone who really likes to collect all items (which I am... not sure what happened this game as I really failed in that area) then you could probably stretch it out to around 25-30 hours. Its a great game and I highly recommend it. Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    Flawless tale. Awaiting the sequel.------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Expand
  7. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    This gem is hands down one of the most underrated games in a while. The reviews are pretty good across the board but I am the only person I know that bought this game. To me this game is the ultimate gamerâ
  8. May 3, 2013
    10
    I have just recently come back to gaming after a 10 year hiatus. I was always a Nintendo kid growing up, but I'm not a fan of the Wii so I got a PS3. This game is the closest thing to a Zelda game that I have been able to find. I absolutely loved it! I thought the story was good and the ending leaves itself open to sequels. I hope they make a game for each horseman. The puzzles were fun, if not a little too easy, and the fighting is amazing! Expand
  9. Jul 13, 2011
    9
    A great game that mixes stuff from the very greats of video gaming. The graphics are neat and the bosses really awesome. The difficulty level is just right and at about 25 hours the game is just as long as it should be. Also I had more fun playing this than the most recent Zelda for Wii because here you have something usefull to spend your in-game money on, not just some empty bottles and such. The battle system could be a little more complicated but all in all I really enjoyed playing this! Expand
  10. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    The more one plays this game, the more they will realize that it is a molding of games that were fantastic on their own, and in turn make this game fantastic. Most notable influences are games like Zelda, Devil May Cry, and God of War. The game is extremely fun and addicting, with amazing visuals. The game never gets boring; each boss killed yields a new awesome execution kill move that you've never seen before. I literally said "Holy **** out loud every time War completely obliterated something. There are only a couple of very small things I found wrong with this game, but they are minute and don't negatively affect gameplay. Amazing game, must-play. Expand
  11. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    This Gem is probably the most overlooked and underrated games this generation. It is a amazing experience that is fun, beautiful, and controls perfectly. I love the comic book look and feel to the game, the puzzles are amazing and the dungeons are expertly crafted. If Miyamoto played this game he would respect vigil and their craft as level designers. It has alot of zelda in it more than any other game i actually think zelda is in the combat more that god of war(if youve played twilight princess and ocariana of time youll know what i mean). The story is very well done with great voice acting ( Mark Hamil anyone) and the framerate runs very smooth there is no texture popping from what ive seen and the collectibles are actually fun to collect. I also love how the combos make you use all the weapons in wars arsenal and use the dash and lock on systems that flow perfectly with the combat. Perfect 10 cant wait for the sequel. Expand
  12. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game = a lot of fun and blood Expand
  13. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    This is an all out wonderful game. I remembering the trailers on online and thinking this game is gonna be badass and it was. I had no prior knowledge of the game and bought it based off what looked to be good. I fell in love with the game the moment i started playing, amazing story, beautiful graphics, great game play and great acting. Mark Hamill as the watcher only made love the game even more. The dungeons in this game a pretty impressive on their own, but puzzle are just mind boggling and make the player want to work harder. The hack and slash combat is so none less then that off God of War. So in a nutshell it's like Legend of zelda and God of War had sex and their baby was Darksiders Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. If ever there was a pure gamer’s game, Darksiders is it.
  2. When viewed as a whole, it is clear that Darksiders was made by skilled developers who truly love video games. If there ever was a game that could be all things to all people and tastes, Darksiders is it.
  3. 90
    A great action RPG. Solid, ever-evolving combat meets solid, ever-evolving puzzles in some really evocative environments.