User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 288 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 288

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JonathanJ.
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    The comparison to Zelda is apt... the first hour is kind of a slog but it gets insanely addicting
  2. CurtisM.
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    This was just an amazing game to play through. For Vigils first game ever they achieved what few well established developers have and that's a brilliant blend of action/adventure and puzzle solving.
  3. Kevin
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    Class act top to bottom. Amazing visuals, and a very interesting art-style. It is true that it takes a lot of ideas from other games like Zelda or God of War, but the way it implements them is very fantastic.
  4. BenVanderH.
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    First off, while the game does apply aspects of games we've already played, it takes so many things from so many different games that it's impossible to say that it's a carbon copy of a game we already have. The graphics in this game are fantastic. They may not be the most vivid details or textures, but still very good. The monsters, the city and dungeons, the design of War First off, while the game does apply aspects of games we've already played, it takes so many things from so many different games that it's impossible to say that it's a carbon copy of a game we already have. The graphics in this game are fantastic. They may not be the most vivid details or textures, but still very good. The monsters, the city and dungeons, the design of War and Ruin are all fantastic. It's also very colorful, which is a nice change from recent post-apocalyptic games. The boss battles are quite fun and they also look really great, and are, for the most part, HUGE. The weapons and items you get to take down these bosses with are also fun. While they didn't reinvent the wheel, they created cool weapons that fit with the story and kill stuff, and quite frankly, that's all you can ask for. (: My only gripes about the game is that most experienced gamers will want to boost the difficulty if you don't want to get caught button mashing. But that's fixable by merely adjusting the difficulty setting. My second of two complaints is that Ruin is not as big of a star as it's made out he would be. While he does become mildly important and makes the game that much more fun, he doesn't come in until you've taken a nice chunk out of the story. The pros on this game are awesome and the cons are just nitpicky things. All in all a fantastic game and an excellent effort on Vigil's first go at the business. There is some room for improvement, and I would expect to see it in DS's follow-up or in a new IP. 9.5/10 Expand
  5. CasperX.
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    It's awesome, I'm about 6 hours in and having a great time..
  6. christianL.
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    its what Ive been waiting for since the release of the ps3.also its a masterpiece from Joe mad (battle chasers,x-men) a true masterpiece (Zelda meets devil may cry meets metroid)and a must have! i just hope Joe mad finish the whole series since mad never finish what he start.
  7. DouglasY.
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    Badass game.Great combat,looks like a fantastic comic, and play is Really Really fun.
  8. GilF.
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    This game was surprisingly fun. I was expecting a GoW rip off but I was very wrong. It has good action, great level design and top notch voice acting. A must have gmae.
  9. StephanieK.
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    All I can say about this game is WOW! Ignore those who say this copies Zelda and such without being as good because being a die hard Zelda fan myself I can honestly say this game is brilliantly done and is just as good as Zelda.
  10. ScottM.
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    This is a brilliant first release from Vigil Games and I must say that this has taken it's place in my top 5 game series of all time.
  11. Vedran
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    This is probably the best game I have played in recent memory. It's everything that Sony and Microsoft needed: A really good action/adventure game. Be warned though: After playing Darksiders, God of War will seem much inferior due to its linearity. Darksiders is more engaging and rewards you constantly, something other developers should take notes of. I can't wait for the sequel!
  12. MichaelB
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    Great graphics, great game play, eye candy like no other. I could not put the game down. All the details and finishing touches make it one of the best games I have played. I can highly recommend it. It is great value. I cannot wait to see if there is a sequel. I
  13. JasonG
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    This game is absolutely fantastic. I did not know what to expect at first, but being seven hours in, I can honestly say that this is a beautiful game with great dungeons that are, in my oppinion, better than any found in the latest Zelda game, and the story is fantastic. HIGHLY recommended.
  14. BrodyL.
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    I am a little farther than halfway through this game, and I must say that it is quite impressive. The combat and graphics are reminiscent of God of War, as you may expect, but the gear and level design reminds me strongly of Metroid Prime for the Gamecube. You are always unlocking some new thing that opens up new areas to you, and you always see places you want to go but can't yet. I am a little farther than halfway through this game, and I must say that it is quite impressive. The combat and graphics are reminiscent of God of War, as you may expect, but the gear and level design reminds me strongly of Metroid Prime for the Gamecube. You are always unlocking some new thing that opens up new areas to you, and you always see places you want to go but can't yet. The graphics are fairly good, not the best but not so far below the best that they take away from the experience. The combat and use of weapons is smooth. The only cons for this game so far are occasional FPS lapses and the length; an approximated 15 hours, you will find, just doesn't seem like enough. Other than that though, the enemies are varied enough, the puzzles challenging but fun enough, and the secret areas secret enough to keep you playing until the end, and maybe even longer, though lack of any multiplayer or anything other than the campaign may take away from replay value. Expand
  15. MarkW.
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    I love Darksiders. It's just how I wanted Zelda to be like all my life. Essentially Darksiders is Zelda presented in a colorful dark fantasy comic artstyle (similar to World of Warcraft's look) with tasteful amounts of blood and gore and deep combat mechanics similar to God of War and Devil May Cry. It's a very well paced game. Darksiders knows how to shuffle the different I love Darksiders. It's just how I wanted Zelda to be like all my life. Essentially Darksiders is Zelda presented in a colorful dark fantasy comic artstyle (similar to World of Warcraft's look) with tasteful amounts of blood and gore and deep combat mechanics similar to God of War and Devil May Cry. It's a very well paced game. Darksiders knows how to shuffle the different game mechanics around, all the while adding new layers ontop of each of them. There's dungeon crawling with puzzle rooms, combat challenges, mounted combat, 3rd person shooting, Panzer Dragoon style on rails shooting and very good bossfights as well as Metroidvania-style backtracking for goodies and upgrades. Great game. I hope Darksiders will do well. I want Darksiders to become a franchise. Darksiders is better suited than Zelda to give me my Zelda gaming experience. Love it! Expand
  16. A2G
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    To me, this game is just as amazing as God of War. The visuals are beautiful. If you love these types of games, then Darksiders is for you. I am surprised most critics did not give this game a 9+/10. Definitely an underrated game.
  17. AdamM
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    The game is all around what you would expect and is visually pleasing. You may get a little frustrated in some spots but it's a very rare occurance. In my opinion it's God of War meets Devil May Cry meets Metroid meets Zelda. They took the best aspects from all four games and made a really impressive game. The game is worth the $60 but if your on the fence, you should definatly The game is all around what you would expect and is visually pleasing. You may get a little frustrated in some spots but it's a very rare occurance. In my opinion it's God of War meets Devil May Cry meets Metroid meets Zelda. They took the best aspects from all four games and made a really impressive game. The game is worth the $60 but if your on the fence, you should definatly rent it. I'm glad a good enough action-adventure game came out to take me away from my COD addiction! Expand
  18. Andrew
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    I do not understand....why does it matter if the game uses concepts from other games? it works and its very fun.....the game doesn't have to be all original for it to be fun and exciting. I enjoyed the game very much and I recommended for anyone who likes God of War type games. A+++++
  19. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    This gem is hands down one of the most underrated games in a while. The reviews are pretty good across the board but I am the only person I know that bought this game. To me this game is the ultimate gamerâ
  20. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    This Gem is probably the most overlooked and underrated games this generation. It is a amazing experience that is fun, beautiful, and controls perfectly. I love the comic book look and feel to the game, the puzzles are amazing and the dungeons are expertly crafted. If Miyamoto played this game he would respect vigil and their craft as level designers. It has alot of zelda in it more thanThis Gem is probably the most overlooked and underrated games this generation. It is a amazing experience that is fun, beautiful, and controls perfectly. I love the comic book look and feel to the game, the puzzles are amazing and the dungeons are expertly crafted. If Miyamoto played this game he would respect vigil and their craft as level designers. It has alot of zelda in it more than any other game i actually think zelda is in the combat more that god of war(if youve played twilight princess and ocariana of time youll know what i mean). The story is very well done with great voice acting ( Mark Hamil anyone) and the framerate runs very smooth there is no texture popping from what ive seen and the collectibles are actually fun to collect. I also love how the combos make you use all the weapons in wars arsenal and use the dash and lock on systems that flow perfectly with the combat. Perfect 10 cant wait for the sequel. Expand
  21. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    Flawless tale. Awaiting theFlawless tale. Awaiting the sequel.------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Expand
  22. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game = a lot of fun and blood Expand
  23. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    Hands down! One of the best games this gen.. The Story is AMAZING!! the main protagonist is badass... I liked this game more than Devil may cry 4 and God of War 3 !! I dont know why people are saying that Darksiders is a **** game and God of War 3 is better!! To be honest i liked God of War 3 , but Darksiders is soooo much better!! The gameplay and the story makes it one of the best gamesHands down! One of the best games this gen.. The Story is AMAZING!! the main protagonist is badass... I liked this game more than Devil may cry 4 and God of War 3 !! I dont know why people are saying that Darksiders is a **** game and God of War 3 is better!! To be honest i liked God of War 3 , but Darksiders is soooo much better!! The gameplay and the story makes it one of the best games this gen... It a very long game too.. I finished it in 27 hours it will take you less if you didnt explore enough (the game is semi-open world ) it will take you even longer if tried to platinum it Expand
  24. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    Hands down! One of the best games this gen.. The Story is AMAZING!! the main protagonist is badass... I liked this game more than bayonetta and God of War 3 Darksiders is soooo much better than those games The gameplay and the story makes it one of the best games this gen... It a very long game too.. I finished it in 22 hours and the game is semi-open world so it will take you even longerHands down! One of the best games this gen.. The Story is AMAZING!! the main protagonist is badass... I liked this game more than bayonetta and God of War 3 Darksiders is soooo much better than those games The gameplay and the story makes it one of the best games this gen... It a very long game too.. I finished it in 22 hours and the game is semi-open world so it will take you even longer if you looked for collectables and tried to platinum it Expand
  25. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    This is an all out wonderful game. I remembering the trailers on online and thinking this game is gonna be badass and it was. I had no prior knowledge of the game and bought it based off what looked to be good. I fell in love with the game the moment i started playing, amazing story, beautiful graphics, great game play and great acting. Mark Hamill as the watcher only made love the gameThis is an all out wonderful game. I remembering the trailers on online and thinking this game is gonna be badass and it was. I had no prior knowledge of the game and bought it based off what looked to be good. I fell in love with the game the moment i started playing, amazing story, beautiful graphics, great game play and great acting. Mark Hamill as the watcher only made love the game even more. The dungeons in this game a pretty impressive on their own, but puzzle are just mind boggling and make the player want to work harder. The hack and slash combat is so none less then that off God of War. So in a nutshell it's like Legend of zelda and God of War had sex and their baby was Darksiders Expand
  26. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    MOST UNDERRATED GAME EVER!!!!!!

    One of the BEST games ever.. Simply AMAZING! The story is really, the characters are really likeable, and the game is FUN,, i recommend this game to EVERYONE!
  27. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    i bought this game its not bad i thought all time it was out it be crap game but it best game i ever played stories got me sucked into it like other game before
  28. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    The more one plays this game, the more they will realize that it is a molding of games that were fantastic on their own, and in turn make this game fantastic. Most notable influences are games like Zelda, Devil May Cry, and God of War. The game is extremely fun and addicting, with amazing visuals. The game never gets boring; each boss killed yields a new awesome execution kill move thatThe more one plays this game, the more they will realize that it is a molding of games that were fantastic on their own, and in turn make this game fantastic. Most notable influences are games like Zelda, Devil May Cry, and God of War. The game is extremely fun and addicting, with amazing visuals. The game never gets boring; each boss killed yields a new awesome execution kill move that you've never seen before. I literally said "Holy **** out loud every time War completely obliterated something. There are only a couple of very small things I found wrong with this game, but they are minute and don't negatively affect gameplay. Amazing game, must-play. Collapse
  29. May 3, 2013
    10
    I have just recently come back to gaming after a 10 year hiatus. I was always a Nintendo kid growing up, but I'm not a fan of the Wii so I got a PS3. This game is the closest thing to a Zelda game that I have been able to find. I absolutely loved it! I thought the story was good and the ending leaves itself open to sequels. I hope they make a game for each horseman. The puzzles wereI have just recently come back to gaming after a 10 year hiatus. I was always a Nintendo kid growing up, but I'm not a fan of the Wii so I got a PS3. This game is the closest thing to a Zelda game that I have been able to find. I absolutely loved it! I thought the story was good and the ending leaves itself open to sequels. I hope they make a game for each horseman. The puzzles were fun, if not a little too easy, and the fighting is amazing! Expand
  30. ErickG.
    Jan 8, 2010
    9
    You should brace up for a hybrid of GoW, 300(the PSP game) and Demon's Soul kinda game... The over-all atmosphere is immersive albeit it looks cartoonish for the most part. The characters were sort of stripped of "grim-ness" maybe to appeal more to younger audiences and add a lightened ambiance in the otherwise brutal gameplay. Speaking of that, the controls are easy to learn and You should brace up for a hybrid of GoW, 300(the PSP game) and Demon's Soul kinda game... The over-all atmosphere is immersive albeit it looks cartoonish for the most part. The characters were sort of stripped of "grim-ness" maybe to appeal more to younger audiences and add a lightened ambiance in the otherwise brutal gameplay. Speaking of that, the controls are easy to learn and combos do not take a while to learn. That makes this game very engaging and entertaining (so far)...HACK and SLASH is the key element in the gameplay (button mashing,eh?). So that means this aspect of the game makes up for the slightly disappointing graphics element as I mentioned above. The gameplay, to sum up, is a bit repetitive. Sound is also great but otherwise generic, action-type. Now, in terms of cut-scenes, it's like watching an animated fantasy-action-religious movie at the same time as the whole story is somewhat based on the Bible's last book, the Revelation (Apocalypse). Being the first of the Horseman, WAR, you embark on a war for your own salvation of existence after being fooled into starting the final battle. Where this game will take my character? Can't wait to see... It's amazing how a great game like this would be deprived of the hype (reminds me of Demon's Soul) like the one bestowed on CoDMW4 or AC2. Hope experiences like mine would drive sales of this beautiful game. Expand
  31. TimontyD
    Jan 22, 2010
    9
    This game is so much fun to play and the story line is as original as it gets. IMHO this game does everything right. The fighting is fast and furious yet uncomplicated. It has the right blend of RPG elements but none of the boring grind. The boss battles are challenging but not overly difficult. The graphics are well done and what you would expect from next gen. Overall the game is a gem This game is so much fun to play and the story line is as original as it gets. IMHO this game does everything right. The fighting is fast and furious yet uncomplicated. It has the right blend of RPG elements but none of the boring grind. The boss battles are challenging but not overly difficult. The graphics are well done and what you would expect from next gen. Overall the game is a gem that never gets boring and is very hard to put down. Expand
  32. Dave
    Jan 10, 2010
    9
    What a way to start off 2010! Darksiders is a complete work of art. Epic story and backdrop plus the Earth after the catastrophic and ultimate fall of man during the apocalypse is simply stunning to behold. The Combat at first simple chaining of the square button with R1 to block, soon broadens into a vast array of moves that, with 3 main weapons (each with their own move set) is totally What a way to start off 2010! Darksiders is a complete work of art. Epic story and backdrop plus the Earth after the catastrophic and ultimate fall of man during the apocalypse is simply stunning to behold. The Combat at first simple chaining of the square button with R1 to block, soon broadens into a vast array of moves that, with 3 main weapons (each with their own move set) is totally overwhelming, but the pace at which you can learn these moves and advance as your weapons increase in level, gives you time to master each one. Take time to practice chaining combos, it's worth it to watch the action flow beautifully. The array of customisation within the weapons and assorted geare you carry with you, isn't quite RPG level, but more than enough yo keep you engaged. The characters are all very well acted, players of Batman: Arkham Asylum will immediately recognise Mark Hamill (The Joker) as the Watcher, the being bound to you by the charred council to keep War under constant vigilance. He does occasionally help you out with tips, or hold select for a hint from the Watcher if you forget where yo uare supposed to be going during all that exploration. Little can be said of War himself, or indeed his true form, The Chaos Form, a massive Balrog-esque being wreathed in toiling flames! It must be seen ot appreciate the level of detail that has gone into the chracter. As it is with world in which war finds himself, stripped of his powers and facing a world of Demons and armoured Battle Angels all trying to send you to packing with the Chaoseater (war's mighty saber) between your legs. Exploration. Battle. Puzzles. Epic. Epic. EPIC! Expand
  33. DrewD
    Jan 20, 2010
    9
    I'd give it an 8.5 if it was available. This game is definitely an early sleeper for 2010. The beautiful and diverse backgrounds set through out the game really set the stage. The voiceovers are clear and concise and give each character his/her identity. Its God of War-esque with more open space. Even though there are a lack of combos, the overall combat and decent magic spells make I'd give it an 8.5 if it was available. This game is definitely an early sleeper for 2010. The beautiful and diverse backgrounds set through out the game really set the stage. The voiceovers are clear and concise and give each character his/her identity. Its God of War-esque with more open space. Even though there are a lack of combos, the overall combat and decent magic spells make up for it. Being able to venture back to previously unreachable places and upgrade yourself accordingly creates an added interest. War is a character to like as well as he gets down to business, looks like a bad-ass and carries a fearsome sword. I am quite bias toward action adventure games (God of War, Devil May Cry, Onimusha) however, either way, this game was a pleasant surprise, kept my interest, excited me for a sequel. Expand
  34. SethB.
    Jan 6, 2010
    9
    The game had initially started out very easy to play, and as such I started out being fairly disappointed. I stuck with it for a little longer, watched the difficulty level ramp up quickly and came to a realization. If you were to take Zelda and it's dungeon system and moderate storyline and replace the visuals and battle system to better match something comparable to Devil May Cry The game had initially started out very easy to play, and as such I started out being fairly disappointed. I stuck with it for a little longer, watched the difficulty level ramp up quickly and came to a realization. If you were to take Zelda and it's dungeon system and moderate storyline and replace the visuals and battle system to better match something comparable to Devil May Cry or God of War (meet those somewhere in the middle) and you get Darksiders. To put it simply, it's Sony's Zelda game, with a meter telling you how much blood you've spilled. Expand
  35. RobertF.
    Jan 6, 2010
    9
    A solid and very well done adventure game. War is a badass plain and simply and the art is incredible. The story is well done and well performed even though it may sound cliche on the surface.
  36. ZachB.
    Jan 8, 2010
    9
    while there are great elements to this game and they mesh well I think that it could use a bit more polish, I look at this as a top 20 or top 10 game this year and look forward to the sequel which, with a bit of luck could be a game of the year contender whenever it is released
  37. PatrickV
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    i have been playing the game for about an hour and a half now. so far the game's been a lot of fun. the God of War style combat and Zelda/Castlevania adventure aspects are great. the designers did a pretty good job of getting these features working well into a single game. unlike others, i like the artistic style of the characters, creatures and the overall look of the level i have been playing the game for about an hour and a half now. so far the game's been a lot of fun. the God of War style combat and Zelda/Castlevania adventure aspects are great. the designers did a pretty good job of getting these features working well into a single game. unlike others, i like the artistic style of the characters, creatures and the overall look of the level design/environments. my only issue with the game is the camera, especially when u get right up close to an enemy and perform a dash away from them. i find it quite annoying having to constantly "focus" on that enemy again in order to not lose sight of them. i wish the camera was be pulled back a bit more giving the user a better view of the battlefield. this would definitely prevent fewer cheap hits from off screen enemies. overall a pretty good first game from Vigil. Expand
  38. JohnD.
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    It took a while but it's finally out, and it might be the turning point in Austin TX development. I've got about 5 hrs invested and the more I play the more I like it. It is the son of Zelda meets God of War, thru and thru. Every step you take, baddie you kill, weapon you unlock, feels like Zelda or God of War. Which is definitely not a bad thing. There's something about It took a while but it's finally out, and it might be the turning point in Austin TX development. I've got about 5 hrs invested and the more I play the more I like it. It is the son of Zelda meets God of War, thru and thru. Every step you take, baddie you kill, weapon you unlock, feels like Zelda or God of War. Which is definitely not a bad thing. There's something about the art style that I just can't put my finger on, it's like post apocalyptic but bright pretty colors. Does anyone else feel the same way? The controls are finally clicking for me (evading, dashing, countering) and the game does a pretty decent job with it's clear all the baddies using a particular skill mini games at making sure you learn the ins & outs. I'm loving the characters, the fiction, the setting, and the baddassery of it all. I'll round up an 8.5 to a 9 just cause I'm a fan of Joe Mad and I have a good amount of buddies that worked on the title. Expand
  39. CranstonP.
    Jan 8, 2010
    9
    I am pretty surprised with this game. Great graphics, gameplay, and story. Nintendo needs to take note and make a Zelda for grown ups because that is what this is. It's a must buy in my book.
  40. AndyP.
    Jan 8, 2010
    9
    Closer to an 8.5 to a 9... some pacing issues and surprising shifts in difficulty that need to be ironed out if (hopefully when) there is ever a Darksiders 2. A refreshing new IP that is part Zelda-clone and part GoW-clone. In a market full of similar shooters and uninspired, "safe" games - Darksiders is really very refreshing and enjoyable.
  41. BrentM.
    Jan 11, 2010
    9
    Take one of the best artist in the comics industry, an epic story involving the four horsmen of the apocalypse against the forces of heaven and hell, and mix in gameplay elements from some of the most influential games in the industry - and you have one of the greatest gaming experiences I've ever played on any console of any generation. Joe Mad's art style sets a whole new Take one of the best artist in the comics industry, an epic story involving the four horsmen of the apocalypse against the forces of heaven and hell, and mix in gameplay elements from some of the most influential games in the industry - and you have one of the greatest gaming experiences I've ever played on any console of any generation. Joe Mad's art style sets a whole new standard for character and model designs, and it is tough for even games like God of War or Zelda to match the artistic talent that Darksiders had driving it. The gameplay is easy enough to pick up, but still offers more than enough combos and wepon diversity to satisfy hardcore action fans. All the weapons are easily accessible without having to pause the game and cycle through menus and menus of items. Combos are easy to pull off, but creative players can attack an enemy with a sword, scythe, gun, gauntlet, and a chain in one fluid motion before the enemy ever drops to the ground. If all of that is not enough, then there are plenty of artifacts, enhancements, and collectibles to gather throughout the game. Every twist and turn rewards you with a new weapon or a new item - so the entire experience is satisfying up until the very ending. Riding around on Ruin, which is like a badass Epona from hell, alone is worth the price of admission. I would easily take this game over the majority of the games it is influenced by. It is worth every minute and penny you spend on it. Good work Vigil - give us a sequel. Expand
  42. CharlesS.
    Jan 31, 2010
    9
    How many times have I wondered why doesn't games breed ideas from different games to make a complete multi-genre game. Well, Darksiders has major influences from The Legend Of Zelda series, huge battle implications from God Of War, some Fable like camera movement and then you have a well written story with very dark atmosphere. In my opinion, best adventure game of the year (2010)... How many times have I wondered why doesn't games breed ideas from different games to make a complete multi-genre game. Well, Darksiders has major influences from The Legend Of Zelda series, huge battle implications from God Of War, some Fable like camera movement and then you have a well written story with very dark atmosphere. In my opinion, best adventure game of the year (2010)... so far, we will see! Expand
  43. Mar 19, 2011
    9
    So I wrote a review on this game, and it hasn't shown up yet in my feed or here in the list, so I am going to re-write a quick version. So if my original shows up, apologies for the double post. The atmosphere is great and filled with a lot of diversity. Some levels are dark and depressing, while others a bright and colorful. The combat is tight although you will never really need to useSo I wrote a review on this game, and it hasn't shown up yet in my feed or here in the list, so I am going to re-write a quick version. So if my original shows up, apologies for the double post. The atmosphere is great and filled with a lot of diversity. Some levels are dark and depressing, while others a bright and colorful. The combat is tight although you will never really need to use any of your extra weapons. Your primary weapon is where it is at. In other official reviews I read that the combat got old, I never felt this way. I thought it was fun till the very end trying to pull off as many combos as possible. The temples were good, if not a little on the easy side, however the last temple you are in really shows the potential that the possible sequels could have. The puzzles where challenging and engaging with just the right amount of combat worked in. My one issue is that the game was a little on the short side for what it was. I finished at a little over 20 hours. That is long for most single player games today, but when it is in the same general genre as games like Zelda that clocks in around 50+ hours. If you are someone who really likes to collect all items (which I am... not sure what happened this game as I really failed in that area) then you could probably stretch it out to around 25-30 hours. Its a great game and I highly recommend it. Expand
  44. Jul 13, 2011
    9
    A great game that mixes stuff from the very greats of video gaming. The graphics are neat and the bosses really awesome. The difficulty level is just right and at about 25 hours the game is just as long as it should be. Also I had more fun playing this than the most recent Zelda for Wii because here you have something usefull to spend your in-game money on, not just some empty bottles andA great game that mixes stuff from the very greats of video gaming. The graphics are neat and the bosses really awesome. The difficulty level is just right and at about 25 hours the game is just as long as it should be. Also I had more fun playing this than the most recent Zelda for Wii because here you have something usefull to spend your in-game money on, not just some empty bottles and such. The battle system could be a little more complicated but all in all I really enjoyed playing this! Expand
  45. Apr 23, 2012
    0
    The more one plays this game, the more they will realize that it is a molding of games that were fantastic on their own, and in turn make this game fantastic. Most notable influences are games like Zelda, Devil May Cry, and God of War. The game is extremely fun and addicting, with amazing visuals. The game never gets boring; each boss killed yields a new awesome execution kill move thatThe more one plays this game, the more they will realize that it is a molding of games that were fantastic on their own, and in turn make this game fantastic. Most notable influences are games like Zelda, Devil May Cry, and God of War. The game is extremely fun and addicting, with amazing visuals. The game never gets boring; each boss killed yields a new awesome execution kill move that you've never seen before. I literally said "Holy **** out loud every time War completely obliterated something. There are only a couple of very small things I found wrong with this game, but they are minute and don't negatively affect gameplay. Amazing game, must-play. Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. If ever there was a pure gamer’s game, Darksiders is it.
  2. When viewed as a whole, it is clear that Darksiders was made by skilled developers who truly love video games. If there ever was a game that could be all things to all people and tastes, Darksiders is it.
  3. 90
    A great action RPG. Solid, ever-evolving combat meets solid, ever-evolving puzzles in some really evocative environments.