User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 494 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 5, 2013
    5
    Not one to simply ignore the conclusion to a series I enjoy, I sat down with low expectations for Dead Space 3. I saw the trailers, played the demo, and all I saw was an action game. I wasn't far off. DS3 in single player retains only the barest of horror elements from the first game. In there place is action sequences straight out of Gears of War. Gone are the days of paranoia and supplyNot one to simply ignore the conclusion to a series I enjoy, I sat down with low expectations for Dead Space 3. I saw the trailers, played the demo, and all I saw was an action game. I wasn't far off. DS3 in single player retains only the barest of horror elements from the first game. In there place is action sequences straight out of Gears of War. Gone are the days of paranoia and supply famine as the game literally throws ammo, now a single type used by all guns, and enemies die so easily to automatic fire that there is little to no chance of death. The most I saw my heath go down was during pre-programed sections. Co-Op brings in the worst of this as enemies simply can;t keep up with you and your partner and make you feel untouchable. All in all, I can;t say the game is a failure. Action fans will find a good fill of gore and excitment as Isaac, once scared engineer has become a one-liner spitting badass in Furcoat lined Space Armor. With zombies, human cultists, giant montrosities and chest high walls aplenty make Co-Op fun and rewarding for a sit down with buddies, offering plenty of oportunities to bro it up, but there in lies the problem. The whole game, from the guns to the atmosphere is not Dead Space. There's no horror, there's no fear, there's no soul of the once vibrant survival game. The world sorely need another space marine shooter yet an up and coming horror game was sacrificed for just that. To put it shortly: Dead Space=Alien, where you are alone, weak and a hair's width from death with every corner turned. Dead Space 2=Aliens, where you're armed, you're knowledgable about the threat, you have the can do spirit, and it's all meaningless as you look death in the face. Dead Space 3=Alien3, where every element that made the last two unique has been traded off in an attempt to out do them with a different audience. Time to let Isaac fall into the molten iron and lay it to rest. God help us if they make Dead Space: Resurrection. Expand
  2. Aug 23, 2013
    7
    This is where the Dead Space franchise begins it's descent into the action genre.
    This game can still be scary, but the stronger weapons, faster controls and co-op support take most of it away. The game's story is again great, better than the other two main games even, and there are more characters this time, though their backstories are limited. (Though some comics and books have been
    This is where the Dead Space franchise begins it's descent into the action genre.
    This game can still be scary, but the stronger weapons, faster controls and co-op support take most of it away. The game's story is again great, better than the other two main games even, and there are more characters this time, though their backstories are limited. (Though some comics and books have been made detailing some characters, including Carver) The major point that shows the action this has turned into is the inclusion of human enemies. Luckily, these fights don't happen too often.
    I think this is a great game, if you're a fan of Dead Space, get it, but it has ruined my hopes for Dead Space 4 to be fantastic.
    Expand
  3. Jul 20, 2014
    7
    Dead space 3 was an alright game, but it's definately better than what people rate it on metacritic. This being my first dead space game, I went in with an open mind wheras people seemed to complained mostly about the lack of horror element in this game, which I agree didn't really exist. The positives of this game was definately the crafting system, very fun and unique to test outDead space 3 was an alright game, but it's definately better than what people rate it on metacritic. This being my first dead space game, I went in with an open mind wheras people seemed to complained mostly about the lack of horror element in this game, which I agree didn't really exist. The positives of this game was definately the crafting system, very fun and unique to test out different weapon combo's, (although it is limited, so don't expect weapons like dead rising's crafting system). The gameplay itself is a third person shooter game with decent mechanics, there were some exciting moment's but also some boring moment's throughout the game. Now the story wasn't really that bad, but it also didn't suck me in, so there's that. Overall it's an borderline ok-good game, but I realized that this game doesn't really do anything extraordinary, they do some things ok-good but that's it, it never pushes the game to great heights. Expand
  4. Jul 7, 2014
    7
    Dead Space 3, well, is a good enough game, although not as good as Dead Space 1&2. Due to the greedy EA's policy, the game has been split up on several DLCs. While many of those DLCs have just minor effect on the game play, the biggest one, the "Awakening", is a *direct sequel* to the main plot of the game. Got it? EA is trying to sell the part of the game that should have been included inDead Space 3, well, is a good enough game, although not as good as Dead Space 1&2. Due to the greedy EA's policy, the game has been split up on several DLCs. While many of those DLCs have just minor effect on the game play, the biggest one, the "Awakening", is a *direct sequel* to the main plot of the game. Got it? EA is trying to sell the part of the game that should have been included in the minimum package! Disgusting!
    Also, so named additional missions are almost identical from geometrical point of view. I mean, they are very, very similar to each one; the only difference is just enemies and loot. Meh.
    The giant spider boss is too enduring, and he is almost the only one boss in the game! Meh, once again.
    Bottom line: buy the game at your own risk. I'd recommend to buy a GOTY/DC/Gold/Platinum version (if they will ever appear) of the game, including at least the "Awakening" DLC. Otherwise, you'll just miss the final part of the game.
    Expand
  5. Oct 15, 2014
    7
    When compared to previous games, this experience may not be as satisfying, since missing horror elements, but it packs some intense action!

    New features are weapon crafting, and co-op. Crafting weapons is fun, because the number of options you have, when building your own weapons. Only downside with this is that you're able to create powerful guns, that eliminate the need of limb
    When compared to previous games, this experience may not be as satisfying, since missing horror elements, but it packs some intense action!

    New features are weapon crafting, and co-op.
    Crafting weapons is fun, because the number of options you have, when building your own weapons. Only downside with this is that you're able to create powerful guns, that eliminate the need of limb chopping, which was very important aspect for surviving in previous titles.
    Co-op is optional, and you can still play the game alone, wihtout AI-partner. Nice addtition would've been split-screen co-op for local multiplayer,just like in Resident evil 5 & 6.

    Biggest problem with this game is the increased action, and decreased horror. First half of the game is played at abandoned space station, and you feel isolated just like in Dead Space 1. But this changes when you start exploring frozen planet, and start encountering fights with soldiers etc. Third Dead Space tries to focus more on the story and the origin of your enemies, but I didn't experience the story that interesting, but more cliche-like, with the goal to save world etc.

    With less action, more horror and atmosphere, this game would've received a better welcome from the fans of Dead Space 1 & 2.

    If you're new with Dead Space, and like action, then this is a great game for you to play! If you're looking for horror games, you should play the previous titles.
    Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2013
    6
    Ds3 is just average. It dosent leave you with any impressions after you beat it. Just meh. Its not action heavy but its shooter heavy. Prepare to get barraged by the same necros over and over and over. There is hardly any enemy variety in the entire game. They also left out brutes,infectors and dividers. Classic necromorphs. There are just so many little things that take away from aDs3 is just average. It dosent leave you with any impressions after you beat it. Just meh. Its not action heavy but its shooter heavy. Prepare to get barraged by the same necros over and over and over. There is hardly any enemy variety in the entire game. They also left out brutes,infectors and dividers. Classic necromorphs. There are just so many little things that take away from a potiential great game. You will have more frustrations than fun. If you must play ds3, rent it. Frankly, its not worth your 60$. Expand
  7. Aug 17, 2013
    7
    After playing through this game a 2nd time I really think it is a good game but doesn't hit the standard Dead Space 1 showed us. I feel that this game is really too cinematic and action packed. At times I really felt over powered and a bit frustrated considering the pace of the game but thats just how it played out. The story took an unusual turn but I wont spoil anything for anyoneAfter playing through this game a 2nd time I really think it is a good game but doesn't hit the standard Dead Space 1 showed us. I feel that this game is really too cinematic and action packed. At times I really felt over powered and a bit frustrated considering the pace of the game but thats just how it played out. The story took an unusual turn but I wont spoil anything for anyone that hasn't played it yet. This game was very cinematic in my opinion as I always felt in horror games "dead" silence in corridors was always more tense than an orchestra in the background. To finish up I think there was definitely alot of effort put into this game and it is still fun but sadly the horror aspect of it just isn't there. 7/10 Expand
  8. Feb 6, 2013
    7
    Dead Space 3 is a gorgeous title that once more thrusts Isaac Clark back into the disarray of Visceral Game's dystopian future. Apparently, in the time between the second and third games our engineering friend has become somewhat of a troglodyte, behind on bills and with a newly discovered penchant for sketching the very religious structures he feared, it's evident that Isaac's not in aDead Space 3 is a gorgeous title that once more thrusts Isaac Clark back into the disarray of Visceral Game's dystopian future. Apparently, in the time between the second and third games our engineering friend has become somewhat of a troglodyte, behind on bills and with a newly discovered penchant for sketching the very religious structures he feared, it's evident that Isaac's not in a good place. Still distraught over the loss of his girlfriend, he suddenly finds himself hunted by the formidably run (and well financed) Unitologist Church which, unlike our hero, remained quite busy during Mr. Clark's "Walden" days. While the game remains well acted, and though the music complements the appropriate moment, the writers immediately present you with a story that undermines the pre-established lore from both preceding titles as well as the supplementary material (books, dvds, ect). How for example, were the artifact's powers contained when previous attempts had failed? How did the construction workers not transform before the containment facilities were blown? I mean, wouldn't the spear-armed HVAC employee not make the evening news on at least 1 planet? How did the civilian population of every colony suddenly turn to fanatic Unitologist supporters overnight? While most games fall into similar tropes that can be highlighted when thought of for just a moment, the immersion factor often removes this quotient from the equation, we don't ask why Master Chief was spared in Halo 4, we don't question the motives of the Alliance Council in Mass Effect, and we certainly don’t mull over why Princess Peach always insists on having her parties on the top floor of her castle. And yet here I was, 20 minutes in and fleeing from a well armed army of religious fanatics wondering how it came to be. Perhaps it's series fatigue, but the story, like the matrix before it, is trying to delve deeper than was ever intended, and it's beginning to show. On the gameplay front, the controls are nearly identical to previous entries in the series, and while movement in the older games benefited from isolated chambers and limited enemies, the narrative transition makes moving around feel convoluted and slow. Enemies charge from multiple directions and soldiers lob grenades at the feet of your character, and yet the ability to respond is frustratingly limited. Like many preliminary critics suggested, it appeared as if the developers were attempting to create a budget version of Gears of War, and the control scheme is indicative of this. Targeting is tedious, and the slight auto assist that was pioneered over a decade earlier in Halo 1, is nowhere to be found. I often had to spend precious time lining up shots, only to be eviscerated from behind. In many titles such complaints could be overlooked, however with the increased (exponentially so) focus on gunplay, the system is simply antiquated. While the addition of a second player helps, it removes the most compelling aspect of Dead Space, which is isolation. This not only detracts from the plot, but the game play as well. While Mr. Carter's story is deep and emotionally well developed, it's hard to build anticipation and apprehension when a 13 year old is singing into their headpiece. Perhaps if played with a friend this would be nullified, however in the era of COD and Halo 4, your window of opportunity to experience this with a competent partner is limited at best. On the visual front, Dead Space is a feast for the eyes, from the glare of the neon lights to the individual hair follicles on Isaac's face, we are treated to a brilliant canvas that seldom disappoints. Unfortunately, much like an oil painting, the prima facie appearances belie the reality, as they simply coat a static world that prevents interaction. Want to shoot that toy robot? Insert random black mark. Care to break that window? Well here's one of 4 broken glass patterns. It's the type of minute complaint that only grows as the game progresses, and much as how Doom 3, initially dropped collective jaws, it was ultimately irrelevant due to the sheer limitations that existed in the environment. Although I acknowledge that the description thus far isn't flattering, it's the reality of Electronic Art's development cycles; original ideas cultivate dedicated followers, who are eventually traded in for mass consumer appeal. Usually this process involves expanding the scale of the story, placing a glossy sheen over the character models, and increasing the bust size of female characters to entice teens. From micro transactions to day one DLC, it's obvious that EA is merely in it for the money, and consequently innovation falls inversely as production costs skyrocket. This is not a condemnation of their business model, simply a call to reconsider their practices. Dead Space 3 is by all means a decent game, it's well acted, and fairly fluid, but to a dedicated Spacies (TM that), it's a disappointment. Expand
  9. Feb 5, 2013
    7
    I've been a fan of Dead Space since the first installment. The ambiance in the first game can't be matched, the advancement of the story in 2 was a welcome addition to the improved game-play, but 3 just seems to be... lacking. In innovation, mostly. I've played through about half of this game and I can honestly say: if you're looking for a game that is all about scary creatures andI've been a fan of Dead Space since the first installment. The ambiance in the first game can't be matched, the advancement of the story in 2 was a welcome addition to the improved game-play, but 3 just seems to be... lacking. In innovation, mostly. I've played through about half of this game and I can honestly say: if you're looking for a game that is all about scary creatures and psychological horrors, play 1 and 2. If you're a fan of the series and want to see where the plot goes and enjoy the aesthetics of the first 2 games, 3 is alright, too. The weapon upgrade system is very taxing and I was a little bit wary about the addition of co-op (but it actually seems alright), but honestly, you can get through most of this game without making some Frankenstein-esque gun from scrap metal. I wouldn't recommend buying this game new, but if you see it at a game shop used, by all means, give it a try. Expand
  10. Mar 14, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love the Dead Space franchise. The first game was something special. I enjoy films like Aliens, Event Horizon, The Thing etc. It was nice to see a developer be so inspired by those films and atmospheres. The second one took it a step further and was brilliant. The first game had horror. The second game had terror. The third game? Well lets just say its action. I understand how a developer can't do more of the same but why the hell can't they at least PUSH the envelope and make the action meld with more horror? A good example is the Awakened DLC. Now the enemies in that game were horror! throw those in 3 with the bloody necromorphs from the first two games and I really wouldn't have had any problem. The problem though is adding the crouching, shooting gallery mechanics and bum rushing enemies that block corridors. It really broke the game for me. Not to mention lack of exploration this time round. Sure we go through many environments but its mostly backtracking. I liked the space parts the most but the rest of it was pretty lacking. I was also annoyed *SPOILER* that you don't get to go to the moon..instead you fight the moon. Really? now whole moons are bosses? that was the stupidest part of the whole game. What is this Mass Effect 3? Death Star? The boss just looked laughable though I liked the chaotic environment. Story was weak this time round..instead of Isaac worrying about his missing girlfriend we got Carver who has to be the worst companion character right next to Aliens: Colonial Marines companion. Guy has tourettes. I didn't even bother with the co-op. Finally the last gripe was the weapon crafting system. I utterly hated this. I miss the old weapons. Should have kept those and just allowed upgrades instead of crafting new weapons. Don't see the point? other then giving us some hard work to do. Breaks up the pacing and obviously was put in to keep the player from noticing the short levels. On the plus side some of the enemy designs were great (The DLC Awakened being the best), graphics are always top notch, sound design was good (though I noticed on headphones it veers towards the left side...a bug?) ----------If your a fan of the series I recommend it and the DLC Awakened is brilliant up until the silly ending. I don't really know where else they can take it. I am so tired of those monsters attack the Earth plot lines.. 7/10 Expand
  11. Feb 10, 2013
    6
    I love the first two outings for the Dead Space world, and so was eagerly awaiting the third instalment even going so far as to order it for launch day (which is very unusual for me). After a day playing it however I'm left disappointed and am considering going back to my current play through of DS2 for my precious weekend's gaming. There are several issues I have with the new game whichI love the first two outings for the Dead Space world, and so was eagerly awaiting the third instalment even going so far as to order it for launch day (which is very unusual for me). After a day playing it however I'm left disappointed and am considering going back to my current play through of DS2 for my precious weekend's gaming. There are several issues I have with the new game which seem retrograde steps rather than progressive ones.
    Firstly, however, let me say what's good. The world is even more deeply immersive than before. The addition of ladder climbing seems small but adds more plausibility to the environments. The graphics are sometimes simply breathtaking, and there seem to be more "real" objects around that you knock over as you pass or can pick up and fire at enemies.
    The sounds is also superb. Music quickens when baddies attack (although I'm not a fan of "music is still attack music so baddies must still be around even though I haven't seen them" audio cues) and the squelching and snarling of enemies is sometimes stomach-wrenchingly good.
    Optional missions too are a great feature and are implemented beautifully.
    However, despite these standouts, there's something deeply lingering that disquiets me. The game dynamic has subtly changed, and not for the better.
    Stomping corpses now is mandatory. Often corpses only drop loot if they're stomped. But there's no way to spot unstomped corpses. Missing loot annoys me.
    Default weapons aren't powerful enough and enemies too fast. This sounds like the ultimate wimp-out criticism, and maybe it's a tactic to force more use of stasis, but here's how it goes. An enemy appears. I shoot it to remove a limb. Now it takes two or three shots to sever a limb instead of one. In the meantime the baddy has rushed me and so I end up button pounding or melee attacking. This is happening MUCH more than in the previous games. And it's a drag. An enemy appears and it's on me before I can shoot it enough times to kill it. Of course that hurts, so now I need more medical supplies. But now there seems to be something of an abundance of those. Guys, that is no substitute for balanced gameplay! Whereas enemies in previous games were sometimes a shock, there were never times when I thought one single enemy could conceivably kill me while I stumble around trying to shoot it now it's inches away and moving around me.
    Let me talk about the new weapon system. What was wrong with the old one?! My first visit to a bench had me thinking "wow that system is way powerful but I will never be bothered to learn it". I'm all for making games you have to invest a bit of time in, but I will never be found planning my weapon upgrade strategy.
    More generally, I've found that there is too much do-something-get-attacked about the game. An example is restarting a generator to provide power to a ship. I run around the gantry for ages figuring out what to do, and when the penny finally drops (it's not obvious enough and I had to be hinted to by the game) and I made progress I suffer a wave of enemies. Where were they for the previous two minutes of me running about looking stupid? And we have to do this three times. Pause. Progress. Wave of baddies. The scripting of waves of enemies is laborious for someone like me who moves slowly through these environments (particularly now I don't know if a corpse needs stomping or not).
    It's a peeve of mine, but I always play this type of game on the easiest mode first, then replay harder. I expect "easy" or in this case "casual" to mean just that- not challenging, if you like. I like to think of it as "just FUN". The casual mode of DS3 is far from it. Two monsters at once is almost enough to kill me, which just isn't fun.
    I guess that about sums things up for me. As a casual player, I want to dip in, have fun, and dip out. I can see DS3 has meat for a serious gamer, but for me, the mark of a game is how compelled I am to explore and enjoy it. Right now I'm wondering whether I want to play it again today- it seems far more like work. I'm actually thinking "well maybe half an hour on DS2 before I go back to DS3". Please, please, let that change as I come to know the game more...
    Expand
  12. Feb 6, 2013
    7
    Overall, this was a good game. The graphics were greatly improved, sound was decent. Game play was good. Length was appropriate for a horror/action game. The problem I had was adding coop (immediately made less scary), how easy it was (about 11-12 hours, played on normal) and I played through with the same weapon the entire time. Writting wasn't as refined as in previous Dead Space games.Overall, this was a good game. The graphics were greatly improved, sound was decent. Game play was good. Length was appropriate for a horror/action game. The problem I had was adding coop (immediately made less scary), how easy it was (about 11-12 hours, played on normal) and I played through with the same weapon the entire time. Writting wasn't as refined as in previous Dead Space games. No spoiler, the ending was kinda lame. To be fair, this game does not deserve these low scores. As of 06 Feb 2013, none of the negative scores have a review behind them. Expand
  13. Feb 12, 2013
    7
    I give this game 7 because while it has very few pure survival horror elements in it I still enjoyed it. True, it is no longer the same Dead Space that we experienced back on Ishimura, but the game is a pretty solid action shooter, I liked it as it is, but if Visceral games wants Dead Space to survive as a survival horror game, the baby of Resident Evil 4 that uprgaded it's poppa's ideasI give this game 7 because while it has very few pure survival horror elements in it I still enjoyed it. True, it is no longer the same Dead Space that we experienced back on Ishimura, but the game is a pretty solid action shooter, I liked it as it is, but if Visceral games wants Dead Space to survive as a survival horror game, the baby of Resident Evil 4 that uprgaded it's poppa's ideas then it should do something very quickly. P.S. I still liked Isaac more when he was mute, seriously, he reminded me of Gordon Freeman, the Chuck Norris in geek disguise and now he talks so much I've lost that feeling of cool. Expand
  14. Feb 10, 2013
    6
    This is such a great game. I have loved playing this game whenever I have free time. I could not live without this game ever. I will reccomend everyone to consider playing this game
  15. Mar 25, 2013
    7
    I really liked Dead Space 1 and 2. they are the best survivle horror games out there since Capcom turned Resident Evil in to a Lame Duck Shooter. DS3 i was very sketch on after seeing the 20 minutes of video It didn't look like a dead Space game It looked more like Lost planet After playing it all the way through i found that it wasn't as bad as i thought it would be. Now thats not toI really liked Dead Space 1 and 2. they are the best survivle horror games out there since Capcom turned Resident Evil in to a Lame Duck Shooter. DS3 i was very sketch on after seeing the 20 minutes of video It didn't look like a dead Space game It looked more like Lost planet After playing it all the way through i found that it wasn't as bad as i thought it would be. Now thats not to say there isnt some problems because there is alot to complain about in DS3 but first I'll start off with whats good about the game. Even though in the 20 minute demo they showed Issac in the snow all the time you are actaully very rarely outside in the snow. You spend more time in the ships or in bunkers or bases below the snow So the game still retains its tight chlostrophobic feel. Scares yes it still has some there was a few moments in the game when i jumped abit and yelled oh Shat! (note. it also helped that i was using a Sony HMZ-T1 while playing so it sucked me in to the game more) Guns and lots of them .You will have a bevy of wepons to pick from The story is also much improved One of my biggest gripes with DS1 and 2 was that the focus on more information on the marker was needed and DS3 does give you more but still leaves you wanting to know more yet. The game is longer and you move from a City to space ships to snow feilds to under ground bunkers to alien ruins so the game changes up nicely. Some new enimies and some good ones at that. Final boss looked pretty damn cool. Ok now on to the down side of DS3 First off the save feature It just SUCKS! instead of having places to save at you can just pause and hit save and quit Now unfortunitly it wont save you at that point unless its a check point. It will save all the stuff you found but when you load back up you could have to go back through 30-40 minutes of what you just did EVEN AFTER YOU SAVED WHEN YOU ALREADY DID IT!!! That just pissed me off. Remember in DS 1 and 2 when you could carry 4 wepons! now you only can have 2... WTF!? this made me not want to try out the new wepons because with only two wepon slots I didnt want to risk being stuck with some thing that was crap. Only 2 wepon slots... DUMB! remember in prevous DS games some times you would get mobbed by a ton of enimies? That was frightning because it didn't happen much and ammo was scarce (if you played it on the hard modes which is all i ever did) well in DS3 you are getting swarmed by tons of enimies every 2-3 minuites It seems clear out a room move 2 more rooms and and do it all again. You expect it now and the tension is gone. which brings us to ammo which you will never run out of because they made it so easy to carry a ton of it and make a ton of it and since all wepons use the same ammo worrying about item managment is pretty much gone... which sucks. Co-op... well its not forced on you atleast with a AI partner following you around which would have really sucked hard becase i have NO intrest in ever playing any DS game in CO-OP but EA is still taunting you with it by locking out missions with CO-OP only. Which really bugged me and should have been the other way around. If you enjoy CO-Op thats fine but for me it just Ruins DS I wasnt to be immersed in the world with out any one els bugging me. also way to much crap is locked away in the co-op certain wepons and alot of trophys can't be gotten with out playing in CO-OP... BS! Buggy and glitchy. ok i am on patch 1.02 and have had 2 freeze ups (which suck more with the crappy save system) and have had problems getting some doors to open. yes I have had to stand in front of a few doors for 2-5 minutes till it would open. Way to much rock climbing sessions which were not any fun and BUGGY! The final boss may have looked cool but man was he super EASY to beat. which has been a problem in all DS games they really need to make more of a harder final lboss fight. Also the ending pretty much sucks. In the end though DS3 is still a decent game It hasn't gone as far off the rails as what Resident Evil has to now its just a shambles DS3 still at its core is fun but they need to get it back on track to being a SURVIVLE HORROR GAME! Expand
  16. Aug 24, 2014
    5
    Bought this game last year, played through it, exploring as much as possible and actually enjoying it. I was bored a few days ago and decided to blow the dust off this game and have another go. As I played, I noticed quite a few bad things and a few good things. Lets start with good: The story continues, it explains alot more about the markers, the origin of the markers, which I wasBought this game last year, played through it, exploring as much as possible and actually enjoying it. I was bored a few days ago and decided to blow the dust off this game and have another go. As I played, I noticed quite a few bad things and a few good things. Lets start with good: The story continues, it explains alot more about the markers, the origin of the markers, which I was curious about since Dead Space 1.
    This one could be good or bad: The weapons. New crafting, build what you want. Now, I tired this out a bit. Built around 5-6 new guns, some good, some were just plain trash. After I experimented with it a bit, I found that the new crafting was unnecessary to me. I found the pulse rifle blueprint and never touched the crafting again. Some people like it, some don't, its your choice.
    Another good thing: Locations. The wrecked hulls of ships, bunkers, blood stained hallways filled with corpses. The space floating was a welcome change. Flying among the wreckage, avoiding mines was interesting. The bunkers and hallways, same Dead Space touch.
    Now the bad: The enemies. Some people might disagree, but I felt that the enemies were bullet sponges. Dead Space 1 and 2, the enemies on Casual were pretty easy. Here, they felt like I was playing Impossible.
    Another bad: The spawn system: When I was playing, I noticed that the enemies would swarm me ALOT. Seemed like every 3rd room I entered, I would be swarmed by 20-30 enemies. It got to the point where the swarming was no longer making me cautious but was actually making me mad. "Kill 30 enemies, walk 20 feet, get swarmed and kill 30 more". After that happening 10 times in an hour, you start to lose interest in the game.
    The weapons: They feel very underpowered. Example: The pulse rifle in Dead Space 2, that was great. I could mow down enemies and still have some rounds left. Now, I unload 2 clips into a single enemy and he just laughs at me.
    One last bad thing then I will stop ranting: The game: I lost track of how many times toward the middle and end of the game that I went over the same spots I just went over. I remember one spot though. You meet up with Santo, she tells you about some way to find the signal, and you run out the door you just came in, go outside where you just were, only you turn a different direction..why couldn't she tell me to get this stuff when I was outside instead of running all the way inside -_-. In my opinion, the developers ran out of ideas and made us go over the same spots to make the game seem longer then it really is.
    Over all, the game is good, but the bad things I listed just make the game a grind to get to the next point. If your a hardcore Dead Space fan, buy it for the story. If your not a fan, skip it and move to something else.
    Expand
  17. Apr 24, 2013
    7
    Dead Space 3 for me just didnt feel like the other two in the series. First, for most of the game you are with a group of people which took away the aloneness and scare factor that makes dead space. There were a few scary parts of the game but not like the first two games where the entire game was scary. Another big downfall was all the backtracking in the game ugh! Get three of this,Dead Space 3 for me just didnt feel like the other two in the series. First, for most of the game you are with a group of people which took away the aloneness and scare factor that makes dead space. There were a few scary parts of the game but not like the first two games where the entire game was scary. Another big downfall was all the backtracking in the game ugh! Get three of this, three of that, go all the way back here to where you started. The graphics are awsome and set pieces are nice and the game itself and story are pretty good, i also didnt6 like the new weapon system but thats my opinion. If you played and like the other games than play this one its not bad i enjoyed it. Expand
  18. Mar 5, 2013
    6
    A decent game but fails to surpass it's predecessors. The boss battles were repetitive and boring since they kept using the same moves over and over again. The AI is really stupid and the plot was pretty overshadowed by the love triangle thing.
  19. Nov 14, 2014
    6
    The game itself is pretty good, probably an 8, then they put micro transactions in a full price retail game....this crap needs to stop! There should not be an option to gain resources faster by paying real money in a full priced retail game. resources should come at a good pace through game play only.
  20. Mar 4, 2013
    5
    While playing Dead Space 3, about halfway through I noticed something. I hadn't noticed any horror elements, and I hadn't noticed any amazing set-pieces or action moments, so what exactly was I playing? Dead Space 3 sacrificed what made the previous games enjoyable and has fallen into a generic third-person genre. A focus on characters I don't care about and a generally boring story haveWhile playing Dead Space 3, about halfway through I noticed something. I hadn't noticed any horror elements, and I hadn't noticed any amazing set-pieces or action moments, so what exactly was I playing? Dead Space 3 sacrificed what made the previous games enjoyable and has fallen into a generic third-person genre. A focus on characters I don't care about and a generally boring story have made this game one I will not recommend. Expand
  21. Jun 5, 2013
    7
    I thoroughly enjoyed playing Dead Space 3 with a friend. The weapon customization system is well done and provides extra incentive for exploration and resource grinding. The combat is comfortable and entertaining, varied enemies and weapon choices keep it fresh throughout. How ever I found the survival horror promise lacking, I never found myself hanging on the edge of my seat so to speak.I thoroughly enjoyed playing Dead Space 3 with a friend. The weapon customization system is well done and provides extra incentive for exploration and resource grinding. The combat is comfortable and entertaining, varied enemies and weapon choices keep it fresh throughout. How ever I found the survival horror promise lacking, I never found myself hanging on the edge of my seat so to speak. This could be an effect of playing with a friend, but the game lacked the tension of previous Dead Space games. I recommend this game to anyone looking for a fun co-op game to kick around with a friend. Expand
  22. Jul 4, 2014
    5
    It feels more like an action title than a survival horror. It has a no-snap cover system that isn't an improvement. If you have played the other two, you will know how and when it will scare you, and what puzzles to expect. Weapons and co-op are the real stars, but even they don't shine too brightly. DS1>DS2>DS3.
  23. Nov 3, 2013
    6
    Had some elements of the previous two games like the space exploration, really did capture an atmosphere at times, but unfortunately doesn't take it too long to turn into just another generic 3rd person shooter. covered by a AAA status
  24. Jun 14, 2013
    6
    Co-op elements remove the fear factor in the game, put is still fun. Game is pretty short and story is uninteresting unless your a die hard dead space fan. Save your money folks.
  25. Nov 11, 2013
    7
    One thing to make clear I only played single player, so the co-op experience might be different.
    Out of the three main Dead Space games for me this is the worst one. Although it's not bad, I feel disappointed. This is mainly because the story and atmosphere are less interesting and do not build up tension as well as the second Dead Space did. Cutscenes in which the player didn't know if
    One thing to make clear I only played single player, so the co-op experience might be different.
    Out of the three main Dead Space games for me this is the worst one. Although it's not bad, I feel disappointed. This is mainly because the story and atmosphere are less interesting and do not build up tension as well as the second Dead Space did. Cutscenes in which the player didn't know if Isaac was going crazy or possessed were substituted with some trivial lovers quarrel. The second important thing is the gameplay resources in previous games were quite sparse, but in this entry you usually have more ammo and health packs laying about, than you can pick up. There is very little point in saving them for later or even avoiding damage much, just fire away (normal difficulty).
    One last thing besides co-op I didn't notice this game bringing in much new stuff except for the weapon crafting (which is alright, but nothing special).

    Still, it is a good game it just doesn't live up to its predecessors.
    Expand
  26. Mar 21, 2014
    7
    Pretty decent game, has a strong opening sequence, and strong characters, each with their own seemingly unique personalities. Not, however, entirely memorable or anything deserving of extremely high scores such as 9's or 10's.

    The games swap and choose weapon customisation is well thought out and works pretty effectively, although the micro transactions get in the way, and this is a
    Pretty decent game, has a strong opening sequence, and strong characters, each with their own seemingly unique personalities. Not, however, entirely memorable or anything deserving of extremely high scores such as 9's or 10's.

    The games swap and choose weapon customisation is well thought out and works pretty effectively, although the micro transactions get in the way, and this is a pretty large downfall of the game, despite not making a huge impact on the structure and gameplay itself.

    The story seems pretty cliche, but they worked with what they had, and in the end I found running around on the frozen planet, not to mention flying around in semi-open space environments, rather satisfying, even when it was, at times, rather difficult. The story ended in a cliffhanger, seemingly a setup for a fourth, which doesn't strictly make sense to me (trilogies are always so neat...), though this could merely be my own speculation.

    In the end, the gameplay was tricky, but only just fell short of the survival horror label that Dead Space deserves, but never seems to achieve. Yes, the game is riddled with quick time events, but these set pieces are merely to set the scene for the next big event.

    There are a few new mechanics, including being able to fly the ship through the rubble when landing on Tau Volantis (ignore my spelling, please), a couple new puzzle mechanics, and the simple "get to cover or you'll freeze to death" concept when finally on the planet.

    The game doesn't really offer the same scares that the originals did (in fact, far from it), but it still puts you in tense positions, dark corridors, and fatal situations. It works for me, but people deserve to point out that this is more of an action shooter than a survival horror, and I must agree; a lot of battling human enemies makes the horror aspect almost non existent, and I wished they'd focused more on genuine scares and panic situations, but there you go, I guess. EA at work. On the plus side, there is still plenty of hunter-hunted action, so people shouldn't get too down in that respect.

    There are a lot of upgrades, different weapon customisations, and various suits, which keep the game going for a while, and allow for multiple playthroughs, to collect all audio logs, complete all side missions, and upgrade all equipment whilst at the same time testing out a plethora of different weapons. This, at least, was executed perfectly.

    Overall, DS3 is a pretty solid game, once you get beyond it's deceiving outer shell and title. If they named it something else, I'm sure it would have been a far less bitter pill to swallow for all those die hard DS fans out there, but I thoroughly enjoyed it as it is anyway. Story ended up being actually worth something, horror aspects are not all gone, a lot of collectibles, tensions are still high, dark corridors are still there, creepy atmosphere has not gone at all, and co-op only really extends this experience. I can't disagree with what people are saying, but I still found this game wholly enjoyable, and I feel many others may also do so. Buy at your own discretion, but I personally found this to be a pretty worthwhile game.
    Expand
  27. Jul 13, 2014
    7
    Dead Space 3 is a pretty good third installment but the story was a little boring and the love triangle seemed forced. All in all I like Dead Space 2 more.
  28. Oct 2, 2014
    5
    It seems the same thing that happened to Resident Evil with Resident Evil 5 has now reached the Dead Space series. Dead Space 3 is an action game not a horror game.There are some horror elements but nothing like in the first two games of the series. There's also a co-op mode and unfortunately there are certain parts of the game that can only be seen in co-op.

    If Dead Space had always
    It seems the same thing that happened to Resident Evil with Resident Evil 5 has now reached the Dead Space series. Dead Space 3 is an action game not a horror game.There are some horror elements but nothing like in the first two games of the series. There's also a co-op mode and unfortunately there are certain parts of the game that can only be seen in co-op.

    If Dead Space had always been a co-op series then that would be fair enough but it's not and this seems unfair on people only playing for single-player. Which is the majority of people given it started out as single-player only. There are also microtransactions in Dead Space 3 which really shouldn't be in a console game at all.

    Dead Space and Dead Space 2 are still as good now as they were when they were originally released. Unfortunately Dead Space 3 isn't on the same level as they are.
    Expand
  29. May 15, 2015
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  30. Feb 8, 2013
    0
    I am a serious dead space fan, having got the platinum trophy for the first two games, i would say that i have experienced everything dead space has to offer so far. After reading up on dead space 3, i got a bit twitchy with the addition of co op, the fact that there are now human enemies and that the demo seemed to portray that the game is based mostly outside, in wide open areas. HowI am a serious dead space fan, having got the platinum trophy for the first two games, i would say that i have experienced everything dead space has to offer so far. After reading up on dead space 3, i got a bit twitchy with the addition of co op, the fact that there are now human enemies and that the demo seemed to portray that the game is based mostly outside, in wide open areas. How wrong was i! i played the game on single player, and this is how you should play it as a dead space fan. You dont have a clunky AI partner tagging along, you have a classic dead space experience, which is just what i was looking for! the game resembles DS2 more than DS1, but all the classic elements are here, tight corridors, jumpy moments, and the feeling that a necro is about to jump out at you around every dark corner... THAT is what makes a DS game, and this is what the developers have accomplished. if you are a dead space fan, ignore the other comments on here and in reviews (which are wrong in some of their points) and buy it, you wont be disappointed! Collapse
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Apr 30, 2013
    50
    Taken as a whole, Dead Space 3 is far more infuriating than it is bad.
  2. Do yourself a favour and play DS3 like a raving masochist, straight off the bat. It’s a slick, AAA sequel that’s worthy of its place in the franchise. but only if you take the initiative and crank the difficulty. We didn’t think it possible, but Visceral has engineered a sequel that will appease old fans and entice new ones, too. [March 2013, p72]
  3. Apr 1, 2013
    60
    Misfires and all, it’s at least commendable that Dead Space 3 makes an effort to exhibit some fresh experimentation into what has become a truly bloated media franchise; plus the combat still shines for the most part. Sadly though, better elements like the crafting system are lamentably set against a mundane and lifeless backdrop that rarely excites, let alone spooks, on the grand level of previous games in the series.