Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Deadly Premonition is a third-person survival horror action game which puts players in the role of the intuitive FBI Agent Francis York Morgan. In the process of investigating a murder, players will examine a series of interlocking mysteries in a remote rural town and will encounter an arrayDeadly Premonition is a third-person survival horror action game which puts players in the role of the intuitive FBI Agent Francis York Morgan. In the process of investigating a murder, players will examine a series of interlocking mysteries in a remote rural town and will encounter an array of complex characters pivotal to the unraveling of the storyline's mystery. Suspenseful action sequences will force players to make strategic moves, gliding by enemies in the shadows or engaging them with long-range weapons or hand-to-hand melee combat. From the unparalleled atmosphere, music and mysterious storyline to driving vehicles and exploring the entire town, Deadly Premonition will offer players a unique and haunting interactive gaming experience unlike any other. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. May 21, 2013
    90
    This generation's cult classic, now available for the PS3. Don't miss it.
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    80
    As unique a vision as video gaming has ever seen and one able to use its many incompetencies – including the new ones – to entertain and surprise.
  3. Jun 7, 2013
    80
    Deadly Premonition: The Director’s Cut is a delightfully weird game that, despite all of its many faults, has more heart and soul than any other budget title.
  4. Apr 30, 2013
    70
    They say that beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Where one gamer will see an ugly, boring, schizophrenic mess of a survival horror game, another will see the splendor of its expansive setting, idiosyncratic cast, and spellbinding mystery. Deadly Premonition: The Director’s Cut is the misfit’s masterpiece, offering an inviting and affordable chance to see which side of the oddball gamer fence you stand on.
  5. May 9, 2013
    70
    Again, this is an impossible game to sum up into so many words, and the polarization on how “good” it actually is will never die. One thing is certain though, this experience will not be forgotten for years to come.
  6. May 27, 2013
    67
    The game is grim, gruesome, and if you can get by the fact the game is now over a decade old, it is quite engaging. One thing is for sure, if this is your first time meeting Agent York, this is the version to play for sure.
  7. A technical marvel this is not, but beneath the detritus lie some good ideas, at least. Open-world survival horror is a scintillating concept, conjuring images of casing out suspects at will, perhaps stumbling upon situations that blow the mystery wide open by chance. The reality’s much grimmer, of course – with so little to do between missions except tedious driving challenges, you often find yourself sleeping through the day to hurry it along.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 7 out of 25
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    Great game. It is outstanding compared to the other games on the same genre. If you really enjoy games like these... trust me, this is one ofGreat game. It is outstanding compared to the other games on the same genre. If you really enjoy games like these... trust me, this is one of the best titles you can get for a low price. Expand
  2. Sis
    Sep 19, 2013
    10
    This game wins so much on humor and comedy that I just get a feel of joy when I play it. It has a great story that you wanna follow all theThis game wins so much on humor and comedy that I just get a feel of joy when I play it. It has a great story that you wanna follow all the way through and the characters are funny and interesting. All though this game may lose some for it's extremely easy difficulty and the story's slow pace, the quality of the story more than make up for it. I also like the big open-world landscape and how your car has all the functions of a real car. In general, you should go buy this game, because it's well worth your time to play it. Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    An excellent display of cult/B-movie mentality. The game is surreal, it could be a a mix of dreams, nightmares and all the nonsense that theAn excellent display of cult/B-movie mentality. The game is surreal, it could be a a mix of dreams, nightmares and all the nonsense that the subconscious makes while we're dreaming. This is the main reason I believe, that this game has received so much criticism. Most things really don't make any sense, but all this nonsense-silly bag of emotions is an enjoyable rollercoaster through the surreal characters and places of Greensvale. It is almost a testament, a tribute to all cult-related art. Think of it as a game that resembles the mentality behind "Twin Peaks" or any other David Lynch work for that matter. Beautiful, yet strange and incoherent.

    Surely, the technical aspects of the game are almost broken. In the PS3 version, there is severe frame skipping, occasional freezing and stuttering. But this is not a frantic FPS, so all these really dont get in your way or ruin the experience. I'd also like to praise the game's soundtrack, which is simply amazing. From the dreamlike main theme, to all the background music during the investigations, it continuously reminds you that you're now in the twisted, surreal, b-movie setting that is Greensvale. All in all, I'd recommend this to all fans of cult thrillers, movies and series, the blend of humour with scariness is spot on.
    Expand
  4. May 6, 2013
    7
    An unique and important game with a fantastic story and characters. To bad this "definite" Director's Cut version has grave problems withAn unique and important game with a fantastic story and characters. To bad this "definite" Director's Cut version has grave problems with framerate and sound that were absent in the 360 version. Expand
  5. Dec 12, 2014
    6
    This game is weird, got it for free on PSN so figured I would give it a shot.
    The game controls pretty bad and the sounds are also terrible.
    This game is weird, got it for free on PSN so figured I would give it a shot.
    The game controls pretty bad and the sounds are also terrible. One of the bosses that you fight has music that sounds like that Nintendo NES wrestling game and it made me want to rip my friggen ears off... Also the enemies move like snails. Everything about this game sucks except the story. What took me out of the game the most though was the music, it's a horror game that at times ( like a time where it's suppose to be a sad scene) they put some slap base funk or something, it's kind of retarded to be honest.... The guns sound like when you blow into a juice box then put it on the ground and then step on it.. When you walk on grass it sounds like two winter coats are rubbing together.. York moves like he has a load in his pants.

    It's a weird , terrible game with a good story... When I say Weird I mean that as a good thing..
    Expand
  6. Jun 5, 2014
    4
    This game is a failed attempt to bring back the survival horror. Well this game is very bad, and it's embarrasing the genre. The storyline isThis game is a failed attempt to bring back the survival horror. Well this game is very bad, and it's embarrasing the genre. The storyline is no interesting, the characters are uninsipred and they have a boring personality. The controls are incredible bad, specially the driving mechanics.
    I saw the gameplay until i get too bored, i was incredibly dissapointed because this game is too far to even look like an horror game. The enemies in this game are very slow, and does not matter if you hit him in the head or in the body, the damage is always the same. They are not a real threat. The storyline is very confusing and it's no interesting. The music is terrible bad, it's out of place, they put a happy music in an horror game, like they are joking, whata piece of trash this game is.
    Stay away from this abomination please and try better games like SH Downpour or wait for Evil Within.
    Expand
  7. Dec 3, 2014
    0
    Pero cómo va a ser juego de culto esta porquería. Un juego absolutamente desfasado, con unos gráficos vomitivos, un control mierdoso, unPero cómo va a ser juego de culto esta porquería. Un juego absolutamente desfasado, con unos gráficos vomitivos, un control mierdoso, un desarrollo jugable repetitivo, más película que juego y estúpidos QTEs. Por favor, que alguien borre de todos los servidores para siempre este engendro. Un juego que sería malo incluso en psone. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews