• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Demon's Souls Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1546 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Demon's Souls promises to be the hardcore action RPG experience PS3 owners have been waiting for since the platform's launch. Revolutionary online features support your adventure like never before, presenting seamless interconnectivity that serves in every instance to enhance theDemon's Souls promises to be the hardcore action RPG experience PS3 owners have been waiting for since the platform's launch. Revolutionary online features support your adventure like never before, presenting seamless interconnectivity that serves in every instance to enhance the single-player game. Team up with two other players in simultaneous cooperative play, working together to topple some of the game's colossal bosses, or force your way into the games of skilled players and challenge them to PvP battle. Leave hints and clues for those who will follow in your footsteps; either intentionally or through your own inadvertent demise, your bloodstains will allow your successors to view a replay of your death, hinting at how to avoid your gruesome fate. [Atlus USA] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 100
    Beyond the initial threat of difficulty there waits a remarkable combination of accessibility and challenge, of risk and reward, punishment and empowerment.
  2. Without question, Demon's Souls is one of 2009's finest titles, and an amazing, challenging journey without equal.
  3. 94
    It is an almost perfect game in what it offers. Although it might be further polished in the visual aspect, or have a better adjusted difficulty curve.
  4. Even though it does not introduce any innovations compared to its original counterpart, the European edition of Demon's Souls confirms itself as one of the best exclusives currently available on PS3. Its hard but rewarding gameplay will in fact engage any fan of the genre, assuring a fun and long lasting experience.
  5. Demon's Souls may make you throw controllers. It could possibly make you hate everything you've ever loved. It will probably make you yell curse words very, very loudly. It's also some of the best fun to be had on the PS3.
  6. 86
    All-in-all, Demon's Souls is a game every PS3 RPG fan should buy just to say that they own it, just to say that they've played it. It's up to you as the gamer to figure out if an incredibly difficult, incredibly unique game is the game for you.
  7. The enemy design is, simply put, wonderful, and so many different elements of Demon's Souls call out to me, demanding love and affection. Sadly, I cannot return its calls. It just goes so far out of its way to be difficult that it misses some key, important elements that would have made it a vastly better game.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 359
  1. BobG
    Feb 15, 2010
    10
    I have to admit. This game didn't click for me at first. I rented it and beat the first area and couldn't make a dent past the I have to admit. This game didn't click for me at first. I rented it and beat the first area and couldn't make a dent past the lizard people in world 2-1. I didn't think about it for a month, and I had to urge to buy it. So, like an idiot, I bought it. Played the same level and wondered why I bought it. Then it clicked. I blasted through the part that I couldn't get through and was hooked since then. Yes, this game is hard! Yes, you will die, a lot. But, when you do make it and kill the boss it gives you such satisfaction that no other game can give you. Do yourself a favor. Rent the game at-least. Just keep 60 bucks aside because you will buy the game after you play it. It's that addicting. Expand
  2. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    BEST RPG game ever!, sooooo underrated too, i mean how the **** can an AMAZING game like this get a 7 or 8 while other **** games like SkyirmBEST RPG game ever!, sooooo underrated too, i mean how the **** can an AMAZING game like this get a 7 or 8 while other **** games like Skyirm get 8 and 9, believe me.. you MUST buy this game.. Its so much fun, the story is also AMAZING! You will really like this game, I highly recommend this game to everyone with a PS3 Expand
  3. ZuesZ.
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    Truly an amazing experience that fans of rpg games and action games will love. In fact this is a game I recommend every one to try. Its deep Truly an amazing experience that fans of rpg games and action games will love. In fact this is a game I recommend every one to try. Its deep with a long adventure tons of story not to mention the amazing on-line system that makes this simple looking game turn in to a MMO. Seriously you will feel that this game is a MMO after you start playing it on-line. It really takes the experience to a whole new level. I HIGHLY recommend this game to every one. If i could give this game a 11 I would. Expand
  4. glenns
    Nov 2, 2009
    10
    An action RPG thats enthrawling and rewarding to those who play long enough to get good at the game. Not a pushover like so many action RPGs An action RPG thats enthrawling and rewarding to those who play long enough to get good at the game. Not a pushover like so many action RPGs Demons souls requires a bit of gaming tallent. Beutiful graphics, giant bosses & battles to the death await all who dare. With the ability to trade "souls" for added stats for your character, repair & upgrade weapons & buy healing herbs the game is't as tuff as some say, More brutal than the onimusha series and more gothic than oblivion. One of the best games on this generation consoles period. Separate ratings. 1 to 10 higher is better. Game play 9.5 good timing is needed but the contact detection is very good. Graphics 9.6 althoe dark, the game looks absolutely stunning at times & just great the rest of the time. Sound 10. Very solid sound effects & music. Expand
  5. JDog
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    This game is great. And for those of you able to accept it's degree of challenge, extremely addicting. One thing I've seen This game is great. And for those of you able to accept it's degree of challenge, extremely addicting. One thing I've seen repeatedly in these reviews that I wholeheartedly aggree with is that it is not a game for the younger audience. The term "too hard" is thrown around a lot. There is a degree of satisfaction in going back through a level that killed you over and over and "farming" it for souls, knowing that you've grown as a player since you first attempted it. Those 3-on-1 battles no longer seem such a challenge, even though you know 1 slip up could still mean death. The combat and damage system seem very realistic, and not since the days of Atari Pitfall has a hole in the ground been considered a "foe". As much as I love the game, a sometimes spotty camera and occasional difficulty targeting what I want to kill keeps this game sub-10 level. Expand
  6. Sep 19, 2016
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Demon's Souls is one of the most successful fusions good level design, enemy design and world design in a game to date. As an rpg it takes player choice and agency very seriously, the world has lore hidden in it's item descriptions for those who are interested and every npc is both interact able and killable. As an action game the major enemies of each stage have a brilliant synergy to them, take for example the skeletons from shrine of storms which have quite low range with their falchions but have good mobility they roll all over the place in an attempt to dodge the player and they stun in order to keep you on your toes. Compare them to the red eye knights of boletaria, which rarely dodge, but rather hold up their shields defensively and wait for an opening to attack. This along with level design with some of the best enemy placement in history and some of the most enjoyable area's to explore and you have a game that comes close to perfection. Unfortunately the development time allotted for this game leads to unfinished bosses like the dragon god, and enemies that could have had more thought put into them such as Giant Bearbugs in stone fang tunnel. Altogether though the game isn't one that is soon to be forgotten and stands as the best game I have ever played. To find out more about the level design of demon's souls, check out my website http://devdocuments.com/ And if you have any insights to video game design or analysis, feel free to post an article, thank you Expand
  7. JeffreySturgeon
    Oct 15, 2009
    0
    This game is fun for the first level.
    Then it very quickly approaches EPIC FAIL status.
    The depth is lacking, enemies spawn in the same
    This game is fun for the first level.
    Then it very quickly approaches EPIC FAIL status.
    The depth is lacking, enemies spawn in the same locations EVERY SINGLE TIME you play the same level... which is required to do to even get any sort of decent soul level.
    This game could have been the best game ever made.
    Expand

See all 359 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.