Derrick the Deathfin PlayStation 3

Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Oct 9, 2012
    74
    The ride is fun and beautiful while it lasts.
  2. Oct 18, 2012
    70
    Derrick the Deathfin's stylish adventure through the ocean is packed full of charm, if not a lot of content.
  3. Oct 18, 2012
    50
    Derrick the Deathfin is a real heartbreaker. It's agonisingly obvious that Different Tuna tried really hard to make something special, and as a player you're rooting for them – but the base gameplay just isn't good enough to keep you hooked. If the graphics grab you, then the price is low enough to make this a worthwhile gamble, just don't dive in with any unrealistic expectations.
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    70
    The game can be incredibly frustrating but this pays off with a huge sense of achievement when you finally nail a level.
  5. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Nov 20, 2012
    70
    The simplistic mechanics don't offer that remarkable of a hook, and the game spans just a couple of hours. As a light snack between big holiday releases, however, it's a pleasantly tasty distraction. [Holiday 2012, p.73[
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Nov 7, 2012
    8
    After sitting down and playing through the first 8 levels of the self-proclaimed
  2. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    Here, I'll make it simple. If you can answer yes to at least one of the following:
    Do you like fun games?
    Do you like beautifully,
    Here, I'll make it simple. If you can answer yes to at least one of the following:
    Do you like fun games?
    Do you like beautifully, hand-crafted games?
    Do you have a sense of humor?
    Did you ever own a SNES?
    Did you ever own a Genesis (or Mega Drive of course)?
    Do you enjoy finely-tuned fluid character controls?

    Then buy this game. You won't regret it.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 19, 2012
    10
    Derrick the Deathfin is one of the freshest, most imaginative, fun & vibrant gaming experiences I have ever had.

    And I'm not just saying
    Derrick the Deathfin is one of the freshest, most imaginative, fun & vibrant gaming experiences I have ever had.

    And I'm not just saying that because I'm the developer who made it.

    Oh actually I am.
    Full Review »