User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 618 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 618

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 11, 2011
    3
    This game is horrid. Aside from the story there is no reason to buy or rent this lazily completed pile of rubbish. The control system is extremely awkward, not well put together at all. There really is no checkpoint system, instead there is a poorly implemented save/load system that you will struggle with during the whole game. The gameplay itself is just extremely awkward. There is noThis game is horrid. Aside from the story there is no reason to buy or rent this lazily completed pile of rubbish. The control system is extremely awkward, not well put together at all. There really is no checkpoint system, instead there is a poorly implemented save/load system that you will struggle with during the whole game. The gameplay itself is just extremely awkward. There is no smooth flow to the game. You will literally find yourself going backwards and all over the map searching for upgrades or items you need to progress the game. You never know ahead of time your missing an key item until the situation arises and you have to go on a wild goose chase all over the map to find what you need to get ahead. You will feel like pulling your teeth many times throughout this game. The shoot and cover system is awkward and faulty like the rest of the game. Enemies will just charge you very frequently making your cover system very weak and frustrating. Casual gamers don't fall for the hype. Fanboys and crooked critics have jacked the score up for ulterior motives. Don't get this game unless you know what you're yourself getting into. Expand
  2. May 16, 2012
    2
    Meh.

    Deus Ex was such a huge open game, I often had a hard time figuring out what to do and where to go if I'm honest. This, the sequel, was an average attempt at this. Everything was overly simplified and once again a great PC game is dumbed down for the console users. Where are the challenging intelligent games now? Not everyone who plays games is remedial. I'll add to this, I saw the
    Meh.

    Deus Ex was such a huge open game, I often had a hard time figuring out what to do and where to go if I'm honest. This, the sequel, was an average attempt at this. Everything was overly simplified and once again a great PC game is dumbed down for the console users. Where are the challenging intelligent games now? Not everyone who plays games is remedial.
    I'll add to this, I saw the tailors and this game looked great, features like being able to look at people and analyze their weak spots, like previously broken bones and exploit them. In this game you just walk up to people and press the same button every time and do the same action.
    The ending was also hugely disappointing, an army of zombies you can not morally attack and an easy final boss you can shoot through a glass wall.
    Expand
  3. Aug 26, 2011
    3
    I believe a single player experience should tell a story and the player should be able to flow through it. Deus Ex certainly tells us a fantastic story from beautiful surroundings but unfortunately due to insane design decisions such as (but not limited to) Boss Fights, No Aim Crosshair, Incredibly well armoured and mass quantities of opponents the game doesn't flow as you are forcedI believe a single player experience should tell a story and the player should be able to flow through it. Deus Ex certainly tells us a fantastic story from beautiful surroundings but unfortunately due to insane design decisions such as (but not limited to) Boss Fights, No Aim Crosshair, Incredibly well armoured and mass quantities of opponents the game doesn't flow as you are forced through a poor save game system to repeat the same section x10-15 times before luck gets you through. This is NOT game making at its finest unfortunately this is game making from the early 90's with modern graphics. Silly boss fights and droves of overly armored enemies with too little ammo and no realistic way to progress means the player is stuck in certain segments of the game pulling hair until they luck their way through.

    Very VERY poor show Eidos!
    Expand
  4. Feb 19, 2012
    2
    i didnt like this game the best part about it i found was the beutiful areas and great graphics but other than that i found it to be dull and boring. the story did not interest me at all and it is just too slow paced your health goes away so fast that you are almost always forced to sneak everywhere and hope you dont get discovered but that just takes too long and feels as if to drag on.i didnt like this game the best part about it i found was the beutiful areas and great graphics but other than that i found it to be dull and boring. the story did not interest me at all and it is just too slow paced your health goes away so fast that you are almost always forced to sneak everywhere and hope you dont get discovered but that just takes too long and feels as if to drag on. this game was not for me and i recomend you rent before you buy to see if you like it Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2011
    3
    I can't describe the movement that eidos and enix did with this game. pure false hype. I expected a pure deus ex game, but all i can see is a bad story, poor graphics and gameplay. nothing to compare with the great cgi cinematics that we can see in the trailers. All I can say is very bad enix and eidos, very bad.
  6. Oct 2, 2011
    2
    Underwhelming and disappointing. The "feel" of the game is in the right place, but the game-play mechanics themselves are severely flawed. The AI is clumsy (you can hide in vents and just pick people off), the pace is slow, and the surroundings/graphics are a little plain and repetitive. Was hoping for much more...
  7. Aug 27, 2011
    0
    got robbed on this version. graphics are washy and pale looking, models are not done very well and you just wont's to throw the controller down. cant install all the content on the disk making long loading times and poor FPS at times the lighting is not very well done ether. deep game but you cant get into it with such glaring visual mistakes and slow downs topped off with poor FPS
  8. Sep 3, 2011
    4
    Firstly I am going to try to be fair reviewing this game. For starters I am a huge fan of the original game by Warren. Lot of respect to him and that game mostly because of the characters, story, conspiracies etc. I disregarded the second one because it didn't really deliver the goods, despite that awesome level meeting JC again. Jumping to now and seeing this game I am surprised they evenFirstly I am going to try to be fair reviewing this game. For starters I am a huge fan of the original game by Warren. Lot of respect to him and that game mostly because of the characters, story, conspiracies etc. I disregarded the second one because it didn't really deliver the goods, despite that awesome level meeting JC again. Jumping to now and seeing this game I am surprised they even slapped the Deus Ex name brand on the box. First the art design is strange, while cool in a blade runner style, it doesn't seem to fit the universe. For a prequel I don't remember the original being set in this fancy world. Guess we gotta appeal to the newer fans, which brings me to the terrible story which didn't hold my interest one bit. Lame voice acting (why not get Tom Hall back for goodness sake), boring level design, same run of the mill stealth and first person modes, and finally the horrible hacking crap. I wanna play THE game not a game within a blinking game. Only thing it has got going for it is this weird aug varied world, but it sure as heck doesn't deserve the name Deus Ex.. its got little to do with the original, no interesting enemies (what happened to the robot guys and the creatures from the conspiracy labs?), only 2 hubs, and crappy weapons. I gave it a 4 mostly because it is a semi-good time wasting game if your new to the series but really it has nothing to do with the original which is why I gave it such a low score. Shame on the developers taking this approach to an original universe, guess we gotta live with it. Back to playing the original game for me. oh yeah don't pay 60 dollars for it. Wait till it drops to 20 at least, or better yet rent it. Expand
  9. Mar 10, 2012
    4
    Execution of 95% of DE:HR is perfect. So why, Eidos!? Why the late 90's, brain-dead boss fights? Why build the rest of the game around stealth and skill, then create boss fights that negate stealth and skill? It's like going to a maths exam, where the teacher confesses they couldn't be bothered trying to make the exam challenging so they made half the exam about chemistry. These bossExecution of 95% of DE:HR is perfect. So why, Eidos!? Why the late 90's, brain-dead boss fights? Why build the rest of the game around stealth and skill, then create boss fights that negate stealth and skill? It's like going to a maths exam, where the teacher confesses they couldn't be bothered trying to make the exam challenging so they made half the exam about chemistry. These boss fights ruined an otherwise beautifully developed game. Expand
  10. May 21, 2012
    0
    This game is so damn ugly. Adam Jensen sounds like he got cancer in his vocal cords and lost a lung. the orange just makes me want to pull my eyes out and fill the sockets with acid. stealth is pretty damn bad. you take one step and you get shot up with lead. You will only like this game if you have autism.
  11. Jul 3, 2012
    1
    The boss fights in this game are terrible. It takes no skill to defeat most of them. The rest of the game if fine but the boss fights bring it down because they are easier then the first level.
  12. Jul 30, 2012
    0
    I buy it, becouse this game "free" world. So, we have on 50% - 2 city, first city = second city, and i sure, third city = first) Gameplay so worst, and this game is game without patrons, yes, action shooter with stels and open world without patrons. I delete this from my console, on 50%, and look for seld it, but, who this buy? Super bad game =(
  13. Oct 26, 2011
    0
    I have been playing games for a long time now and have played all types of games, from RPG to FPS and others... and I have to say this this is the worst piece of crap I have ever played. As a shooter, it completely fails, with ridiculously bad weapons. As a story, it's so basic and un-interesting it's not even funny. The level are so badly designed that it's a pain to get oriented in them,I have been playing games for a long time now and have played all types of games, from RPG to FPS and others... and I have to say this this is the worst piece of crap I have ever played. As a shooter, it completely fails, with ridiculously bad weapons. As a story, it's so basic and un-interesting it's not even funny. The level are so badly designed that it's a pain to get oriented in them, the graphics are so early 2000. Bref. This game could have been good in 2000 or 2001, but today it's just a horrible horrible game. don't believe the hype. Collapse
  14. Feb 28, 2012
    3
    Ah, sweet revenge. "0" seems like such a fanboy score. 'Oh I kinda didn't like it, well then I'm gonna give it a zero and ignore anything good about the game', you might think. Fair enough, but what about a game that I HATE. And I mean HATE. Pure frustration and it only gets worse as it goes along. I love giving games this bad a zero. It feels so good.
  15. Sep 20, 2011
    3
    I took my time playing this game. A friend mentioned it to me that it had great promises of being game of the year. I waited, and saw the outstanding reviews. Now, I'm not sure if the reviews were honest, or bias. It is a good game, but alot of things are missing in this game. There were no shocking moments. No surprises around corners. And the puzzle solving skills are low grade level. AI took my time playing this game. A friend mentioned it to me that it had great promises of being game of the year. I waited, and saw the outstanding reviews. Now, I'm not sure if the reviews were honest, or bias. It is a good game, but alot of things are missing in this game. There were no shocking moments. No surprises around corners. And the puzzle solving skills are low grade level. A fifth grader could figure it out. Wish I'd waited longer to read more of all reviews. Seems like, negative reviews are withheld for a certain period of time until the game sold a certain amount of copies, Hope that isn't true. Expand
  16. Jan 28, 2013
    2
    Seriously one of the worst and non realistic( i am to say that a bionic soldier wouldn't be like this) games i have ever played!!! My standards for this game(before playing it) was something like a super bionic elite soldier that would slay enemies like flies and would make big holes in everything that he touches. And what i got is a weak idiot that has only one clip of ammo and can t evenSeriously one of the worst and non realistic( i am to say that a bionic soldier wouldn't be like this) games i have ever played!!! My standards for this game(before playing it) was something like a super bionic elite soldier that would slay enemies like flies and would make big holes in everything that he touches. And what i got is a weak idiot that has only one clip of ammo and can t even lift a fridge with his bionic hands i mean every one can lift a fridge or just push it!!! Also it was very boring at the first 2 hours and the hero is weaker than a sick grandpa. Finally you can't combine stealth with bionic limbs so this game is invalid Expand
  17. Apr 27, 2013
    3
    I was told this game had a good story- it doesn't. The story is dumb and lacks any depth. Characters are uninteresting. Gameplay is standard, if it flows quite poorly. Most upgrades are useless, and the environments are really generic cyberpunk.
  18. May 27, 2013
    3
    I hated this game. The story didn't captivate me, the fact it was a first person shooter and it was very, very hard all contributed to my hatred. Games that are difficult should at least make me desire to complete it, well this doesn't. This is genuinely the only PS3 game I have willingly sold, and good luck to whoever has it now.
  19. Dec 17, 2013
    2
    A broken game. You can choose your own style. I chose stealth and this is the first game I was actually good at in stealth. The gameplay posibilitties are great. The story was interesting. BUT: when you have a weak but stealthy character and then you are forced to use an action based gamestyle when a boss keeps shooting at you and breaking all the cover, with no possibility of stayingA broken game. You can choose your own style. I chose stealth and this is the first game I was actually good at in stealth. The gameplay posibilitties are great. The story was interesting. BUT: when you have a weak but stealthy character and then you are forced to use an action based gamestyle when a boss keeps shooting at you and breaking all the cover, with no possibility of staying hidden, there's no way you're gonna get past that boss. That was the end of it. Expand
  20. Oct 26, 2011
    0
    I have been playing games for a long time now and have played all types of games, from RPG to FPS and others... and I have to say this this is the worst piece of crap I have ever played. As a shooter, it completely fails, with ridiculously bad weapons. As a story, it's so basic and un-interesting it's not even funny. The level are so badly designed that it's a pain to get oriented in them,I have been playing games for a long time now and have played all types of games, from RPG to FPS and others... and I have to say this this is the worst piece of crap I have ever played. As a shooter, it completely fails, with ridiculously bad weapons. As a story, it's so basic and un-interesting it's not even funny. The level are so badly designed that it's a pain to get oriented in them, the graphics are so early 2000. Bref. This game could have been good in 2000 or 2001, but today it's just a horrible horrible game. don't believe the hype. Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Nov 29, 2011
    90
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution lives up to the lofty expectations of the Deus Ex name. Beyond that, it's a superb game in its own right.
  2. Despite the flaws this'll be on your mind well after the credits roll. The plot is engrossing enough to make any techno freak froth at the mouth with lust. Human Revolution is a truly authentic Deus Ex game, and a great gaming experience in its own right. [October 2011 p74]
  3. Sep 29, 2011
    85
    On the whole, Deus Ex: Human Revolution expects the player to handle their own progression appropriately and hand-holding is kept to a minimum. Given the often-commonplace mentality that many modern games should lead players around by the nose to one degree or another, having the guts to return to a philosophy of personal responsibility and choice isn't just smart-it's appreciated.