Deus Ex: Human Revolution PlayStation 3

Deus Ex: Human Revolution Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 695 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Deus Ex: Human Revolution you play Adam Jensen, a security specialist, handpicked to oversee the defense of one of America's most experimental biotechnology firms. But when a black ops team breaks in and kills the scientists you were hired to protect, everything you thought you knew aboutIn Deus Ex: Human Revolution you play Adam Jensen, a security specialist, handpicked to oversee the defense of one of America's most experimental biotechnology firms. But when a black ops team breaks in and kills the scientists you were hired to protect, everything you thought you knew about your job changes. At a time when scientific advancements are routinely turning athletes, soldiers and spies into super-enhanced beings, someone is working very hard to ensure mankind's evolution follows a particular path. You need to discover why - because the decisions you take and the choices you make will be the only things that can determine mankind's future. Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: Eidos Montreal
  • Genre(s): Action, Action Adventure, Shooter, Sci-Fi, Sci-Fi, General, First-Person, Sci-Fi
  • # of players: 1 Player
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. GameOver.gr
    Sep 1, 2011
    100
    In this current gen's masterpiece, Philip Dick meets William Gibson and Blade Runner meets the original Deus Ex. We can't see how on earth Warren Spector will stick with making another Disney game.
  2. Aug 22, 2011
    100
    It's rare that I play a game that doesn't just let me play the way I like, but actually showers me with prizes for doing so, and I love it.
  3. Aug 22, 2011
    94
    An impressive return of the series made by people who love and have respected the original game. A complex world to explore and a story that will engage the player for the many hours it lasts. Solid gameplay that rewards the skillful player.
  4. Aug 22, 2011
    90
    Deus Ex is yet again, more than the sum of its parts, one of the most captivating games in years. It's a title far from perfect, however is a must play for anyone who is passionate for great Sci-Fi stories and action games.
  5. Aug 22, 2011
    90
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution is pretty good and is not a perfect game just because it lacks the originality that Deus Ex managed to get on the turn of the millennium.
  6. Sep 29, 2011
    85
    On the whole, Deus Ex: Human Revolution expects the player to handle their own progression appropriately and hand-holding is kept to a minimum. Given the often-commonplace mentality that many modern games should lead players around by the nose to one degree or another, having the guts to return to a philosophy of personal responsibility and choice isn't just smart-it's appreciated.
  7. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Aug 14, 2011
    80
    A curious hybrid: a stealthy shooter with RPG-like exploration and storytelling. It's not as direct as a sci-fi COD, nor as expansive or open as Fallout. Instead, it's somewhere in the middle. But that's also what makes the series special, and Human Revolution does the Deus Ex name proud, providing an absorbing world to investigate and a satisfying freedom to play by your own rules. [Sept 2011, p.100]

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 160
  1. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    game is amazing one of the best this generation anyone who gives this game a poor score is not a gamer n should not write reviews on this sitegame is amazing one of the best this generation anyone who gives this game a poor score is not a gamer n should not write reviews on this site fun gameplay great story and great graphics this game is a gem you owe it to yourself as a gamer to play it one of the best this gen and destined to b a classic Expand
  2. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    Now if you know me I'll tell you I hate today's first person shooter games with a passion. Now I don't remember why I looked upon the trailersNow if you know me I'll tell you I hate today's first person shooter games with a passion. Now I don't remember why I looked upon the trailers of this game fondly knowing it WAS a first person shooter game. Anyway not only was this game a first person shooter, it was a game with a grand story, interesting choices, debates, and solid snake sneaking. All games should strive to the level of this game, I know I'd enjoy Call Of Duty games a hell of lot better if they were like this game. And through the game there is more than one way to do things, whether you prefer dog fighting, hacking, or just remaining unseen it's possible thought not always easy. There's still cover based shooting and chances are you will die a lot. Though like all games it has a few problems, some things don't seem resolved and you don't get to see the results of your ending. (Yes there are multiple) That aside this is an excellent game, now go you yourself and the world a favor and play it. Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I have played in a long time. This game is hard as nails.. I've never been this frustrated/excited and constantly havingOne of the best games I have played in a long time. This game is hard as nails.. I've never been this frustrated/excited and constantly having to re-load saves since old school games. Expand
  4. Dec 26, 2011
    9
    The game is pretty good. I had never played any of the previous Deus Ex and the reason I picked this one up was because of the cool characterThe game is pretty good. I had never played any of the previous Deus Ex and the reason I picked this one up was because of the cool character and the emphasis on stealth. I love a good stealth game and this one does not disappoint. The sandbox style RPG is welcome since this allow room for multiple paths to take for any given objective. The story was OK but I felt there could be more elements to the plot than just the basic Aug vs Anti-Aug. Some minor bugs here and there but overall a good game. Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2011
    8
    It's been more than a decade since Deus Ex came out. It was an epic game, a masterpiece. I had my doubts whether Human Revolution can bringIt's been more than a decade since Deus Ex came out. It was an epic game, a masterpiece. I had my doubts whether Human Revolution can bring the same feel of Deus Ex back, and I can say it really does. The game brings back the true feel of Deus Ex, with multiple ways to approach a conflict: sneak through via air ducts, hack a computer to unlock a door, or just kill everyone. Dialogue also plays a major role in this game, unlike games where talking to characters does next to nothing. The only issues I have with the game are: One, in most augmentation trees, you have to pay TWO points to buy ONE augmentation, which is kind of a rip off because these points (Praxis) are relatively difficult to come by. Two, you have absolutely no choice but to defeat bosses by killing them. If you're playing as a pacifist, you're naturally going to not invest in combat augmentations but stealth, which makes boss fights much harder. There should be diplomatic or stealthy solutions to boss fights. The game is quite long, and although it's good, I don't think there is much replay value in it. And, faithful to the original Deus Ex, the Chinese voice acting is horrific, but that's almost enjoyable rather than bad. Expand
  6. Sep 13, 2011
    8
    Great game - engaging, intelligent, action-packed and good bits of humour on occasion. Stealth vs shooting/combat - and both are expertlyGreat game - engaging, intelligent, action-packed and good bits of humour on occasion. Stealth vs shooting/combat - and both are expertly designed. IN fact combat in DE is far better than ME2, but ME2 has slightly further-reaching decisions and consequences linked into the choices you make as the story progresses. On the rare occasion DE lacks the same engrossing story, it more than makes up for with great and varied design and stories.

    There are a few bugs which I came across which meant I couldn't complete some side-quests which was highly annoying. The only way to complete the side quest would have been to start the whole chapter again.

    Overall ... amazing game without being genre-defining.
    Expand
  7. Oct 26, 2011
    0
    I have been playing games for a long time now and have played all types of games, from RPG to FPS and others... and I have to say this this isI have been playing games for a long time now and have played all types of games, from RPG to FPS and others... and I have to say this this is the worst piece of crap I have ever played. As a shooter, it completely fails, with ridiculously bad weapons. As a story, it's so basic and un-interesting it's not even funny. The level are so badly designed that it's a pain to get oriented in them, the graphics are so early 2000. Bref. This game could have been good in 2000 or 2001, but today it's just a horrible horrible game. don't believe the hype. Expand

See all 160 User Reviews