Devil May Cry 4 PlayStation 3

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 305 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 305
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NehlaJ.
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    I never played a fun game like DMC4 for a long time. Best game of the series, fast paced action with huge boss battles that will take your breath away and leave you counting the days for another sequel.
  2. ConradS.
    Mar 9, 2008
    8
    Very entertaining and enjoyable, I just hope this is not the best the console is capable of as it felt like a PS2 game with PS3 graphics.
  3. TimP.
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    Amazing PS3 AAA title. Awesome Story & Gameplay , graphics are so good you'll find yourself distracted at times. Amazing Cutscenes. PS3 FTW!!
  4. AlvinL.
    Feb 27, 2008
    10
    An amazing action game!!! Cheesy and sometimes absurd, but that's the charm of the Devil May Cry series. A must-buy if you like action games.
  5. Asdf
    Feb 4, 2008
    9
    The game is fun, and flashy. The gameplay is a bit repetitive at times, and is why it loses points on my rating.... Definitely worth buying though!
  6. R.White
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    This is the best next-gen action game that I've played so far. Devil May Cry is one of my all time favorite game series, and I believe this one is probably the best yet. If not the best, then definitely just as good. I love this game and I say it's a must buy for action gamers.
  7. EricP
    Mar 4, 2009
    8
    I would definitely recommend DMC4 to anyone who is a fan to the series already. It really is a rather welcomed change of pace to have a new character, Nero, in the stead of Dante. The skills that he brings to the table are just as good if not better. Anyone unfamiliar with the series might not understand what it's about at first but if you're into "Hack 'n' Slash" then I would definitely recommend DMC4 to anyone who is a fan to the series already. It really is a rather welcomed change of pace to have a new character, Nero, in the stead of Dante. The skills that he brings to the table are just as good if not better. Anyone unfamiliar with the series might not understand what it's about at first but if you're into "Hack 'n' Slash" then this game is for you. I wouldn't consider it a button mashing type of game because there is alot of timing and skill involved. However, don't get it twisted, buttons will be mashed. I haven't finished the game yet but I can comment on what I've played. The battle system is just about as flawless as DMC3: Special Edition but with improved skills and the addition of Nero's Devil Bringer which makes the game for me. A bit of forewarning, I found that alot of the time the camera angles were awkward and hindered gameplay. It makes it difficult when the camera runs into walls, is not controllable altogether, or doesn't show you what you want it to. There is variety enough of demons and bosses to keep things on the challenging side and difficulty modes hard enough to make you want to throw your controller at the nearest peson in the room or tear the hair right out of your scalp. The battle system is complicated and the skills vary enough to chain massive combos and unleash devasting attacks. Nero gets the Devil Trigger also, so it's like nothing is lost in transition from DMC3 to 4. The missions are laughable to say the least. It's nothing more than Kindergarten grade puzzles that insult your intelligence and interconnected battle areas filled with random crap here and there. But that's not why we play the DMC series though, is it? All in all it's a very convincing and welcome addition to the series boasting some awesome graphics nonetheless. Lets just hope the next addition will have 1080p rather than the 720p that this title was graced with. I give this game an 8/10 because it's not perfect, needs polishing in some areas, but overall is a great game with great replay value. Expand
  8. AndrewL
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    Endless hardcore sword-fighting madness. The devilbringer is nothing short of amazing. The fact you receive Dante as not just a playable character but a primary element to the story is so perfect. With a massive arsenal of fighting styles and attack combinations you'll never want to trade this one in. Playing this game makes you realize how amazing newer beat-em-up titles like Endless hardcore sword-fighting madness. The devilbringer is nothing short of amazing. The fact you receive Dante as not just a playable character but a primary element to the story is so perfect. With a massive arsenal of fighting styles and attack combinations you'll never want to trade this one in. Playing this game makes you realize how amazing newer beat-em-up titles like Bayonetta and Dante's Inferno are going to be, PS3 needs more games like DMC4. Expand
  9. [anonymous]
    Jan 16, 2010
    8
    My rating is 8.5. It's nothing revolutionary, but it's fun. Adrenaline pumping, good story, great combat system and so on. I hated Fortuna Castle though, but you'll get through that part in an hour or so, after that, the game gets good.
  10. DanteA.
    Jan 21, 2008
    10
    Really people who are we kidding this games is GONNA rock!
  11. [Anonymous]
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    Finally it's here, definitely the best iteration in the series. Reviewers complain it sticks to old formula -- but the truth is, why fix it if it ain't broke? Dante and Nero complement each other nicely, and the Devilbringer and Exceed System are quite awesome new additions.
  12. AlexQ.
    Feb 11, 2008
    10
    An absolutely perfect sequel to a superb series (not counting the second one).
  13. JaredJ.
    Feb 6, 2008
    9
    It's exactly what Devi May Cry fans expect from the seventh gen installment. Faster load-times up to 4 times shorter on the PS3 version make this one the superior of the two.
  14. JohnL.
    Mar 21, 2008
    10
    this was the first devil may cry game i have ever played and I was very impressed..it can be repetitive but thats where the fun of learning new moves comes in, this is one of the few games that feels like next gen, the scenery is breathtaking and the English dialogue can get annoying (I would have preferred Japanese) but it doesn't take anything away from how brilliant the game truly is
  15. BillH.
    Mar 27, 2008
    9
    This game is class but no game really gets 10 but you should get it now.
  16. DeonM.
    Jun 23, 2008
    9
    Game starts off slow with the enemies being a bit few, but whow! it panned out to be a great game and die hard fans like me wont rest until the bloody palace mode is conquered and all difficulties beaten- as I have already (:Whats better than slashing hordes of demons with ultra cool moves?
  17. JosefH
    Jan 21, 2010
    9
    If the game-play would've stayed the same as it is in the beginning, and just moved on with that, this score would probably be a 7 at best. However; playing as Dante for 7 levels upped that score. They are the best 7 levels I have ever played in a Hack and Slash/action Adventure/Whatever you'd like to call it, and to this day I am daring others to top it. Dante's five If the game-play would've stayed the same as it is in the beginning, and just moved on with that, this score would probably be a 7 at best. However; playing as Dante for 7 levels upped that score. They are the best 7 levels I have ever played in a Hack and Slash/action Adventure/Whatever you'd like to call it, and to this day I am daring others to top it. Dante's five styles switch seamlessly between each other, allowing the combos to flow smoothly, in smoking sick style. I am disappointed to only give this a 9, as that's the same score as I give Devil May Cry 3, and I much prefer this, but it is far from perfection. The graphics are good, nice and smooth, the lighting effects are all brilliant, the fighting systems all work very well, and the story is more than just bearable, it might even be considered good by some, but the game doesn't quite have the excitement and 'badass' feel that Devil May Cry 1 and 3 brought to the table, and the loss of that edge in exchange for Dante's twin brother (they are EXACTLY the same character) for a few cool lines is a little poor. Still a very good play, and worth a buy. Expand
  18. JacobS.
    Jan 14, 2008
    10
    This game blows everything else out of the water! This is the only series that has given me 100 percent satisfaction in gameplay AND storyline. It's just perfect!
  19. Nicolaas
    Jan 28, 2008
    8
    This game is like you burn your fingers, fighting demons and other kind of creatures. Grafisch looks very good at the intro's and lesser in the gameplay, but i must say it looks very good and also the light effect in some area's. The gameplay you can expect from a game like this. This is the kind of game Japanese people get weird. It is like you playing a manga story on your This game is like you burn your fingers, fighting demons and other kind of creatures. Grafisch looks very good at the intro's and lesser in the gameplay, but i must say it looks very good and also the light effect in some area's. The gameplay you can expect from a game like this. This is the kind of game Japanese people get weird. It is like you playing a manga story on your televison under your control. Slashing ,hitting and updgrading your powers, skills and go on. Levels are from area to area and goes on. Never played Devil May series but it feels like an 3D 2D castelvania game. The game is not mine kind of game but I love it in some ways. This game is a must have for people who loves this genre. Expand
  20. JesseEB
    Feb 12, 2008
    10
    The game is about as fun as video games get! Yeah the camera can suck sometimes but thats the nature of the beast and easily forgivable. If you don't have it then all I have to say to you is "I'm sorry!"
  21. FredB.
    Feb 17, 2008
    9
    Devil May Cry is back! It looked as if it was headed in the wrong direction but this game is solid. Great game play that is not to difficult to learn and the graphics are top notch. Great game, get it if your a fan and get it if your not!
  22. JeremyM.
    Feb 18, 2008
    10
    This game really got me somewhere. The story is once again full of mysterious characters, sacrifices, love, and tons of twists and turns to keep you guessing. The over-the-top action cut-scenes are presented with such a masterful graphics engine and level of choreography there will be times where you're completely distracted in action. But that's not even the best part about This game really got me somewhere. The story is once again full of mysterious characters, sacrifices, love, and tons of twists and turns to keep you guessing. The over-the-top action cut-scenes are presented with such a masterful graphics engine and level of choreography there will be times where you're completely distracted in action. But that's not even the best part about this game. Nero brings over a table of moves that we've never seen before, pushing the style of action in a Devil May Cry game forward to places we never though possible, and the way he alters strange items in these worlds to either get by a puzzle or use it to his advantage in a critical battle will definitely set a new high for action gaming. You definitely haven't seen AND won't see anything like this before. Expand
  23. Jan 15, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You play as a new character named Nero and halfway through the game you start to replay some levels as Dante. Nero's Devil bringer which is arm that can reach out and grab enemies. This was a very nice feature but you Nero keeps the same weapons with him throughout the whole game. Dante though gets some other weapons but nothing to really run home about. You can't replay Nero's levels with Dante and you get about like 5-6 levels that you can play as Dante. I liked the 3rd one a little better this ones story was a little weak. they also re used the bosses too many times. If you're a fan of the DMC series I recommend you give it a try its not bad just doesn't live up to the greatness of the other games and if you just like sword combat games with a little gunplay and some sick action combos then give it a try too Expand
  24. Mar 2, 2011
    8
    Devil May Cry 4 is a great addition to the series, and does not disappoint. Great cutscenes and storyline, great fighting mechanics and boss battles, and great graphics and sound. The only thing that stops this game from being truly great is the somewhat repetitive hack and slashing, and the fact that the game makes you bactrack through levels you've already been through. That and notDevil May Cry 4 is a great addition to the series, and does not disappoint. Great cutscenes and storyline, great fighting mechanics and boss battles, and great graphics and sound. The only thing that stops this game from being truly great is the somewhat repetitive hack and slashing, and the fact that the game makes you bactrack through levels you've already been through. That and not being able to choose which character you prefer to play as hold this game back. Overall, however, the game is very solid. Expand
  25. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    While not the best game in the series, it is the best looking a smoothest running one. The DMC franchise is pure gold, and this one is no different. I love the nearly endless combonations of attacks that can be stylishly put together in a mad dash to devastate your enemy. I only have one warning, and that is not to take the game lightly. Even on its easier difficulties, this game will spitWhile not the best game in the series, it is the best looking a smoothest running one. The DMC franchise is pure gold, and this one is no different. I love the nearly endless combonations of attacks that can be stylishly put together in a mad dash to devastate your enemy. I only have one warning, and that is not to take the game lightly. Even on its easier difficulties, this game will spit you out against the wall and follow it up with a curb-stomping. Learning the dodge mechanics and the new EX-attack system will turn the tables on your enemies, leaving you the one doing the curb-stomping... and following it up with a barrage of bullets to the skull. Expand
  26. Jun 11, 2012
    8
    Devil May Cry 4 brings forth high fast action with a storyline that isnt perfect at best but pretty damn good along with a cast of characters amazing visuals and gothic style, decent music and sound effects and nostalgic moments. You will enjoy this game if you loved the original Devil May Cry and Devil May Cry 3. Action hero players and demonic genre lovers will love this game as well!
  27. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    This game is major badass. Not only did it have great characters and voice acting, it contains excellent gameplay and is easily the best one since the first. The first DMC game was great, but had a few cheesy moments. The second one sucked, and the third was pretty good. This one owns 2 and 3, and only beats 1 because it barely had any cheesy moments.

    When I first heard there was going
    This game is major badass. Not only did it have great characters and voice acting, it contains excellent gameplay and is easily the best one since the first. The first DMC game was great, but had a few cheesy moments. The second one sucked, and the third was pretty good. This one owns 2 and 3, and only beats 1 because it barely had any cheesy moments.

    When I first heard there was going to be a Devil May Cry 4, I found out that Dante would no longer be the main character, but Nero would, a new character who looks a lot like Dante and Vergil. I was a bit surprised and thought I would be in for a disappointment. When I finally played it, I found Nero an incredibly different and refreshing character, and I'm glad Dante was at playable for part of the game.

    Devil May Cry fans won't be disappointed with the game, and even people who have haven't played the first three should enjoy this game.
    Expand
  28. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    the perfect sequel for Devil may cry 3 the gameplay is more fast and more awesome huge fun amazing boss battles decent story and very memorable characters
  29. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    Most of players will get bored by the level design since there are only 10 but the plot is not the reason Capcom developed this game;
    Gameplay is Awesome and Deep, Get that S in the Bloody Palace Level if you can do it.
  30. MikeX.
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    This game is awsome, not doubt about that. A guy named Xzcvsxzc gave it a 3 and he said that and I quote "only 4 year olds enjoy games like this, it's horrible." What's interesting is that most people who gave it a high score had names like real names, but this guy had a name Xzcvsxzc. It makes me think that you're a 12 year-old (a 4 year-old can't type, lol). Anyway, This game is awsome, not doubt about that. A guy named Xzcvsxzc gave it a 3 and he said that and I quote "only 4 year olds enjoy games like this, it's horrible." What's interesting is that most people who gave it a high score had names like real names, but this guy had a name Xzcvsxzc. It makes me think that you're a 12 year-old (a 4 year-old can't type, lol). Anyway, your opinion is worthless, since most people disagree with you. Expand
  31. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    I can honestly say that this game is the best game i have played in a while. Combat is great, story is easy to understand, and the game is a blast to play. While some may argue that backtracking through later levels is tedious and annoying, i personally don't have a problem with it. Buy this game, now, you won't regret it.
  32. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    Let me start by saying this, you won't be ripping out your hair when playing on Normal/Devil Hunter mode. This was the first game I bought when I got my PS3, and it is easily the enjoyable one that I have played so far. In the game, you play as Nero, a holy knight of the Order of the Sword who witnesses Dante kill the Order's pope in cold blood. Anyway, Nero is sent off to hunt down Dante,Let me start by saying this, you won't be ripping out your hair when playing on Normal/Devil Hunter mode. This was the first game I bought when I got my PS3, and it is easily the enjoyable one that I have played so far. In the game, you play as Nero, a holy knight of the Order of the Sword who witnesses Dante kill the Order's pope in cold blood. Anyway, Nero is sent off to hunt down Dante, which relatively the story. As the story progress, you learn about conspiracies about the Order that all leads up to the final boss. The story does begin to falter near the end, but even so, it is a decent story. Controls are really good which is important for a hack n slash game like this.Nero has a little gimmick that makes the combat more over the top and more enjoyable. This little gimmick is his Devil Bringer. How it works is that you lock on to a enemy to drag them closer to you (or you to it) then you can cause major damage to that enemy. It all varies depending on the enemy you use it on, so it's nice to use against everything to see what it does. Controlling Dante isn't as fun as Nero is, but only by a bit. It is harder to rack up combos with Dante because he can't pull the enemy in. However, it is great that you can access all of his style with the D-pad. Combat is top notch, perhaps the best in the series. It is as over the top as ever. It is incredibly fun to fight and the boss battles are incredibly amazing. The only real complaint I have with the combat is the camera. It can become a bit of a pest at times. Visuals are incredible, everything is clean and it all looks beautiful, whether it's in indoor environments or in outdoor environments. Enemy design is good, character design is good and the voice actors are fitting for their roles. The sound track is easily one of the best I've heard in any game I've played. The track adds quite a bit of the enjoyment to the game. Lastly, Capcom have fixed their difficulty issues for this series. It is easier then the previous game (I'm not sure about DMC2) yet it has a balanced difficulty increase. It will still provide you a challenge, but you will be able to beat the game on Devil Hunter mode. 9.2/10, it is a good game, a worthy addition to the series and a must own for hack n slash lovers. Expand
  33. Sep 28, 2013
    8
    Aunque la mayoría de los fans de la saga "Devil May Cry" pensábamos que esto no iba a sobrevivir a la conversión de la tercer generación de PlayStation, fuimos sorprendidos con una entrega que, al fin y al cabo dio entretenimiento y escalofríos a la mayoría de su audiencia, esta vez con un humor que nos hará reír y llevar a Dante hasta su próximo objetivo.
  34. Apr 11, 2016
    8
    I never played a fun game like DMC4 for a long time. Best game of the series, fast paced action with huge boss battles that will take your breath away and leave you counting the days for another sequel.
  35. May 8, 2014
    10
    Great graphics.The ENGINE of the game is just fantastic to put it in few words and the most interesting of all is Nero which is new character and also ,perhaps,the some of Mighty Vergil the Dark Slayer
  36. Oct 17, 2014
    8
    Devil May Cry 4

    Game-play:The game it splits in two parts on the game play aspect. 1 you play as Nero how is a new character in the dmc world and 2 you play as Dante.When you play as Nero the game play it seams very slow and and it is based on heavy attacks and some combos with his sword the red queen that use some weird gas attacks,i do not really like this kind of game play but as
    Devil May Cry 4

    Game-play:The game it splits in two parts on the game play aspect. 1 you play as Nero how is a new character in the dmc world and 2 you play as Dante.When you play as Nero the game play it seams very slow and and it is based on heavy attacks and some combos with his sword the red queen that use some weird gas attacks,i do not really like this kind of game play but as Dante you play as every other devil may cry game even better i can tell, fast combos that does high damage and you can change the style of your battle at any minute with out pause of the game so you create more combos of your own.

    Story:The story is very good thankfully and that hold the game in the most part.The boss fights are amazing you even battle Dante at some point.

    Graphics:The graphics are great in every way.

    Notes:I really like the weapons in this game but the game could have taken a 9 out of 10 if you would play more as Dante and less as Nero still a great game i recommend it to anyone how likes hack n slash games at full price.
    Expand
  37. Mar 10, 2016
    9
    Devil may cry 4 is a proper send off for the classic series of the franchise that gave birth to the Hack and Slash genre. Despite the fact that the story focuses more on Nero, the combat has never been more satisfying. Nero in particular can make great use of his sword the Red Queen which can be pumped up to deal more damage to enemies. His greatest weapon is the use of his demonic armDevil may cry 4 is a proper send off for the classic series of the franchise that gave birth to the Hack and Slash genre. Despite the fact that the story focuses more on Nero, the combat has never been more satisfying. Nero in particular can make great use of his sword the Red Queen which can be pumped up to deal more damage to enemies. His greatest weapon is the use of his demonic arm which creates more opportunities to unleash deadly combos. The second half of the game allows players to take control of Dante again. This time Dante can change between styles with just the touch of the dpad as well as being able to switch in-between secondary weapons. The story may not have the same kind of internal conflict but it is till an involving story about Nero experiencing a crises of faith and a not-so-subtle critique on organized religion. Dante's side of the story is also very entertaining with his usually trademark one liners against enemies. Unfortunately the biggest drawback to the game is the backtracking which is evidenced by the cut content on behalf of Dante's half. Aside from that factor, it is a great action game with a proper sendoff to the classic franchise (at least until they confirm on making a Devil May Cry 5). Expand
  38. Apr 8, 2016
    9
    Devil may cry 4 is a proper send off for the classic series of the franchise that gave birth to the Hack and Slash genre. Despite the fact that the story focuses more on Nero, the combat has never been more satisfying. Nero in particular can make great use of his sword the Red Queen which can be pumped up to deal more damage to enemies. His greatest weapon is the use of his demonic armDevil may cry 4 is a proper send off for the classic series of the franchise that gave birth to the Hack and Slash genre. Despite the fact that the story focuses more on Nero, the combat has never been more satisfying. Nero in particular can make great use of his sword the Red Queen which can be pumped up to deal more damage to enemies. His greatest weapon is the use of his demonic arm which creates more opportunities to unleash deadly combos. The second half of the game allows players to take control of Dante again. This time Dante can change between styles with just the touch of the dpad as well as being able to switch in-between secondary weapons. The story may not have the same kind of internal conflict but it is till an involving story about Nero experiencing a crises of faith and a not-so-subtle critique on organized religion. Dante's side of the story is also very entertaining with his usually trademark one liners against enemies. Unfortunately the biggest drawback to the game is the backtracking which is evidenced by the cut content on behalf of Dante's half. Aside from that factor, it is a great action game with a proper sendoff to the classic franchise (at least until they confirm on making a Devil May Cry 5). Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. The newest entry in the revered series features plenty of awesome action, a great new character...and a bit of repetition.
  2. 60
    Devil May Cry 4 is also nothing close to the full next-gen transformation that the moody, gothic world of Capcom’s demons deserved.
  3. Devil May Cry 4 plays exceptionally well. It may not be revolutionary, but it sure won't leave you bored. If anything, Devil May Cry 4 is perhaps even more addictive than the last, thanks to a rather enjoyable, well-done story.