Diablo III PlayStation 3

Diablo III Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 543 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game takes place on Sanctuary, a world of dark fantasy. Unbeknownst to most of its inhabitants, Sanctuary was saved some twenty years ago from the demonic forces of the underworld by a few brave and powerful heroes. Most of those warriors who directly faced the armies of the BurningThe game takes place on Sanctuary, a world of dark fantasy. Unbeknownst to most of its inhabitants, Sanctuary was saved some twenty years ago from the demonic forces of the underworld by a few brave and powerful heroes. Most of those warriors who directly faced the armies of the Burning Hells -- and were fortunate enough to survive -- went mad from their experiences. And most of the others have buried their haunted memories and pushed the horrors from their thoughts. In Diablo III, players will return to Sanctuary to confront evil in its many forms once again. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    100
    A beautifully designed game that packs intense action, memorable set pieces, and some of the best couch co-op play you'll find. Wickedly brilliant.
  2. Sep 16, 2013
    90
    Blizzard has done an outstanding job in bringing Diablo III to consoles, so much so that I was still getting engulfed by its addictive nature even after putting in over 100+ hours on the PC.
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    90
    Even if you already own its PC brother there is something incredibly refreshing and revitalising about playing the game offline with friends, each with a controller, together on the same screen.
  4. Aug 29, 2013
    88
    Diablo III is a great game. This action-RPG game from Blizzard works perfectly on consoles thanks to a good control system, a redesigned interface, and a fun co-op local multiplayer. It's an amazing experience.
  5. Sep 3, 2013
    85
    Diablo III is the best journey Blizzard has ever made in the world of console gaming. The control system is perfect and the flavour of slaying monsters on your sofa, with a joypad in your hands, is sometimes better than the one you feel with your PC. Graphics, though, remain better on a good computer.
  6. Sep 11, 2013
    84
    Diablo III Is a solid sword and sorcery dungeon crawling adventure. Just push the direction you want to go and then hack 'n' slash... how simple and fun.
  7. Sep 2, 2013
    70
    Diablo still contains enough impulsive monster-slaying to entertain, but the trek from its home on PC has left it diminished.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 131
  2. Negative: 35 out of 131
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    If you're going to play Diablo 3, the console version is the way to go. Everything that's wrong with the PC version isn't present in theIf you're going to play Diablo 3, the console version is the way to go. Everything that's wrong with the PC version isn't present in the console version. No more Auction House & Real Money Auction House trolls who buy their way to good gear. It's just good old fashion grind-and-loot! That's how it should be! Collapse
  2. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    Had a lot of fun with it so far, the local co-op is a blast. Playing alone can get tiresome though, and I haven't tried the online yet, beenHad a lot of fun with it so far, the local co-op is a blast. Playing alone can get tiresome though, and I haven't tried the online yet, been spending all my time with co-op. Don't understand all these low scores... Expand
  3. Sep 4, 2013
    9
    Thank you Blizzard for bringing Diablo 3 to PS3. Also owning the PC version, I am noticing many vast improvements over the PC version.
    1.
    Thank you Blizzard for bringing Diablo 3 to PS3. Also owning the PC version, I am noticing many vast improvements over the PC version.
    1. True offline play
    2. No Auction House, also the loot that drops is better and more relevant to your character, as well as less useless loot to clutter your inventory.
    3. The game seems to be so much smoother than the PC version; which I am surprised considering on PC i was playing the game with a Gefore GTX 650 on medium settings at 1920 x 1080
    4. The game can set to be more challenging right from the start in PS3, Only one difficulty to choose from at start for PC, and it's to easy.
    5. The UI on PC could not be configured properly if playing the game on an Plasma HDTV. The buttons and loot description are too small to read. This is not an issue with the PS3 version
    6. More of a personal preference, but I prefer to play this game with a controller than with a point and click interface.

    The only thing that prevents me from giving the game a 10 is the level randomization and random events throughout the game. This game could have been done with more random events and levels. Act 3 and 4 still feel like there's not much randomness to them. Otherwise this is a near perfect game for me.
    Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    8
    I'm not a D3 PC player. I've read enough about the epistemology of the PC version to know all of the benefits it yielded in the consoleI'm not a D3 PC player. I've read enough about the epistemology of the PC version to know all of the benefits it yielded in the console release. So this review is not a compare/contrast to the PC's evolution of the game. Having said that, for the improvements made, there's some good things, and still some holes that need to be filled. I hope Blizzard's support of the PS3 version will be as tenacious as the PC version.

    So, after perusing the existing reviews, it should be clear that you're either a fan of this genre, or not. Since the glory days of Baldur's Gate and Champions of Norrath, the landscape for this style RPG on the Playstation has been few are far between. D3 does as fine a job on the technical delivery as any of the best from the past. Blizzard's usual attention to details to smooth off the corners, and refine the details clearly set it apart from its $20 counterparts, such as Dungeon Hunter Alliance. Here's the rub: I'd give that gave a 6.5 or 7. I'd expect a better, more fun, total gaming experience from Blizzard.

    The game IS fun. But, as other reviewers have noted, the game is just waiting for some tweak here and there to make it Blizzard-level fun. Much like an itch you can't scratch, I can't quite put my finger on it. Except for maybe the healing, which is artificially broken. Do we really need a 30 second cooldown on potion use? If it were skill based, fair enough. But propping up tougher boss battles because of limited healing feels contrived, and the great games in this genre that came before it did not have need of such a construct. D3 needs a better fix for this issue either limit the carry capacity of potions more tightly, or do away with the cooldown altogether.

    Switching gears, I see the eternal debate over the auction house "cheaters" vs. the "I've got 80 hours to go on endless loot runs" folks are still waging war over proper game etiquette. Silly. Gamers span a wide range of ages and time for the game. Somewhere between the auction house of PC fame, and Loot 2.0, there's got to be a fair middle ground that lets people trade money for time if they want to without wrecking the experience. It seems that the console DLC mechanism was a completely missed opportunity. I'm not suggesting that "super legendary" weapons be created by Blizzard for sale (a' la Dead Space). A little creativity here would go a long way I don't derive joy from the grind to find a legendary drop. Perhaps an item (think infernal helm) that increases the chances that a drop will be legendary once the nephalem stack is full. I would personally be in favor of a few $2.99 downloads that would make the game more entertaining without having to play through the game 4 times, just for the thrill of playing with a fully loaded character.
    Expand
  5. May 1, 2014
    7
    Never played Diablo 2, but I am aware of what it is and how much it means to people. Honestly, I dig loot, crafting and leveling up just asNever played Diablo 2, but I am aware of what it is and how much it means to people. Honestly, I dig loot, crafting and leveling up just as much as the next guy, but this game is not nearly fun enough to get as p*ssed off as people do about it. This is a game I throw in when I want to space out and not think for awhile waiting for Dark Souls 2 to come down in price. People held their breath 10 years for this? Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2014
    5
    Blizzard has taken so much that made Diablo 2 lod fantastic away that Diablo 3 is not worthy of being referred to as a sequel (probablyBlizzard has taken so much that made Diablo 2 lod fantastic away that Diablo 3 is not worthy of being referred to as a sequel (probably because the people who made Diablo 2 left Blizzard to form runic games).
    The complex skill tree system, that forced you to make choices has been replaced with "you gained a level you get this skill" Stats are structured to make sure you don't have to think. Barbarians only care about strength, wizards only intelligence, monks dexterity. In D2 items used to add bonuses to skills or armor socketed with the right runes could give you special abilities (like being able to teleport regardless of your class). In D3 the game is nothing more than a grinding dps race. The ray of sunshine that breathes life into a game so phoned in and repetitive they had to include 4 playthroughs is Hardcore mode. Hardcore mode is the same game, but you only have one life. This adds tension unlike most games out there. This forces you to strategist so you don't loose your one and only life. You might sacrifice dome dps for more vitality or dodge chance. You will utilize more defensive spells and the game becomes about surviving rather than killing everything so fast that all the monsters and scenery blend together. The most difficult part of HC mode is not getting complacent clearing the same dungeons for the 3rd time and dying because you made a stupid mistake (that's how I lost my lvl 57 wizard). To sum it up abandon your expectations don't expect much and you may enjoy this game.
    Expand
  7. Jul 2, 2014
    0
    Really disappointing game , after so much wait and hype even after BETA this is just a mere disappointment , Blizzard really messed this up .Really disappointing game , after so much wait and hype even after BETA this is just a mere disappointment , Blizzard really messed this up . Yes I know that the game itself as the previous franchises is a grind but Diablo 3 currently is a **** . Story feels just sucked out of a finger . Except for the 1st Act it was great , what follows up is basically **** and grind . No end game content and if they added some its **** . Expand

See all 131 User Reviews