Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 500 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game takes place on Sanctuary, a world of dark fantasy. Unbeknownst to most of its inhabitants, Sanctuary was saved some twenty years ago from the demonic forces of the underworld by a few brave and powerful heroes. Most of those warriors who directly faced the armies of the Burning Hells -- and were fortunate enough to survive -- went mad from their experiences. And most of the others have buried their haunted memories and pushed the horrors from their thoughts. In Diablo III, players will return to Sanctuary to confront evil in its many forms once again. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    100
    A beautifully designed game that packs intense action, memorable set pieces, and some of the best couch co-op play you'll find. Wickedly brilliant.
  2. Sep 16, 2013
    90
    Blizzard has done an outstanding job in bringing Diablo III to consoles, so much so that I was still getting engulfed by its addictive nature even after putting in over 100+ hours on the PC.
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    90
    Even if you already own its PC brother there is something incredibly refreshing and revitalising about playing the game offline with friends, each with a controller, together on the same screen.
  4. Aug 29, 2013
    88
    Diablo III is a great game. This action-RPG game from Blizzard works perfectly on consoles thanks to a good control system, a redesigned interface, and a fun co-op local multiplayer. It's an amazing experience.
  5. Sep 3, 2013
    85
    Diablo III is the best journey Blizzard has ever made in the world of console gaming. The control system is perfect and the flavour of slaying monsters on your sofa, with a joypad in your hands, is sometimes better than the one you feel with your PC. Graphics, though, remain better on a good computer.
  6. Sep 11, 2013
    84
    Diablo III Is a solid sword and sorcery dungeon crawling adventure. Just push the direction you want to go and then hack 'n' slash... how simple and fun.
  7. Sep 2, 2013
    70
    Diablo still contains enough impulsive monster-slaying to entertain, but the trek from its home on PC has left it diminished.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 121
  2. Negative: 35 out of 121
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    If you're going to play Diablo 3, the console version is the way to go. Everything that's wrong with the PC version isn't present in the console version. No more Auction House & Real Money Auction House trolls who buy their way to good gear. It's just good old fashion grind-and-loot! That's how it should be! Expand
  2. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    Ok: the console version of D3 is probably the best ARPG ever that graced this platform. Couch play is incredible. A family that plays together stays together and Diablo3 makes for a MUCH needed change on console play: Grind and adventure into the darkness of Hell on the 4 player sofa Expand
  3. ERB
    Sep 3, 2013
    9
    At least this game has improve much better than the PC version of this game.And what important about this game is that you no longer need to connect online.I mean that is awesome .Plus the game play mechanics is good and awesome!Well that is all I have to say but I recommend you guys to buy this game and try playing so that you can forget about the horrible things about the PC version of this game.And I know that after you have played the PC version you would be really disappointed and maybe you would come here again to try and put negative scores.But first,before scoring a game you should try playing the game first then you can score it.But I won't blame you guys if you still hate this game.Okay that is all. Expand
  4. Sep 9, 2013
    8
    Never played a Diablo game before but when I saw gameplay of Diablo 3 on console it got me interested despite all the hate the game got from PC gamers around the world. I wasn't sure if I'd like it or not so I originally planned to wait for reviews to come in and a price drop before buying it. I ended up changing my mind, got it on release day and I don't regret it.

    The reason behind the 8/10 score I gave it is due to the story and gameplay. The story isn't the best ever told, it can be predictable at points but it definitely is worth paying attention to. As for gameplay, killing monsters is incredibly fun especially as you level up and equip better loot, unlock more powerful attacks and runes which increase your power and abilities. This seems to me what the game is all about: farming gold and finding powerful loot so you can become stronger and kill enemies faster. this is why I took away another point in the score. Maybe there is more to the game than this and I'm missing something but overall the game is really fun and addictive but it gets tiring after a while, at least for me, but the thing is after you take a rest from the game for awhile it's that thrill over taking on a hoard of monster, killing them within seconds and seeing all their corpses at your feet that makes you just want to load it back up and kill some more!
    Expand
  5. Jan 30, 2014
    7
    D3 has the potential to be an excellent game, but multiple issues have made it a mediocre hack-and-slash. On the good side, D3 on console fixed many issues on PC, mostly on better control: in PC version it is difficult to use ranged classes because complicated skills make kiting very difficult for new comers. D3 has good graphics and is very meticulously designed: debris and corpses on the ground are blown away when powerful spells are used, objects in the environment can be destroyed and both inside and outside of the map is crafted with details. Although skills dont diverse very well, combat in D3 is overall satisfying.
    D3 is about sacrifice. The world of sanctuary was a peaceful place, until the demons came for the annihilation of mankind. In prolonged war lives are lost, and nations shatter from within. D3 shows all these in an explicit manner, and u will sigh as u see what kind of sufferance mankind is going through. As a result u really are made to hate those demons; u will want to slaughter every one of them who dare setting foot on ur land, and u will. Dialogues and characters are fairly well designed and u will find urself caring about the world of sanctuary and the people around u.
    But there are a lot of issues as well. First of all get this: D3 is a 10 hour game (15 max) and each part (act) is detached meaning u cant visit locations in the previous act after u have finished it, unless by replaying previous quests in the main menu. that is just lazy on bllizaard's side since this is a game that is played and replayed over and over again and we need more than just running through the same story over and over again. Side missions are nearly non existent: there are maybe 10 side quests in the whole game, all of them hidden somewhere in some map ull probably never get to.
    Skills in D3 are badly designed and are sometimes outright ridiculous. As ur level progresses u dont unlock more powerful spells. Seriously many spells that are unlocked in later levels are garbage, such as consuming all ur resource in a not-so-powerful attack that deals maybe 5% more dmg than a basic spell that costs nothing. Skills can be augmented with runes, but many of them are just useless. (eg increases duration from 6 to 7)
    Also in my case, the co-op doesnt fuking work! I turned my IP address to static and forward some 5 ports to fix it but before that its just infinite loading screen for me.
    Since its a hack-and-slash u will be looting a lot but its all for nothing: u dont get special effects from good gears like in borderlands or monster hunter (not useful ones anyway) but they just has the potential to have better stats than less rare gears--by that I mean non-legendaries are often more powerful than legendaries. (I got more excitement from getting good gears in bioshock infinite than i did in this game) Also since u can only travel within ur act and there is no side quests why would anyone want to jump into the looting grinder at all? Infact, I'll stop right now!
    Just gimme a sec with this key warden...
    Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2014
    4
    I didn't feel excited or amazed one single time during the campaign. Once finished after ~17 hours, I replayed a few bosses with some kid and had a bit more fun that way. But still, I had seen every element in other games/movies/comics. The last act could have been awesome, but I just saw it as a different background image to the same button-mashing. It loads quickly, and the half dozen cutscenes amazed me a bit. There were zero puzzles, and I didn't get a feeling of mystique or anything really. It tries to be Dark Souls some places, but it didn't immerse me. I don't want to play the game again, and I don't care about it. The voice-acting costs a point since I could hear the actors in the studio rather than characters on an epic quest. The child merchant sounded like a adult, who of course did the voicing. If there had been a couple of puzzles and more epic multiplayer (30 people and insane difficulty etc) and it had made it easier to jump into various online modes, I would have given it a slightly positive review. Expand
  7. Jun 18, 2014
    0
    As you should be able to tell by the metacritic account name I created just to write this review I was not happy with this game. THIS GAME IS NOT AN RPG. I never played Diablo II so I have nothing to compare it to but 1) the actual gameplay graphics (not the cinema scenes) are like playing Baldur's gate on the gamecube which is completely unacceptable for the Ps3 and 2) you have zero control over character growth, I.e., when you level up nothing happens except that you get one new power and not even a choice of more than one power when that happens. Maybe this changes later in the game but I have zero intention of playing this game long enough to find out. This is basically an arcade game - you don't even have to mash buttons you just hold down one button until everything dies and occasionally you have to dodge an attack and this is on the hard difficulty level. This game is boring, stupid and a profound waste of time. Expand

See all 121 User Reviews