Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 153 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Disgaea 3 is a sequel to Disgaea, a hardcore, turn-based, strategy RPG popular on the PlayStation2 and PlayStation Portable. In Disgaea, character units have a limit to their movement and attack ranges, based on level and weapons equipped. There are other special game factors that let youDisgaea 3 is a sequel to Disgaea, a hardcore, turn-based, strategy RPG popular on the PlayStation2 and PlayStation Portable. In Disgaea, character units have a limit to their movement and attack ranges, based on level and weapons equipped. There are other special game factors that let you take advantage of the 3D battle map, many of which are unique to Disgaea. One of the many new feature to Disgaea 3 is the addition of a Geo Block, which creates a 3 dimensional battle instead of the traditional 2D. Geo Block is a cube-shaped terrain-altering object. Players can use it to access and attack enemies where normally they cannot reach. Geo Panel is a group of stat-altering elemental properties that are placed upon certain parts of the battlefield. When there are one or more colored panels on the battle grid, it means an element can affect that area. The effect can boost or reduce your unit's stats. Item World is a special randomly-generated battle stage within each and every item you find. By defeating these special battle stages, you are able to strengthen your items. [NIS America] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention Launch Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. There's potential for hundreds of hours of gameplay. The gameplay is deep, rewarding, and addictive.
  2. 87
    The game is certainly a worthwhile purchase; I recommend it to all PS3 owners, particularly those who have yet to experience the Disgaea series.
  3. I still recommend newcomers start with the original or its PSP remake for the amazing story, but I'd by lying through my teeth if I said I'm not enjoying the hell out of my time with Disgaea 3. [Sept 2008, p.83]
  4. You'd never believe this was actually a PS3 game, but apart from the graphics this is the best Disgaea yet.
  5. Best suited for the Disgaea fan who loves the series solely (or at least primarily) for its gameplay, and for newcomers who will skip the story regardless of its quality.
  6. Disgaea 3 has an unique wacky-style that make the game a must-try. Orchestral music is simply wonderful and the power-up system works well. Perhaps, there are serious problem that waste the experience: controls aren’t intuitive and the graphics are reminiscent of PS2 titles... If developer had used real HD sprites and implemented better controls, this game would be a real Killer Application.
  7. 65
    Are you a fan of the tactical RPG-genre and you like crazy Japanese story's? This game is absolutely worth playing. Unfortunately the graphics look a little oldish.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. Marvinarguis
    Mar 3, 2009
    10
    Excellent installment to a classic cult series. Disgaea 3 is the best yet in my opinion, though the series is certainly not for everyone.
  2. RJ
    Aug 27, 2008
    10
    Truly excellent game. maybe more of a "disgaea 2.5" but as someone fresh to the series it has very deep gameplay and is incredibly addictive. Truly excellent game. maybe more of a "disgaea 2.5" but as someone fresh to the series it has very deep gameplay and is incredibly addictive. The writing, including abilities, item descriptions and team actions, is laugh out loud funny at times as well. if you like strategy RPGs at all there is no excuse not to support this title. easily 200+ hours gameplay (with extras, secrets etc) Expand
  3. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    Best TRPG on the market, not much else to add. I guess it could do with better graphics, but that's not what TRPGs are all about. This gameBest TRPG on the market, not much else to add. I guess it could do with better graphics, but that's not what TRPGs are all about. This game could easily take 150 to 200 hours of your time, once you really get into it. Expand
  4. phinn
    Jul 20, 2009
    8
    Disgaea 3 is pure fan service for J-RPG gamers. There is a ton of depth, gameplay, and an amusing story here that can keep many entertained. Disgaea 3 is pure fan service for J-RPG gamers. There is a ton of depth, gameplay, and an amusing story here that can keep many entertained. If the graphics and sounds were modern it would have been a bigger hit I'm sure. Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2011
    8
    A wonderful game with limitless amounts of content! Players of the previous games in the Disgaea series will feel right at home with thisA wonderful game with limitless amounts of content! Players of the previous games in the Disgaea series will feel right at home with this game, and although the story and characters may not be on par with the previous games in the Disgaea series, the gameplay and user interface are very much improved. Absence of Justice has an intricate and enjoyable story-line, featuring wacky and unpredictable characters that will have you laughing or make you wonder if the things they're talking about are allowed to be talked about in a T-rated game. After the the main story-line, players will have access to the near-limitless post-game, which will mainly have you levelling up your favourite characters, finding and/or upgrading new items, and exploring the all-new class world. New systems such as the "homeroom" keeps this game from seeming like a rehash of it's predecessors. Although the gameplay is certainly not for everyone, it will definitely be enjoyable for fans of the previous games. Expand
  6. Apr 20, 2012
    7
    Even if I did feel stupid now and then for paying for a PS3 game that in graphic terms could run on a PS1, I was not disappointed with DisgaeaEven if I did feel stupid now and then for paying for a PS3 game that in graphic terms could run on a PS1, I was not disappointed with Disgaea 3 overall. Core gameplay and mechanics remain practically unchanged since the debut of the series, but that is okay since Disgaea is pretty much the ultimate strategic RPG in that perspective. It is complex yet smart, and the new tweaks introduced by Absence of Justice are welcome. The story and characters slips a bit, as this is clearly the weakest game in the series in the area. Characters simply don't have the same charisma, specially the new protagonist Mao (when compared to Laharl and Adell). Dialogues are also less funny and creative, but not much. Voice acting is superb and the soundtrack is pretty good. Graphics, on the other hand, are terrible. And I'm not talking about style; I'm talking about how in current day and age Nippon Ichi slaps our faces with low-resolution character sprites. You can almost count the number of polygons that compose characters. Still, Disgaea 3 is a good game, the best strategy RPG of the current generation and extremely addictive. Expand
  7. Apr 13, 2017
    0
    Un jeu qui plaira éventuellement aux enfants en bas âge mais qui aurait mieux trouvé sa place sur Wii : en effet ses graphismes repoussantsUn jeu qui plaira éventuellement aux enfants en bas âge mais qui aurait mieux trouvé sa place sur Wii : en effet ses graphismes repoussants sont une vision d'horreur prompte à déclencher des cauchemars pixélisés. L'ambiance y est plus stupide que niaise (une prouesse en soi) et les combats en tour par tour sont d'un ennui redoutable. Une japoniaiserie de plus à éviter !! Expand

See all 24 User Reviews