User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 611 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 611

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    WOW. I just thought that I had reached a very anticlimactic ending due to have already dispatched my target in the more unconventional way allotted for the mission at hand. Straight outta left field, I get slapped with the underpinning theme and reality of what Dishonored is as a game. NOT THE END. I will say, I am a sucker for un-apologetically mature and well crafted single player campaigns. This is very reminiscent of half-life in mood but much better developed. Well done Arcane! I don't replay many games, but I think I may replay this more than a few times. Expand
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    This FPS is really good for the following reasons: stealth (like an old school Clancy game), an oddly wide array of gadgets and open-worldness (not completely but enough to be odd for an FPS), you hang out in a pub all the time (somehow, yes, in an FPS), save-anywhere, and a range of settings for **** who need regenerative health and settings for badasses who hate regenerative health. Boom.
  3. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    0.5? Seriously guys? I wonder which ill-fated cause made you so angry that you had to destroy the user score average of the PS3 version. The game is good, maybe not perfect, but doesn't deserve all this hate.
  4. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    It's truly a unique game with amazing gameplay. The gameplay gives you creative ways to utilize gadgets and kill your enemies to stealthily proceed in the game such as by possessing rats to kill enemies. But even during all-out combat the gameplay is amazing. The graphics and art design are some of the best I've seen in a long time. Moreover, it comes with large amounts of content giving it high replayability. As for the story, it's the cherry of the cake so I won't spoil it for you. Betheseda has done a great job this time. THIS IS A MUST BUY FOLKS! Expand
  5. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    There is nothing bad i can say about this game i love it so much i will dare to say it is perfect. i will say this now though if you just rush through and kill everything in your path you will not have as good of a time and the game will be relatively short. all of your assassination targets are easy to get to right at the start but it involves killing everything in front of you and going in guns blazing. there is nothing wrong with doing that of course but you will not experience the full game. what i mean by this is the fact that there is so much going on that you will miss entire scenes of the game if you don't think about your kill before making a strategy and finding out everything there is to know about them. the way they throw you into each situation is also to be praised because the game is open world to an extent and this allows you to play the game the way you want to play it unlike most games where there is only one way to do something this game allows limitless possibilities on how to play. the art in this game is icing on the cake it is beautiful and so diverse that as well as trying to figure out how you will kill your target you will also look around and admire your surroundings. although some may disagree i love the story so far and it is puling me in further and further and i want to keep playing so i can find out what is going to happen next. this game is a breath of fresh air and is a goood break from all the FPS games that are on the market i recommend this to everyone and i highly suggest you pick it up now. Expand
  6. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Finally a REAL next gen game these are far and few between anymore, kudos Arkane studios! Dishonored is a thinking mans game that places you in open world scenarios that have endless approaches to completing your assination objectives. Along the way you will learn of side missions, search for runes to upgrade your super natural powers and explore large environments while evading or killing many memorable enemies. This is how games should be anymore, screw that arcade style linear casual gamer crap and pick up a game actually worth $60 Expand
  7. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    What a game. Right away it reminds me of the first time I played the original Bioshock. The story is fairly typical but the gameplay is fantastic. Everything works well and you can really get creative in how you choose to sneak about or lay waste to everyone in your path. The amount of abilities and upgrades really give you some great choices in how you decide to go about things. I have found myself replaying sections simply to try our different tactics and see what works out best for me personally. One of the few games I have played where the stealth is actually a lot of fun and makes you feel like a total badass. The visuals are very nice as well. Some reviews say the textures are a bit muddy but I personally think it is the art style they were going for as it almost feels like you are playing a comic at times, everything is simply gorgeous. Each level also has a bunch of collectibles to keep the replay up and keep you searching for that next item....be it an upgrade, collectable or simply money. Easily one of the coolest games I have played in ages, an absolute must own in my book. Expand
  8. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    I have only played a few hours of Dishonored, and I already love it. I am not that far into the game, so I can't tell all the things I like. So far, I love the detail and distinct style this whaling city has. The story is pretty cool and the powers you get are incredible. Great game! If you are going to pay full price for anything on its release day, you could do a lot worse than this.
  9. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Its like Deus Ex and Bioshock had a baby and Half Life 2 is the Godfather!! is it not enough for you? Freedom of choice and gameplay,journey that will attach you deeply and at last one game that rewards your brain for being creative and do smart things, if you're looking for something mindless and easy this game may not be for you, if you want to challenge yourself GO BUY IT FOR CHRIST SAKE :D
  10. Oct 20, 2012
    10
    Dishonored deserves a 9.5. every bit of this game oozes style quality and perfect execution in more ways than one. To begin with it includes a full color manual which is now a rarity even in special editions. And in-game tutorials too but the game is very intuitive (easy to use) the base control system is simple and weapons and powers can be switched in and out rapidly to alter your play style at will. The level design is some of the best seen on this gens systems with multiple paths to youre objectives and throughout the levels. Dishonored is not open world or linear it is a system of hubs and areas ,levels that have been ttightly crafted to allow you to reach almost anywere you can see. Allowing you to spend hours exploring if you so wish. Some people have said it can be a short game but it takes over the 20hour mark on hard with about 80per cent of collectables found. The game is best played on the hard difficulty upwards. The character,enemy ai is highly intelligent at spotting you reacting reverting back to there patrol routes and alerting other enemies that you have been spotted. Dishonored really is a new ip although it looks similar to some games when you begin to play you soon realise it is like no other and its a brand new series in the making. An adult tale of political intrigue and occult weave together to create a grand world and story and by the time you finish you will be ready for dishonored 2. You can adjust or totally remove all or non of the hud objective markers dont like them switch them off. health and mana bars dont like them switch them off you still get visuals clues to the state of youre health and so on. The Audio work is top notch from the high quality voice overs from some highly respected actors and the minimal soundtrack that changes on cue when the action changes. There really is nothing bad to say about dishonored in my play-thru i came across no bugs or glitches like getting stuck in places it just never happened. A master piece of the programming craft and top contender for Game of the year. If you miss playing this one you are missing out on one of the best games this year. Expand
  11. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Good game, mixes elements of Arkham Asylum, Bioshock and Fable while probably not being quite as good as any at any aspect (as well as Skyrim's piss poor melee combat). For a normal playthrough, at no point can you rely fully on any one aspect- and that's perhaps the best thing I can say about the game is that you do rely on melee, ranged, stealth and gadgets rather than becoming godlike in one thing and using only that for the rest of the game.

    Worth the 10-15 hour playthrough.

    Also, lol at the negative user score spam- looks like Bethesda pissed off ****
    Expand
  12. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This year hasn't been the best year for games; I bought only two games that were released this year before Dishonored and I was a bit disappointed with them both. Mass Effect 3 simplified the choices too much and gave the series a piss-poor ending, and Max Payne 3 just wasn't that compelling to play. It was after that that I went into a period of not playing any video games for a few months, so when my friend told me about how awesome Dishonored looked from the trailer, I just had to take a look at the game, and boy was that a good idea. Dishonored is the game that I needed to get back into gaming; it's absolutely brilliant on almost every aspect, from the story, to the characters, to the stylish (albeit glitchy) graphics, to the freedom of choice, to the fun gameplay, to the amazing world to explore. The game is fantastic. Never have I played a game which gives the player so much freedom on how to play. There are probably 50 or more different ways that you can tackle any situation in the game, whether it be climbing in through a window, possessing a rat or fish and going through a pipe into a building, shooting your way through the enemies or sneaking past your enemies and through the front door. The possibilities for gameplay are astounding in Dishonored, and this game is anything but a linear title. There are so many ways of tackling a situation, and the game gives you so many opportunities to be creative in the way you play. There are even tonnes of options in the way you assassinate the target; hell, you don't even have to assassinate the target! It's an unbelievably fun game with incredible gameplay and an amazing amount of freedom. Expand
  13. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    0.5 - A score which Corvo would freeze time, and crossbow. Dishonored is not only one of the best games of 2012, but one of the best I have EVER played. A great story encompassing the murkiness of betrayal; awesome game-play that encourages creativity and a beautiful hand-drawn atmosphere in Dunwall. people, if this hate is retaliation for Skyrim's PS3 ridiculousness then I'm behind you on that. But don't drag don this incredible game that deserves the love of the gaming community. Expand
  14. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    it's an absolute masterpiece. it's pretty, very well balanced, all the elements work seamlessly, the stealth part is brilliant, music and visuals are different, artistic and well presented. it's great fun when your stealthy but if you get caught and the action heats up the game still holds it's own... perfection!
  15. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    Own it, love it. I actually mainly wanted to write this review to comment on the obviously bogus amount of negative User Ratings. The other versions of this game only have between 200-300 total ratings, and even a controversial game like Mass Effect 3 only has 2900 or so total ratings after 7 months. Obviously, some shenanigans are afoot. This proves my point: User Ratings are useless, just look at the critic scores (and I'm still waiting for someone to provide some proof to the overused accusation that game publishers "buy" their reviews from major outlets). Expand
  16. Oct 18, 2012
    10
    i love this game it mixture of assassin creed with magic powers ability kill any bad guys i love game design from movement, character building and good voice that voice character as well fit perfectly


    only wish it went longer & hoping for sequel in works
  17. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    The GOOD: awesome stealth gameplay, cool powers, easy and responsive controls, freedom to achieve objectives the way you want, good graphics and astonishing art style, rich world and decent story.
    The NOT SO GOOD: soundtrack, melee combat doesn't feel right, no cutscenes at all and uninteresting voice acting.
    In the end: Dishonored is a MUST PLAY! Like most of games, Dishonored isn't
    perfect, but even so is a remarkable experience. The atmosphere of the game feels unique. The addition of some cutscenes and a better selection of tracks for the soundtrack would have built an even more interesting experience. The stealth approach works flawlessly. Some may get disappointed by how the melee combat works, like I did, but if you enjoy a good stealth gameplay, you won't even get bugged by this fact.
    So, that's it: 10/10 to Dishonored.
    Expand
  18. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    I’d give it a 9.5, which I rounded up to 10. The game was definitely not as I thought it would be. The entire game had a Bioshock-ish feel with its own atmospheric identity, which is its best feat. The set-pieces are varied.

    Unfortunately the plot is not nearly as good as it could be, but the execution with the Bioshock-esque recordings etc. make a mediocre plot a better than average
    one. I think that alone makes it a worthwhile game to play. The past few years games have been way too focused on cutscenes. Luckily, Dishonored does not have many, so I can’t complain about the plot too much. Out of all of these stealth games this generation of games, I think the controls with this one seemed the easiest to use. Naturally, with any of these covert stealth games, the controls can be frustrating and you just want to pry yourself into your TV screen because switching between the powers is sometimes not as quick as one would desire. The powers are awesome. One thing I really liked is that you can combo them to how you would like to play. It had some great writing and a great plot. Many say that the game does kind of punish you for being what you are, an assassin, which is a valid point. However, it is definitely more difficult to keep the death count low, which is the point. The game length was fine. It promotes exploring. I found though that near the end I was getting tired of it though and just slaughtered everyone. Expand
  19. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    What a gem. This game is everything we want as gamers. It's new, fresh, innovative, and just a damn good time. It doesn't take us for fools and is a smart and well thought out game. Love that you can remove the hud as well. This isn't a game you are supposed to rush through. Take your time, explore, etc. Unbelievably great game.
  20. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    I am in love with this game. It's soooo beautiful and the world is so well made. I love exploring the levels and finding everything it has to offer. I am playing a full stealth game and it's so intense and fun. If I get caught I consider it a failure and reload I haven't had this much fun in a game since Deus Ex: Human Revolution!
  21. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Everything about this game is top notch. The game is gorgeous, the world breathtaking, controls tight, combat solid, attention to detail is incredible, lightening in the game is best i've ever seen in a game so far, game design is awesome, sound design is amazing, narrative draws you in right from the start, voice work and lip synching is great, a lot of effort has been put into the style of the game. Game feels like a moving water color painting. One of the best original game titles to have come out in a long time and one that will be remembered for a long time. Its so refreshing to have such a unique world to explore without constant shooting or combat. The slow pace fits this game perfectly. I never had so much fun playing a "stealth" game so far. This was one of the best game surprises ever, since the game wasn't overhyped like so many other games nowadays. I also like the dark, mysterious tone of the game and the combat is pretty brutal. Definitely check it out if you've been looking for a new. unique world to get lost in and explore. Expand
  22. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing. Its a new take on gaming that we desperately needed in these times of repetitiveness. The art style is unique, scenes and maps amazing. Personally I love the sand box feel and the separated missions much like portal 2. This also lends a hand to those completionists as it assesses your mission stats and you can always work on improving. Maybe the endings leave much to be desired but do we play these games for the story or for the awesome supernatural assassin powers and awesome gameplay? May be a bit easy but up the difficulty and we have a contender for game of the year. I'll rewrite this review after one week to comment on replayability. Expand
  23. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    Replaying through this game is a must. Even within the first level I noticed pathways/things that I completely missed the first time through. So great to see what happens when a company puts so much emphasis on a single player game nowadays. Instead of making a sub-par co-op mode or something they have made the most fun single player experience I have played this year....easily.
  24. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    Thief reinvented. I cannot stress how much fun this game is. I have been looking for a good sequel to Thief but was never given one. After playing this one at least I have a spiritual one. I just wish they had a new game +. Anyways, go support it people, you wont regret it!
  25. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    An amazing open-ended adventure that has renewed my hope in action/adventure games, RPG's, and gaming in general. If you cant enjoy this game, I pity you, for you cant enjoy life.
  26. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    This game is a brilliant breath of fresh air! The art style is unique and beautiful. The world is masterfully crafted and immersing, the city of dunwall is a treat to explore. Oh and amidst this fascinating world is a damn good action game too. This is the new IP i've been waiting for .
  27. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    Never been a big fan of first person but Dishonored has been truly one of the more unique games I have ever played. Very happy I picked this game up and already looking forward to my second play through. Lots of different choices you can make during the game that will affect your story. So awesome.
  28. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    Best new original game of the year for sure. What more is there to say that hasn't alreay been said. It's an epic game that you just have to play to realise how awesome it really is.
  29. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    I am having a really good time with this game. It reminds me of System Shock and Deus Ex but definnitely has its own personality and style. You have so much control over how you proceed with your objectives its crazy. This is a game that demands exploration and experimentation. I definitely recommend it.

    PS: These Abdul fanatics whoever they are need to be IP banned. This is ridiculous.
    These clowns have no lives. Expand
  30. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    AMAZING! crazy gamplay, really enjoyable game that provides a challenge without taking away from the fun of it. many different ways to play and paths to take really adds to the replay value
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    95
    Well, Arkane, you did what so few games have done this generation: you got me to want to come back to play Dishonored annually. Very, very few games have that honor, but I just can't imagine ever getting tried of Dunwall. What a wonderful game.
  2. You can combine Corvos weapons and superpowers in an almost infinite of ways, which can result in some pretty satisfying outcomes. Throw a proximity mine, called a spring razor, on a rat. Then take possession of the rat and walk up to the nearest guard. Then watch the limbs fly. [November 2012, p.66]
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    90
    It is a major accomplishment and for all its ambition it succeeds where it counts, by transporting you to a world and empowering you to do with it you wish, creating unscripted and unexpected moments that feel unique to you. It is at these times that it becomes more than just an enjoyable stealth action game, but something truly special.