Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Sep 18, 2013
    100
    From the new 3D areas, to the completely re-imagined boss battles, there is something for everyone to like in Castle of Illusion. The main game might be a bit short, but you will want to keep going long after Mizrabel is dealt with.
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    A remake that does the original justice, keeping the gameplay traditional and challenging. Highly recommendable for both fans and newcomers who are into platform games.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Nov 6, 2013
    70
    Falls into the trap of sludgy platforming. [Dec 2013, p.94]
  4. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Oct 1, 2013
    70
    Not only do the recognizable levels make a return, the evenly recognizable difficulty makes a comeback. This artificially lengthens an already short game, which makes it very difficult to recommend it to a modern audience. [October 2013 p.95]
  5. Sep 3, 2013
    70
    If you’re a diehard Disney fan in the mood for a short, breezy platformer, this may hit the spot. However, the core gameplay beneath the endearing Disney aesthetic left me wanting more.
  6. Sep 3, 2013
    70
    If the jumping was tightened up a bit, and the difficulty spikes not so big then this could have been one of the best platformers of recent memory.
  7. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Oct 7, 2013
    65
    In almost all other respects Castle of Illusion pales in comparison to the Rayman Legends of the world. We’d also recommend Duck Tales Remastered over this in a heartbeat, too. But if you prefer your platformers easy and protagonists in pants, Castle of Illusion is still worth the price. [November 2013, p85]
  8. Sep 9, 2013
    65
    Castle of Illusion is a surprisingly good platform game, with a distinctive and dreamy art direction. It's a pity that the frame rate affects so badly the gameplay and that it run off of levels in a matter of hours.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Sep 8, 2013
    10
    I can not understand why this game hasn't gotten more praise! Seriously, this is the best platformer I've played since the 90's. OK, it's kindI can not understand why this game hasn't gotten more praise! Seriously, this is the best platformer I've played since the 90's. OK, it's kind of short but if you collect everything it will last for some time. I'd rather have a short, great game than a long one with a lot of padding. The music is incredible, the graphics are SO great and the feel of it is just magical. Great attention to detail, great voices.. everything is just perfect. I prefer this to any Mario game released since Super Mario World, no joke. Full Review »
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    I've played the original game for the first time through the pre-order bonus and enjoyed it so far. The remake is well-made, the graphics areI've played the original game for the first time through the pre-order bonus and enjoyed it so far. The remake is well-made, the graphics are great, the gameplay is creative as the original (and added some more), the soundtrack's outstanding and the voice acts are always fun and good to hear. SEGAStudios Australia did a great job developing this remake. It's not exactly a 10, but a 9,6. People should buy it and support them. Congratulations, folks! Full Review »
  3. Mar 4, 2015
    7
    The original Castle of Illusion was one of the few classic Megadrive platformers that I missed back in the day so this remake was the perfectThe original Castle of Illusion was one of the few classic Megadrive platformers that I missed back in the day so this remake was the perfect chance to catch up! I obviously can't compare it to the original but I do know that this is a fine platformer with a very modern feel. I must admit that when I first played it the controls didn't feel quite right. They're a bit floaty but one I got used to them it wasn't a real problem.
    The graphics are just lovely and the levels burst with colour and personality. Level design is also excellent with plenty of surprises and hidden areas. Switching between 2D and 3D sections as the game does could have been a disaster but works well.
    I ther's any negatives it's the difficulty spikes and shortness of the game however the game is very replayable with lost of things to find and collect.

    Summery
    Good - * It looks beautiful.
    * Enchanting levels.
    *Solid gameplay.
    *Very replayable.

    Bad - *A bit short
    *Difficulty spikes combined with slightly floaty controls and lead to occasional frustration.
    Full Review »