User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 64
  2. Negative: 6 out of 64

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 8, 2013
    10
    I can not understand why this game hasn't gotten more praise! Seriously, this is the best platformer I've played since the 90's. OK, it's kind of short but if you collect everything it will last for some time. I'd rather have a short, great game than a long one with a lot of padding. The music is incredible, the graphics are SO great and the feel of it is just magical. Great attention toI can not understand why this game hasn't gotten more praise! Seriously, this is the best platformer I've played since the 90's. OK, it's kind of short but if you collect everything it will last for some time. I'd rather have a short, great game than a long one with a lot of padding. The music is incredible, the graphics are SO great and the feel of it is just magical. Great attention to detail, great voices.. everything is just perfect. I prefer this to any Mario game released since Super Mario World, no joke. Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    I've played the original game for the first time through the pre-order bonus and enjoyed it so far. The remake is well-made, the graphics are great, the gameplay is creative as the original (and added some more), the soundtrack's outstanding and the voice acts are always fun and good to hear. SEGAStudios Australia did a great job developing this remake. It's not exactly a 10, but a 9,6.I've played the original game for the first time through the pre-order bonus and enjoyed it so far. The remake is well-made, the graphics are great, the gameplay is creative as the original (and added some more), the soundtrack's outstanding and the voice acts are always fun and good to hear. SEGAStudios Australia did a great job developing this remake. It's not exactly a 10, but a 9,6. People should buy it and support them. Congratulations, folks! Expand
  3. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    I absolutely LOVE this game! I've been a gamer since I got my Atari 2600 when I was 6 and even though I had a Sega Genesis, I never played this game back in the day. When this remake was released, I downloaded it mainly so that my 5 year old daughter (who loves Disney) and I could play it together. What a great decision. The game is absolutely beautiful and a joy to look at. It was aI absolutely LOVE this game! I've been a gamer since I got my Atari 2600 when I was 6 and even though I had a Sega Genesis, I never played this game back in the day. When this remake was released, I downloaded it mainly so that my 5 year old daughter (who loves Disney) and I could play it together. What a great decision. The game is absolutely beautiful and a joy to look at. It was a little too tough for my daughter right now, so I basically played the entire thing with her glued to my side the whole time. It took us probably about 4-5 hours to get through, which I thought was the perfect length. Each level is so unique and a complete blast to play. I thought that the controls were tight and easy to handle, and what a joy to play a game with only two buttons for a change! Jump and throw, that's it! The story kept us intrigued and although it wasn't too hard, there were a few sections that almost had me throwing my controller, just like the good ole days. The final boss fight against the witch took me about 15-20 tries, but was extremely satisfying once we beat her. I hadn't played a true platformer in years and forgot how much fun they could be. This was a great purchase for $15 and I highly recommend it to anyone that played the original, anyone that is a big Disney fan, or any father/mother looking to have a fun gaming experience with their son or daughter. The minute that we beat the game we started a second playthrough. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Expand
  4. Sep 3, 2013
    8
    THIS is what a remake should be. They didn't just give an HD polish, they've captured the nostalgia and transformed it into a current standards game. Is this the old Castle of Illusion we all loved on the Sega Genesis back in the old days? Well, Yes AND No. The story is the same, so are the settings, atmosphere, music, enemies, bosses etc. But it does play like a current gen 2D platformer.THIS is what a remake should be. They didn't just give an HD polish, they've captured the nostalgia and transformed it into a current standards game. Is this the old Castle of Illusion we all loved on the Sega Genesis back in the old days? Well, Yes AND No. The story is the same, so are the settings, atmosphere, music, enemies, bosses etc. But it does play like a current gen 2D platformer. The game is gorgeous, the scenarios are beautiful, the mechanics are fairly good, and it's clear nobody rushed here; it's a well crafted "remake". My only complaint regards jumping; it's a bit imprecise and this usually results in cheap deaths. But apart from that this is a total must-have for any gamer in his/hers 30s. The PS3 version even gives the classic Castle for Christ sake! Should not be missed! Expand
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    8
    Not much to say except this remake was what I expected. It wasn't mindblowing awesome, but it was still fun, short (I honestly didn't want it to be long.. could of drug out way too long otherwise), and had a lot of fun areas. The first level though was a joke. lol
  6. Sep 4, 2013
    9
    Lot's of fun, and very clever! Castle of Illusion holds a charm in remakes that is rarely seen. It manages to draw you in with a classic attitude between the narration, and well played music. The gameplay is strong at many points, and not only feels as classic as the original, but can hold it's own weight as a new edition of it's own. The game plays out with a nice combination of 2.5DLot's of fun, and very clever! Castle of Illusion holds a charm in remakes that is rarely seen. It manages to draw you in with a classic attitude between the narration, and well played music. The gameplay is strong at many points, and not only feels as classic as the original, but can hold it's own weight as a new edition of it's own. The game plays out with a nice combination of 2.5D gameplay, and manages to smoothly change to a 360' 3D pace in some points, allowing you to explore more. The boss battles are classic feeling such as the Sega Genesis version, and manages to put a nice spin on things for those who are seeking something fresh feeling. The only gripe i kinda have is at times you will experience cheap hits and deaths if you're not careful. Other than that, Castle of Illusion set's a new level of fun with it's original predecessor and will draw you in with an addicting experience. Highly recommended! Expand
  7. Mar 21, 2017
    8
    I did not play the classic game, but this remastered version is quite good. Even though it may seem a bit childlike, gameplay is addictive enough and it is not too short nor long. Graphics are eye-catching, and music and dialogues work well. It is a recommendable game overall.
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Nov 6, 2013
    70
    Falls into the trap of sludgy platforming. [Dec 2013, p.94]
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Oct 7, 2013
    65
    In almost all other respects Castle of Illusion pales in comparison to the Rayman Legends of the world. We’d also recommend Duck Tales Remastered over this in a heartbeat, too. But if you prefer your platformers easy and protagonists in pants, Castle of Illusion is still worth the price. [November 2013, p85]
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Oct 1, 2013
    70
    Not only do the recognizable levels make a return, the evenly recognizable difficulty makes a comeback. This artificially lengthens an already short game, which makes it very difficult to recommend it to a modern audience. [October 2013 p.95]