Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1280 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In a society infused with demons, only The Order can, in Platonic style, see the world as it truly is. Join Dante in this stylish action experience; chain together multiple combos with flair and send the demonic spawn back to hell – reveal the truth behind the lies. Delve into Dante’s dark past confronting some the most familiar faces in the DmC universe. Harness unimaginable powers combined with Dante’s notorious arsenal of weapons: sword, scythe, axe, pistols and more. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Jan 14, 2013
    100
    Whether you're a longtime fan (with an open mind) or a total newcomer just looking for a solid character action game, it's hard to imagine anyone feeling overly dissatisfied with this new game.
  2. Jan 14, 2013
    90
    A reboot is a chance to revitalize a flagging series, and Ninja Theory has done that with a striking vision for the DMC universe and top-notch combat.
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    90
    When you turn off your brain and let your intuition take over, you become one with Dante in a wild and seductive game you just want to play over when it finally ends.
  4. Jan 14, 2013
    85
    It should be noted, with a certain severity, that the 360 version is clearly superior in this pair. Its PS3 counterpart struggles to keep a steady framerate which is sadly characteristic of PS3 games running on the Unreal Engine.
  5. Mar 12, 2013
    80
    Ninja Theory are calling the DMC shots now and they're doing it well. The fighting mechanics are a little bit easier to master and perhaps not as deep as before, but on the other hand the storytelling is improved with skillfully crafted cutscenes. Put up with a rather dull introduction and you're in for a great game.
  6. Jan 15, 2013
    80
    This is a title that gets most of the important parts right when it comes to an action game. It makes you feel like a bad arse, thanks to the cool-looking combat and easy-to-produce combos, but remains deep to allow people to delve into the system and pull off some wild moves.
  7. Jan 14, 2013
    70
    It's certainly not without its issues, and at this stage in a generation you feel like a game should probably be wielding more graphical clout, but the game's combat more than makes up for it. It's simply brilliant, and you can have a lot of fun trying out the different options it presents you. Once Dante's picked up every weapon there's simply so much available to you, and it's what sets the game apart.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    Quite simply one of the best games of the generation. Relentlessly fast-paced action with cool, relatable characters that will make you laugh, cry and cheer. Dante, our main character, is an edgy, memorable individual who doesn't care about anyone but himself. This makes him an outcast that anyone who's ever had a bit of a 'loner' streak about them will instantly relate to. Have you wanted to scream at the world to *bleep* off? Then this is a character for you. Virgil is anything brilliantly written character, seemingly a cool, calm and collected person he later shows a darker side in his pursuit for freedom. Much like a roller coaster, this ride isn't for children and pregnant women. Only mature gamers such as myself should go on this white-knuckle adventure through purgatory! You would be doing yourself a massive disservice by not buying this game (which has some DLC I already can't wait for!) because of some entitled individuals who can't see the woods for the trees due to their blind rage over something that is different from what they are used to. Give this game a chance. Collapse
  2. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    First the obvious. This is a remake (Remember that word) of an over-rated franchise that desperately needed it. Out of all the hack n slash games as of late such as DMC, God of War, Bayonetta, and Ninja Gaiden......DMC felt the most stale.
    The story was hilariously bad, the character was a pretty boy with long hair and really awful one liners spewing out of his mouth. Like most Japanese make games that are supposively adult he looked like an ugly anime girl with the personality of a 10 year old. The gameplay was solid and the graphics were fine but did not stand out. Capcom knew the franchise was falling behind the others and decided a shot in the arm was needed. So they call Ninja Theory.
    Ninja Theory are known for great production values mostly because of their incredible voice acting, emotion, and characters. They are also known for well recieved but commercial flops. So how did they do/
    Well this is a remake. Most gamers do not grasp that concept. So they have been on the net crying and complaining like teenage girls fighting over a guy. It has been a pathetic display and shows why gamers are considered genetic fumbles, geeks, and outsiders. Many franchises have seen reboot ps over the years and some have failed or succeeded. This one passes the test head over heals but the butthurt punks of the game community really outdid themselves with their metacritic hate and ignorance.
    The story is great. It sticks close enough to the original while taking out the ignorant banter most Japanese games in this genre are known for. In other words anyone can follow along and enjoy it. It has some great cutscenes to tell the story and move the narrative alone. Amazingly people have complained about this. (Metal Gear 4 gets a free pass though.....) It is easily the first DMC where I paid attention to what was going on.
    The difficulty took a step back but you can open up harder difficulties and the hard ones do pose a challenge.
    The gameplay is standard hack n slash and like a good reboot should, you develope more powers, combos, and such as you go. Like Ninja Theories other game Heavenly Sword, you have to use face button and trigger combos to switch weapon attacks. Takes getting used too. One cool thing that was added is the ability to ty out and switch out combo attacks.
    Dante is a likable character as well as the supporting cast. Some bosses make a return and again.....even though it is a remake the community cried. The choices were good with the bosses included but some of the fights are all too standard with what has already been done for the genre.
    The sound in more western metal instead of Japanese hair metal. It is more rugged and hard edged. The voice work is great which should be expected and the sound effects are well done. Nothing to complain about.
    The graphics and art are in my opinion the best in any hack n slash game that has been released. Not as technical as God of War 3 but the world is incredible. The rifts, shifting, lighting, and film grain and blups in the transfermation into limbo is awesome. Limbo is a screwed up place but the look is awesome. The first level was a shock to the senses and I actually had to train my eye to the art. Amazingly done.
    I do have a few complaints. The levels while they are cool does not get better as they go. They stay consistant but I was hoping for a big final. The boss fights as stated earlier are nothing new. A few on the character exchanges seem forced for shock value but it is miles ahead of the past titles. And finally some of the jumping movements, especially the air dashing can be a bit tricky.
    One last thing. I have seen a lot of crying about Dante saying "No way!" to the white wig during the game. I thought it was hilarious and was a direct attack on the babies who have cried foul this who cried foul the whole time. It said 2 things. 1- This is not the same DMC and 2- Ninja Theory has heard the cries and stayed course with their own vision. Any good dev worth their salt would of did the same thing.
    Well done Ninja Theory. The best hack n slash since Ninja Gaiden Black and a big middle finger to the drama queens.
    Expand
  3. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    The gameplay for DmC is amazing. It’s much easier now to keep a combo going and seeing as your ranking doesn’t keep on dropping (once you haven’t hit an enemy in a while but are still in combat) its not a bad thing, but obtaining those “SSS” rankings at the end of a mission still gives you a great sense of achievement and just further proves how awesome you are at this game. Enemies in the game do vary and honestly make you want to switch between every single weapon (in the majority of fights) to keep building your combo and just improve your overall skills in the game. Platforming is a major factor in DmC, and seeing as you have angel and demon powers, you do actually feel more like a powerful demon rather than in every previous Devil May Cry game. I love gilding through the air and on to platforms and avoiding enemies moves using the angel evade. The devil powers just make you feel like a powerful badass and you can easily destroy most enemies in the game just by using your devil powers (bar the ones that require angel abilities to be killed). Your primary weapons are Rebellion and Ivory (granted Ebony Ivory are the weakest weapons in the game and are pretty much useless). I rarely found myself using the primary weapons at any point after the second mission. DmC actually has a story that you can follow and its a pretty decent story for a hack slash game. I’m not going to spoil anything, but if you’ve played any Devil May Cry game before then the same old stands that Vergil is the main villain in the game and more or less always will be. That’s probably the one thing that “true Devil May Cry fans” will approve of. Its also a perfectly paced game and it never gives you one dull moment, you just power up through the first few levels, enjoy great platforming sections, good boss battles and then have some good cutscenes in between.

    I honestly wasn’t looking forward to this game seeing how much of a disappointment Devil May Cry 4 was, but I ended up loving it and so far I have replayed it 6 times and have 1000G’d it and even though the levels eventually become the same old same old, I always had to go back and gather all the collectables and then completing the hardest difficulty in the game which is “Hell and Hell” mode. There are also 21 secret mission to be completed, some of them are challenging but honestly they just give you more value to the overall experience and replay value that you will get out of DmC. Needless to say, I can’t wait for Ninja Theory’s next instalment in this DmC reboot.
    Expand
  4. Jan 26, 2013
    7
    Like most of the fans, I'm not the biggest fan of Dante's new look. But I decided to give the game a chance anyway. And it was...not bad. I didn't love it as much as the previous games, sure. But most of that was because I liked the characters of the former games more. Dante seems to have been made to appeal to today's "edgy" teenagers, and any time I started to grow slightly fond of him he spewed a line that instantly made me hate him again, and just made me miss old Dante's one-liner and not so serious attitude. But oddly enough, he wasn't the character I hated the most (though he's definitely a close second.). Nah, that had to be Kat. She was pretty useless at the start of the game, only being used to get in and out of Limbo, and mostly seemed to be shoved in as a half-hearted love-interest for Dante. The other characters weren't really much to write about either, and I missed it when Mundus was an all-powerful god-like demon. Not just one with a god complex. But enough **** about the characters. The things I did like was Limbo, a lot of the levels were very well designed and very cleverly made. Hell, I actually loved the platform sections! Things I usually despise in my hack-and-slash game. Another thing I loved was the combat, switching between angelic and demonic weapons was fluid and I was able to make some truly epic combos! Unfortunately, it was also rather easy to reach SSS level in style, and to stay on it too. You see, the meter only seems to deplete when you get hit, instead of it draining while you did nothing like in the old games. And if you pay a little attention, you can dodge the hits of most enemies easily. But later on, the combat became a bit annoying. They put two hard-hitting miniboss games together to make combat "harder", but not in a fun, challenging way, just...annoying. The boss fights were also pretty fun, but not really all that hard (and I swear that one came straight out of a Futurama episode), except for the last one. The last boss fight...fine, I won't spoil it. But it was damn awesome! As for the plot in general? Well, let's face it. The plot in the older games was always a little vague...This time, the plot is a little clearer! Allthough not all that memorable. And the writing? The dialogue was pretty awful if you asked me, I don't know if it was the voice acting or just the weak writing but the dialogue between Kat and Dante as they walk to the Slu-, erm, Virility factory made me cringe, and all the F-bombs Dante has to drop to seem like a grown man just make me want to punch him in the face... All in all, DmC is not a bad game. And although it doesn't deserve the glowing praise that some Critics give it, it certainly doesn't deserve the 0, 1 and 2 scores it gets on Metacritic either. I'd say it deserves a 7, at least for Limbo, the Combat and some of the Bosses. But the Characters and Writing can definitely use some improvement. (Oh, and PS. The Devil Trigger was SH!T, not only didn't you turn into some crazy angel/demon hybrid. It also lasted way too short.) Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2013
    4
    This is a bad game. When I first started it up the intro had me expecting a great experience. The games darker and stylish edge looked intriguing, and I was ready for the game to suck me in. But the moment I assumed control of Dante and battled my first enemy all optimism was sucked out of me. The combat just feels so lifeless and hollow, which is sad because it had the potential to be a thrilling experience because you have access to all your weapons at once and can switch between them at any time during combat which can lead to some pretty insane combos. But the combat just isn't fun and ruined the entire experience for me. On the plus side the game looks and sounds great, and the story is backed by fantastic voice acting. The story is interesting but ends on a dull note, and as for the new interpretation of Dante (oh, in case you didn't know, this is a reboot) I personally enjoyed his new style and personality. I really wanted to like this game, and honestly I was expecting to, but the boring combat brings down the whole experience. I liked the story, style, and the new Dante, they all just deserve a better game. Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2013
    2
    I will start with the positive, DmC is definitely an improvement over Enslaved. But that is the wrong game !

    The battle is generic hack en
    slash without a hint of challenge.
    It doesn't hold a candle to Bayonetta or DMC 4, let alone DMC 3.
    Instead of the dark, imposing gothic art direction you get the hipster version.
    Extremely immature dialogues.
    The gfx are worse than those of DMC 4.

    You can waste your money but you have been warned.
    Expand
  7. Apr 8, 2013
    0
    Unlike some die-hard DMC fans I couldn't care less what the main character looks like, the things that always interested me in this series is it's atmosphere and gameplay. I also can't deny loving Dante's attitude, especially in DMC 1&3.To me the series itself had always had it's own flair (even the less popular DMC2) which made me choose to buy the game time and time again.
    However DmC has absolutely nothing to do with Devil May Cry and it simply pains me to see such a game be considered as part of the series. I can't say that DmC is a complete fail or anything but playing it get's boring very easily, even though it's quite well-made(excluding graphics and slightly lame fighting).For me it turned out to be a waste of money
    Frankly, DmC could of even been made a masterpiece but if it does not have the atmosphere and the unique feel of Devil May Cry then why on Earth would anyone attach it to this series? The game would of probably done better on it's own with it's own audience that evidently prefers a post apocalyptic, slightly emo and punky attitude to the gothic, stylish and playfully one shown in Devil May Cry..(plus the crazy fights!!!!Oh,God I miss them...)
    Expand

See all 386 User Reviews