Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1397 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In a society infused with demons, only The Order can, in Platonic style, see the world as it truly is. Join Dante in this stylish action experience; chain together multiple combos with flair and send the demonic spawn back to hell – reveal the truth behind the lies. Delve into Dante’s darkIn a society infused with demons, only The Order can, in Platonic style, see the world as it truly is. Join Dante in this stylish action experience; chain together multiple combos with flair and send the demonic spawn back to hell – reveal the truth behind the lies. Delve into Dante’s dark past confronting some the most familiar faces in the DmC universe. Harness unimaginable powers combined with Dante’s notorious arsenal of weapons: sword, scythe, axe, pistols and more. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Jan 14, 2013
    100
    Whether you're a longtime fan (with an open mind) or a total newcomer just looking for a solid character action game, it's hard to imagine anyone feeling overly dissatisfied with this new game.
  2. Jan 14, 2013
    90
    A reboot is a chance to revitalize a flagging series, and Ninja Theory has done that with a striking vision for the DMC universe and top-notch combat.
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    90
    When you turn off your brain and let your intuition take over, you become one with Dante in a wild and seductive game you just want to play over when it finally ends.
  4. Jan 14, 2013
    85
    It should be noted, with a certain severity, that the 360 version is clearly superior in this pair. Its PS3 counterpart struggles to keep a steady framerate which is sadly characteristic of PS3 games running on the Unreal Engine.
  5. Mar 12, 2013
    80
    Ninja Theory are calling the DMC shots now and they're doing it well. The fighting mechanics are a little bit easier to master and perhaps not as deep as before, but on the other hand the storytelling is improved with skillfully crafted cutscenes. Put up with a rather dull introduction and you're in for a great game.
  6. Jan 15, 2013
    80
    This is a title that gets most of the important parts right when it comes to an action game. It makes you feel like a bad arse, thanks to the cool-looking combat and easy-to-produce combos, but remains deep to allow people to delve into the system and pull off some wild moves.
  7. Jan 14, 2013
    70
    It's certainly not without its issues, and at this stage in a generation you feel like a game should probably be wielding more graphical clout, but the game's combat more than makes up for it. It's simply brilliant, and you can have a lot of fun trying out the different options it presents you. Once Dante's picked up every weapon there's simply so much available to you, and it's what sets the game apart.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    Quite simply one of the best games of the generation. Relentlessly fast-paced action with cool, relatable characters that will make you laugh,Quite simply one of the best games of the generation. Relentlessly fast-paced action with cool, relatable characters that will make you laugh, cry and cheer. Dante, our main character, is an edgy, memorable individual who doesn't care about anyone but himself. This makes him an outcast that anyone who's ever had a bit of a 'loner' streak about them will instantly relate to. Have you wanted to scream at the world to *bleep* off? Then this is a character for you. Virgil is anything brilliantly written character, seemingly a cool, calm and collected person he later shows a darker side in his pursuit for freedom. Much like a roller coaster, this ride isn't for children and pregnant women. Only mature gamers such as myself should go on this white-knuckle adventure through purgatory! You would be doing yourself a massive disservice by not buying this game (which has some DLC I already can't wait for!) because of some entitled individuals who can't see the woods for the trees due to their blind rage over something that is different from what they are used to. Give this game a chance. Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    Now, I don't say this often. But this is, simply put, the best game I ever played in my life.

    I've played lots of games. Tons amongst tons,
    Now, I don't say this often. But this is, simply put, the best game I ever played in my life.

    I've played lots of games. Tons amongst tons, but nothing ever drew me in like DmC: Devil May Cry did. The soundtrack is outstanding. With dubstep pieces from Nero and nice Metal from Combichrist. Both of these artist combined to make a soundtrack that pumps the game to a whole new level. The gameplay is at the top. It's simply the epitome of "Perfection". With a slash here and a fist slam there, all moves flow together to create a symphony of SSSensational combos. The story is also well made. The demons run the world through the media. From bankers to news reporters, every character shines brightly, even though, they're quite dark themselves. Dante, being revamped and all, is wonderful. Being a potty-mouth suits his look and style. His one-liners are also very amusing as well. There's never a dull moment with him. Vergil and Kat are really great supporting characters too. Kat is a nice semi-love interest and Vergil is one of those guys who you know will show his true colors later on. All in all, the game is simply PERFECT and everything flows together in one stream of fluid, swift and sweet goodness of a third-person action adventure game. Pick this game up, you won't regret it.
    Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    I was very skeptical about DmC. Frankly, I was mostly ambivalent about the original titles and I thought the reboot concept was beneath NinjaI was very skeptical about DmC. Frankly, I was mostly ambivalent about the original titles and I thought the reboot concept was beneath Ninja Theory's taste-level. Rarely am I this happy to have been so wrong. I finally "get" the beauty of the original elements, while Ninja Theory busted their ass to take the existing themes and elevate them to a new level. Let me just say this - give this game an hour of your time and it will make you a believer. Give it another hour and it will make you a fan. Oh, and PS - Never before have I seen a game have to endure this level of trolling... criticisms of DmC are glaringly vague and stubbornly tired. Really? All of you bought the game on release day, played it through, and came to the conclusion that it sucked? Why do I find that so suspicious? How about you stop clutching your pearls over all the cosmetic changes and kiss Ninja Theory's ass for fixing your otherwise B Grade franchise. Expand
  4. Nov 27, 2014
    7
    The combat makes it a seven.

    Few games have such stylish and complex combat. It's fun to play but the puzzle are too easy, the story
    The combat makes it a seven.

    Few games have such stylish and complex combat.

    It's fun to play but the puzzle are too easy, the story leaves much to be desired and the monster designs are bland.
    Expand
  5. Feb 11, 2013
    4
    WARNING: THIS IS A REVIEW FROM SOMEONE THAT HAS NEVER PLAYED A DMC GAME BEFORE.
    Pretty graphics, but crap gameplay. Basically, the same as
    WARNING: THIS IS A REVIEW FROM SOMEONE THAT HAS NEVER PLAYED A DMC GAME BEFORE.
    Pretty graphics, but crap gameplay. Basically, the same as every other Ninja Theory game. This game has an identity crisis. It tries to be both Ninja Gaiden and God of War at the same time, yet fails at being as good as either of those games. It tries to be a visceral, gory hack and slash like God of War, but the combat feels far too floaty and unsubstantial experience. It also tries to be Ninja Gaiden with it's end of mission scoring, but this game is just not difficult enough to actually feel any sense of accomplishment from getting a high score. And I know people will mention the mode where Dante dies in one hit, but honestly that's just an artificial inflation of the difficulty, unlike the enemy AI being substantially improved. The platforming sections are too long and are frankly boring. The story, well, it's definitely no God of War in that department. The story seems to have been inspired by teen supernatural dramas, such as Buffy the Vampire Slayer or Angel. I'm not into any of those shows, but if you are, you'd probably enjoy DmC. The game also includes a lot of Leftist propaganda, slamming things such as Fox News and the Republican Party (of which I am a member). Obviously, this was not to my liking. I prefer that politics do not enter my video games. Thank you very much. Clearly, I wouldn't recommend this video game for any one, except hardcore liberals.
    Expand
  6. Jan 17, 2013
    2
    I just finished the game, which kind of became a drag later on. Something I would have never expected from a Devil May Cry game.

    Most of
    I just finished the game, which kind of became a drag later on. Something I would have never expected from a Devil May Cry game.

    Most of the cutscenes and writing was just atrocious. I found myself lowering the volume during cutscenes because I got ashamed of al the profanity, mind you, I was playing ALONE.

    Pro's

    - I liked some of the music, though the placement was way off sometimes. - Some platforming was ok, better than most Devil May Cry games.
    - Wonderful enviromental design

    Cons:"

    - Juvenile and shallow writing
    - bad story - characters are 1 dimensional as can be
    - character design is just plain bad
    - combat got boring really fast
    - game focusses on enemy's that need different weapons to take down later on in the game. This sacrifices creativity and combat freedom. The meaning of Devil May Cry games, if you ask me.
    - No replay value whatsoever
    - It's just waay to easy

    I honestly dont get all the great scores by reviewers, did they even play the game. Did they ever play a Devil May Cry game? All my hope in gaming journalism is gone, as of now.
    Expand
  7. Feb 8, 2013
    0
    Jarring, amateurish, ill conceived rendition of an iconic franchise with shallow unbalanced and broken combat, insulting art style/design,Jarring, amateurish, ill conceived rendition of an iconic franchise with shallow unbalanced and broken combat, insulting art style/design, weak dialogue, story and voice acting.

    A truly terrible game with the Devil May Cry name added on to it. A shocking example of how not to handle Devil May Cry.
    Expand

See all 402 User Reviews