Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Dec 13, 2013
    70
    The idea was making something different, and they have indeed made so. It's one of those games that deserves a try, even though the concept should have been polished to avoid repetitiveness.
  2. Dec 12, 2013
    70
    Humorous, innovative and brave. This is Doki-Doki Universe, a digital download experiment for Playstation users who like new and irreverent games.
  3. Dec 10, 2013
    70
    It’s a fun and fascinating game even if it isn’t especially memorable. Bugs notwithstanding, it’s a tough game not to be at least swooned by. It managed to get a number of laughs and awws out of me more often than the groans.
  4. Jan 23, 2014
    65
    Doki Doki Universe is enjoyable for the first hour. After that, it becomes unbearably repetitive.
  5. Dec 16, 2013
    65
    Doki-Doki Universe is a really particular indie game that tries to offer something new and unique, but is stopped by the lack of depth of its gameplay mechanics.
  6. Dec 10, 2013
    65
    While I applaud the attempt at breaking new ground and enjoyed the imaginative presentation, Doki-Doki Universe ultimately misses the mark when it comes to engaging gameplay.
  7. Jan 23, 2014
    60
    A charming adventure/ puzzle game that suffers from the "DLC syndrome", repetition and some major bugs.
  8. Dec 10, 2013
    50
    As feel-good as Doki-Doki Universe is, there’s not much going on under the surface.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 4 out of 17
  1. Sep 7, 2014
    1
    now this game crashes a lot. it has some fun to offer but doesn't last long for me. learning about humanity from those who are not humans??now this game crashes a lot. it has some fun to offer but doesn't last long for me. learning about humanity from those who are not humans?? kinda stupid and trust me, the game gets boring when you get going. so this doesn't deserve a good score IMO. i give it a 1/10. Full Review »
  2. Aug 6, 2014
    10
    Very fun. Not vanilla or bland. More Ben and jerries gone wild and creative. I'm a hardcore gAmer and so is my wife. We play variety of gamesVery fun. Not vanilla or bland. More Ben and jerries gone wild and creative. I'm a hardcore gAmer and so is my wife. We play variety of games together as do our kids. Skyrim , last if us minecraft Okami ni no kuni and now DOKI DOKI. Also battlefield 4 persona games far cry Full Review »
  3. Jul 16, 2014
    4
    You know what? I really wanted to give this game a good score. I really did. I was originally planning to give this game an 8, for sheerYou know what? I really wanted to give this game a good score. I really did. I was originally planning to give this game an 8, for sheer creativity. However, sheer creativity does not excuse some of the worst optimization I've ever seen in a single game, much less a 2-D one. For example, if you have more than 2-3 large objects on the screen at one time, the frame rate drops sharply. It feels more like a slideshow than a game.

    Along with that, the game has a horrible tendency to crash. A lot. For some people, this was never an issue. For others, it crashed every fifteen minutes or so. Not actually exaggerating on that one. I timed it. Ultimately, it's up to you, but there are far better "interesting" games out there that have better optimization.
    Full Review »