User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 89
  2. Negative: 28 out of 89

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 24, 2012
    8
    About the reviewer: I'm 30 years old and grew up with PCs and consoles of all sorts, starting with the Coleco Vision in 1983. I love emulators as they take me back, but you'll never see me playing a classic NES game for more than an hour at a time. I'll admit I've been spoiled by the latest developments in gaming technology, but I still respect older games for the nostalgic value. InAbout the reviewer: I'm 30 years old and grew up with PCs and consoles of all sorts, starting with the Coleco Vision in 1983. I love emulators as they take me back, but you'll never see me playing a classic NES game for more than an hour at a time. I'll admit I've been spoiled by the latest developments in gaming technology, but I still respect older games for the nostalgic value. In summary, I'm not a self-entitled brat and I am capable of reviewing games in the context of the time they were released.

    Onto the review: Doom 3 BFG edition is getting a lot of scathing reviews and I've noticed that many of these reviews contain false information. If you dislike a game, ok, but don't make up false info to support your whine-fest.

    I played Doom 3 on a very beefy PC when it came out. I loved every second of it. I'm a huge horror fan and it takes a LOT to scare me... but doom 3 knew what scared me. Though I was aware of the shortcomings in gameplay (repetitive combat, monster closets, etc), I still thought it was a masterpiece and a milestone in gaming technology. So how does it hold up today? PRETTY DARN WELL.

    It's no secret that this 8 year old game is showing its age in the graphics department, but it still looks good. Damn good. Doom 3 is all about lighting and a creepy atmosphere and I was blown away at how much this game still made me jump when I played the BFG edition. If mindless shooting and sudden jump scares are your bag, this game WILL deliver.

    In regards to this new edition, I will attempt to document the changes and honestly as I possibly can:

    Graphics: YES, the textures have been beefed up, regardless of what a lot of brats on here are saying. They are sharper, clearer, and some detail has been added (pock marks for skin, facial hair, etc). The character models, however, haven't been touched. No matter, they still look decent. Just don't expect "Crysis". Let's face it, the character models weren't exactly mind-blowing when Doom 3 was released in 2004, but again, this is a game about lighting and atmosphere. While I'm talking about lighting, it must be mentioned that the game's look has been brightened somewhat, which is a double-edged sword. Lights are now more vibrant both in brightness and color vividness. When lights shine, they shine beautifully, but they shine almost a bit too much. This game is supposed to be dark. Brightening the environments has inadvertently taken away some of the fear element, but it wasn't a big deal. It's also worth mentioning that the game DOES in fact run at a beautiful 60 frames per second (I understand Bethesda and ID had announced that they were having a hard time achieving this on the PS3. Evidently, that's been remedied). I did notice a small amount of screen tearing at various points, but these occurrences were few and far between. In regards to shadowing, it's all intact save for the flashlight effect (which is now a part of your armor, meaning you can shoot and light at the same time. For those who have never played Doom 3, you previously had to swap between your flashlight or weapon depending on the situation). Flashlights no longer cast shadows via obstructing objects. Not sure why they removed this, but I didn't even notice it until about halfway through the game so no big loss.

    Sound: I keep hearing a ton of reports saying that many of the sound effects are missing. FALSE. I counted ONE instance of a missing sound, and I'm glad they removed it. There were only so many times I could hear the words "VIDEO LINK UP REQUESTED! VIDEO LINK UP REQUESTED!". Overall, the game sounds great in 5.1, though many of the sound effects have been mixed down a bit so they're not so jarring. Again, this is a double-edged sword. It's an easier game to listen to now but some of the impact is gone, though I must admit to always feeling the sound effects were too loud in the original release.

    Save feature: This one is a bit annoying. The game advertised a new checkpoint system. What we actually get is an occasional auto-save that takes much longer than it should (10-15 seconds actually). Manually saving your game takes the same amount of time and requires you to go into the menu. Not sure why this couldn't be improved. Even the old Xbox port of this game had a quicksave button...

    Package: Doom 1, 2, 3, 3's expansion, and an extra small campaign. That's a lot of playing time. This really is a full package and if you're a Doom 3 fan, you'll have an orgasm. If you aren't a Doom 3 fan, what right do you have reviewing a special edition of a game you don't like in the first place? Bugger off. Summary: I reviewed this game without comparing it to shooters of today, which is how it should be reviewed. That said, Doom 3 DOES still hold up. I was 100% honest about everything documented and had no intention of misleading you. If Doom 3 isn't for you, fine. Go back and review the original release.
    Expand
  2. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    This Game was TOP NOTCH, Multiplayer not much playin YET but the game will be a great filler when waiting for doom 4, this game is a must buy you get Spoiled for the price you pay and thats what i love the most
  3. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    I am a 32 year old gamer who hasn't played the original DOOM or DOOM 2 in years. I own a PS3 and I don't have a gaming PC, so I never got to play DOOM 3. So, the release of the BFG edition on PS3 is something I've been waiting for a long time. When I got it, I loaded up and played the first two DOOM games and they look and feel great. I had been intending to only play the original DOOMI am a 32 year old gamer who hasn't played the original DOOM or DOOM 2 in years. I own a PS3 and I don't have a gaming PC, so I never got to play DOOM 3. So, the release of the BFG edition on PS3 is something I've been waiting for a long time. When I got it, I loaded up and played the first two DOOM games and they look and feel great. I had been intending to only play the original DOOM for ten minutes or so and move one, but I dug it so much I kept playing. When I tried out DOOM 3 for the first time, I thought it was great. It moved as fast and smooth as Rage (which I own and think is highly under-appreciated). If you love DOOM, buy this. Expand
  4. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    These negative reviews are whats poor here not the game itself. I personally have purchased and own a copy of Doom BFG edition(because I doubt the ones who have negatively reviewed it even own it) Now to the review. This game is well worth your time and money especially if you don't own previous versions of doom and only own a console. Personally I own a console and this was a perfect wayThese negative reviews are whats poor here not the game itself. I personally have purchased and own a copy of Doom BFG edition(because I doubt the ones who have negatively reviewed it even own it) Now to the review. This game is well worth your time and money especially if you don't own previous versions of doom and only own a console. Personally I own a console and this was a perfect way to get my doom on. 40 dollars for Doom 3 and two expansions, doom and doom 2 with everything and multiplayer and trophies included with all of them? WHAT MORE WILL IT TAKE TO PLEASE YOU JADED **** Its cheap and you sure as hell get more than enough content provided! Not only that but they also bumped up the frame rate to a smooth 60 fps from a weak 20 fps but they also created a new expansion pack for a 8 year old game! I think it was very generous of them to release this for the PS3 and I thank them for letting me replay these games for only 40 dollars. Its well worth the money and notice how I am reviewing the PS3 copy, so I already understand that it was pretty useless for them to release it for PC. The controls are good, the game runs smoothly I have not run into problems, and it is insanely fun even to this day. The only issues you will encounter is the multiplayer hiccups a tad and not many people play the old doom games online sadly. Which speaking of the old doom games the biggest draw back and hopefully this will be patched is in order to switch from old doom back to main menu you have to shut down the entire game, but by now most of us are used to that because of games like God of war hd collection and jak and daxter hd and so on. All in all you love ID games? You love Doom? Support this release, let them know we are ready for Doom 4! Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2012
    9
    This is a great game, only made greater by the inclusion of of Doom and Doom II. this is not just a game, but a piece of gaming history. this was a first day buy for me. i don't understand the reason for such bad user reviews. you have to understand that Doom is the reason that FPSs exist, and why they are so lucrative. before MW, Halo, Killzone,... there was Doom. great price for so much content.
  6. Oct 17, 2012
    9
    This is my opinion on Doom 3 only. Just gotta say that the negative reviews on this game are a load of garbage! This game is great! Brings back memories from when I first played Doom 3 eight years ago. I was really excited for the game back then and still excited now. Doom 3 was the reason I upgraded my PC all those years back. This version is by far the best version. The upgradedThis is my opinion on Doom 3 only. Just gotta say that the negative reviews on this game are a load of garbage! This game is great! Brings back memories from when I first played Doom 3 eight years ago. I was really excited for the game back then and still excited now. Doom 3 was the reason I upgraded my PC all those years back. This version is by far the best version. The upgraded mechanics with being able to use the flashlight simultaneously with your guns make this a lot less frustrating. On the contrary though, it does also take away from some of the suspense. Graphics look great. Game runs extremely smooth. Sound is awesome. I have read on other reviews that they think the sound is horrible, I really don't know how their sound set-up is. I am lucky enough to be listening to the game through the 5.1 DTS settings and it is amazing! There are some drawbacks that I've noticed so far. Options are lack-luster. No way to change key bindings. No toggle crouch (don't recall if that was a feature eight years ago or not). Sometimes the auto save is inappropriately placed. The facial animation is a little dated, but the game is an older game. For $40 this is a great deal! Scary and fun, you can't go wrong. Expand
  7. dpc
    Mar 17, 2013
    10
    I'm loving this. Makes me feel like I did when I played the original way back when. The negative reviews are asinine from spoiled brats who expect the galaxy when they're already given the moon. The HD upgrade is excellent. The sound is spectacular. The graphics are very good yes, they show they're age, but they were outstanding when Doom 3 was released and they're just as good now. It'sI'm loving this. Makes me feel like I did when I played the original way back when. The negative reviews are asinine from spoiled brats who expect the galaxy when they're already given the moon. The HD upgrade is excellent. The sound is spectacular. The graphics are very good yes, they show they're age, but they were outstanding when Doom 3 was released and they're just as good now. It's Doom. Isn't that what we wanted? Maybe the negative critics were expecting a 2012 overhaul to be more like Call of Duty. This simple, faithful game play is absolutely addicting, scary and beyond fun just like Doom 1 and 2. You won't be disappointed. Unless you have a giant pole up your butt. Expand
  8. Oct 18, 2012
    9
    I never played the original doom 3 + dlc so for that alone this was worth the price of admission for me. The original two dooms are still epic to this day as well and the entire package at least for me was money well spent. However it does have issues like horrible graphics on doom 3, bad loading times/save system, horrible multiplayer (due to only 4 players max) and other small annoyancesI never played the original doom 3 + dlc so for that alone this was worth the price of admission for me. The original two dooms are still epic to this day as well and the entire package at least for me was money well spent. However it does have issues like horrible graphics on doom 3, bad loading times/save system, horrible multiplayer (due to only 4 players max) and other small annoyances here and there. Expand
  9. Oct 18, 2012
    9
    Grimdandelo a obvious troll. Going to each and every system release and rating it 0? get out fo here. I picked it up for PC and 360... its a great bundle on PC if youve never played the original games, and its well polished. But it really shines on the console, especially for those of us who played the Xbox original Doom 3 that was watered down from its PC counterpart.... this one reallyGrimdandelo a obvious troll. Going to each and every system release and rating it 0? get out fo here. I picked it up for PC and 360... its a great bundle on PC if youve never played the original games, and its well polished. But it really shines on the console, especially for those of us who played the Xbox original Doom 3 that was watered down from its PC counterpart.... this one really should make you smile and see what you missed if your into modding, then i'd say stick with the original releases on PC. If not, then this release is for you, and is one nicely polished bundle collection

    If your on console, definetely don't miss this release... go buy it.

    Also, the 3D effects are great... some of the best I've seen in a game that supports 3D. A definete must buy!
    Expand
  10. Nov 11, 2012
    7
    I really enjoyed playing the 2 original versions on this game as i knew i would but was a bit disappointed with the clunky 3rd version of doom. the game was fun and deserves a 7 on the first 2 games alone. if it was just the new version on the disc i would rate this 3 out of 10 which is a shame as i was really excited about a new doom.
  11. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    How is this NOT a greatly-reviewed and appreciated Disc? It contains three REVOLUTIONARY games plus additional new content, and all of it has been extremely well-upgraded and faithfully remastered. And even if you don't like the game (or games) in the first place, you should at least be honest about how vital they were (and are) in terms of their influence on the gaming world in general.How is this NOT a greatly-reviewed and appreciated Disc? It contains three REVOLUTIONARY games plus additional new content, and all of it has been extremely well-upgraded and faithfully remastered. And even if you don't like the game (or games) in the first place, you should at least be honest about how vital they were (and are) in terms of their influence on the gaming world in general.

    DOOM NATION!!! oh, and for the record--Doom the movie is underrated: it's such a great guilty pleasure movie cuz it's basically just a ton of creepiness locked in constant battle with badass soldiers led by the Rock. what were you expecting, The Godfather or 2001: A Space Odyssey? bottom line: Doom rules and so does Doom II. Finally, Doom 3 is the champion; it is a masterpiece of fear-inducing action meshed with an authentically creepy atmosphere.
    Expand
  12. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    I remember playing doom back in the early 90s on the PC and played Doom 3 on the original xbox back in the mid 2000s . so i am a doom fan. Doom 3 is a love it or hate it with some people since the formula is changed from a run in guns a blazing tons of enemies to more of a horror game with less enemies and more focused on them trying to sneask up on you. I personally liked the new take onI remember playing doom back in the early 90s on the PC and played Doom 3 on the original xbox back in the mid 2000s . so i am a doom fan. Doom 3 is a love it or hate it with some people since the formula is changed from a run in guns a blazing tons of enemies to more of a horror game with less enemies and more focused on them trying to sneask up on you. I personally liked the new take on doom but can certainly respect thoose who did not like the new take on it. the collection comes with Doom 1 , 2 ,3 , and Doom 3s expansion pack that gives the game more closure and the lost levels. Thats alot of stuff for $40 and i got mine on a black friday deal for $20 so i got mine at a real deal. Even though Doom 3 is a great game it shows its age even with the HD upgrade . What ID should have done is just slap some updated graphics on this baby. Also the lost levels just kinds sucked and is some thing you most likely will only play once.Also the load times just suck i don't know why they take so long and even saving seems to take for ever. even as is its worth picking up if you are a doom fan as there is alot there to keep you busy for the price. Expand
  13. Dec 20, 2012
    7
    Um.... yeah. It was fun playing 1&2 for a couple hours, and I totally enjoyed 4 hours of 3 hours but after that you are simply running corridor to corridor like the CWYHCO (chicken with....). I don't know what to do anymore. Do I keep running around aimlessly or do I just give up. It was fun while it lasted and I'm sure I'll throw it in again. That's why it gets a good score. But it's notUm.... yeah. It was fun playing 1&2 for a couple hours, and I totally enjoyed 4 hours of 3 hours but after that you are simply running corridor to corridor like the CWYHCO (chicken with....). I don't know what to do anymore. Do I keep running around aimlessly or do I just give up. It was fun while it lasted and I'm sure I'll throw it in again. That's why it gets a good score. But it's not gonna set the world on fire. Expand
  14. Oct 28, 2012
    7
    Do you love Doom? If the answer is "yes", then Doom 3 BFG edition is a no-brainer. This package contains the original Doom, Doom 2 and Doom 3. The first two Doom games are bonafide classics. Sticking to the formula it invented, the original Doom titles stick you in a series of ever increasing mazes with more cannon-fodder than you can shake a chaingun at. Utterly timeless, they are as muchDo you love Doom? If the answer is "yes", then Doom 3 BFG edition is a no-brainer. This package contains the original Doom, Doom 2 and Doom 3. The first two Doom games are bonafide classics. Sticking to the formula it invented, the original Doom titles stick you in a series of ever increasing mazes with more cannon-fodder than you can shake a chaingun at. Utterly timeless, they are as much fun to play today as they were upon their initial release. What's more, this package lets you play them on the couch! Doom 3 is also pretty fun. Because it's much more complex, the game's antiquated FPS style is a bit more jarring than the first two titles and lacks their immediate retro charm. That said, if you can get past the last-generation mechanics (which I could), Doom 3 makes for an atmospheric corridor shooter. A lot is made of this package's lack of extras and whatnot. Personally speaking, I don't care about that. I'm just super happy to be able to play Doom 1 & 2 on my sofa and I never actually got around to playing Doom 3 when it was new, so I'm chuffed to finally get the opportunity. Doom 3 BFG edition is recommended heartily to every game-fan that doesn't already have (multiple) copies of the originals. Expand
  15. Oct 24, 2012
    10
    This game is AWESOME! Doom 3 looks amazing. The lighting effects are 2nd to NONE! Some people don't like this game because it does not play like Call of Duty. Those people are idiots. Ok, so you can't look down the sights of your gun, that's ok, they come with laser pointers. It really is a great action packed game. No leveling up, no upgrading weapons. Just pure run and gun fun.
  16. Oct 20, 2012
    10
    Ya lo he jugado y debo decir que no me a decepcionado, es justo lo que queria DOOM en ps3 y con ello quiero decir DOOM completo, doom 1 doom 2 doom 3 (junto con su expancion) mas las misiones adicionales que aun no he probado por estar jugando al doom 3, muy completo el juego, la unica pega es tener que salir del juego e iniciar otra vez si quieres ambiar de un doom a otro por lo demasYa lo he jugado y debo decir que no me a decepcionado, es justo lo que queria DOOM en ps3 y con ello quiero decir DOOM completo, doom 1 doom 2 doom 3 (junto con su expancion) mas las misiones adicionales que aun no he probado por estar jugando al doom 3, muy completo el juego, la unica pega es tener que salir del juego e iniciar otra vez si quieres ambiar de un doom a otro por lo demas esta genial! Expand
  17. Oct 19, 2012
    7
    Regarding Doom 3, they made a lot of stupid decisions that have a lot fans upset, including poor audio conversations, limited control options, long save/load times, no dynamic lighting. These are issues not present in past editions of Doom 3 so fans have every right to be upset about them, if you are going to remake a game, it ought to be better than the original otherwise whats the point?Regarding Doom 3, they made a lot of stupid decisions that have a lot fans upset, including poor audio conversations, limited control options, long save/load times, no dynamic lighting. These are issues not present in past editions of Doom 3 so fans have every right to be upset about them, if you are going to remake a game, it ought to be better than the original otherwise whats the point? So yeah, it's not perfect, you can tell the game was a dirty PC port, however, I do not have a PC capable of playing Doom 3 anymore, so I can overlook all these technical problems pretty easily. At the end of the day, if these problems weren't brought to my attention, I'd probably never would have noticed. As for the game itself, is it still worth playing after 8 years? Yes, I believe so. While the game does feel very dated, it's still a blast and it's still scary, but if you're expecting a modern FPS, you will be disappointed as this game lacks many modern FPS mechanics. There is no cover system, there is no sight zoom, there are no big open areas, there is little story/cutscenes, it is a very simple shoot and run gameplay, which is all I've ever wanted from my shooters anyways. Doom 1 & 2 however, are perfect PC ports (or rather XBLA ports) they look and play great and feature four player online and offline multi-player which I wasn't expecting. While I play Doom primarily for the single player campaigns I was still disappointed by the online offering, only allowing up to four players maximum on all three games, they really should have allowed for more players. Overall though, despite its nuances, I love this package, it's the only way for me to play these three games on the big screen and for that I'm grateful. Could it have been better? Yes, but it's still a competent package featuring three great games and a few expansions (which I've never played) so I am very happy with my purchase. Expand
  18. Nov 19, 2012
    7
    I had Doom 3 for X-Box and I had a blast then. if you have this game, you could skip it with no real loss. I no longer had a copy, so I snatched it up for 40 bucks. I like it. I don't love it. Graphics are good, sound is okty and I love Doom and Doom 2.
    game worth = $39.99
  19. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    Amazing games, in a amazing and affordable package. For 39.99 the DOOM 3 B.F.G Edition comes with: Ultimate DOOM, DOOM 2: Hell on Earth, DOOM 3, DOOM 3: Resurrection of Evil, and The Lost Missions (which are eight single player missions added to the DOOM 3 campaign). I just received this Monday for my birthday and I have hardly touched on any of the content! I love the DOOM series and soAmazing games, in a amazing and affordable package. For 39.99 the DOOM 3 B.F.G Edition comes with: Ultimate DOOM, DOOM 2: Hell on Earth, DOOM 3, DOOM 3: Resurrection of Evil, and The Lost Missions (which are eight single player missions added to the DOOM 3 campaign). I just received this Monday for my birthday and I have hardly touched on any of the content! I love the DOOM series and so far I have no complaints. Oh, and for the DOOM 3 flashlight issue they got rid of the handheld one and attached it to your armor so you can use it with your weapons! Although it was humorous smacking zombies in the face with it :)) anyways if you are a DOOM fan or would like to become one and do not have a gaming computer, get out and grab the DOOM 3 B.F.G Edition! Expand
  20. Nov 11, 2012
    6
    I as a lot of other reviewers have had the original PC version from '04, Great reboot of a great game. I'm not going to re emphasise a lot of positive stuff mentioned in other user reviews, because the positive ones, are pretty much spot on except what i regard to be Negative points. The save checkpoints just spoil the atmosphere, the aim system on the guns are just not what we'reI as a lot of other reviewers have had the original PC version from '04, Great reboot of a great game. I'm not going to re emphasise a lot of positive stuff mentioned in other user reviews, because the positive ones, are pretty much spot on except what i regard to be Negative points. The save checkpoints just spoil the atmosphere, the aim system on the guns are just not what we're accustomed to anymore. If anything needed a rehash, it was that. Aiming feels 'shoot and hope it connects' no real accuracy. Guns feel underpowered, not like original doom where the shotgun was all you needed, you really do need to get up close and personal to feel any illusion of kick. For a game that boasts it's lighting effects and detail (which is spectacular in some parts) where are the muzzle flashes from the weapons? Think a stroboscopic effect while firing as demons charge towards the character would def add to atmosphere! An option that could be turned off for those who are affected by strobe effects. The 3D is pretty good and well implemented. Loses marks for weapons, aiming and weapon effects. Otherwise this would get an 8. Expand
  21. Jan 2, 2013
    3
    I'm a fan of Quake, DOOM, id Software and FPS Arena games. The game is very good. Why this score? Because Bethesda took it and dumbed it down. They re-proposed the same game which was released in 2004 and raised its price. Stop. They promised to make it HD, but there's not any big graphics change. This game isn't worth its price. It's just Doom 3. Even if they made graphics very muchI'm a fan of Quake, DOOM, id Software and FPS Arena games. The game is very good. Why this score? Because Bethesda took it and dumbed it down. They re-proposed the same game which was released in 2004 and raised its price. Stop. They promised to make it HD, but there's not any big graphics change. This game isn't worth its price. It's just Doom 3. Even if they made graphics very much better, why raising the price so much? And remember that in the original Doom 3, there are many mods that make it even look better than Doom 3 BFG Edition! It's just the same game, with an expansion! Same thing with Quake Live. It's free, but it's full of publicity of Bethesda games, and it's not open anymore. Damn. As innovation, I'd rate this game a 0/10. As a flop, I'd rate it a 10/10. BUY THE ORIGINAL DOOM 1/2/3! Expand
  22. Mar 20, 2013
    4
    OK, I've been wanting to play the doom series for a while now and I have got to say, Doom 3 BFG Edition really disappointed me. I went in thinking I would give this game an 8 or a 9, but no. Doom 1 was overrated and boring, Doom 2 was the best of them all and alone I would of given it an 8 but Doom 3 was crap. The guns were OK but everything else was so bad compared to it!
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Jan 7, 2013
    50
    Had care and attention been given to those (not to mention some reworked visuals), it would've made for a far more compelling package instead of two classics saddled with three duds.
  2. One thing that won't drive you crazy any more is your flash light. In the original Doom 3 you had to choose. Do you want to shoot your gun? Or do you want to see where you are shooting. Sure, it added to the suspense, but in terms of gameplay it wasn't very practical. [December 2012, p.85]
  3. Nov 30, 2012
    69
    It's a shame that the main attraction - Doom 3 in HD with its add-ons - is (still) such a let-down. [Issue#225, p.79]