Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Sep 21, 2012
    90
    This is a game that is massively enhanced by drop-in/drop-out co-operative play offline, with a future patch promising to bring the same experience to online players as well. Average players will probably complete the first difficulty level in 2-3 hours and disappointingly, the only real replayability here involves beating the game again on a harder difficulty setting. But even with that in mind, Double Dragon Neon is easily one of the most polished PSN titles available to date, and if you don't at least give it a spin (kick), then the joke is on you.
  2. Sep 11, 2012
    90
    Some hit detection problems can't hide the fact that Neon's an awesome tribute to a bygone era-and it'll bring a smile to the face of anyone who grew up playing beat-em-ups in the '80s and '90s.
  3. Oct 8, 2012
    85
    Neon is probably the best Double Dragon game yet, and it contains enough great elements it to warrant a sequel or two.
  4. Sep 11, 2012
    84
    The appeal of Double Dragon Neon lies in its cartoony homage to the brawler genre and the time period in which the original game released. Some of that appeal may be lost if you're not familiar with the references, but the solid production and mechanics have a universal appeal.
  5. Newcomers might not understand the appeal(or get the jokes), but gamers who grew up in the '80s will think it's totally rad. [Dec, p.83]
  6. Sep 26, 2012
    80
    It's very easy for a developer to use nostalgia as an excuse to put out a half-baked product, but Double Dragon Neon is a well-crafted love letter to the beat-'em-up genre. It may not be a long game, but it is a complete delight while it lasts.
  7. Sep 21, 2012
    80
    A great throwback; a retro game that isn't entirely retro, an old-school experience that reminds us of times long gone. It's self-deprecating and totally loony, it's vibrant and rewarding, and although a bit on the short side, you'll want to play it again…and again (ideally with a buddy).
  8. Sep 19, 2012
    80
    The animations are flawless and delightfully colored. Certain scenes, like a silhouetted battle in a mountaintop monastery, shone through the silliness of the game and offered something stunning to look at. If you have a brother, a sister, a roommate or a significant other . . . you absolutely must buy this game.
  9. Sep 17, 2012
    77
    Double Dragon: Neon hits more than it misses, and is a must-buy for anyone who loved beat-em-ups in either the late '80s or early '90s. This game was made for the 25-to-30 crowd, and is right in my wheelhouse as a result. If you loved that time period either literally or ironically, you'll find something to enjoy with the game's sense of humor.
  10. Sep 14, 2012
    75
    Regardless of these issues, I still think Double Dragon Neon is worth checking out. It's a pretty faithful follow-up to a series that hasn't seen much love as of late, and manages to evoke the style and gameplay of the arcade classic without feeling too out of touch with modern audiences. I find myself having a fair amount of fun with it, and I think you will too. Also, it's kind of hard to say no to a free download if you're a Playstation Plus subscriber.
  11. Sep 13, 2012
    72
    The controls are not refined, but it's nostalgic, engaging, and worth the ten-dollar asking price.
  12. Oct 26, 2012
    70
    If you're an old beat'em up lover, you can't miss Double Dragon Neon.
  13. Oct 10, 2012
    70
    Double Dragon Neon is a nice, passionate remake of the 1987 game we all know and love. It delivers a hardcore experience that will keep you entertained for hours, especially if you have a friend to play with.
  14. Sep 12, 2012
    70
    By shifting the tone from serious to crazy and making the combat system rewarding for the most dedicated players, this is a beat-'em-up that fits alongside modern games.
  15. 67
    If players are more concerned with their fond memories of an old series then polished mechanics and updated controls, then Double Dragon: Neon is certain to delight them with a ton of charm and appeal that is a welcome addition to the Double Dragon Saga.
  16. Nov 29, 2012
    60
    Double Dragon Neon can be very frustrating, because it's unforgiving, fighting mechanics are a bit clumsy and the main character is sluggish. That's how you played games back in the day. Fortunately you don't have to anymore. [CD-Action 13/2012, p.79]
  17. Oct 15, 2012
    60
    Double Dragon: Neon is fun in small doses, but the lack of online play greatly diminishes its appeal along with its strict adherence to the same annoying aspects of the genre that have since been done away with.
  18. Expected features like continuing from the middle of the stage are absent, probably to expand the slender content as much as it can, but it clearly has a heart of gold and lashings of style. You'll like it more with a co-op partner, but Scott Pilgrim is much better. [November 2012, p79]
  19. Oct 9, 2012
    40
    It's the grinding that honestly made this game more of a chore for me than an enjoyment. If you need that old-school fix, there are better ways to do it on both PSN and XBLA, and you can just download and listen to the songs through your iPod or something if you really need the flashback. I just can't recommend it beyond the die-hard Double Dragon folks… if any of you are still out there.
  20. Nov 27, 2012
    37
    This is just a pretty bad game. [Issue#224, p.81]
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    A surprisingly excellent game. This game should not be seen as some cheap port or a quick cash grab for nostalgia. This is not the failure of the TMNT remake from a few years ago. Instead, it is a lovingly produced game with many references to Double Dragon and many other classic video games, and comedic (and sometimes just silly) use of the 80's setting. It takes many cues from classic beat-em-ups but adds a nice upgrade mechanic and a number of selectable special attacks. This adds enough depth to motivate you to play all the way though as you enjoy the scenes, over-the-top story, and amazing music. Don't be put off by some of the screenshots or gameplay videos, it plays great. Cheap, deep enough, and super fun! Enjoy! Full Review »
  2. Sep 16, 2012
    9
    Dd neon is one of the most surprisingly amazing ages I've played all year, and for many years prior. Its the beat me up I've always wanted minus a few small flaws. The overall goal of the game seemed to be that the developers didn't want to make a button masher. In this, they succeeded with flying colors and o the apparent ire of game critics. It's a highly technical game that is a joy to play. There's no spazzing out on the controls and hoping to do something tht looks cool on screen and makes you feel good about yourself. If you don't play with your brain, the game will feel sluggish. The benefit, though, is that you actually CAN play with your brain which is incredibly rare for this genre. Moreover, if you get hit, you know it's because you screwed up, and there's never a doubt in your mind that good players can play through the whole game without taking damage. The games sense of humor is at the same time outlandish and yet wittily restrained. For instance, one second the main villain is calling you "knob sniffer" and the next second billy will have picked up a gun, and instead if using it to shoot, will either beat people with it or throw it at them. The restraint at the joke is what gives Dan it's sence of wit and masterfully aiming at both being clever and vulgar. In the end, people who dislike the game seem to be ad that it doesn't play like a remake of the old games, and then seem to add on "and nobody wants to play those games anyhow". On the contrary, if you love engaging games that force you to pay attention, and even ask you to replay scenes when your skills don't yet meet the challenge, this game is a gift from heaven for you. Full Review »
  3. Sep 25, 2012
    4
    Imagine, if you will, an 8 year old little boy sitting on the floor of his brown carpeted room surrounded by GI Joes and Ninja Turtles in front of a 300 pound, 24 inch television. He inserts his neighbor's copy of "Double Dragon" into his NES and presses the "on" switch. The screen blinks green and black repeatedly. So, he takes the game out of the system, blows on it and puts it back in. He hits the power button and it works!

    After getting through the title screen and its kickin rad intro music, he marches his in game sprite to the right, punching and kicking his way through street thugs. Then, he loses a life. Then another. Then another. Then he gets a "game over" screen and has to start over from the beginning.

    4 hours later, this 8 year old has had one of the best times of his short life, even though he barely made it past the 2nd stage.


    I have a lot of fond memories of wasting away hours playing really hard, really bad videogames. The nostalgia is wonderful and it fills me with joy to remember the innocence of my early days as a gamer.

    However, those memories are just that: memories. My gaming palette has evolved. In 2012, I expect a game to have responsive, smooth controls. I expect collision detection to make sense. I expect QA to eliminate game breaking bugs.

    Double Dragon Neon fulfills none of these expectations.

    2D beat em' ups died sometime around the end of the Super Nintendo's life cycle. Games like Final Fight, Streets of Rage, and Turtles in Time had pretty much evolved the genre as far as it would go. Somehow, this game takes the innovations of the 16-bit era and discarded them entirely and decides to be a neon colored, clunky mess.

    Take the controls, for example. While the button layout is pretty natural and fits with the style of the game, the execution of the button presses feel like sludgy trash. This, coupled with the awkward collision detection, make the game a frustrating nightmare. You end up taking a bunch of damage from enemies because of delayed reactions from your character. You miss hitting guys because you are outside of their hit box even when you are right in their faces. You miss hitting guys because they were immune to your swings, even though they didn't give you any kind of visual cue. Even Mike Tyson blinked before he beat you up in "Punchout"! Bad controls are 1988 jank that have no business in a 2012 release.

    Even with the control issues, I was able to finish the game in 2 hours. For a 10 dollar price tag, this is entirely too short. They try to encourage multiple playthroughs by adding in powerups, co-op and unlockable difficulty settings, but none of these things make the game not play like hot garbage.

    I ran into a few game breaking bugs, including one where an enemy would get stuck on the environment and would not allow me to advance in the level.

    To deviate from the original game, they added unlockable power ups and stores to buy things within the levels themselves. I bought a bunch of extra lives. When I continued my save the next day, all of the lives I purchased were gone.

    I get that nostalgia is all the rage, but putting out bad titles and slapping familiar names on them is insulting to our intelligence as gamers, and I hope that people will stop encouraging these lazy cash grabs by putting their wallets back in their pockets.
    Full Review »