Dragon Age II PlayStation 3

Dragon Age II Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1196 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: EA announced that a new installment in the Dragon Age series will arrive in the first quarter of 2011.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Dragon Age II: Sir Isaac of Clarke Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Mar 14, 2011
    91
    If you're a fan of RPG, than this game should definitely be on your pick list.
  2. Mar 7, 2011
    90
    Striking and confident compared to Origins' drab brownness. [Apr 2011, p.86]
  3. 90
    Some great storytelling and enjoyable fighting prove once again that Bioware is the king of modern role playing games.
  4. Mar 16, 2011
    85
    This new Dragon Age game is a really good one. The game continues where the original game ended. This time you play with Hawke and multiple team members against the Darkspwan who are back to take over the world. A great Action RPG with a very strong story and gameplay, only the graphics aren't really improved than the previous part and that could have been obviously a lot better.
  5. Mar 8, 2011
    81
    Dragon Age II is still a good role-playing game, but in more than one way it is inferior to its great predecessor.
  6. Mar 14, 2011
    80
    Dragon Age 2 has its flaws, but none of them are big enough to obscure the vast, absorbing whole of the game. This Hawke the slayer is definitely not rubbish.
  7. Mar 11, 2011
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 352
  1. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    I can't believe how much better this game is than Origins! The graphics are way better, the combat is actually enjoyable, and the framrate isI can't believe how much better this game is than Origins! The graphics are way better, the combat is actually enjoyable, and the framrate is smooth as silk. Another BioWare hit! Expand
  2. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    For me? i score it 9/10

    i must say that this game is one of those, that you must play based in what you see and NOT in what you read. i just
    For me? i score it 9/10

    i must say that this game is one of those, that you must play based in what you see and NOT in what you read. i just toke a risk buying it, and im pretty happy i did. Certainly the dislikes from ppl came because of the change on the direction on history line and some gameplay changes. i have 7 Hours Playing already, and as RPG fan, this change was quite enjoyable. i was waiting for a little more of graphical improvement, but the changes are OK to me.

    IS NOT A BAD GAME, but they changed the direction about to DAO. They did Add a little more action to it. They did it more like Mass Effect Style, and that its what some DAO´s fan dont accept. i Love DAO and ME as well, so this DA2 is great for me.

    Could be Better? of Course, we can allways Want more from Bioware, this time we was waiting for a lot more. and i think that is the real problem.
    Expand
  3. Mar 18, 2011
    8
    I feel compelled to chime in here and make clear that 0 reviews are unfair to a very good game. I never played the first one so I canâ
  4. Mar 14, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. DA2 just didnâ Expand
  5. Dec 25, 2011
    2
    Within 20 minutes of starting up this game i was greeted with "one year later" this is not the last time i see this, and that one skipped yearWithin 20 minutes of starting up this game i was greeted with "one year later" this is not the last time i see this, and that one skipped year could have been more entertaining then this whole game combined. But we are not so fortunate. In fact you don`t really make a character at all, you have to play as a slightly modified pre made character, and for a series that became famous because of the ability to create YOUR character, Your way this is sad. and to add insult to injury you have almost the exact same selection then origins, same hair style (a few new ones that are awful), same tattoos, no other races though. The first third of this game is one long boring fetch quest after another, no story at all really, you need to get 50 gold coins, if you do all these pointless side quests you will spend 20 hours doing nothing. The characters you meet make no real sense, and seem to be disagreeable simply to seem deep, disapproving of any random choice that should have no down side, take on a quest and half your party hates you, usually the warriors. the developers tried to make the game "fresh" and succeeded in destroying any continuity that this game had to the series. Killed that guy? hes back! saved her? She's dead. and some races now have horns for some reason that is never explained. On top of this you spend the entire time in a city, and all backdrops areas and quest locations are reused to the point that it becomes disgusting. The combat is almost improved, faster but more boring, you will be hitting one button a billion times an hour simply because most other attacks are completely useless and may result in a game over screen. If they wanted an action rpg then they should have added a dodge button and a block, and gave it a different name. Also in many ways dragon age origins looked a lot better, the slums in this game have clean streets, and the character models look sad when trying to express emotion. And everyone has chubby faces.... This game is an insult to gamers, gaming and rpg's, and its clear that most reviews are payed, this game is awful. i want nothing more then to give this game a 0, it deserves less, much less. Expand
  6. Mar 12, 2011
    1
    Less races, less skills, less hours of gaming, but more jumping, more killing, more speed. Meant to be a casual game for casual gamers. ButLess races, less skills, less hours of gaming, but more jumping, more killing, more speed. Meant to be a casual game for casual gamers. But looks like a game for people who like tu run amok. Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2011
    0
    BioWare please tell me what in god's name did you do to Dragon Age? I don't even want to type how disappointed I am with this title. I fullyBioWare please tell me what in god's name did you do to Dragon Age? I don't even want to type how disappointed I am with this title. I fully blame this game's release with the superquake in Northern Japan. Expand

See all 352 User Reviews