User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 54
  2. Negative: 7 out of 54

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 11, 2010
    9
    Dragonball raging blast 2 is a fighting game based on the dragonball anime series. Many peoples' main knock against this game is it's "shallow fighting system". I totally and blatantly disagree. It is such a deep fighting game that I feel that its' steep learning curve makes it appear shallow. You have so many options in this game. Ya, sure it may not be the kind of deep traditionalDragonball raging blast 2 is a fighting game based on the dragonball anime series. Many peoples' main knock against this game is it's "shallow fighting system". I totally and blatantly disagree. It is such a deep fighting game that I feel that its' steep learning curve makes it appear shallow. You have so many options in this game. Ya, sure it may not be the kind of deep traditional fighters are in a way where you have to memorize strings and strings of buttons in order to pull off the best combos, but this doesn't necessarily mean it isn't deep. If one goes throught the tutorials one will learn that the fighting mechanics are in deed very very deep if you take the time to learn them and realize this isn't a traditional fighter. There are so many subtleties and options you have in fight , that I am really bothered by the fact that this game's fighting system is considered shallow especially when you take into consideration the range of movement you have compared to a traditional fighter like tekken or street fighter. It's just as deep, ujust in a different way. In order to make a fighter that shows off what a dbz character can do, certain elements are a necessity. The online is great, there are good game modes, and most importantly, the customization of characters' moves before a fight is great. Two ss1 gokus can fight each other and be totally different. The onle real negative I have to say is the story mode is kind of weak in that there are no cut scenes or anything, but they do offer quite a bit of variety in the types of fights you must do. Underrated game that I know will continue to be underrated. All in all, if you give it a chance, I fully believe you will be happy you took the time to try it out. I haven't met one person who played the game and didn't like it. Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I Really enjoyed this game,nothing revolutionary,but it was really fun,the takedowns are awsome the gun play is not bad,weapons all look and sound very realistic,animations are good,graphics are also good not amazing but good,the car chase levels really help mix things up and are done really well,they are pretty short but they leave you wanting more,the storyline is classic bond,it feels like it was ripped straight from the big screen and could just as easily be put straight up there as well,music is all bondish and works well,multiplayer might at most extend the games 6 hour play time by an hour ,but there,s not much online to keep you comming back,exspecially with games like black ops out.I would say pick it up if you are a bond fan,and enjoyed games like splinter cell conviction.Im on my second play through now and still enjoying it:) Expand
  3. Dec 3, 2010
    9
    First off, playability, freaking awesome! Online is great or sitting at home with buddies or alone, endless hours of fun. Story, is completely missing though and rather dissapointing, but aside from that, the game makes up for it in every area. It has a kick ass sound track, great anime and good fighting mechs. great buy
  4. Feb 14, 2011
    8
    I don't get why this is such a bad game. The graphics are awesome and there is a very decent rooster. The characters are balanced. The multiplayer experience is fun too. People are complaining about the galaxy mode, but I think this is a great change since every Dragonball games' story is the SAME(They are based on the manga,no?).Also, I don't get why people are giving this game low scoresI don't get why this is such a bad game. The graphics are awesome and there is a very decent rooster. The characters are balanced. The multiplayer experience is fun too. People are complaining about the galaxy mode, but I think this is a great change since every Dragonball games' story is the SAME(They are based on the manga,no?).Also, I don't get why people are giving this game low scores just because it does not have GT characters. This should have no effect on the score, maybe the game developers just wanted a good Dragonball Z experience, and they are non-canon anyway. Expand
  5. Apr 7, 2011
    9
    I definitely cannot agree with protidez sorry but I have too many disagreements. first of all, the GT series is very complicated to engineer due to increased quality and an entirely new saga, plus the GT series was actually hated by many of the dbz fans. SS4 goku, vegeta, and gogeta were the only awesome characters, which, as Sengoku-Stocko mentioned, would create too many problems withI definitely cannot agree with protidez sorry but I have too many disagreements. first of all, the GT series is very complicated to engineer due to increased quality and an entirely new saga, plus the GT series was actually hated by many of the dbz fans. SS4 goku, vegeta, and gogeta were the only awesome characters, which, as Sengoku-Stocko mentioned, would create too many problems with power-balance. The only console game that i can think of better than this is DBZ Budokai Tenkaichi 3, which actually did have a lot of gameplay modes and GT characters. The only fault i find in this game that Tenkaichi 3 had is the story. Raging Blast 2 features Galaxy mode instead of a story mode. I don't like it cuz all it really offered was challenges which i easily beat, but that is just my preference. Maybe they thought some people get annoyed reliving the story, i don't know, I'm not one of the programmers. But seriously fans, this game is enjoyable and don't give the designers much trouble cuz you have no idea how much work and time is put into games like this(not to mention money). Expand
  6. Oct 7, 2012
    8
    This game is really good if you like the kind of DBZ battles. If you expected a new innovative way of fighting you shouldn't buy the game. The graphics are really good and there are a lot of characters. Turns to be a little repetitive after a while.
  7. May 30, 2014
    8
    Major score is so low because of the fans disagreeing on which type is better, budokai or tenkaichi?
    This game is a nice continuation on tenkaichi type, improvred combo and special system, nice graphics for ps3's and xbox360's hardware, alot of content and a movie/special remake featuring a brand new character to the roster. Roster is good, with lots of new and never used characters, this
    Major score is so low because of the fans disagreeing on which type is better, budokai or tenkaichi?
    This game is a nice continuation on tenkaichi type, improvred combo and special system, nice graphics for ps3's and xbox360's hardware, alot of content and a movie/special remake featuring a brand new character to the roster. Roster is good, with lots of new and never used characters, this game has hours and hours of playable matches, it's not a typical 8-12 hour shor-story game, this game is 20 and more hours full of content with chalanging foes, lots of custamization and full of actual DBZ gameplay.
    Expand
  8. Nov 7, 2010
    9
    Its a refinded experience, not more nothing less, the combat has changed a lot from RB1 making it feel like you have to learn it all again, it has a steep learning curve, this game is for Hardcore DBZ fans, again no GT BUT all the characters are balanced, online is MUCH improved, if some1 leaves a game they get penalised for it! The graphics are very nice, music is so so, the theme songIts a refinded experience, not more nothing less, the combat has changed a lot from RB1 making it feel like you have to learn it all again, it has a steep learning curve, this game is for Hardcore DBZ fans, again no GT BUT all the characters are balanced, online is MUCH improved, if some1 leaves a game they get penalised for it! The graphics are very nice, music is so so, the theme song rocks! The combat is face paced and its the deepest anime fighter out there! new characters are nice GT would of been nice but SS4 goku would be way overpowered, the Anime included is nice but NO DUB :( the jap is fine but i prefer english. Galaxy mode is a nice addition, be warned there is no story mode, like a summary but there are loads of characters to choose from, im hoping RB3 will include everything next year! Great game otherwise! Expand
  9. Nov 6, 2010
    5
    As "protidez" says: not much is new in this game. The Galaxy Mode seems engaging, though it would really be frustrating for a newbie to the series, not knowing what the **** is up with all those characters and what their stories are. Nevertheless I find the game really fast paced and exciting when it comes to gameplay, though the items that you receive as you play through the game give youAs "protidez" says: not much is new in this game. The Galaxy Mode seems engaging, though it would really be frustrating for a newbie to the series, not knowing what the **** is up with all those characters and what their stories are. Nevertheless I find the game really fast paced and exciting when it comes to gameplay, though the items that you receive as you play through the game give you such an enormous type of power (if you put them together right, which is really simple to do), making you a killing machine, being able to defeat anybody within less than 10 seconds. That is really unfair, and the wishes that you can make with the help of the dragons( yes, Porunga, the Namekian dragon is here too) are pure crap! You fight like a maniac to receive the dragon balls, one by one, just to get a crappy wish. These guys are not serious at all (The guys that made the game) Darn it, there are like 5 teams that worked on this game and none have come with a revolutionary idea to make it worth buying for once! Sheesh! The same guys have made Naruto: Ultimate Ninja Storm 1 and 2. Now those are truly outstanding games. Even if you're not a fan of the anime series, those two games can actually make you fall in love with the naruto saga. They are THAT good! Well, this is my review... also, my first ever game review... if anything's missing, I apologize! Expand
  10. Nov 4, 2010
    0
    As a hardcore DBZ fan who has waited for this game to come out since may i have just purchased my copy 2 days ago when it first came to stores, after playing it for a few hours i cant even explain how dissapointed i was to find out that there are no GT characters in the game, that means no ssj4 goku, no baby, pan just all the same characters from the first game plus a few new charactersAs a hardcore DBZ fan who has waited for this game to come out since may i have just purchased my copy 2 days ago when it first came to stores, after playing it for a few hours i cant even explain how dissapointed i was to find out that there are no GT characters in the game, that means no ssj4 goku, no baby, pan just all the same characters from the first game plus a few new characters from dragonball z but even those toons are a let down because they are the weakest players in the show like all the puny henchmen that get taken out with one blast. Also the remake of the anime movie "Plan to eradicate the super saiyans" is a joke since they did not rewrite it in english! so unless you plan on reading subtitles for the next half hour this is also a waste of time! So in all sure there are about 90 playable characters but they only got to that number by counting everyones different forms like gohan has like ten forms just of him (kid gohan,teen gohan,adolesent gohan, ssj gohan, ssj2 gohan, future gohan) like wtf is that in my book that counts as one character that has different forms not 7 different characters for each form! So if your a hardcore fan and were hoping to see a brand new game where you get to play as the badest characters think twice before you waste 60 bucks on a game that was all hipe trust me its not worth it if you own the first raging blast your not getting anything new unless you feel like wasting money to see a few new characters who are **** anyways! Expand
  11. Jan 16, 2011
    1
    Awful... simply awful, you have to be a fan of the series to buy this game, which I'm not. Fury17 I'm surprised at your score as your own personal bar for gaming achievement seems to be high for other 'main stream' titles but I guess you just like DBZ. Each to their own i guess, me I'd rather use this game for an attractive coaster.
  12. Nov 20, 2011
    4
    having played this game extensively now, I feel I've gauged it enough to give my opinion. Raging blast 2 is a very basic fighter, with a few differences, mainly being the ability to roam and fight through destructable environments instead of being stuck to a 2d platform. My main beef with this game is just how easy it is to do everything, combo's are certainly lacking, and you get the samehaving played this game extensively now, I feel I've gauged it enough to give my opinion. Raging blast 2 is a very basic fighter, with a few differences, mainly being the ability to roam and fight through destructable environments instead of being stuck to a 2d platform. My main beef with this game is just how easy it is to do everything, combo's are certainly lacking, and you get the same effect from smashing the buttons on your game pad at random, as you would from attemping to pull off a combo correctly. Instead of a story mode, you find "Galaxy" mode, which ammounts to progressing through stages until you reach a boss battle, no secret on innovative formula's put to use here, as i've said, it's very basic.

    I was told you would need to be a fan on DBZ to enjoy this game. However I am a fan, a huge one, but I found this game very dull from the offset. It certainly sits in the shadow of Ultimate Tenkaichi.
    Collapse
  13. May 24, 2013
    4
    I was very excited for this game, I didn't play the previous one so I didn't know how this game would work. Then when I got the game I played through it until I beat a majority of it. I unlocked all the characters; which honesty sounds like the only plus in this game. The idea of unlocking characters has seemed to have died down, and it's all about giving the characters to you at theI was very excited for this game, I didn't play the previous one so I didn't know how this game would work. Then when I got the game I played through it until I beat a majority of it. I unlocked all the characters; which honesty sounds like the only plus in this game. The idea of unlocking characters has seemed to have died down, and it's all about giving the characters to you at the start. This game however is really just doing the same thing other and other. Which is a bad thing to say about a fighting game, I don't have any fond memories of this game. The music gets annoying real quickly, the characters don't have much features that set them apart. There's like three different type of characters that have a different type of combo pattern, and that is a really, really, really stupid idea! They just made about a majority of the characters useless. It takes about no skill to play this, in the budokai tenkaiichi games it took a lot more skill to play, here you can have only one arm and beat someone's ass. I don't want to keep talking about this thing, so I'll say don't play this it's not worth your time. Expand
  14. Jun 11, 2014
    8
    It's official: Raging Blast 2 is the second-best DBZ game in seventh generation after Bust Limit. Why? Because every game after that was just disappointing. However, this game is no saint either. I can sum the reason why this game sucks in two words: Galaxy Mode. This was just forshadowing to how un-innovative and backwards future games would be.
    Other than that, if you love Tenkaichi as
    It's official: Raging Blast 2 is the second-best DBZ game in seventh generation after Bust Limit. Why? Because every game after that was just disappointing. However, this game is no saint either. I can sum the reason why this game sucks in two words: Galaxy Mode. This was just forshadowing to how un-innovative and backwards future games would be.
    Other than that, if you love Tenkaichi as much as I do, this game should ALREADY be in your collection. Prey to Kami Xenoverse will break the streak for good.
    Expand
  15. Oct 22, 2014
    7
    Dragon Ball: Raging Blast 2

    Game-play:The combat in this game is an improvement from the first one with more combos special moves and faster game play with less camera problems.Not to difficult to learn.I really love 3d fighting games. Story:Sadly the story has been replaced with a galaxy mode that you fight random opponents. Graphics:Great graphics i love them. Notes:This game
    Dragon Ball: Raging Blast 2

    Game-play:The combat in this game is an improvement from the first one with more combos special moves and faster game play with less camera problems.Not to difficult to learn.I really love 3d fighting games.

    Story:Sadly the story has been replaced with a galaxy mode that you fight random opponents.

    Graphics:Great graphics i love them.

    Notes:This game could get i higher score if had a story mode,The is a movie with the game not very good but is a nice half hour time killer,a good game i recommend to buy it when it gets a price drop.
    Expand
  16. Nov 17, 2014
    8
    I love it and I'm new to the DBZ series so I'm taking a break from Naruto but this game is actually pretty fun if you're used to it. You fly around, throw some random blasters, charge up, and do combo attacks. There is no difficulty option in this game, in galaxy mode, there are parts that are Easy or Very Hard. Also the opening to me is freaking badass!
  17. Jan 26, 2015
    5
    Graphics : 8/10
    Battle System : 8/10
    Single Player Mode : 4/10

    I really really really prefer Dragon Ball : Raging Blast, and how a sequence can be possible bad? I explain... With a Single Player Mode without storyline, just battles with hardcore missions...
  18. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    having played this game extensively now, I feel I've gauged it enough to give my opinion. Raging blast 2 is a very basic fighter, with a few differences, mainly being the ability to roam and fight through destructable environments instead of being stuck to a 2d platform. My main beef with this game is just how easy it is to do everything, combo's are certainly lacking, and you get the samehaving played this game extensively now, I feel I've gauged it enough to give my opinion. Raging blast 2 is a very basic fighter, with a few differences, mainly being the ability to roam and fight through destructable environments instead of being stuck to a 2d platform. My main beef with this game is just how easy it is to do everything, combo's are certainly lacking, and you get the same effect from smashing the buttons on your game pad at random, as you would from attemping to pull off a combo correctly. Instead of a story mode, you find "Galaxy" mode, which ammounts to progressing through stages until you reach a boss battle, no secret on innovative formula's put to use here, as i've said, it's very basic.

    I was told you would need to be a fan on DBZ to enjoy this game. However I am a fan, a huge one, but I found this game very dull from the offset. It certainly sits in the shadow of Ultimate Tenkaichi.
    Collapse
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. A deep 3D fighter. [Feb 2011, p.114]
  2. Jan 13, 2011
    60
    Besides having a somewhat basic fighting mechanic, its big problem is a bad camera, and it is something that can not be overlooked. Dragon Ball: Raging Blast is just for fans of the series.
  3. Jan 12, 2011
    60
    It doesn't change its gameplay style towards something more deep and balanced and, ultimately, it does not add really new features. But Dragon Ball fans will enjoy it a lot, and also those who like the series and have not tried a Dragon Ball game for some time.