Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dragon Ball Z fans can rest assured that the destructible environment, and character trademark attacks and transformations will be true to the series. These include signature Pursuit Attacks which enable players to initiate attack combo strings, juggling your opponent in a string of devastating strikes throughout the environment. Additionally, Dragon Ball: Raging Blast 2 will sport the new Raging Soul System which enables characters to reach a special state, increasing their combat abilities to the ultimate level. Sporting more than 90 characters, 20 of which are brand new to the Raging Blast series, new modes, and additional environmental effects, Dragon Ball: Raging Blast 2 is the next evolution in the home console series. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Dec 21, 2010
    80
    We expected just another installment of DBZ, with the same story, the same battles, with no originality... We were wrong! Dragon Ball Raging Blast 2 pushes the limits of the genre with a new combat system that makes all possible. A beautiful game, super fast, comprehensive and very technical. One of the really best DBZ fighting games.
  2. A deep 3D fighter. [Feb 2011, p.114]
  3. Dec 21, 2010
    67
    But if I were a fan, I'd enjoy it a bit more because it does feel like an authentic, quality (relatively speaking) Dragon Ball experience.
  4. Dec 21, 2010
    60
    There is so much content on the disc that it is hard not to recommend the game to DBZ fans. Sure the combat can be frustrating at times, but once you get past that this is one collection of fan service that should not be missed.
  5. Dec 21, 2010
    58
    Basically, if you can wrap your head around the complex controls, then you might get some enjoyments out of this fighter.
  6. Jan 3, 2011
    55
    The previous part wasn't really great and the developer didn't learn anything from the last time. This second part is a game with some new features but without a story and the same problems are still present. What a shame.
  7. Dec 21, 2010
    40
    It's certainly a question of quantity over quality.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14
  1. Nov 7, 2010
    9
    Its a refinded experience, not more nothing less, the combat has changed a lot from RB1 making it feel like you have to learn it all again, it has a steep learning curve, this game is for Hardcore DBZ fans, again no GT BUT all the characters are balanced, online is MUCH improved, if some1 leaves a game they get penalised for it! The graphics are very nice, music is so so, the theme song rocks! The combat is face paced and its the deepest anime fighter out there! new characters are nice GT would of been nice but SS4 goku would be way overpowered, the Anime included is nice but NO DUB :( the jap is fine but i prefer english. Galaxy mode is a nice addition, be warned there is no story mode, like a summary but there are loads of characters to choose from, im hoping RB3 will include everything next year! Great game otherwise! Collapse
  2. Dec 3, 2010
    9
    First off, playability, freaking awesome! Online is great or sitting at home with buddies or alone, endless hours of fun. Story, is completely missing though and rather dissapointing, but aside from that, the game makes up for it in every area. It has a kick ass sound track, great anime and good fighting mechs. great buy Expand
  3. Apr 7, 2011
    9
    I definitely cannot agree with protidez sorry but I have too many disagreements. first of all, the GT series is very complicated to engineer due to increased quality and an entirely new saga, plus the GT series was actually hated by many of the dbz fans. SS4 goku, vegeta, and gogeta were the only awesome characters, which, as Sengoku-Stocko mentioned, would create too many problems with power-balance. The only console game that i can think of better than this is DBZ Budokai Tenkaichi 3, which actually did have a lot of gameplay modes and GT characters. The only fault i find in this game that Tenkaichi 3 had is the story. Raging Blast 2 features Galaxy mode instead of a story mode. I don't like it cuz all it really offered was challenges which i easily beat, but that is just my preference. Maybe they thought some people get annoyed reliving the story, i don't know, I'm not one of the programmers. But seriously fans, this game is enjoyable and don't give the designers much trouble cuz you have no idea how much work and time is put into games like this(not to mention money). Expand
  4. Jun 11, 2014
    8
    It's official: Raging Blast 2 is the second-best DBZ game in seventh generation after Bust Limit. Why? Because every game after that was just disappointing. However, this game is no saint either. I can sum the reason why this game sucks in two words: Galaxy Mode. This was just forshadowing to how un-innovative and backwards future games would be.
    Other than that, if you love Tenkaichi as much as I do, this game should ALREADY be in your collection. Prey to Kami Xenoverse will break the streak for good.
    Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I Really enjoyed this game,nothing revolutionary,but it was really fun,the takedowns are awsome the gun play is not bad,weapons all look and sound very realistic,animations are good,graphics are also good not amazing but good,the car chase levels really help mix things up and are done really well,they are pretty short but they leave you wanting more,the storyline is classic bond,it feels like it was ripped straight from the big screen and could just as easily be put straight up there as well,music is all bondish and works well,multiplayer might at most extend the games 6 hour play time by an hour ,but there,s not much online to keep you comming back,exspecially with games like black ops out.I would say pick it up if you are a bond fan,and enjoyed games like splinter cell conviction.Im on my second play through now and still enjoying it:) Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2010
    5
    As "protidez" says: not much is new in this game. The Galaxy Mode seems engaging, though it would really be frustrating for a newbie to the series, not knowing what the **** is up with all those characters and what their stories are. Nevertheless I find the game really fast paced and exciting when it comes to gameplay, though the items that you receive as you play through the game give you such an enormous type of power (if you put them together right, which is really simple to do), making you a killing machine, being able to defeat anybody within less than 10 seconds. That is really unfair, and the wishes that you can make with the help of the dragons( yes, Porunga, the Namekian dragon is here too) are pure crap! You fight like a maniac to receive the dragon balls, one by one, just to get a crappy wish. These guys are not serious at all (The guys that made the game) Darn it, there are like 5 teams that worked on this game and none have come with a revolutionary idea to make it worth buying for once! Sheesh! The same guys have made Naruto: Ultimate Ninja Storm 1 and 2. Now those are truly outstanding games. Even if you're not a fan of the anime series, those two games can actually make you fall in love with the naruto saga. They are THAT good! Well, this is my review... also, my first ever game review... if anything's missing, I apologize! Expand
  7. Nov 4, 2010
    0
    As a hardcore DBZ fan who has waited for this game to come out since may i have just purchased my copy 2 days ago when it first came to stores, after playing it for a few hours i cant even explain how dissapointed i was to find out that there are no GT characters in the game, that means no ssj4 goku, no baby, pan just all the same characters from the first game plus a few new characters from dragonball z but even those toons are a let down because they are the weakest players in the show like all the puny henchmen that get taken out with one blast. Also the remake of the anime movie "Plan to eradicate the super saiyans" is a joke since they did not rewrite it in english! so unless you plan on reading subtitles for the next half hour this is also a waste of time! So in all sure there are about 90 playable characters but they only got to that number by counting everyones different forms like gohan has like ten forms just of him (kid gohan,teen gohan,adolesent gohan, ssj gohan, ssj2 gohan, future gohan) like wtf is that in my book that counts as one character that has different forms not 7 different characters for each form! So if your a hardcore fan and were hoping to see a brand new game where you get to play as the badest characters think twice before you waste 60 bucks on a game that was all hipe trust me its not worth it if you own the first raging blast your not getting anything new unless you feel like wasting money to see a few new characters who are **** anyways! Expand

See all 14 User Reviews