Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Nov 6, 2012
    85
    This is the way we like our HD remakes - a fun, nostalgic dive into the past. We're willing to overlook the lack of online options, although we don't understand why the second game wasn't included in the collection.
  2. Dec 20, 2012
    75
    Like all of the HD remakes that have come out in the past few years, Dragon Ball Z Budokai HD Collection is meant to capitalize on the nostalgia from older players who want their favorites on a current system, with the appropriate care taken during the transition. In a way, it works.
  3. Jan 4, 2013
    70
    The first half of Dragon Ball Z Budokai HD Collection is near pointless, but fans of the franchise will be delighted with Budokai 3. It's still the most balanced and detailed Dragon Ball fighting game available, and is a testament to how good licensed games can be when given the opportunity to evolve. It's just a shame that we never got a fourth instalment.
  4. Nov 26, 2012
    70
    What Dragon Ball Z Budokai 3 comes down to is me and my pals playing a solid and fun fighting game without any interruption. If you want that with your Dragon Ball Z game, then you should check out this HD collection.
  5. The frenetic action and controls really capture the essence of the anime, and even is DBZ isn't as spry as it used to be, this is a nice reminder of its heyday. [Holiday 2012, p.85]
  6. Nov 2, 2012
    70
    Straight HD ports of two classics PS2 fighting games based on the Dragon Ball Z franchise. Few innovations to talk about but fans of the series will enjoy this compilation.
  7. Nov 6, 2012
    65
    A correct adaptation to HD hardware, but the lack of additions and not including the second episode of the series make us recommend it exclusively to those nostalgic gamers who miss playing those PS2 titles.
  8. Nov 12, 2012
    62
    I think passionate series fans, whether Budokai veterans or not, will appreciate the Collection, but they may also question why a more thorough and complete version wasn't released.
  9. Nov 23, 2012
    60
    This collection is only worthwhile because of Budokai 3. It would be preferable if it were released individually on PlayStation Network and Xbox Live.
  10. 55
    The Dragonball Z Budokai series put the combat of the anime into the hands of fans last generation, but this collection shows that the simplicity within that fan-fared series will only be enjoyed by fans and deter new players from starting.
  11. The bargain basement price should entice fans into reliving their glory days but offers very little else. [Christmas 2012, p.80]
  12. Nov 15, 2012
    50
    The Dragon Ball Z Budokai HD Collection is pretty dumb. Budokai 3 is still a great game, but the lack of any kind of online mode and the crazy absence of Budokai 2, transform a good chance into a sad nonsense.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Nov 7, 2012
    0
    If you haven't played the first then you will feel this a nice game. For fans this is a terrible ordeal; no Budokai 2, no original soundtrack, no online.

    All you will find is an old game with HD graphics.

    Overall VERY FEW changes.

    A 40$ price slapped on for the same game on a new platform.

    Kids, save your money.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    Surprise That There No DBZ Budokai 2 HD Ver, But Still A Good HD Remake 10/10

    The Original Game And Budokai 3 Are Best Games Out There
    Seance There Original Release Full Review »
  3. Jan 20, 2013
    5
    american ost is ****