Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 259 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The king is back, baby! Duke Nukem Forever will meld 3D Realms' memorable hero with the latest 3D graphics technology.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 48
  2. Negative: 19 out of 48
  1. Jun 13, 2011
    88
    While it's no contender for the FPS crown, it's a solid FPS game with a lot of character. If you've waited twelve years in anticipation for a great Duke Nukem title, then this was well worth the wait.
  2. Jun 20, 2011
    72
    While the action is fun, there is no way to avoid feeling it's stuck in the past.
  3. Jun 25, 2011
    61
    I always new that it would never live up to expectations but I had hoped for something that would have a bit more character than just being an average shooter with Duke's face and humour plastered over it. Still, I can't bring myself to hate it or bash it vociferously. It could never be anything other than what it has been and actually, that's fine.
  4. 50
    Duke Nukem Forever is the result of what first began as perfectionism that slowly snowballed into mismanagement.
  5. Jun 15, 2011
    44
    Nobody wanted to love DNF more than me but I just couldn't get any enjoyment out of it.
  6. Jun 15, 2011
    40
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Jun 14, 2011
    0
    It's not obvious they knew just how monumentally moronic the game they created is. That's the key difference between the two titles: Bulletstorm is the funny guy at the party who has a bit too much to drink. DNF is the guy who gets plastered, runs around naked with a lampshade on his head and doesn't understand that everyone is laughing at him, not with him.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 90
  2. Negative: 37 out of 90
  1. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Totally undeserving of such low scores, especially with so many uninventive and tedious sequels getting 9's or higher. Honestly, more variedTotally undeserving of such low scores, especially with so many uninventive and tedious sequels getting 9's or higher. Honestly, more varied and fun, though perhaps not as polished as most AAA shooters of this generation. Expand
  2. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    I really enjoyed it... isn't that what its all about (probably not these days). there is plenty to enjoy, like the small and simpleI really enjoyed it... isn't that what its all about (probably not these days). there is plenty to enjoy, like the small and simple distractions that break up the game nicely and prevent it from being just another mindless shooter. yeah ok the graphics suck big time...BIG TIME (hence the 9) but just as i enjoyed things like portal, crysis 2 and COD... i enjoyed this too. I look forward to the sequel....

    To all the haters (not the ones who gave it a fair shot and honestly don't like it) "if i wanted to listen to an **** hole, i would have farted" (duke quote haha)
    Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2011
    8
    I want to make a point here, and that is that everyone who rates this game down a notch for its graphics should eat **** and die! Really, youI want to make a point here, and that is that everyone who rates this game down a notch for its graphics should eat **** and die! Really, you don't buy a Duke Nukem game for graphics, I sure as hell didn't, I bought it for Duke, and to blow some aliens up, and I wasn't disappointed. Many times I have laughed out loud at Dukes one liners, including some great pop culture references of the last 10 years, and the classics from Duke 3D. I've had a lot of fun playing through the campaign, although it has been a little stressful on 'Come get some' difficulty.
    The down sides to the game are the horrible loading screen times and the multiplayer, which seems broken as it took me a month to be able to get into a game, other than that though, I love it!
    Expand
  4. Mar 2, 2013
    6
    Duke Nukem Forever perfectly captures the character of the classic Duke Nukem's with a next generation engine. The game has great satire andDuke Nukem Forever perfectly captures the character of the classic Duke Nukem's with a next generation engine. The game has great satire and wtf moments. The moment to moment gameplay is a mixed bag though. Although, its cheesy overthetop ridiculousness pushes you forward through the game, the combat and sluggish movement will piss you off and the loading times when you die start grinding on your nerves as you progress further and further into the game. Your enjoyment will depend on how much of this you can take. The developers had great ideas and the game would have been a lot more fun and enjoyable if the overall game had been a lot more polished up. Its a shame that the game wasn't as polished as it could have been because it really did have great moments. Expand
  5. May 3, 2013
    4
    This game is an unimaginative, uninspired, dull shooter. I mean, what happened to all the early concept art? That looked way better than thisThis game is an unimaginative, uninspired, dull shooter. I mean, what happened to all the early concept art? That looked way better than this game. Instead what we got was a series of lame jokes, repetitive gameplay and design, cheap boss fights and unfunny jabs at other popular games. All of the games referenced, ironically are better than this game! You might aswell play the old Duke Nukem games. Did I also mention, all of the mini-games suck? The multiplayer is mediocre too. There is some fun to be had in this game, don't get me wrong. I loved all the titillation enforced by the sexist portrayals of women in the game and some of the shooting segments were fun. I'm not surprised that this game has an abundance of deficiencies in the gameplay. Most of the development time most of been spent on animating the poo and writing out 'forced' jokes. Expand
  6. Jun 26, 2013
    2
    This game was absolute crap. If this were 2003, then this might have been okay, but it is not. The jokes were cheesy, the graphics sucked, andThis game was absolute crap. If this were 2003, then this might have been okay, but it is not. The jokes were cheesy, the graphics sucked, and the developers spent way too much time to make the game crude and violent, and not enough making it good. It was a terrible dissapointment for a game that had so much pre-release hype. The only reason I give it the 2 is because it is clear that the game had potential, but they messed it up... a lot. Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2011
    0
    This is one of the worst games I've ever played in my life. Back in 1997, I love Duke Nukem 3D on the Playstation and still love it today.This is one of the worst games I've ever played in my life. Back in 1997, I love Duke Nukem 3D on the Playstation and still love it today. When I heard about this game coming, I was excited to play as the King again. But after playing 2 hours of it, I officially said "goodbye" to this game. The controls were absolutely terrible, it gets harder when you try to aim at the aliens. How is it hard to aim? You use the right analog stick, and move is slightly slow or fast. But here, no matter how hard you try it's goes so fast you wouldn't be able to kill an alien before it kills you. The health system is similar to Master Chief from Halo franchise. The mini games are unplayable with the glitchy controls. Oh, and the glitches are ridiculous. But the worst is the loading time. It takes forever, I timed it all. It takes about 43 seconds to start the stage. Whats worse is when you die. You think after you die, you automatically respond, like in many FPS's. But here, you go back to the loading screen and wait 35 seconds! Don't buy it, and definitely don't rent it. If you see this game in stores, just keep walking and play an FPS that is a masterpiece like Killzone 3 and Halo Reach. My childhood with Duke Nukem has been destroyed because of this game. Expand

See all 90 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.
  2. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.