Dungeon Siege III PlayStation 3

Dungeon Siege III Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 86 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DUNGEON SIEGE 3 seamlessly blends intuitive action gameplay, a robust RPG system featuring a large selection of abilities, an extensive multiplayer component and the depth of story Square Enix and Obsidian Entertainment are known for creating.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 52
  2. Negative: 1 out of 52
  1. Jul 26, 2011
    85
    With very good controls transitioned from a PC title onto consoles, Dungeon Siege III has gratifying old-school dungeon crawling combined with RPG elements for ton of hack & slash adventuring fun, especially for gamers that indulge in co-op gameplay.
  2. Jun 20, 2011
    80
    It's a modernised take on dungeon crawling that brings a few new ideas to the series.
  3. Jul 6, 2011
    80
    Dungeon Siege III ends up being a fantastic hack and slack adventure that nearly achieves brilliance if not for lack of post-game content and expansive multiplayer.
  4. Jun 20, 2011
    70
    The best Dungeon Siege ever is a more of a compliment than you might think in this accessible and fun action role-player.
  5. games(TM)
    Jul 23, 2011
    70
    Although it misses a beat on one or two of the RPG genre's values, the rest is classic dungeon-crawling through and through. [Issue#111, p.106]
  6. Jun 20, 2011
    65
    Dungeon Siege III is a fun but unambitious dungeon crawler that fails to live up to the games that came before it.
  7. Aug 11, 2011
    40
    In short, Dungeon Siege III is a morass of flat characters, a story as dull as dishwater, and combat that manages to be both frustrating and boring.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 29
  2. Negative: 7 out of 29
  1. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    Picked it up very cheap a few weeks ago. I love this game. Played it single player with "Treasures of the Sun" DLC too. Very good story andPicked it up very cheap a few weeks ago. I love this game. Played it single player with "Treasures of the Sun" DLC too. Very good story and attention to detail. Didn't find one bug while playing it either. I cannot understand why there's so much hate? Ten from me - one of the best rpgs I've played in recent years . . . Collapse
  2. Sep 25, 2011
    9
    This game is really fun to play and quite engrossing, me and my girlfriend played this thoroughly we both loved it and she couldn't get enoughThis game is really fun to play and quite engrossing, me and my girlfriend played this thoroughly we both loved it and she couldn't get enough of playing co-op with me. I really look forward to getting the DLC assuming it is not just a one mission DLC and is a whole new story branch. Would have been better having a four player local co-op though otherwise rather good game. Expand
  3. Jun 24, 2011
    8
    As others have noted, I too am unclear as to why there is such an unmitigated flow of hatred for this title. Anyone rating this title lowerAs others have noted, I too am unclear as to why there is such an unmitigated flow of hatred for this title. Anyone rating this title lower than a 6 needs their head examined. For instance, a score of 3 would put it on par with the Wii's "Babysitting Mama" title. And fools are throwing 0's around, are you kidding me? Let's get it right, 0's are for completely broken and unplayable titles. The graphical polish alone makes this title deserving of a 4 -5. The controls are not completely broken, I don't know what that griping is all about, no it's not as point and click as Diablo, but... who said it was going to be? Use your keyboard and mouse and it's fine. There's a fairly deep character building system here. It's not just a talent tree that you put points into. There are multiple abilities that you unlock, once unlocked you can put points into them in one of two ways generally leaning the skill towards offense or defense. Abilities can be "mastered" allowing you to perform even more powerful versions of those abilities with different effects than normal. The pace, though generally a little slow, can get quite manic in large battles. The fact that you can't just click click click spam spells or attacks through combat is refreshing; you need to be a participant in battle in order to restore your focus (mana) and block attacks (so you don't get your ass beat) There is no potion quaffing here, the best you can do is your character's heal over time spell. I guess I can't really say anything that hasn't been said, check out Game Informer's review, it's pretty legit. DO NOT LISTEN TO THE HATERS, this title definitely belongs in the 7-8 range, which is what you'll see from nearly all professional critics. The title is solid, it's not broken, and while it doesn't do anything amazingly well, it doesn't do anything completely wrong either. There is room for improvement, but as it stands it's an enjoyably fun dungeon romp, especially with friends. Expand
  4. Jun 28, 2011
    6
    This game doesn't hold the same feel of the original D.Siege series. It has a semi-linear skill leveling mechanism where all playableThis game doesn't hold the same feel of the original D.Siege series. It has a semi-linear skill leveling mechanism where all playable characters will have, eg. Attacking skill, some buff/de-buff skill and healing skill. However this games have its own share of pros, this game presents its story telling quite interestingly. Graphic "whores" might enjoy this game as well as the graphics are sharp and colorful, however its character model's could have been better. Overall, this game's gameplay, storytelling and mass amount of loot had done enough to entice some veteran RPG players like myself. 6/10 for me Expand
  5. Aug 15, 2012
    6
    Wasn't a stand above the crowd great game, but it wasn't horrible either..
    1 play through is enough to get everything done, doesn't have any
    Wasn't a stand above the crowd great game, but it wasn't horrible either..
    1 play through is enough to get everything done, doesn't have any replay value at all..
    the visuals are average, the combat is average, the story is..... average, it's just an all round average game..
    Lot's of loot, but eventually you just feel liked your picking up trash, I didn't buy this game to take up a partime job as a janitor, (spoiler) and all the best gear can be bought right before the final boss, so no real point buying stuff in the game..

    If you see this for real cheap, pick it up, you won't be disappointed, but you won't be astounded either, just a few hours of fun, something a little different and nothing more..
    Expand
  6. Jun 22, 2011
    5
    This will be my first review in a different way, I will now review by if you should buy it no matter what (10), give it a look if you'reThis will be my first review in a different way, I will now review by if you should buy it no matter what (10), give it a look if you're interested (7), Rent ( 5) or don't even buy it (0). Now dungeon siege is in between a seven and a five because it has problems but it is still an okay game. Dungeon siege is a unique offline multiplayer game which i enjoyed, but everything else was bland. It's not bad or terrible, it is just that there are older games that are better and cheaper. So you should rent this for maybe a week because it's not worth sixty bucks. Dungeon siege is definitely a five because you can get this if you want, but I advise you to rent it. A little background to why is that the story is uninteresting, the characters don't built, and multiplayer online has some problems. Expand
  7. Jun 26, 2011
    0
    Have had the game for over a week and still have not been able to play it because it will not even start. Have been dealing with Square EnixHave had the game for over a week and still have not been able to play it because it will not even start. Have been dealing with Square Enix support since day 1 and still cannot play the game. As I have a recent ( less than year old) Alienware system fully up to date having the game for over a week now without any progress in playing is inexcusable. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.