Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 31
  2. Negative: 5 out of 31
  1. While not every change has been positive, the series was in desperate need of a fresh start, and now, in its sixth major iteration, it has one.
  2. Absolutely up there with the best of the series so far. It's as good as the game has ever been.
  3. Offering little in the way of innovation, it will keep fans of the series very happy and is definitely an essential purchase if you have ever enjoyed a DW game in the past.
  4. With special effects-packed visuals and with higher production values than ever, Dynasty Warriors seems less niche than ever. [May 2008, p.81]
  5. This is a small step forward, but for a series that hasn’t moved an inch over five installments, it’s a mind-boggling breakthrough.
  6. This is revitalisation, a fresh surge of life for the long-serving warhorse. By any typical measure of gaming it's not grand advance, but for those whose fingers have long been drilled by the brawls of Koei's sprawling riots, it's as worthwhile and frenzied as it's ever been. [Mar 2008, p.96]
  7. For those who have never experienced the DW series before, this is the perfect place to start, and either find a challenging, delightfully tactical slice of unpretentious fun or unearth a deformed, unlovable, fossilised relic of a bygone age.
  8. And love it or loathe it, I get the feeling that Dynasty Warriors will be around for many years to come.
  9. But DW6 does feel sort of lightweight, especially at a $60 price tag. [Mar 2008, p.59]
  10. 70
    If you don't know a Liu Bei from a Lu Bu, you're not going to be interested, but those who understand the thrill of taking down the thousandth enemy in a single battle will enjoy it. Just be sure to give the new Renbu system a chance.
  11. Dynasty Warriors 6 plays it safe with the series' standard button-mashing formula, and as such is little more than a prettier version of every other game in the series.
  12. I guess Dynasty Warriors 6 is not the perfect harmony Koei or the fans were hoping for.
  13. 65
    Fans of the series will be happy to know that there is a serious amount of content to be found in DW 6. Outside of the lengthy single-player modes players can also return to previous levels with different scenarios in the challenge mode.
  14. The game isn’t terrible, but it isn’t any more engaging or less repetitive than it’s been for the past five versions.
  15. What was once regarded as a fun-but-shallow game series has transformed into a shallow-and-pointless one. Dynasty Warriors 6 does not totally fail as a game, but it has begun my own personal disenchantment with the series.
  16. We just wish Omega Force would step forward and issue a major upgrade for this franchise.
  17. The best thing to say about Dynasty Warriors 6 is that it's an easy way to kill quite a few hours, but that doesn't make it particularly good.
  18. Hideous dialogue, repetitive gameplay.
  19. The best non-Gundam DW game yet. That being said, it's still not a large enough improvement to justify purchase over the much cheaper last-gen models you can probably get for less than $10 at this point.
  20. 59
    I had more fun with "Dynasty Warriors: Gundam," which I would recommend to those new to the franchise but looking for a "better" button-mashing experience.
  21. It seems that Omega Force either can't be bothered to breathe fresh air into the franchise, or it feels it doesn't need to because anything in a game box with Dynasty Warriors on the front is guaranteed to make money.
  22. This is just like every other Dynasty Warriors game ever, but somehow duller. [May 2008, p.115]
  23. 50
    Action-combat fans would do better to hold off for the upcoming "Ninja Gaiden 2," or spend 10 bucks on an older DW title.
  24. 50
    As I played through Dynasty Warriors 6, the series' first entry for this console generation, one thought kept permeating my head: "This is exactly the same game I played in college."
  25. The lack of any online multiplayer (again!), the fact this is still basically the same game and the removal of the tactics side means this game is quite simply not worth buying.
  26. Crucially, if you stand back and think of what the series could be evolving into with current hardware then you can’t help but look at DW6 as a disappointment.
  27. It's old. It's lame. Kill it. Now. [May 2008, p.78]
  28. 40
    Dynasty Warriors has a rabid fan base, and so it stands to reason that Koei doesn’t want to mess with the formula too much. It’s disappointing that seven years and endless games later, this latest iteration feels like such a miniscule step forward in the series.
  29. To be clear, new battles, weapons, and character moves are present, as expected, but they feel obligatory at best. [Apr 2008, p.72]
  30. Too bad it handles like a remote-control car, bolting from a stand-still to top speed in an instant. I'll pass. [Apr 2008, p.73]
  31. 30
    Avoid this shameful anathema like a toilet cubicle with an unflushed poo in it. [Issue#164, p.94]
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. ReggieN.
    Mar 4, 2008
    2
    5 games later and KOEI still hasn't put any effort into changing this game beyond what it was in Dynasty Warriors 2. The graphics are below PS3 and the 360's power, and the complete lack of any real progression in gameplay make this game almost interchangeable with the past iterations. If you're a huge fan, you'll probably buy it anyway. If you're looking to try out a Dynasty Warriors game for the first time, try one of the previous games, preferably either 3 or 5. They will be much cheaper and provide a slightly less monotonous experience. Full Review »
  2. Sep 12, 2014
    6
    DW6 is perhaps the weakest entry in the franchise which for once does actually warrant the low scores, I am a big fan of the series so it does rather pain me do be blatantly honest with this games. Probably my least favourite character designs, the gameplay though it adds to aspect for the most part is made to feel the most repetitive and samey of the DW games. It also doesn't help that it feels like many character have the same weapons unlike previous and the following games in the series.

    It felt like a come down from DW5 in all regards besides graphics as it was the first DW game on the PS3 and thus took advantage (though I still think it could have taken even more).

    One of the pros is that some characters have more historically accurate weapons such as Zhou Tai ditching his random Katana, this is however countered by a con where the characters who have spears, flails and whips all feel like the same character with only slight tweaks to the move sets.

    Avoid 6, you are actually better off playing 2-5 before this entry in the franchise or more importantly play 7 and 8 which do actually have notable improvements in gameplay and challenge.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 5, 2014
    3
    Not a great start to the PS3 Dynasty warriors Trilogy

    I am a big fan of dynasty warriors ever since I started playing DW3, I have played
    DW3, DW4 and DW5 and I must say that DW6 is somewhat a step backward.

    Firstly the characters in the game are nothing like in the history book, for example Why the F**K does Sun Jian have white hair. Why the hell is Lu Bu welding Hula Hoops in combat ffs, and why ON EARTH has Yuan Shao gone from being a proud noble man albeit slightly arrogant to being a Spoil t little brat. The characters have turned into these fantasied characters which ultimately lend nothing to the game.

    Lets talk about the lacklustre battles in this game. Firstly why is there no Si Shui gate mission, They basically cut out a crap load of important battle events which defined these finds and turned them all into borderline generic missions. I mean seriously in the battle of Chang Ban why isn't Zhang Fei left to hold the bridge from oncoming enemies.

    Finally the pathetic combat system fails to delivers a balanced combat system. The "Renbu" systems makes no sense, Why the hell do I have to essentially "warm up" my characters to get them to fight better.

    I could go on forever but ultimately this DW6 is an embarrassment to the series and should be avoided unless you are a hardcore fan of the series
    Full Review »