User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 21, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dynasty Warriors Gundam 2 was a great example on how to mix two great series into one. It had GREAT Single Player content that gave you a lot to do. Multiplayer allowed you to be in massive wars that were very time consuming. It's units were very balanced and you never felt that one could easily overpower the other... Well, except for grunt units... Anyway, it had great atmosphere and content that will always bring me back. Then I heard about Dynasty Warriors Gundam 3... How disappointing... The game is very unbalanced in terms of content. Single Player consists of a Story Mode with mixed characters and... nothing else. That's it. Its clear all the focus went into the Multiplayer, with online battles, lobbies, and team battles. Kinda shameful, really. Not everyone is for Multiplayer, some prefer Single player, and Namco Bandai Games really really dropped the ball on that one. Now for the units, quite a huge cast of characters, which would be fantastic... except for the Unicorn Gundam which set new standards for BROKEN mechanics! You can SPAM your Musou Attack and stay in NT-D Mode for the ENTIRE GAME! Unfortunately, the game was obviously rushed, and it's DLC isn't really worth it unless your a hardcore fan of those specific units. If your looking for a good Multiplayer game if your really bored, then this game is for you. Expand
  2. Feb 9, 2013
    8
    Easily one of the best Dynasty Warriors games have ever been made. I has limited multiplayer witch I found disappointing. On the upspin, you can literally spend 200+ hours lost in pulse pounding missions. What I would like to see in the next game is more realism and more multiplayer features. Gundam isn't just for kids, adults are a large audience as well.
  3. Sep 21, 2012
    7
    Vastly better than DWG1 or 2 in many areas except for a very important one...
    The maps, the maps where shrinked and turned into utter crap, just a random mix of "Bases" and hallways.
    there was ZERO effort in making these maps i assure you, i'm giving a 7 taking away 3 points JUST because this game makes you don't even CARE about the battlefield at all
  4. Jan 1, 2012
    7
    I'm not going to say this is a great, even a good game. But it doesn't try to do anything more than what it is: this is a hack n' slash game, just like the Dynasty Warriors name would indicate. Don't buy this game and expect to be blown away but just expect to have mindless fun. I personally enjoyed the first DW:G that was released a few years ago more than this one but they are veryI'm not going to say this is a great, even a good game. But it doesn't try to do anything more than what it is: this is a hack n' slash game, just like the Dynasty Warriors name would indicate. Don't buy this game and expect to be blown away but just expect to have mindless fun. I personally enjoyed the first DW:G that was released a few years ago more than this one but they are very similar and you won't be disappointed regardless of which one you pick up. However you should like the original Dynasty Warrior games if your going to get into this one. Expand
  5. Sep 21, 2011
    8
    The storyline may make no sense even if you've seen most of the Gundam anime but there is still something strangely satisfying about smashing your way through hordes of giant robots. It does get a little repetitive after a while though.
  6. Aug 27, 2011
    9
    I hate the Beatles, but who would credit me anything for scoring Abbey Road 1 or 0 out of 10? I Just don't review it. Games should be reviewed by people who expect to like them, as the reviews are almost exclusively used by people who are interested in buying said game. DWG3 is certainly not for everybody. It's hack and slash anime otaku all the way through for many many hours (60 so farI hate the Beatles, but who would credit me anything for scoring Abbey Road 1 or 0 out of 10? I Just don't review it. Games should be reviewed by people who expect to like them, as the reviews are almost exclusively used by people who are interested in buying said game. DWG3 is certainly not for everybody. It's hack and slash anime otaku all the way through for many many hours (60 so far for me, almost platinum). But if you like Dynasty Warriors and you like Gundam (come on, like it says right on the box) than you'll be very very happy with this game. With a ton of classic characters and even more mobile suits, hundreds of missions, awesome gundam sound effects and only a very few things to gripe about, assuming you knew what you were getting into (assuming you read the title on the package). Significantly improved from the first two DWG, this is the most time I've logged on a game since the heat of COD:BO's first days online, and it is well worth the price of admission. Expand
  7. Jul 9, 2011
    9
    A very fun game and a great improvement over Dynasty Warriors Gundam 2 in almost every regard, but a game for fans of the Gundam universe - people coming in unprepared will likely be baffled by it's onslaught of barely explained characters, quotes and scenarios.
  8. Sep 21, 2012
    7
    Vastly better than DWG1 or 2 in many areas except for a very important one...
    The maps, the maps where shrinked and turned into utter crap, just a random mix of "Bases" and hallways.
    there was ZERO effort in making these maps i assure you, i'm giving a 7 taking away 3 points JUST because this game makes you don't even CARE about the battlefield at all
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 5 out of 18
  1. Sep 12, 2011
    70
    All in all, Dynasty Warriors Gundam 3 was an entertaining diversion for those hack and slash enthusiasts like myself, as long as you aren't expecting anything more grandiose than that.
  2. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Aug 25, 2011
    60
    New features--such as the ability to temporarily summon an ally Gundam into battle--add flavor to(but still can't quite redeem)the otherwise bland missions and mindless destruction. [Oct 2011, p.85]
  3. Aug 25, 2011
    85
    Dynasty Warriors: Gundam 3 is easily the best outing the Warriors series has seen in a long time, and it's exactly what it says on the box. If you enjoy feeling like a total badass as you wipe out hundreds of enemies with flash, speed and technique, then this game's worth full price even with its few flaws - possibly more so if you're already a Gundam geek. If you're not, though, beware: This game may turn you into one before you know it.