User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    Buy this game. I don't care if you're broke, I don't care if big hits are coming out in the next few months. Buy this game. It's been a long time since I played EDF 2017 on Xbox 360, I loved that game, it has that "B-movie" charm that none other games had back in the days. Now that EDF: Insect Armageddon it's out, I'm proud to say that the charm is back, full f*cking force. The gameplay is mind blowing, and that's a good thing because this game is all about gameplay. It has a lot more story than the first one, and it's more enjoyable that way because it seems to be less repetitive. Sure alot of players will say that this game is repetitive at first, but all games are, especially shooters. Try this one, it's a blast, especially if you have friends to play with both online and offline. Survival mode is an awesome way to expand the lifetime of this already worthy package. The three difficulty modes are great additions and each difficulty add up something new to your inventory, for exemple, the level cap for each armors are increasing, making them more lethal. My only complain would be that when you shoot, there's no vibration in the controller like other shooters, so sometimes you feel like you're not shooting, but it's minor, after 15 minutes you won't even complain about it. Simply love this game, I'll give it a 9, it's not perfect, but it tries to be what games were back in the days; fun, addicting, without 45093 engines to run them, pure, old-school, action. Pick it up, it's only 40$. Expand
  2. Jul 7, 2011
    9
    This a great game for the $39.99 price point. It comes with a campaign that consists of three chapters with five missions in each for a total of fifteen missions. These fifteen missions contain a variety of types of enemies for you to slaughter, and you don't come ill-equipped. The game lets you choose from hundreds of weapons that fall under one of five categories: Assault Rifles, Rocket Launchers, Missile Launchers, Shotguns, and Snipers. You obtain these weapons by first leveling up a certain armor type, then purchasing them using currency you earn. The four armor types are pretty varied in terms of amount of health, speed, and special abilities. There is a lot of fun to be had in campaign mode if you have the right mindset. This game is meant to be a casual arcade game, so don't expect much fluff like fancy graphics, tactical gameplay, and other hardcore aspects. This game is almost the bare minimum of gaming. But that's not a bad thing, because it's excellent for taking a break from hardcore games like Call of Duty. Personally, I thoroughly enjoy tuning into my iPod, laying down on the couch, and mindlessly blasting away at hundreds of bugs. For the price point, this game is definitely worth it if you're looking for some good, lazy casual fun. Expand
  3. Jul 21, 2011
    9
    First things first, I would just like to say I have not completely finished the game, but I have put a good 10 hours into it already just replaying the first two chapters. With that out of the way I would like to follow up that statement and say that this game should not be reviewed on the same scale that a AAA title would be. It is a budget game, and for obvious reasons it does not compare to say, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves. What this game does offer that many AAA titles don't is 1) Budget pricing (It is $40 brand new) 2) Casual third-person shooting fun, mixed with a very Starship Troopers, B-movie like atmosphere. EDF: IA is separated into three chapters, with 5 separate missions. The mission's are very simple, shoot the bugs! Sure, there are other objectives as well, such as blowing up anthills and taking down giant skyscraper sized spider machine things, but a majority of your time will be spent shooting ants and spiders. The game, being as simple as it is, has a good amount of depth to it as well. You have different suits and armor that you are able to level up, and each one has it's own variations of different weapons (Assault rifles, Sniper rifles, Rocket Launchers, etc.). Depending on the armor or suit you choose you get special skills (Dropping turrets, Jet-packs, etc.). The graphics and sound are pretty late PS2 era, and there are minor slowdown issues, but I believe the destruction of the buildings and such makes up for it, not to mention the oh-so-cheesy dialogue. I enjoy this game simply for it's pick up and play qualities and the on screen mayhem that is just so ridiculous to comprehend. This is by all means a rent before purchase because of the niche feel it has, but if you do go out on a limb and decide to buy it beforehand then you're only out $40 compared to $60. If you are like me, you will find yourself playing for hours on end and wondering why you love it so much despite it's flaws. 8.5/10 Expand
  4. Sep 12, 2011
    3
    Despite moments of pure adrenaline fueled excitement, the game is marred by repetitiveness and game breaking glitches that require you to restart entire levels. These glitches aren't even the worst offender, what aggravates me even more are these constant sound glitches that produce brief high pitch screeches throughout the duration of each level, it gets to the point where I feel the game is better played on mute. I'm all for mindless shooters and I really, really wanted to like this game but due to some poor design choices and an obviously lack of beta testers, this is one title I think everyone should keep far away from. Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2011
    9
    EDF insect armageddon is it mindless , repetitive , and cheesey... yes it is. is it alot of fun hell yeah. i played the first one on the 360 and had alot of fun with it . i mainly prefer games that are more complex and innovative but some times i just want to play some thing simple and fun and EDF fits that need. it harkens back to games like streets of rage and final fight but in shooter form . importantly though it actaully improves on the first one . you now get exp and level up and unlock new tiers for more guns , you also get differnt classes to play as (instead of running around as a pink soldier lol) , the graphics have improved , controls for the vehicels is now pretty decent unlike the first where they are ungodly bad and unusable , and finaly we get online play which was what the first one really needed. not much for a downside except there are less missions you had 53 in the first and now only 15 in the new one and the game is shorter because of it . first one took me around 12 hours to beat it the second one was about 6 hours. still there is plenty of reasons to run through it again be it finding more cool wepons or just enjoying some mindless destruction with some friends . EDF certainly isnt GOTY material but its some thing fun that will keep you busy for awhile and for only $40 why not pick it up or atleast give it a rental. Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    A lovely mix of relaxed gameplay and nerve busting action. The game is amazingly simply yet deep enough to really get into. You want to get better weapons to contend with the ever strengthening bugs and compete with your teammates online. This game does what i normally like in my movies, not take everything so serious. Your a nameless soldiers who slays mountains of bugs. Though people say it is a travesty of a movie, its a lot like Star Ship Troopers and that is a damn good thing to me. It has that 90's machismo, pseudo futuristic feel of movies lie Robo Cop and Terminator. I love the look, idea, and execution of this game. I got it because i thought it would be a good time waster until Twisted Metal came out but it may last me a lot longer than that. I want those tier 7 weapons!!! Like the others I am going with a 9, perfect number for an awesome game. Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2011
    9
    I was pumped for this game when I heard of it, and it certainly did not fail to deliver. It brings back the same classic EDF shooting with more modern level design. The only reason it did not get 10 was because while the gun selections are impressive, they did not deliver the same "holy crap I have guns" feel that 2017 did. Pros: Visually Appealing (relative to the last game) More Guns
    Armor Powers and Upgrades

    Cons:
    All Guns Not Available For All Classes
    Expand
  8. Jul 29, 2011
    7
    Budget pricing and a drastic improvement over the first title make this a game worth picking up. I have played through the campaign and half of the survival mode, and while not totally impressed, I can say that I'll play through it all a few more times. The ease of finding a MP game makes it that much better. The major gripes I have with this title are the shortness of the campaign and the amount of grinding it takes to achieve all the unlocks and weapons. I have put at least 10 hours(with one of four character types) into easy, normal, and hard difficulty levels and have yet to see any of the top level weapons. Let me repeat that... I have attempted to level up one of four armor types(not even trying the other three) for about 10-12 hours and have only reached lvl 6 out of 8 weapon types... to level up all four armors would take a drastic amount of repetition and repeated grinding. Great time waste for the price but don't expect to be drawn in by the storyline (there isn't one) or by the game play (point and shoot until it dies). Final verdict... buy it if you liked the 1st one like i did or wait until it drops to $20 and pick it up when you're looking for something to play while waiting for that next AAA game. Expand
  9. Sep 23, 2011
    8
    I really enjoy this game. The insect physics are creepy, and the action is pretty much non-stop. My best description is it's like a third-person twin stick shooter - minus the twin stick shooting part. It's practically a casual game the way you can pick it up and jump into the mayhem.
  10. Jul 30, 2011
    7
    |||||||||| REVIEW: EARTH DEFENSE FORCE: INSECT ARMAGEDDON // PLAYSTATION 3 ||||||||||
    OVERALL SCORE_7/10|||||||||| (LEARNING CURVE_9/10 // PLOT_6/10 // DIFFICULTY/PROGRESSION_9/10 // CONTROLS_7/10 // CUSTOMIZATION_8/10 // REPLAYABILITY_7/10 // ONLINE PLAY_7.5/10 // MUSIC/SOUND_5/10) ||||||||||
    [SUMMARY:] Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon on the Playstation 3 was a fun game. It had
    some of the things that I would enjoy from a action game: big friggin bosses, guns, explosions, weapon pickups, xp, destructible environments, the whole nine yards. This game really did feel like a watered down version of Gears of War. I was kind of irritated with the fact that so much more could have been done to the game to make it an over the edge hit. Things like, a melee attack, more vehicles, customize-able controls, custom soundtracks, buddy lists... I'm sure I could name more things, but this review isn't to hate the game at all because, I did have fun. I (ironically) played this game on a Friday night/ Saturday morning (after I woke up) and this game took me down memory lane in a good way. This game had elements of games that I grew up playing and I felt like a little kid again. Playing online was good, the magnitude of enemies was on point, and the overall feeling of this game was such that I didnâ Expand
  11. Nov 15, 2011
    6
    This game was $40 at release, and there is a reason for that

    I'm not saying that this means it was a bad game, but rather it was more appropriately priced based on the content. EDF Insect Armageddon is for those who seek instant gratification. The game involves a squad, task force lighting, in which you play the squad leader. You're tasked with repetitive objectives destroying large
    insects or giant robots. There is also a survival based mode in which you vie to survive waves of enemies.

    Both modes feature online co-op. Overall, fun, but easily can get boring. For achievement/trophy hunters, a long grind
    Expand
  12. Dec 1, 2013
    7
    Really polished version of the series everything works great better than older PS2 game and the older 360, but where it fails massively short is the levels the others games had 60+. Good game but too short and experience for an Earth Defense Force game.
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 28
  2. Negative: 6 out of 28
  1. Jan 20, 2012
    77
    You liked Starship Troppers? You always wanted to fight alongside all the other bug killing soldiers? Then Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon is for you! The game offers tons of weapons and even more enemies to beat. It's not the best game in history, but it's damn fun to kick some bug butts.
  2. Insect Armageddon succeeds in one small regard. Good games should make you feel something. Unfortunately the emotion it frequently elicits is rage. While the price is about right, and measured against the games that came before it in the series Insect Armageddon doesn't look that bad. But that's a bung comparison in the wider tapestry of quality games out there that can be had for a few bucks more. [September 2011 p74]
  3. Sep 7, 2011
    55
    Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon may be a reasonably competent game given its budget roots, but somehow ends up being rather unsatisfying to play.