User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 305 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 305
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 7, 2010
    9
    Enslaved: Odyssey to the West is a game that has been on my radar for some time now. Not only is it one of the only non sequel or non remakes of Q4, but itâ
  2. Mar 30, 2012
    9
    Gameplay wise there is nothing groundbreaking here, if anything it's a little bit repetetive although some really fun boss battles and other variations in the gameplay break the monotony. What makes this game brilliant are the characters and their relationships which rival any other game and cinematic experience I've ever had. Would be a ten if it had gameplay to match but a thoroughlyGameplay wise there is nothing groundbreaking here, if anything it's a little bit repetetive although some really fun boss battles and other variations in the gameplay break the monotony. What makes this game brilliant are the characters and their relationships which rival any other game and cinematic experience I've ever had. Would be a ten if it had gameplay to match but a thoroughly rewarding game nonetheless. Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2012
    8
    Hugely underrated game and that's such a shame because it is a lavish and interesting world with delightfully endearing characters. It's another of those that I was bought a long time ago that I've only just played - out of guilt over my neglect and I've thoroughly enjoyed it from beginning to end, so much so I've now bought the Perfect dlc. There are two small flaws, sometimes the cameraHugely underrated game and that's such a shame because it is a lavish and interesting world with delightfully endearing characters. It's another of those that I was bought a long time ago that I've only just played - out of guilt over my neglect and I've thoroughly enjoyed it from beginning to end, so much so I've now bought the Perfect dlc. There are two small flaws, sometimes the camera angles are annoyingly ropey making fights harder than they should be and conversely during other sections it holds your hand just a bit too happily making these parts too easy. Otherwise I loved it, a fun and interesting take on a classic myth, a beautiful steampunk-esque world I wish I could have explored a lot more and some of the best characters in video games ever. Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2010
    9
    One of the best games of the year, period. I will gladly hurt anyone that gives this game a bad review. The choice of Andy Serkis' voice was perfectly fitted!
  5. Oct 6, 2010
    9
    I created a profile here on Metacritic solely for the purpose of telling anybody who'll listen just how breathtakingly amazing every cinematic is. The subtle nuances of the facial movements, the emotional honesty of every piece of dialogue, and the real chemistry that Monkey and Trip share on screen overshadows every game (and most movies) I've ever seen. Even the performances in MassI created a profile here on Metacritic solely for the purpose of telling anybody who'll listen just how breathtakingly amazing every cinematic is. The subtle nuances of the facial movements, the emotional honesty of every piece of dialogue, and the real chemistry that Monkey and Trip share on screen overshadows every game (and most movies) I've ever seen. Even the performances in Mass Effect 2 and Heavy Rain seem like high school plays compared to the real believability of every line delivered. As for the game-play, it's nothing groundbreaking but pieced together very well and, like the story and characters, fits into the world that Ninja Theory has lovingly crafted. The controls can feel a little sluggish at times, but the customization is surprisingly deep and intuitive. Don't be afraid of a game which is based around one big escort mission - pick this game up now. Expand
  6. Oct 7, 2010
    10
    This game is probably the best game I have played this year. It looks amazing and will keep you on the edge of your seat the whole time you're playing. What really sets it apart from any other game is that the story is much better than the normal game story "Journey to the West" really is where cinema and games meet.

    The best gameplay is in the cloud sections where you fly around on
    This game is probably the best game I have played this year. It looks amazing and will keep you on the edge of your seat the whole time you're playing. What really sets it apart from any other game is that the story is much better than the normal game story "Journey to the West" really is where cinema and games meet.

    The best gameplay is in the cloud sections where you fly around on your hoverboard.

    Buy it now!
    Expand
  7. Oct 9, 2010
    9
    Nowadays, there aren't very many games that capture the feel of Enslaved. You'll be on the edge of your seat the entire game, doing acrobatic platforming moves and engaging in smooth combat all executed by the hyper-realistic graphics. The game itself is very linear, but that allows it to pull off some amazing levels. In the very first level, you'll find yourself running around the outsideNowadays, there aren't very many games that capture the feel of Enslaved. You'll be on the edge of your seat the entire game, doing acrobatic platforming moves and engaging in smooth combat all executed by the hyper-realistic graphics. The game itself is very linear, but that allows it to pull off some amazing levels. In the very first level, you'll find yourself running around the outside of a crashing slave ship, something that had me grinning. But I have to say, the platforming seemed almost too easy. In fact, I found it almost impossible to die by falling during a platforming sequence, something that left me a little confused. Luckily, they didn't do the same for the combat, even though enemy encounters aren't as common as you might think. And then there are the boss battles, which challenge all your skills at the game. The story is quite good, you being a big, strong warrior named Monkey who is forced (By death-headband.) to escort the nimble, tech-smart Trip to her home village. I noticed that Trip didn't have much importance in the gameplay, as you had to protect her in only a few areas. And the ending will have you scratching your head, as it sets the game up for a sequel (Or does it?). If you enjoyed playing the Uncharted games, or if you like action-adventure games, this is for you. Expand
  8. Oct 10, 2010
    10
    This game is great!!... it may not have great gameplay dynamics or mechanics or bla bla bla... whatever else the techno gaming geeks love talking about... the main thing is its fun. You will want to play it. You will want to discover the rest of the story, you will want to live in the beautiful and deadly world the guys at Ninja Theory have painstakingly created. The characters are deepThis game is great!!... it may not have great gameplay dynamics or mechanics or bla bla bla... whatever else the techno gaming geeks love talking about... the main thing is its fun. You will want to play it. You will want to discover the rest of the story, you will want to live in the beautiful and deadly world the guys at Ninja Theory have painstakingly created. The characters are deep and well done with perfect voice and mition acting. Get this game, ignore the haters... its great! Expand
  9. Oct 15, 2010
    9
    What a beautiful and amazing Odyssey! The story is simple but so perfectly told. The excellent acting and voices make the characters really alive (thanks again Mr. Serkis). The game play does not reinvent the wheel but is still effective (play it in hard mode though). There are little imperfections here and there but if like me you are more concerned by having a good time following aWhat a beautiful and amazing Odyssey! The story is simple but so perfectly told. The excellent acting and voices make the characters really alive (thanks again Mr. Serkis). The game play does not reinvent the wheel but is still effective (play it in hard mode though). There are little imperfections here and there but if like me you are more concerned by having a good time following a well presented and enjoyable journey; this game is for you! Expand
  10. Nov 4, 2010
    9
    Amazing. Beautiful looking, epic adventure, with an emotional character driven story that will suck you in. Imagine Beyond Good And Evil mixed with Uncharted 2. The strongest elements of Enslaved are the story, acting, and cinematics. The images are mostly gorgeous to look at. Each world has a unique, rich, stylized color palette. Some of the cinematic gameplay cameras showcase the worldAmazing. Beautiful looking, epic adventure, with an emotional character driven story that will suck you in. Imagine Beyond Good And Evil mixed with Uncharted 2. The strongest elements of Enslaved are the story, acting, and cinematics. The images are mostly gorgeous to look at. Each world has a unique, rich, stylized color palette. Some of the cinematic gameplay cameras showcase the world and the story with great compositions. The character lighting serves the story well, and mostly looks great. The combat system is simple but fun, and the weapon leveling system gives good incentive. The weaker points of the game are sometimes repetitive platforming scenarios, but I guess you need something to do in an action adventure combat platformer. User controlled cameras during combat can be very annoying in close quarters. There are some annoying visual anomalies as well, especially popping of baked player ambient lighting, inconsistent texture density, and visible lod popping. I encountered a a couple instances of bugs which required restarting from checkpoint in order to advance. Still, the strengths make this a special game. I look forward to more stories from this universe. Expand
  11. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    A story for the ages with new, vivid life breathed into it. The cooperative AI was actually helpful, and the combat, while not varied, is only a small part of the game. My favorite part of this game is riding Monkey's Cloud, a static hoverboard that lets him zip around the landscape like a mad man. Try if for yourself, I know I love it.
  12. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    A lot of people are hard on this game because of the automatic platforming and the battle system being good but not the deepest experience compared to other action games like DMC. This is an action adventure game. The story is great, the voice acting is amazing and so are the facial expressions (best in a game yet). The controls are good and allow you to enjoy the experience and while theA lot of people are hard on this game because of the automatic platforming and the battle system being good but not the deepest experience compared to other action games like DMC. This is an action adventure game. The story is great, the voice acting is amazing and so are the facial expressions (best in a game yet). The controls are good and allow you to enjoy the experience and while the game is linear there are puzzles, boss battles and other challenges to keep it from being a simple affair. This is one of my favorite games of all time, it's worth the money and play-through if you like deep experiences or adventure games like Beyond Good and Evil. Expand
  13. Jan 11, 2011
    8
    Having grown up on the camp 70's monkey on television, I was interested in how it Ninja Theory would translate a piece of old text about a monkey god that travels with a monk to India into a modern gaming piece. Well I must say I was very impressed by the effort, as normally I find these types of games [god of war series, castlevania, devil may cry,dante's inferno, bayonetta etc] to be ofHaving grown up on the camp 70's monkey on television, I was interested in how it Ninja Theory would translate a piece of old text about a monkey god that travels with a monk to India into a modern gaming piece. Well I must say I was very impressed by the effort, as normally I find these types of games [god of war series, castlevania, devil may cry,dante's inferno, bayonetta etc] to be of little interest to me as I am not bothered by combos, don't get me wrong they have their respective place and can be a lot of fun, but after you've completed them then they normally wind up as trade in's for new releases. Yes I did trade this in, simply because after I had finished the campaign there was little replay for me. But what I did notice was the incredible story enforced by the believable voice acting and the question we all asked "will monkey and trip....you know....make with the sex?" But that aside I actually cared for the characters; well maybe not pigsy, well not until the last scene that is. The setting was artistically rendered in it's presentation, with a green overgrown apocalyptic world overrun by machines who were in need of being "smashed right up" were enjoyable. What I will say is I needed something else to come back to this hence not a perfect score? no multiplayer fine I don't need it, but some DLC or an open world game? Am I asking too much? I just hope this is not the last odyssey game, but I would like a little more replay value. Great game go try it. Expand
  14. Nov 15, 2010
    9
    I've signed up with metacritic as I owe a review to the developers, Ninja Theory, for this awesome game. I wish it had better publicity and hope it is a sleeper success that is enjoyed by more gamers. It's seldom I sit through a game and play it straight through in a short time and Enslaved was a first. It moved along solidly, was amazingly beautiful, a well written story and nicelyI've signed up with metacritic as I owe a review to the developers, Ninja Theory, for this awesome game. I wish it had better publicity and hope it is a sleeper success that is enjoyed by more gamers. It's seldom I sit through a game and play it straight through in a short time and Enslaved was a first. It moved along solidly, was amazingly beautiful, a well written story and nicely developed characters with incredible emotional interaction and some fine performances. The detail and depth of thought behind the world by the creative developers deserves a mention. If you find it easy, max out the difficulty. I highly recommend this game it was super fun. Expand
  15. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    This. Game. Is. Great. It's hard to recollect something I didn't appreciate and fully enjoy about Enslaved. Spanning around 8 hours, Enslaved was amazing. Combat is just wonderfully epic, along with the climbing/scaling stylization of the Uncharted series, it was nothing short of FUN. With an engaging, original story, emotional points, and very enjoyable, smart dialog, Enslaved was one ofThis. Game. Is. Great. It's hard to recollect something I didn't appreciate and fully enjoy about Enslaved. Spanning around 8 hours, Enslaved was amazing. Combat is just wonderfully epic, along with the climbing/scaling stylization of the Uncharted series, it was nothing short of FUN. With an engaging, original story, emotional points, and very enjoyable, smart dialog, Enslaved was one of my favorite titles of 2010. Characterization is great, with well sculpted protagonists such as these- Enslaved is an incredible title. An easy 100 . (I made a metacritic account with one intension- to rate this game so people will enjoy it- hopefully- as much as I did.) Expand
  16. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    This is such an under-looked game.Most people skipped this one but should definitely go back and check it out. It's a very good game that has a lot of emotions put into it.
  17. Dec 20, 2010
    9
    What a great game! I wouldn't have even known about this game had it not been for the RebelFM podcast. Great action, story and graphics. The only reason I don't give it a 10 is because of some glitch animation during cut scenes.
  18. Feb 9, 2011
    8
    Creative narrative, characters and world make Ensalved a pleasure to play through. The characters have great chemistry and the dialogue is fantastic. But with little to do in the replayability category its mark gets bumped down 1. The combat can also get a tad repetitive after awhile. The DLC while adding a few more hours still isn't nearly enough.
  19. Feb 9, 2011
    8
    A brilliant start for a new IP with the major flaw being released when AAA titles were rolling out week after week. This game was a bit slow going at the start without the real components kicking in after a couple chapters into the game. The wrecked city of New York is beautifully carved out with colours not much seen in modern video games, the 3 major characters in the game are wellA brilliant start for a new IP with the major flaw being released when AAA titles were rolling out week after week. This game was a bit slow going at the start without the real components kicking in after a couple chapters into the game. The wrecked city of New York is beautifully carved out with colours not much seen in modern video games, the 3 major characters in the game are well thought over and have their individual personalities and the story, despite some plot holes that you'll have to fill in yourself, is very well driven, exactly what this game was made for. The more you go on into the story the more you want to find out. The game was made with sequels in mind and now it is a waiting game, as initial sales were poor due to being released at the time of GT5, Black Ops, Hot Pursuit, New Vegas etc, to see if we will be seeing those sequels and if we don't, it would be a real shame as this game has made a great start. Expand
  20. Mar 30, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. O.k., this game was great overall and is worth the buy, but that being said, let me get into how it disappointed me in a few ways. (1) The story is too short. I loved and enjoyed all of it, but it felt like it went by too quickly. about 3/4 of the way through when your introduced to pigsy and do a few sidequests, the game kicks it into overdrive not making any stops into fillerville (which going into filler ville is sometimes is wanted and o.k.), and the game ends making you feel like the creators were'nt able to get everything in that they wanted, not that the ending was'nt good, but it felt a tad rushed. I would have died for a few missions that introduced new characters, maybe show some other societies, gone into more of the romance between monkey and trip, anything would have sufficed. The end contrasted a bit from the beginning which was so captivating and felt like it was gonna go the route i wanted, which it did till alittle after pigsy. When you feel the end at hand, it impairs the story a bit unless it had more support and more depth built into it, which the support it had was good quality stuff, but you need a bit more in your combo meter before you perform your kudegra. At the end you wanna say "wow, that was a great ride" and not "man, i can't believe its over (which with no sequel in sight also makes you sad that this wonderful universe will never be expanded on except in dlc)." Which is a hell of a lot better than saying "thank God its over" but is still not perfection.

    (2) Although the slaver plot was resolved, the situation between monkey and trip did'nt have closure, I was half-expecting a scene to explain what happened to trip and monkey afterward, regretfully were only left with conjecture to what happens. Im not really into romance, but I really wanted to see that develop a bit more.

    (3) Pigsy is a love/hate character for me. I thought he was funny 85% of the time, otherwise his humor was whatever. The way he died and his reason for commitment felt shaky to me. He was a great original character but i felt trip and monkey were much more entertaining and their story more captivating without him. I thought he was a great character, but i think they needed to pick him up, drop him off, and meet new people.

    (4) Every different form of gameplay felt like it needed well crafted repeats. Fun times like when you and trip fought mechs together with teamwork felt like it needed abit more (they also needed to give trip a few more powers). Also, cloud parts were great, especially when they mixed it in with combat was entertaining. there are other examples as well but i wont go into it. Overall combat was solid, but more could have been put into it.

    (5) Where the hell is everyone else, do you mean to tell me pyramid has captured everyone except trip, monkey, and pigsy? The only thing you fight is mechs, there are no more evil or good characters besides what i just mentioned. But this actually wasnt a problem for me until pigsy was introduced, it made the story feel different in a way that made me say "well if you added him, i need more characters." However before that, surviving post apocalyptic America and wondering what was gonna come around the corner next was exciting with trip and monkey. The feel of the game changes when your mission turns to revenge and to kill the slavers. The new feel was'nt bad, the humor actually improved and some things felt epic, but i did miss the carefree parts before it.

    (6) glitches and framerate were not a big issue, but there. I experienced one takedown glitch, and one area where the framerate was a mild problem. Besides that, almost completely not noticeable.

    Besides those few things I really loved the top notch story, the graphics were great including amazing facial expressions, the humor, the characters, and gameplay overall was very enjoyable. My rating would be a 9.1
    Expand
  21. Apr 3, 2011
    10
    Awesome game! Good visuals, good game play. it could be much better, sure, but it is good as it is. Its easy to like Monkey and Trip and travel adventure with them in through the wasteland.

    Perfect adventure!
  22. Apr 15, 2011
    8
    Short review: Their work on Heavenly Sword is better, but this game is still enjoyable. The bond between the two main characters develops over time, which is nice, but the gameplay starts to feel a little repetitive. The imagination behind the levels/environments is impressive, though.
  23. Apr 17, 2011
    8
    This takes place in a surprisingly lush and green post-apocalyptic world, full of dangerous mech's that attack you at every turn. You play as Monkey, a really likable character who's forced to accompany Trip, a resourceful female, back to her home through the dangerous countryside. Most combat is melee with a staff, though there's a small bit of shooting as well. And a lot ofThis takes place in a surprisingly lush and green post-apocalyptic world, full of dangerous mech's that attack you at every turn. You play as Monkey, a really likable character who's forced to accompany Trip, a resourceful female, back to her home through the dangerous countryside. Most combat is melee with a staff, though there's a small bit of shooting as well. And a lot of platforming - climbing around in and on the partially destroyed buildings in this dystopian future. The characters are the star here, well developed and very sympathetic. The environments are really gorgeous and quite varied. Combat takes a short while to learn, but once you do it's fun and challenging. My main complaint is the camera, which swings around wildly during combat, making it a real pain to see what you're doing. Wish I had a dollar for every time time I missed somebody by 180 degrees because the camera picked that moment to pivot around. Overall this is a fun and engaging game and now that it's in the bargain bin I'd definitely recommend checking it out. Expand
  24. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    one of the best adventure games ever made monkey and trip go on a epic adventure to escape the ruins of new york while being chased by mechs Across the ruins of new york. who still think there is a war so they shoot all humans on site because that's what there programed to do. the gameplay is a smooth as you would want it. absolute beautiful, graphics and environment details. the storyone of the best adventure games ever made monkey and trip go on a epic adventure to escape the ruins of new york while being chased by mechs Across the ruins of new york. who still think there is a war so they shoot all humans on site because that's what there programed to do. the gameplay is a smooth as you would want it. absolute beautiful, graphics and environment details. the story is just epic this game reminds me of uncharted 2 it has excellent facial animation but now its dated thanks to la noire if you like adventure games you will love enslaved odyssey to the west. come on ninja theory make a sequel for the fans. this game didn't get the reception it deserves. 10/10 Expand
  25. Jul 9, 2011
    8
    Enslaved is a great game bogged down by some less than great game play. The story in Enslaved is nothing to write home about, but the characters and environments bring it to life. The story has an interesting twist at the end, though it felt that it ended abruptly (might just be me). Although it only has a handful of characters, they are all fleshed out very well. From the subtle facialEnslaved is a great game bogged down by some less than great game play. The story in Enslaved is nothing to write home about, but the characters and environments bring it to life. The story has an interesting twist at the end, though it felt that it ended abruptly (might just be me). Although it only has a handful of characters, they are all fleshed out very well. From the subtle facial animations in the cut-scenes, to the way they move in game, to their dialogue, all three of the main characters are great. The interaction between Trip and Monkey is one of the best I've ever seen. The visual style in Enslaved is beautiful, and some of the vistas shown in post-apocalyptic New York are jaw dropping, but there are some problems. There are some noticeable visual problems, the most obvious being textures loading later than they are supposed to, (I forget the technical name), and the landscapes during the motorcycle scenes are downright ugly. If you are looking for deep and challenging game play, Enslaved doesn't have it. In most encounters you are told exactly what to do. In Combat you are given most of your combat tools early on, and there are really only three types of enemies that show up (aside from bosses) so things can get repetitive. There is a customization system, but it isn't very deep. Platforming is fun, but aside from a few crumbling handholds and moving obstacles, it doesn't involve any risk. Even though it isn't very deep, everything works and manages to be fun. I should also say that this probably the best escort game play I've seen in a game because, for once, the person you're escorting is actually more useful than a bag of rocks. If you enjoy a good story driven game, you owe it to yourself to give Enslaved a try. Expand
  26. Sep 14, 2011
    8
    This game was $8 where I bought it from, and I can say I've never gotten more out of $8 than I have with this game ! It's fun and unique and the ending blew me away !

    I really would have given this game higher numbers, but I felt like I was fighting the camera for 90% of the game. While it's not a deal breaker it really is a nuisance in areas where certain death is assured without perfect
    This game was $8 where I bought it from, and I can say I've never gotten more out of $8 than I have with this game ! It's fun and unique and the ending blew me away !

    I really would have given this game higher numbers, but I felt like I was fighting the camera for 90% of the game. While it's not a deal breaker it really is a nuisance in areas where certain death is assured without perfect movements.

    This game has great pacing, the opening 10 minutes are a heart pounding thrill ride that will have you wanting to delve deeper into the world you've suddenly been thrust into.

    The characters are really unique and voice acting is really superb with the likes of Andy Serkis (Lord of the rings/The Prestige) The world you play is a robot infested future wasteland, where robots and humans are on opposite sides of the field.

    This at it's heart is a hack and slash adventure, with an RPG like skill tree for abilities. Which you will want to explore to build your character growth up.

    This game took me by surprise and I can't stress enough that it's worth the low cost. The pacing is good, the story is good, and the characters will grow on you by the way it all unfolds.

    If you liked games like Darksiders, and Uncharted then you'll like this game to, it's an adventure that shouldn't be passed on. Especially because you can find it at such good pricing.
    Expand
  27. Sep 25, 2011
    8
    Enslaved is a fantastic game, and it is sad that it did not see more retail success. Like Beyond Good and Evil before it, Enslaved attempts to tell an engrossing story with a number of gameplay styles. For the most part, it succeeds. The characters are well-acted and the action is often intense. The music is also good, though not particularly memorable. The visuals range from acceptable toEnslaved is a fantastic game, and it is sad that it did not see more retail success. Like Beyond Good and Evil before it, Enslaved attempts to tell an engrossing story with a number of gameplay styles. For the most part, it succeeds. The characters are well-acted and the action is often intense. The music is also good, though not particularly memorable. The visuals range from acceptable to good, with occasional moments of excellence.

    The game falters at a few points. There are some odd bugs, and occasionally the camera seems intent on obscuring what you need to see. The controls are mostly spot-on, but take some getting used to. In particular, The Cloud is unwieldy in tight spots. That is a shame, because it starts off exciting. It becomes less fun as levels require you to be more precise on it. Thankfully, at about the point you become frustrated with it, it goes away. The climbing could be compared to a more frantic Infamous, with the same style of "assisted platforming" such navigation tends to require. Enslaved isn't as open as Infamous, of course, and the climbing follows preset routes rather than an open city. True to its name, Enslaved is about a journey. Such things typically run in more or less a straight line, so linearity isn't a problem.

    I completed Enslaved over the course of a weekend, on Normal difficulty. I had a great time, but don't feel the need to return to it. I've skipped on the DLC as well. The game's main story seems more than sufficient. I'd recommend Enslaved to any fan of a good story. With a script by Alex Garland(28 Days Later, Sunshine), Enslaved features interesting characters with more depth than the majority of video games. Direction and performance from Andy Serkis(best known for playing Gollum in the Lord of the Rings films), means you'll also find of the best acting ever to grace interactive entertainment. Lindsey Shaw is captivating as Trip, and Richard Riding's Pigsy is appropriately funny and off-putting. I can't emphasize it enough: developer Ninja Theory set out to create a compelling story told through the medium of video games, and did an admirable job. Ninja Theory succeeds where so many developers before them have failed.

    If you want to experience a thrilling, well-produced story, Enslaved will take leave you satisfied. People looking for exploration, multiplayer, or a longer game should probably look elsewhere.
    Expand
  28. Nov 6, 2011
    8
    What a great game! Loved the story, the characters and the level design was great as well. Playing the game felt like I was on an adventure. A sense of discovery. The gameplay was very enjoyable, the enemies were a blast to defeat. I would of rated this game a perfect 10 if, it wasnt for the technical issues. 1. being the out dated graphics. The close up animations were amazing, but theWhat a great game! Loved the story, the characters and the level design was great as well. Playing the game felt like I was on an adventure. A sense of discovery. The gameplay was very enjoyable, the enemies were a blast to defeat. I would of rated this game a perfect 10 if, it wasnt for the technical issues. 1. being the out dated graphics. The close up animations were amazing, but the gameplay graphics seemed to be not as sharp. Expand
  29. Dec 17, 2013
    8
    If you like heavenly sword you know what you're in for. But the gameplay isn't as fluid as heavenly sword. And this game is actually just a bit less then heavenly sword in every way.
  30. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    This game BY FAR the most UNDERRATED game this gen!!! Honestly i would buy this game over an OVERRATED game like call of duty anyday.. Btw This game is a like a mix between uncharted+prince of persia.. I highly recommend it especially if you like action-adventure games
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Jan 16, 2011
    80
    Enslaved is scoring with its motivating story, the good graphics and the enjoyable, but not challenging climbing passages. Sadly, the fights are unvaried and there is no multiplayer.
  2. Dec 19, 2010
    90
    If you're looking for a game that offers all the amazing things I've spent the last handful of paragraphs gushing over as well as one of the most interesting and original stories in a game this year, Enslaved won't disappoint.
  3. Dec 19, 2010
    95
    Enslaved: Journey to the West is definitely a contender for game of the year.