User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 52
  2. Negative: 7 out of 52

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 17, 2013
    7
    Very good game. Really felt the speed and the handling seems good. The learning curve is too high though and maybe the game is too realistic in terms of physics. What I mean is that you start spinning too soon and also it's too difficult to pass another car without penalty. I had fun though and on easy difficulty it was even possible for me to win enough races.
  2. May 3, 2013
    9
    Very good game. Not perfect but very good. Slightly improved graphics and the handling has been refined. Unfortunately the frame rate has gotten worse. Certainly one of the best F1 games I've ever played on a console. That being said I really don't like license exclusivity. I think the consumer would be better served if more than one company was making F1 games. Playstation for years held exclusive rights to F1 and then never released the games to the American market. One thing I don't get is why these games tend to be slightly inferior on the PS3 considering the EGO engine was originally developed with Sony cooperation. Expand
  3. May 6, 2012
    4
    F1 2011 my personal review and feelings from experience of playing over almost year in this game. First of all I will say I'm disappointed. This is one of the games which should be unique and amazing. and this game could be but if will be developed by other company not codemasters. Single player mode in this game is quiet interesting and brings fun but in the first 1 or 2 seasons in career mode. for me personally this is too easy. you can go too easily from poor team in to the one of the top ones and also even in poor team you can won the race on the legenend AI's difficult. SHAME.
    in F1 game from Sony the single player was much better because player was able first to do tests in the teams competitive with 2nd driver to show skills etc and then try real race in f1 2011 from codemasters NO! straight away races without nothing. You sing up with Lotus and you start racing in longest 7 seasons mode too short sorry. after 1st season you can have a chance to sing in with much better teams which is ok but not for 100% because in time when you sign in with better team BMW e.g. then you are unbeatable because level of AI's driving is to low way too low. On legend in better team like BMW you can overtake them easily and won every race. so after 2nd season this game become boring!. also not realistic damages of the cars. just front wing looks more realistic but other body car parts no. to damage the car completely you have to hit the wall with 280 km/h in Sony that was much much much better because when you span out and hit the wall your wheels was go of etc. so looks for me more realism to real world f1. No suspension damages such as gear box etc. sometimes punctures but from CODE masters and on this level of game is not enough to satisfy player and sorry but is not worth £40 in UK.

    on of the biggest disappointments, mistakes, bugs etc is multiplayer mode something on what waiting every player. Multiplayer mode in F1 2011 codemasters is CRAP!!!!!!!!!! I donâ
    Expand
  4. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    If you love F1 then buy this game! Sure it isn't perfect and CM are not doing anything about it but if you love the sport then you will get plenty of hours out of the game. The gameplay is much better than F1 2010, the cars feel much more real however the graphics aren't as good as F1 2010 for some reason :/
  5. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    Coming from years of racing on the ea sports nascar games and now the nascar 2011 the game, I was curious when I found this game. I had never driven this type of car, and have little experience on lengthy road courses, just the ones in nascar. I found this game extraordinary compared to the nascar games. There are similarities that I like in both, like the wonderful graphics. I love the practice and qualifying and the use of rain tires (tyres). I have 5 races left in my amateur career mode and sit 4th in points, have 1 pole, 2 wins and 8 podiums on the year. I am playing the very easy way until I get used to these cars. The ONLY thing I would love to see is the celebration after the races, whether you win or on the podium... show the guys getting their trophies, etc. Right now you just see them get out of their cars and get congratulated by the second place driver. I have not gotten to the end of the season and am very close to the first place driver. I can't wait to see what happens if I win the overall championship. I love the setup prior to race, during race and after the race. Great game from a true novice of this racing style. :) Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Amazing game, probably the best f1 game yet, stunning graphics, strategy is plus important in this version, less bugs than 2010 all f1 fans must get this game.
  7. Nov 14, 2011
    7
    F1 2011 is a great game for virtual driving veterans, but it is often frustrating for players like me, who enjoy racing games but aren't the best at it. I find that in Career mode, it is too hard to complete objectives and level up, which enables you to receive contract offers from higher teams. I was looking forward to the Safety Car, but I haven't experienced one yet, because there are few crashes which only involve the AI drivers. On most tracks, the setup is key, which is annoying for drivers like me who are clueless when it comes to adjusting the camber.
    Multiplayer is an equally frustrating experience, purely due to the fact that so many people forget that there is a first corner and smash you off the track. The penalty system is a failure, and I have been penalised many times for being on the receiving end of a crash. The XP system confuses me, and ranking up is a lottery, since normally winning a race is down to pure luck.
    Expand
  8. Nov 5, 2011
    7
    F1 2011 is a very mixed bag. There are a whole host of improvements to career including safety cars, punctures, minor reliability issues, KERS & DRS. The handling is less punishing - you can actually attack the kerbs without spinning out. However there are issues. Halfway through my first season with Force India I am told I am expected to win the race - totally unrealistic. The real problems come when you go online. The lobby system is poor being dominated by games already in progress that you can join but not take part in. Frequent dropped connections even when you are host. Horrible lag causing multiple crashes. Loss of position tracking - game tells you that you are in first until final lap when suddenly you are 5th without being overtaken. When behind the safety car you get a drive through penalty for an illegal overtake even though you didn't overtake anyone. Then you serve your drive through penalty only to be told on the next lap you must serve the penalty again or be disqualified! Unless Codemasters fix these issues I wont be buying any future versions. Releasing the game with a semi-broken multiplayer is no way to treat F1 fans. This is even more annoying because when it does work (about 50% of the time) multiplayer is a lot of fun. Expand
  9. Oct 16, 2011
    4
    PROS: New handling system, now throttle and steering is smooth and progressive. // Improved c0ckpit view. // Much better IA. // Great kers as DRS implementations. CONS: Sub-HD graphics with no alising at all, much worse than 2010 release, all is totally blurred 25 meters away and causes headaches. // Stupid penalty system that allow users to cut corners. // CPU cars are extremely fast in wet. // Cars are still tanks that will be not broken on usual crashes with other cars or walls, only with brutal ones. // No telemetry yet. // Grass has a lot of adherence. // Long load times. // Pit stops interactions (throttle and brake) are gone, manual limiter too. // Extremely short replays. // Car tune seems to do nothing except give you more or less max speed. Collapse
  10. Oct 1, 2011
    5
    Gameplay Overall 9/10 Handling 9/10 Strategy 9/10 AI 7/10 Single Player Career 8/10 Multiplayer 7/10 A big step up here from F1 2010 massively fun to play but unfortunately ruined on PS3 by... Graphics Overall 4/10 Textures 4/10 Antialiasing 0/10 Anisotropic filtering 0/10 Frame rate 6/10 Car models 9/10 Track details 8/10 Lighting 9/10 Weather 9/10 The graphical issues are entirely limited to the PS3 release, and could all be fixed if CM put enough resources into it. The frame rate is very poor, makes it incredibly difficult to be consistent and smooth, and the poor textures and zero antialiasing make everything on screen in middle to far distance a complete mess.

    Until it's patched I can't recommend the PS3 version at all.
    Expand
  11. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    This game has been one of my most anticipated games of the year. I watched trailers and read endless magazines about the game and every bi of info made me all the more excited. When you get the game it requires a tiny 2 minute update and about a minute install which i loved immediately! The campaign has the interviews like the last games but the answers aren't as obvious to pick, which i like as you have to keep on your toes. The graphics are stunning and with the new DRS, KERS and Safety car it has beefed the game right up. Also the new 2 player co-op campaign is a real treat, the whole idea is amazing and it is fun to work with a friend to become the number one team in the career. There a few minor problems such as to have the safety car on in career your difficulty level has to be expert and sometimes it glitches slightly but these are very minor issues. As you progress through races discarded rubber builds up on the side of the track meaning you have to plan an overtake because there is no grip. They have also brought in engine blow ups, so if you're using manual be careful not to overrev the car as a engine blow up could be just around the corner. Punctures have been added as well, use too much of the kerb and a flat can happen. In whole i think the game has been a absolute success and would highly recommend to any gamers interested in the realist experience in a racing game. Expand
  12. Sep 27, 2011
    8
    There are improvements in this version over 2010, the cars handle differently and I feel the learning curve is much easier, I had the handling nailed in a few laps. What this game does give you are the new rules on KERS and DRS, plus tyre strategy is more important in this version. You can no longer manually request a pit stop during a race , pit stops can be planned before you race, this is much better imo as it forces you to look after your tyres more during racing. Go ahead and drive like a manic in a race but you'll find that pit stop you planned on lap 8 will be required by lap 5 , although you can just drive into the pits for an early pit stop if you want. I felt the tyres degraded far to quickly in some instances they were wearing after 3 laps!!..might just be my driving though. Graphics imo are not as good as 2010, cars look great but stands etc not as crisp. This is a great game no doubt about it, but the game assumes you know something about F1 as there are no instructions as to what KERS and DRS etc do. So those who are new to it may be put off by the lack of help from the game or manual. The manual is useless by the way.But there is an online manual you can look at. (no good if you have not got an internet connection though!) On paper the online options seem solid but ive read a lot of negative feedback about the co-op option being broken..not tried it myself yet. . Ai much improved over 2010, although I feel they are a little too good at times, not seen them make a mistake yet like they did in 2010.Plus there are numerous bugs in the game, one example is the Ai doing dry lap times in wet weather, not good. i hope Codemasters rectify the problems, but they're reputation for releasing patches is not the best. All in all an improvement on 2010, but full of bugs on and offline that really shouldnt have seen the light of day. Expand
  13. Sep 24, 2011
    7
    Beware! if you are a serious driver ,like myself. And you hated the chaos going on ONLINE in F1 2010.. Then your problems aren't over. Everything is still here: Chaos at the start, Unfair Penalty's , unfair XP loss, Colissions everywhere etc. Nobody seems to drive normal and think its destruction derby or something Its just chaos all over the place.. I'm just talking about the online mode here , the rest is not really different from last year ( Besides DRS, KERS and safety car ) The graphics are the same to ( i think sometimes they look worse then last year ) Overall its still a good game , but i hope they will do something about the online CHAOS soon .. Expand
  14. Sep 23, 2011
    6
    Based on the PS3 version and a few hours play, I'm disappointed. For the most part, the graphics appear to have got worse; they look too bright and cartoony. The handling is very different, although I accept this may just be a learning curve. The dynamic racing line just lies to you, and as you can't manually request a pit-stop any more, you'll be taking your chances on some circuits. I've also had weird noises (not associated with a fault on the car etc) appear, hang around for a very annoying minute or so, then disappear.

    I was excited for this release, but I can't describe it as anything other than 'meh' now.
    Expand
  15. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    Got my pre order early, a couple of days before the uk release ....... The game is fantastic.
    Have played the game all day in both career mode and online. The graphics are sharper than last year and the game in general is a bit slicker than last year.
    The big difference however is on the track......... The control of the car feels better, your not thrown off the track every time you touch
    a kerb, the damage model seems to work better and the whole thing is just great fun. Absolutely love it Expand
  16. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Excellent. This game improves what already was a great game in F1 2010. It is hard but incredibly rewarding when you master it. The learning curve is not as bad as in F1 2010 but the AI has received an incredible upgrade and that is what makes this game so challenging. If you are into simulators and have any interest in F1 then this game is a must buy.
  17. Oct 16, 2011
    0
    PROS: New handling system, now throttle and steering is smooth and progressive. // Improved c0ckpit view. // Much better IA. // Great kers as DRS implementations. CONS: Sub-HD graphics with no alising at all, much worse than 2010 release, all is totally blurred 25 meters away and causes headaches. // Stupid penalty system that allow users to cut corners. // CPU cars are extremely fast in wet. // Cars are still tanks that will be not broken on usual crashes with other cars or walls, only with brutal ones. // No telemetry yet. // Grass has a lot of adherence. // Long load times. // Pit stops interactions (throttle and brake) are gone, manual limiter too. // Extremely short replays. // Car tune seems to do nothing except give you more or less max speed. Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Nov 18, 2011
    71
    A lack of sustained excitement and some truly horrendous graphics hold back all the good work. [Issue#211, p.93]
  2. Nov 7, 2011
    75
    The big reason to upgrade to this year's version would easily be the online career mode, but otherwise there isn't a whole ton that was really changed, besides polish. All in all, it is still the best F1 game to date and does out do F1 2010.
  3. This years model. F1 2011, improves on last years's game in almost every way: qualifying is real, pitting works, and the handling no longer feels ripped from the Dirt series. [Dec 2011, p.68]