User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 694 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 82 out of 694

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 10, 2011
    9
    Looking for a fun rpg with a huge open world? Fallout 3 is for you. It has some nice graphics with long quests. The only problem is that it crashes sometimes, but its rare that it will happen.
  2. May 28, 2011
    10
    As with GTA,turning the series into 3D has worked phenomenally.An utter brilliant game and worthy of the many awards it received.Though not without the oddglitch or annoyance,Fallout 3 is one of the best games ever made and will steal a hundred hours of your time without trying.The DLC packs are mainly excellent with Broken Steel and Point Lookout being the better of them.Buy it and wait impatiently for Fallout 4. Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Utterly amazing. Long hours of game-play, amazing story line, many side quests, large map, and amazing DLC. This is my favorite game, my previous being Fallout: New Vegas.
  4. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    now if you are a fan of games like oblivion and morrowind . fallout 3 is your game with guns instead of swords and a nuclear waste land instead of a medevil setting. Fallout 3 improves alot of what the prevous games did . the first much faster load times , alot less buggy and glitchy then the others , the combat system is the most fun of the 3. now i never played the prevous fall out games i know i heard a few people saying they liked the older way better and didnt care of the elder scrolls style update they did . i really cant comment since i hadnt played the originals but i know what i like and i really like this game. there are a Ton of things to do in this game , a story that not amazing is entertaining enough to keep you moving foward , lots of places to explore , going good or evil makes for a fun replay . i dont know how Grand Theft Auto 4 beat this out for game of the year . Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    For me, there weren't any bugs, especially in the PS3 GOTY version. I had a great time playing this game and was able to get 100% and all the trophies in about 80 hours. This was a great game through and through, and deserved to be GOTY 2008. Only about 5 freezes throughout my experience with this game, and all of them were caused by trying to do glitches. Buy this game if you want something new. I wasn't disappointed at all with this game. With Oblivion getting me hyped for this release, i wasn't surprised on how good this game was. 10/10 Expand
  6. Apr 16, 2011
    6
    I bought the Game of the year addition with all of the five dlc created for it. It only cost me $20. Considering that this was game of the year back in 2007, it hasn't age very well. The graphics pretty dull for a Bethesda game that had put out Oblivion the year before this one. But like Oblivion, the npcs have no personality and you find yourself in a very lonely non-interactive world doing people favors. Its not suppose to be a shooter game, although you can attempt to use your controller to take shots at enemies but you'll waste rounds and get killed very quickly. Instead you need to rely on something called V.A.T.S that is an automatic targeting system that allows you to create damage against your enemies. So in essence, it's Fallout 3's way of using the RPG standard of tactical combat effected by your level and skills, just like another game that came out that same year, Mass Effect. Unlike Mass Effect though, it doesn't have a story to make you want to keep coming back to play. The whole story is that your Dad has left the security of the vault without telling you why and you leave to go find him, or not. It's an open world, so if you wish to go and collect old ashtrays, books, and bottlecaps for trade and wander the Wasteland. I never knew the Post-Apocalyptic world could be soooooo boring. Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    Not much to say about this game, other than that the hours I have logged playing it show me how much I thoroughly enjoyed it. The characters are realistic and interactive, and the story is very personal and well written. The one real complaint I had was that after the final mission we could not roam the wasteland afterwards, however one of the DLC fixed that.
  8. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    I heard that this game was an amazing open world free choice game and yes there is a big open world but free choice isn't really to say. You only ever have 2 ways of really doing things right and wrong that's not really ultimate choice. It's great that there is a big open world but that's one of this games biggest downfalls. You get a quest find out that's it's somewhere on the other side of the map you haven't been and have to spend an hour getting there constantly saving every 10 minutes cause there's SO many bugs in this game. This is what let me down the most. How can a game be released with so many critical bugs. I know bugs in software happen and to fix them you usually break something else but come on. At the moment I'm trying to do The Pitt add on and the game is running at a slide show if at all. There are some many game breaking bugs that the game isn't enjoyable to play in the slightest. The only reason I'm still playing is cause I'm a completist and don't want to feel like I wasted 34 bucks. Also another terrible feature about the game is the shooting mechanics it never seems to actually go where you want to and trying to aim with the controller is nearly impossible (now you know why we have VATS the devs couldn't make a shooter engine). Even if you do opt for manual shooting the games frame rate drops to a standstill whenever a gun fight occurs. I do not understand how this is such a highly regarded game IT SUCKS DON'T BUY IT. Expand
  9. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    I was hesitant to pick up this game because I had not played the former fallout games. But when i finally took the plunge, I had no regrets. It obviously runs on the same engine as oblivion, but with major improvements. Loved this game, the moment i stepped out of the vault and into the capital wasteland. Kept me busy for around 100 plus hours. The only thing I wish it had was a buggy or some kind of bike to get you around quicker. The usual glitches appear here, as they did in oblivion. Main storyline is ridiculously short, and lackluster, but the side quests are awesome and well thought up. Expand
  10. Nov 17, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. for what was a very creative and fun game series, fallout NV and 3 set an all time low. Sure, fallout 3 and NV pulled the series to 3d and open, and i admit it was kind of fun, but that fun was ruined by the major bugs, freezes, glitches and crashes i experienced on my copy. it happened on my PC,ps3 and 360 copies so its not my system. This is a very crap game that does not deserve a sequel. If 4 gets made, it must not be developed by obsidian and not use that crap gamebryo engine. I cant even tell you how bad the DLC makes it. Its unplayable after 3 hours gameplay. its like it purposly freezes to tick you off! Expand
  11. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    If there were ever a time to call a video game art this would be it..
    This game is nothing short of a master piece, unique and interesting characters, fantastic dialogue and story, an unbelievable amount of things to do without out it ever feeling repetitive or bland..

    Definitely worthy of the hype!
  12. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Amazing voice acting, amazing story line, gameplay, DLC, quests, exploring. What more could an RPG player ask for? Bethesda just excels at everything in the RPG category! 10/10
  13. Jan 25, 2011
    9
    The VATS system is awesome. I loved playing Oblivion and Fallout 3 GOTY edition is great so far. There are technical issues as with any Bethesda game, such as glitches and graphical problems but this game is so much fun, the blemishes are minor here.

    I am afraid of using the expansion packs because people have expressed problems playing certain areas but the main story has been very
    good. What really gets me excited are the side quests. The people you meet in Megaton and in GNR Radio Broadcast, the Brotherhood of Steel and others in Rivet City give you interesting new areas to explore.

    This is an RPG game based around a shooter. Almost like Mass Effect in a way with decision trees and character development but more open and expansive. I'm playing this game in 2011 and still think the graphics hold up well to some of today's games. Not a type of game for everyone since it includes talking, story, voice acting, you know to develop a plot. Unlike alot of games, this is slow to develop but you can choose any path you want explore freely instead of being an on the rails affair like COD for once.
    Expand
  14. Oct 19, 2010
    8
    Fallout 3 is a massive game and to this day I still haven't even scratched the surface, but I've played for about 10 hours on my current character and it manages to at least nearly equal Oblivion. It's not quite as amazing as Oblivion was when it released, but it comes close. The combat is great and the quests dynamic. There's little to complain about, except for the bugs which are common in every Bethesda game. Expand
  15. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    Don't get me wrong this is a great game, and still really relevant considering its quality, at first it is hard to get into but stick with it and you will find it amazing. However don't get it on PS3, go PC. I'm usually pro console, but the modding community for Fallout 3 is extensive and the mods you can find online add so much more to the game.
  16. Aug 20, 2010
    10
    Ironic that the game takes place in 2077, yet I feel nothing will surpass this glorious piece of emotion evoking digital art for perhaps 8 decades. Fallout 3 is open, yet constricted. Enormous but precise. It's simplified complexity. This game boils everything beautiful about playing an action adventure game into some of the most simple pleasures. It's as if I'm watching an over the top action movie and fast forwarding to all of the action packed sequences and replaying them in slow motion over and over. The character development is unmatched for anything in it's genre, along with some of the most convincing voice acting I've ever come by. Fallout 3 is, was, and always will be, the future. Expand
  17. Oct 7, 2010
    9
    I once read someone calling Fallout 3, 'Oblivion with guns'. Well, to an extent, that's true. It shares the same quest mechanic as Oblivion, the conversations with NPCs are formatted the same, the map is of a similar size, and the inventory management is also similar. Fallout 3 also is also buggy as hell, perhaps even more so than Oblivion (tread carefully with the GOTY edition).

    However,
    Fallout 3 is far more detailed than Oblivion, which for a game set in a barren wasteland is some achievement. Never has death and destruction felt so alive. The character development via attributes, skills and feats (or 'perks', as they are known) is much more RPG-like with its familiar 'earn stats and allocate them as you see fit' rule, as opposed to Oblivion's 'increase stats by doing' principle. The main story is a little on the weak side, but Fallout 3 is a game that allows you to create your own story. The combination of its side-quests and its open-world platform provide a tabula rasa for the player to carve out his or her own narrative through their decisions and experiences. â Expand
  18. Sep 1, 2010
    9
    The most stunning thing about Fallout 3 is not the size of the gameworld but the amout of stuff thats been packed into it and the attention to detail. I remember having played the game for close to a year and i was still discovering surprises and twists. No other game comes close to not only giving you the freedom to go where you want and do what you want but also a sense that you just have to search every nook and cranny to see what you can find. Fallout 3 is more an experience then a game. Expand
  19. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    I picked up this game late in 2008, and only because of pressure from friends. I had never played a Fallout game previously, but had enjoyed The Elder Scrolls: Oblivion, Bethesda's las major effort. I really didn't have much expectation. What I got was a game that ranks squarely in my all-time top 5 (perhaps even 2), and I've been a hardcore gamer for the better part of 25 years.

    The
    graphics are very good, but you won't be blown away by them. The visual palette is very subdued, with the environment painted in washed out greens, browns, blues and grays. This isn't by mistake, though. Character models are good, though not on par with games like Mass Effect. However, they are a big step up from those in Oblivion, as they don't appear facially deformed.

    The sound design is great, especially if you have a 5.1 setup.

    Combat is a bit clunky, especially if you are used to true FPS games, which Fallout 3 is not. For what it is, it is more than sufficient. The VATS system slows battles down, and lets you map out each strike/shot. It also lets you end confrontations with a variety of satisfying, bloody (or gooey) flourishes. Weapon customizations allow you to create cool and sometimes ridiculous and amusing armaments.

    How the game plays out is really up to you. If you stick to the main narrative, you can polish of the game in short order (maybe under 10 hours). But that would be bypassing the bulk of the game, and much of what makes it great, which are the enormous variety of sidequests. The Capitol Wasteland is a vast place, and nearly everywhere you turn, you will find people to help or harm, errands to be run, or things destroyed. Your actions will have consequences, as you accrue karma, both bad and good, that affects how you are regarded by others, and options that are open to you. These quests vary from the silly to the serious and thought provoking. Moral dilemmas abound. You can easily log 100 hours without feeling as if the game is spread too thin.

    What really made this game great (in my opinion) was the atmosphere. Bethesda did a spectacular job of crafting a desolate yet relate-able world that is truly emotionally evocative. The bleak palette I mentioned earlier is juxtaposed against cheery, 50's style billboards with colorful ads and sunny catchphrases. You will be wait deep in combat against horrible mutations while listening to happy 40's-50's tunes. You are faced with a desolate, depressing post-apocalyptic waste, yet the ghosts of the pre-war world are always present. It is a decidedly melancholy world, which I thought was very fitting.

    Now for some of the bad, which id pretty PS3-specific. You may have heard that the PS3 version is vastly inferior, which isn't entirely true. Greatly exaggerated, in fact. The graphical differences are minimal, at most. Sometimes the PS3 version actually looks better, depending of the place and time. The only noticeable difference is that the PS3 version freezes with some frequency, particularly late in the game. You can combat this to a degree by deleting the data cache for the game (not the game save file) occasionally. The only time this became a headache for me was in one of the DLC missions, Operation Anchorage, where I saw the worst frame rate drop I had ever seen (which was remedied by saving, deleting the data cache, and reloading).

    But this is absolutely not a deal breaker by any means. This is an immensely enjoyable game that any serious gamer needs. It is, in my opinion, a true benchmark game. By far my favorite of the current generation. If you have a 360 or PS3, you need to play Fallout 3.
    Expand
  20. Sep 27, 2010
    4
    Bah, Fallout 3. When I bought it, I thought it was going to be interesting, but I was horribly mistaken. The world is HUGE! A little bit too huge, I f you ask me. I couldn't get very far without getting lost. The map doesn't help very much, and during the time when I was lost, I was pwned by around 4 big monster deals with miniguns.I'm not afraid to say that me and Dogmeat didn't last long, especially with the crappy weapon life. Why didn't they make the weapon health system like Oblivion? Expand
  21. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    This game is decent, for an RPG lover it will be a fun experience from start to end. The atmosphere and is well crafted and you will immerse yourself in the setting. The main problem I had with this game was the combat, it's super simple and after a while it gets repetitive and boring. This game would have been a classic if it wasn't for the silly combat.
  22. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    Wow. Only 5,000 character reviews allowed? That's not nearly enough to describe the beauty of this game. But anyways, guess what? This game is one of the best games ever. Bioshock and Fallout 3 are the best FPS-RPG hybrids in the world. And guess what? They both came out for the PS3 at roughly the same date. Bioshock came a week earlier on the PS3, and I say the PS3 because Bioshock didn't come out on the PS3 until about a year after every other version. Anyways, what can I say? You're born, and you make your gender, name, looks, etc. Then you're suddenly 1 year old, and you're introduced to the actual mechanics. Then you're 10, and you're given your Pip-Boy, along with a BB-Gun for your birthday. Then you're 16, and you have to take a test to see where you fit into in the world. Then you're 19, and for some reason, your dad is gone. He disappeared and escaped from your home, vault 101. Vaults are underground shelters, and were created because of the ongoing Nuclear War. Everyone is looking for you since they apparently think you know where he is, which you really don't. After a few tasks, you get out into the real world. Now, this is all the reason why this game got a 9 instead of a 10. The intro, and that's really my only grudge, other then a few glitches. The real world is nothing like you're used to. It's a barren wasteland that you don't even recognize. You go to a nearby town to find more about your father and where the hell he went, and that's about the point that I got to. Now, the great thing about this game is the amount of options. You can choose to shoot the head, the torso, the right arm, the left arm, the weapon, the right leg, and the left leg in the brilliant system known as V.A.T.S. You can choose side quests. You can choose to save people. You can choose to kill people. Even the conversations have options. No matter what, you always have a say in what you do. The combat is the weakest part, though. Even though that's not saying much. That's like saying that 1 YouTube video is worse then the best YouTube video. The combat doesn't feel like how combat in a FPS should be. Bioshock did combat better. But other then that, this is one of the greatest games in existence. And this is where I draw the line. Expand
  23. Dec 14, 2010
    4
    It's a good game but the console version should be avoided at all costs! I have never had so many bugs and crashes in a game before. This is what could happen if you port a game meant for the PC on a console. All those bugs and crashes ruined the game for me and I heard New Vegas was the same. Play the PC version, not this.
  24. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    This is a great enjoyable game which i have completed several times. Although it freezes quite often and is very annoying to play on the ps3. also the add-ons for this game add plenty more hours of game play and unique items,weapons and armour.
  25. Oct 12, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Often touted as "Oblivion with guns", Fallout 3 is certainly very similar to the fantasy-world RPG. It is just as immersive as TES IV, with a great soundtrack and world to explore. While many become bored with the dreary landscape and green-and-brown graphics, they don't realize that Fallout 3 takes place in a post-apocalyptic wasteland-not the colourful forests and piercing mountains of fantasy RPGs. Bethesda pulled off the post-apocalyptic theme perfectly, and one really feels as if they are fighting to survive in this devastated world. Fallout 3's gameplay is excellent. Certain skills like persuasion, thieving, sneaking, and ranged attacks (V.A.T.S in particular is excellent) have all been improved on, and the game is a blast to just explore through and interact with the world around you. Sadly, however, Bethesda has still made some of the mistakes that it has with other games in the past. The animations, albeit slightly better than in Oblivion, are still dreadful, and the game's also still full of glitches (sometimes the game becomes completely unplayable, whether it be because of lag or a an NPC randomly dying/glitching in behaviour). While Bethesda hired some top-notch voice actors for Fallout 3, they still didn't hire ENOUGH. Many of the sub-characters' voices are completely recycled. The story also follows the patterns of past games: great-but-not-excellent; and tremendously anti-climatic. However, just as these problems didn't (and shouldn't) stop people from playing Oblivion, the same applies here. Despite all these minor annoyances, Fallout 3 is still a must-buy, featuring a completely immersive, interesting world with excellent gameplay to boot. Delve into the wasteland and forge your own path, Lone Wanderer. Expand
  26. Mar 28, 2011
    10
    Man did I miss the boat on this one. I picked up Fallout 3 in a bargain bin recently 3 years after the hype and euphoria. As an rpg noob ( the last one I played was FF7) I have to say getting into the mindset is the hardest part. You have to walk around and probe and search and chat to people, 'yeh so what?' I hear you say , but for me I wanted to shoot and run cod style. Getting used to the VATS and the menu system was also tricky at first. I also found this game inordinately difficult. Trying to get somewhere with a frail little guy and a pistol with lumbering Giants speeding towards you can be disheartening. But Once the instant travel option has been accessed you can go back and forth easily and quickly. The difficulty setting can also be managed if your getting mauled. Overall though , hours of play rewards a truly mesmeric monster of a game. It oozes atmosphere. The option to be good or evil is also intruiging. It's an awsome journey. Ok bad points. Auto save is a silly function and before removing got me in hot water straight away ( turn it off) . There are too many wandering encounters that can kill you on a whim or at least take away ALL your energy and suck you dry. I dont care how good VATS is you cant take down a giant with a pistol. There should be a way to reduce wandering encounters ( maybe the difficulty setting does?) . Stealing stuff or doing something bad by accident is so easy to do and suddenly you lose karma and the whole of a town wants to kill you. Now thats also very annoying. All of that aside its a truly epic game which Id recommend to even RPG virgins, just make sure you have lots of saves and go in with the right attitude guys. Expand
  27. Oct 27, 2010
    9
    Fallout 3 is an adventurous re-think of the classic RPG game Fallout, rendered in fully-fledged 3D glory and containing one of the most vast and unrestricted landscapes ever committed to pixellated form. Despite a few minor niggles and a wholly unfulfilling ending(/s), I found playing this game to be a real visceral treat. Moments of genuine terror and tension are aplenty, especially if trolling through abandoned subway stations while sitting in a darkened room, wondering where that scuttling sound is coming from and whether you have enough V.A.T.S points to stop it. One of the finest games of recent times. Expand
  28. Oct 28, 2010
    8
    Fallout 3 Game Review
    Fallout 3 is an RPG created by Bethesda Softworks. Fallout 3 is set in post-apocalyptic Washington D.C. in the year of 2277 where nuclear war has scarred the face of human kind with various mutations of the people due to radiation. The player is able to explore this â
  29. Nov 30, 2010
    8
    read it if you are new to fallout series
    I never played any of the fallout games. I bought it because i have some friends that love it and i decided to give it a try. I played the game for a few hours and simply couldnt understand what was going on.. or what should i do... I was completely lost.
    After a few months i decided to give it another try, and it took a while but i learned to
    enjoy the game. It can be really exhaustive sometimes, but in a general it was good fun and in a way, a masterpiece of freedom of choices, I must confess i was really disappointed by the ending , i actually ended the game thinking I was in a side mission.. But the game is like this: most of the times you end up choosing a path without really knowing what will be the consequences. Although this is its weakest point its also the best thing about the game. Expand
  30. Apr 11, 2012
    4
    For most people, Fallout 3 will be a wonderful experience. For me... I just couldn't get my head around shooting at something like an FPS but never being able to hit it because of level stats. If you're not supposed to use the FPS aiming system, why put it in the game? If physically aiming at a guy's head with a sniper rifle counts for nothing, why bother giving us a scope? I know it's an RPG and you're supposed to use the VATS system, but the hybrid aspects of the game just totally killed it for me. Expand
  31. Jan 1, 2011
    9
    I say this game would be a ten but the problem is that it has too many bugs and freezing issues. Other than that this game is amazing. So amazing I beat it 4 times, and there are very few games I beat more than once
  32. Mar 24, 2011
    8
    this game was pretty good i loved it and i have played through a couple times but i wish that it had a few more side misions or that it wasnt always the same ending and would it have killed them to do more misions i mean the map is absolutly HUGE but there is only a couple places that things actually happen in but i still loved it and will play through it many more times in the future and is a must buy especially now that it is only 15$ Expand
  33. May 1, 2011
    6
    Generally decent with okay graphics. Quests and NPCs are dull and repetitive, making for some very boring moments. The weapons are good, but are very overpowered, even on the Very Hard difficulty setting. The enemies aren't very varied, so you will often encounter many of the same enemies. The voice acting is okay but is ruined by horrible lip syncing in nearly every character. The 360 and PC versions run smoothly and look fine, but unfortunately the PS3 version pushes the console to its very limits and thus crashes often. The textures look washed out and the same goes for the graphics. Also very glitchy. All in all, a game that received more hype than it deserved. Expand
  34. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    I wish there was a 9.9 button I could press. I do not give out 10's lightly and though Fallout 3 gets pretty damned close to earning one from me there are a few things that keep it from being a perfect experience.

    I had become pretty jaded with games this decade. The shooters were gettting bland, Square wasn't making anything fun, and most of the series I'd loved on the PS2 hadn't
    followed me to my new system. A friend of mine told me about Fallout 3 and initially I was put off by the sheer size of the thing. I figured it'd get boring and frustrating very quickly. I was very wrong.

    The story may be a tad flimsy, but the setting is great. I remember starting the game and that same friend telling me "See all those buidlings out there?", as I glanced around the destroyed cityscape after emerging from the vault. "You can go into everyone of them. If you can see it, you can get to it". This idea of size enthralled me and I soon became obsessed with just the simple idea of surviving the in the waste. Going into caves, abandoned supermarkets, old schools (most of which had their own stories told through journals and atmospherics) and scavenging for priceless items, upgrading and maintaining my weapons and trading to get better equipment. It was all simple but it was so rewarding.

    The game features an amazing sense of freedom. If something lives, you can shoot it. Which means you can truly walk the line between good and evil in a world with real repercussions. You can either work, scavenge and save up for that certain item you've had your eye on, or wait until late at night, kill the shopkeep and rob his store to sell off somewhere else. But the people you kill stay dead. So everyone who plays has a bit of a different experience.

    The blend of first person action and RPG elements works great thanks to a great combat system and inventory screen. This includes the V.A.T.S. targeting system, which allows you to use your attributes and skills to target certain areas for precision kills. Very useful. Or you can just run and gun and shoot from the hip if you are so inclined.

    The game does, hoever suffer from some terrible glitches. Loading screen loops, key items disappearing, NPC characters seemingly forgetting their lines and cues. It's a big game, and there are a great many things going on at all times that you are always altering so I guess sometimes it gets sort of confused. All of that said; this game is not for everyone. There are long stretches of just wasteland wandering and the main story will be over before you know it, if you pursue the story missions. But this is a unique game in a unique environment. It gets as close as I've yet seen to that immersion factor people are always looking out for.
    Expand
  35. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    i salute you! i currently have 200+ hours into this game and have not used any strategy guides for it! you can choose to be good or bad, i went with good 0:) this is more than a game people this is you creating a life with real life altering decisions! most NPCs can be killed and then they are gone forever,.. you lose the quests from them and maybe even a good vender! i love this game so much i have the dlc for it and am even getting a pipboy 'thumbs up' tattoo on my shoulder! Expand
  36. May 6, 2011
    10
    fallout 3 is one of the best rpg games and ps3 games ever made the story is just fantastic the tone of the game stuck in the 50s is excellent the best on ps3 the side quests are excellent to with good stories to them the main quest is even better the world is rich in detail and there is lots of things to do and see sure it has bugs but it doesnt ruin the game this is the best ps3 game i have ever played the graphics are dated now but it is still good the dlc operation anchorage/the pitt/broken still/point lookout/ and mothership zeta are all fine no wonder fallout 3 was game of the year it rocks plus its way better than fallout new vegas well done bethesda this was my first fallout game i played i loved everything about it Expand
  37. Jun 5, 2011
    6
    A bit repetitive but overall fairly fun. Biggest complaint is that the enemies don't get harder the longer you play. Also, after you get to level 4 or so there's no need to search anything (lockers, desks, etc.) other than the enemies you kill.
  38. Sep 15, 2011
    8
    Fallout 3 is a unique experience of an alternative future, with near perfect gameplay and a brilliant level-up system. Fans of what was a PC exclusive turn-based rpg were suprised when the third outing of the series would be played in first-person and in real-time. The game isn't a direct sequel to the previous games of the series, but rather an expansion of the universe. The series was traditionaly set in post-apocalyptic America, mainly in what was the state of California. Fallout 3 takes place in what was Washington DC, now known as the Capital Wastland. As a local citizen of Vault 101, you wake up to find out your dad had left the vault andd thus start a long journey to find him and ask about his actions. The gameplay resolves around a Karma system, which affects how locals interact with you. Local towns will give you benefits such as jobs and opportunities to make money if you have good karma, while greedy landlords and slavers will do the same if you have bad karma. The level-up system uses the tradional XP system, but you can only distribute points to your skills at the moment you level up. You also get to choose a perk at every level, which can boost your skills or give you a special ability. The gameplay is acceptable, but not perfect. The firing machanics for ranged weaponry dosen't have an iron sight button, making aiming the weapon harder and less effective. There is the odd bug or two, but only on very rare occasions. The gameplay is challenging at first, but better weapons, armour, skills and perks make the game a bit easy in later occasions. Fallout 3 is an impressive relaunch of post-apocalyptic America with new ideas that work. With plenty to do and memorable moments to remember, it is worth getting if Oblivion feels a bit too traditional. Expand
  39. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    Awesome RPG open world game. Great, moving, immersive story, or you could just wander the Capital Wasteland! Totally up to you. Very interesting characters and enemies scattered across the Wasteland.
  40. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    Game is amazing but yes it has some bugs (did not bother me) and it crashes sometimes. I 've spent over 100 hours on it and I just love it. Crashes started after 70 hours of gameplay. I had one or two crashes every 5 hours... so not so bad...
  41. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Okay, I have owned a PS3 since the start. The Fallout series is the best for replay value I have found yet. I have probably beat the game 10 times and I still find new stuff every time I go through it. Try not to just run through the main story line, go do the side quest. You will enjoy this game, it's even better the tenth time through. I am ready for fallout 4!!!
  42. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    This game is perfect. I've never played a fallout game before. The world was amazing, the story engaging the choices very good and even replayability (and I normally never replay games!). I did not have any problems with glitches and freezes in this game though.
  43. Mar 13, 2012
    8
    Do not let the score fool you. It is far from being obsolete in the great category. The story and drive it relishes to you, through its dialogue, side quests and ultimately its main storyline is what sets it apart from any other 8/10 game. I recommend that you get this for the Xbox360 or PC as the glitches take away a part of the experience of the PS3 version (hence the 8) If future gaming exists with what this game has done to the gaming industry, we're in for a great ride with Fallout 4. Expand
  44. Dec 1, 2013
    6
    I have followed these role-playing types of game a long time, but never got into any as I lacked the time and interest in the setting of the vast majority of them. Something about Fallout 3 grabbed me, so when the price finally hit an all-time low, I decided to pick it up off the bargain rack to see if this series was for me. Fallout 3 isn't a terrible game, but it's not an especially good game either.
    I knew something was wrong just by the way it began. The graphics suck, especially by PS3 standards. This is a minor complaint as gameplay is most important, but there's no denying the characters look like they were carved/painted out of blocks of wood, or that the environments are bland and uninspiring. Another problem I have is the voice acting. Liam Neeson does a fantastic job as James, but other characters can be incredibly annoying, or worse, have little to no personality. Too often, it didn't feel like I was talking to real people. Instead, they felt like they were only there to make the task of completing the game's story more difficult for me. No one will help you from empathy, they always expect you to do some favor for them before they give you just enough information to keep going, but never quite enough to reach your goal. Even the seemingly kind Moira of Megaton does not offer so much as a stimpack before sending you to do research for her book in a wasteland where she knows everything imaginable wants you dead. This was a serious impediment to my progress, especially for someone playing for the first time.
    Gameplay falls short too though. Ignoring some minor bugs and glitches I experienced, the world is deceptively empty. It's huge and full of lots of detail, but has little worth doing in it. AI also sucks both for allies and enemies. Battles are more boring and AI more stupid than Call of Duty campaigns. Essentially, you stand out in the open and shoot someone 10 or more times to kill them before they can shoot you 10 or more times; not that it matters very much since you can heal mid-combat no problem. Use a stimpack, eat some food, even repair weapons and armor mid-combat, and you're back in the fight in no time. I don't think one guy should be able to kill 10 or more bandits like it's nothing, but it couldn't be easier here.
    The level system makes this process even more monotonous as later enemies are more resilient to gunfire for no reason. It really makes me wonder if any of the designers ever shot a real gun, because they don't seem to understand how powerful they are. It is here I must point out how overpowered the V.A.T.S. system is. Sure, getting a kill is satisfying the first few times, something interesting may even happen here or there, but it just takes what little strategy existed in gunfights and completely removes it. For these reasons, I didn't feel a sense of accomplishment when fights were over. I just felt grateful to still be alive and not have to redo the segment again. Perhaps this is an authentic representation of how one would feel in a real nuclear apocalypse, but it's not the kind I want to pay for.
    Quests are too confusing. I had to research tutorials and the Fallout Wiki more than once to solve some of them. There is nothing wrong with a game that challenges your mind, but when it becomes "You need to pick up the tapes in this order, then you need to talk to X person, then you need to go to X location," it is too much. Some parts are meant to be confusing, like how to get out of the Tranquility Lane simulation with good karma, but there you know the state of things, and you expect to do a bit of puzzle solving. Elsewhere, this makes no sense.
    Are there redeeming factors then? Well, yes. Otherwise I would not have talked about this game so long. The main story is very interesting, and the main characters are compelling. The sheer number of quests in the game can keep you busy for weeks if you insist on doing everything, and there is replay value in that you aren't going to see everything on one play through, from a single perspective. I had a lot of fun investigating the back story of this world too. There's the general information of course, a Great War brought a pervasive nuclear wasteland, but few people know much about what happened exactly. Scattered clues like Chinese equipment and bodies, the number of hideously mutated humans, and even some alien sightings raise even more questions. Uncovering the sinister ambitions of the prewar United States government, as well as its fascist remnants the Enclave, learning the story of how people were manipulated, and ultimately uncovering the truth of how humanity destroyed itself is intensely satisfying.
    I thought about scoring this a 4/10, but I have to admit the presentation of the game's setting won me over. However, no amount of professional storytelling can cover the fact that Fallout 3 is simply an incredibly mediocre game that doesn't deserve the acclaim it has received. 6/10.
    Expand
  45. Aug 8, 2012
    8
    What a great game with such a deep world to explore. Fallout 3's combat system works and goes along with the whole RPG element of the game. Fallout 3 has a great story and the game allows you to pretty much have the freedom of how you want to handle the wasteland with a karma system. There are some downsides tough, things can get repetitive and after your save file gets over about 8 mb there are occasional freezes. Graphics could be a little better but the immense environment makes up for that. Other than that, you can pick up the game now for a reasonable price plus the game of the year edition has all the DLCs which is a awesome deal. Expand
  46. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    Story: 9 out of 10
    Graphics: 8 out of 10
    Gameplay: 9 out of 10
    Fun: 10 out of 10 (depending on difficulty)
    Controls: 9 out of 10
    Ease to Learn: 8 out of 10
    Length: 9 out of 10
    Re-play: 10 out of 10
    Audio: 8 out of 10
    Bugs/Glitches: 5 out of 10
  47. Feb 24, 2012
    8
    the real downside to FO3 is the crashes, bugs of varying degrees, some bland side quests, and the main story isn't amazing, but I didn't think it was too bad. This is a game with so much to do and so much character, I loved the V.A.T.S. system but what really kept the combat fresh was the tons of unique weapons and armor, probably one of the best aspects of the game. The real-world feel and actual monuments, buildings, and locations really help create an overall mood to the game. Another awesome part is Galaxy News Radio, the music along with Three Dog is freakin awesome, and is a cool way to add in the feel that what you're doing actually matters when Three Dog reports it. The game isn't perfect, and some quests are boring, some locations run-of-the-mill with nothing too special, but it's counter-balanced with some great vaults with pasts that you discover as you go through them, and hidden gems throughout the wasteland that make exploring worthwhile. This is one of my all time favorite games, and if you can deal with some boring, as well as technical problems, this is an amazing game Expand
  48. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    Its a good game, But it gets old quick. If you want a really good game cheack out Skyrim Best game out there!...........................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................... Expand
  49. Mar 4, 2012
    8
    next to the elder scrolls series fallout is the best open world rpg on the market the storyline is actually interesting the gameplay is fun the vats system is also neat all the guns do different things so the guns are awesome in this game and the world is fun to explore the only problem is besides 2 main towns the game is very lonely i know its supposed to be a nuclear apocalypse but it gets boring being alone all the time and this game also crashes alot and the graphics are less then amazing but other then that this game is awesome Expand
  50. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    If you are one of the few who CARE about bugs/glitches that occur please ignore this review. This game aside from the afore mentioned bugs/glitches is one of the most immersive, fun, exploratory, interesting games i have ever played. This game does the apocalypse justice.
  51. Apr 10, 2012
    9
    Despite the technical issues, this is still my favorite game of this generation. An interesting story, an amazing atmosphere, great music, great characters, great quests. This post-apocalyptic world will keep you hooked for hours. It has quite a few bugs, even after the many updates, and the visuals aren't anything special. You can certainly feel in every way this was made for the PC, but that shouldn't keep you from playing this. Expand
  52. Apr 7, 2012
    2
    I don't know where to startâ
  53. Apr 6, 2012
    8
    This post-apocalyptic Action-RPG is huge!! It has vast non-linear landscapes with dozens of cities and towns to explore, deeply layered missions and very compelling story lines, good voice acting and a terrific retro soundtrack that helps set the moody tone from the start. Seemingly endless character types(friends and foes) to meet/kill as you scavenge the immense and ravaged terrain. All the while collecting a vast assortment of weapons(from your first BB-gun to your Mini-Nuke Warheads). Slay baddies and take their body armor/weapons/etc as well. Collect as many valuables as you can carry. They can be sold for Bottle-caps(the currency of the wasteland), which in turn can be used to purchase/repair your supplies/weapons/armor. Many misc found items can be assembled into unique and devastating specialty weapons. I have not even mentioned the very fun selective body part targeting system in addition to the traditional aim and shoot option. That system could be another paragraph. Expand
  54. May 8, 2012
    0
    I really did hate everything about this game. It just wasn't for me at all. Especially the control setup.. But pretty much everything was hot garbage in my opinion.
  55. May 27, 2012
    8
    An engaging and rewarding roleplaying/first person shooter set in post apocalyptic Washington DC. There is excellent storytelling combined with deep and thoughtful choices that are made that impact the game. Bethesda makes gamers drool with the perks system, point allocation, and the all-mighty and all-satisfying VATS system, which allows you to enjoy torching a mutant, blowing the head off of someone, or nuking an entire town. Fallout 3 is worth playing and is a classic already. Expand
  56. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    This is a game that feels like a real step forward. An intense, fascinating, and fun game that takes you on a real journey. The main story quest is compelling, as is exploring the ruins of Washington D.C. And the surrounding towns. For all the well-documented glitches, Fallout 3 is as perfect a gaming experience as you will find.
  57. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    Bethesda does it again. If you are a RPG fan you cannot go wrong. Great story, great humor, a must buy. Free open world games are Bethesda back yard, and they really know how to make a game world come alive.
  58. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Excellent game, brilliant storyline, beautiful map, but has many bugs that do not take the merit of an excellent jogo.A bethesda surpassed all expectations and raised the level of a game rpg bringing numerous NPC, various quests, a dangerous world with gangs the rider and mutants and creatures, a giant arsenal of weapons. All these elements make the game fallout 3 a score of 10
  59. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    Fallout 3 is the greatest game Bethesda, or any other developer, ever made. Bethesda completely succeded in turning a great turn-based game series into an amazing RPG/FPS.
  60. Aug 18, 2012
    9
    Still one of the best games on PS3 if you liked Skyrim its the same makers open world RPG if you took Call of Duty and Skyrim put them in a pot throw in a nuke thats FALLOUT 3 you will love it or hate it there not much between tho it would have been a 10 if it all could have been online...offline only sux !
  61. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    A great game, a change of perspective in RPG, amazing story-line a must buy and play, like all other Bethesda games had some problems in the launch, but like always they fixed with the patches, game is amazing, suck you in, game play difficulty can be changed on the run, like the other Bethesda titles and everything else that makes a perfect game.
  62. Sep 7, 2012
    9
    This game is great the problem is though the ps3 version is the weakest version of this game so i would recommend getting the pc version because this version has a few technical problems but not game breaking.
  63. Oct 7, 2012
    8
    Never before roles and action game were merged as skillfully as in this dark tale of a desolate future. Splendid graphics with lots of detail, unfortunately, very long dialogue sequences
  64. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    One of the best RPG's ever made and with a huge open world you will have hours upon hours of fun exploring the ruins of DC. I would recommend the Game of the Year Edition if you can, due to all the excellent expansion packs that it has. A truly great game that i deeply recommend to anyone who enjoys action, exploring and an great storyline.
  65. Nov 10, 2013
    8
    Hated it on my first two hours but once you start to enter the game's atmosphere it sucks you right in. To an explorer and items hoarder like me Fallout 3 is pure bliss.
    STORY AND CHARACTERS: Oddly enough they're not memorable. Though there are plenty of characters and side missions to make none catches your heart.
    PRESENTATION: The capital wasteland looks and feels authentic. Bethesda
    is not a "graphic whore" and mainly focuses on the experience that delivers to the player. And that is fulfilled.
    GAMEPLAY: Great with V.A.T.S. being a fun feature that you will use time and time again. Exploration is recommended and encouraged. Beware though danger is always present...
    PROGRESSION: If you like character build up then you're in heaven because Fallout 3 gives you lots of choices here. Max level could be higher though.
    Although the lack of a great story and charismatic characters is noticed Fallout 3 is still an amazing experience. Mandatory to all RPG fans.
    Expand
  66. Dec 17, 2012
    8
    Love fallout, a simply great game, if you love open mapped games and plenty of missions (inclusing main ones) then this is the game for you :) Loved it!
  67. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    This game deserve 9.5 but i can't give it more than 9 since it's plagued with game freeze, slowdown and other bugs. The game plays well for a while but if you're a completionist like me, you'll start having problem much later in the game. For me, the last of the 5 expansions (brotherhood of steel) was almost unplayable. Don't worry though, it will happen only if you try to discover every location and do every quests in every expansions, things that most people won't do anyway. Still a great game ! Expand
  68. Jul 18, 2013
    4
    Fallout 3 was sitting on my shelve for years. The first time I tried to play it I got so bored in the vault that I never even made it out. Recently I've been having trouble finding a good game to play because I've played just about everything already so I decided to give Fallout 3 another shot. Once I got out of the vault it started to get better and I thought it was going to be great. But now I'm into it maybe ten or twelve hours and it is just so boring. There is this great big world out there but nothing to do in it. The first person shooting is just horrible (how cool would this game be if you got to blast your way through the world on your way to your quest points). I get killed over and over until I get lucky and escape with a couple of health bars left--whoopee. I can't find anything of any real value to sell so I have no money to stock up on anything. I have to drink out of toilets to get my health back because I can't even afford stimpacks. I can't find a larger backpack so I can't even pick up more loot once my pack is full which happens pretty quickly. Everything gets broken and it costs more to repair it than the item is even worth. The missions are just dreadful. I've been playing for hours trying to deliver a stupid letter going here and then going there and here and there having to save every five seconds in case I get killed, having to talk to boring, stiff, monotonous characters with no personality. When I kill some creature it's not exciting it's just a relief because now I can continue walking, and walking, and walking. If it wasn't for online walkthrough advice I wouldn't even have gotten this far. I mean, who would have thought that to find the "family" you had to go into that certain building, then into that certain room, then into that certain passageway, then through that certain tunnel, then backtrack to go the other way, then bride someone, then oh come on already I'm just trying to deliver a stupid letter!! Expand
  69. Mar 23, 2013
    6
    You can do a lot, but this is easily holds the most instances freezing up I've ever had on a PS3 game. The combat is pretty clumsy too. I applaud the scope and premise, but wish it played smoother.
  70. May 13, 2013
    9
    Great role playing game!! This game has an engaging story about post-apocolyptic survival, brutal/fun combat and stunning graphics!! Definitely worth your time if you're a fan of rpg's!!
  71. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    This is the Fallout 3 that I came to know and love but on PS3! The only downside is how it runs on PS3. If you can get past occasional lag, then this will be an unforgettable experience. Disregard the naysayers and pick this up!
  72. Apr 8, 2013
    9
    This is a great game with plenty of things to keep you busy for hours. That being said it does have some serious drawbacks in the way of game breaking bugs, continuous freezing and mediocre gun mechanics. It also allows you to go into third person where the game does not shine. All that being said it does everything else to an exceptional degree, great story, interesting characters, exciting missions. Even though it has its negatives, its positives make you want to push through them and keep playing. Expand
  73. Apr 13, 2013
    0
    too many freezes during the game. It's an absolute shame. Each time i play, at one point, my console stop working, only with this damn game. One advice to Bethesda: learn to program games.
  74. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    The most immersive game I have ever played. The Wasteland has an authentically wasted atmosphere, the characters are fun and memorable (Three Dog, Moira, Amata etc). The locations are detailed and interesting, often including minor stories hidden away. The story is very well written and every time I play I look forward to the treks across the landscape as I bump into new people and discover new places. The quirky humour also complements the game. Expand
  75. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    Well, where to start. Fallout 3 is definitely preferable on the PC (At this time, I don't have a very good one) due to being able to Mod and perheps use console command to escape the occasional glitch. I originally got Fallout: New Vegas, and seen this for £5, so I bought. From the depressing atmosphere, to the funny and unique characters, this is truly a masterpiece. It had so much to do, lasted 100s of hours, abandoned buildings with still-functional computers, of which you could read logs and activate machines to open up new areas or to find out what happened here when the war took place.

    Sadly, this game isn't perfect. Lag, crashing, some bad AI and frame rate issues can really dampen the experience. More than a few times I have lost hours of exploring the Wasteland due to crashing, or even getting stuck in a rock. It is obvious in some places this game was meant for PC, and I would advise it for PC, but if you can't, it is still a brilliant console experience.
    Expand
  76. Oct 9, 2013
    7
    This game is marvellous post-apocalyptic fun. However, its greatness is somewhat restrained by the insurmountable number of bugs, engine problems, and poor story choices...
  77. Sep 26, 2013
    8
    +One of the most emissive games I have ever played. +Tons of content +Lots of variety in weapons, enemies etc. +Main and side quest are very interesting ? The use of the V.A.T.S system is a mixed bag I think ? The game takes a while before you can really feel like a predator of the Wasteland -Some of the game designs, like levelling up restrictions are frustrating -Very poor ending (in my opinion)
    -Bugs

    In short I would recommend the game to anyone, as I found it very enjoyable as a complete package despite its falls. That said though, I feel that Fallout New Vegas (which is not a perfect game either) is a better buy because it addresses some of the issues in Fallout 3 and I feel it is a better game overall, so I would advise you to get Fallout New Vegas as well as Fallout 3.

    Full Review (my score is actually 8.5)

    First thing about Fallout 3 is how interesting the open world experience is. You will constantly find new and interesting characters, locations and weaponry. This is particularly enhanced by the vast variety of enemies, from the zombie like Ghouls, to the cannibal Raiders, to the giant Super Mutants, e.g. require a slight variation in combat to beat, e.g. Raiders will use traps and numbers, while Super Mutants tend to favour brute force. This in combination with good A.I (though enemies use cover a bit more would be nice) makes for a really fun experience, and makes Fallout one of those games were a planned hour game session quickly turns into a 2 or 3 hour game session.

    That leads nicely to the next great thing about Fallout which is the vast content. I played over 40hours and still didn’t explore everything, and do every side quest so you get your money’s worth. Speaking of quests it should be noted that while the main quest is slow to get going, as you basically keep going from one location to another with little result; the rest of the quests are each interesting and different. That said though the quest do take a long time to complete especially in the early stages where you have to explore key locations, rather than just fast travel to a location near by your objective.

    Furthermore unlike other RPGs I have played, Fallout 3 even on normal difficulty is surprisingly challenging. This is partial because of the fact that your equipment and skills suck at the start, and each fight with a hard enemy can feel challenging. This in combination with the fact that you become largely dependent on Megaton (the town you first go to) for selling your gear, can make the game feel annoying at times, but trust me such annoyances quickly ware off. As a result of such difficulty it took me to level 15 till I felt the game became too easy. That said if you are put off by this Fallout New Vegas will suit you better because I found it to be equally emissive but is more gamer friendly e.g. it doesn’t reduce the EX points you getting for killing enemies if you lower the difficulty.

    The main mix bag of the game is the use of VATS which in combat you use to select a body part to shoot with a percentage chance of hitting the body part. This is an interesting take on combat because if you cripple a body part it will affect your enemy e.g. cripple an arm (providing they are using a two handed weapon) they will drop there weapon. What is also good about this system is that although the head is the obvious weak spot it is often the area you are least likely to hit, so there is always a sense of taking a gamble when using VATS. The problem with the system though is that you find yourself becoming dependent on it particularly at the start as you don’t get damaged while you use it, so it is very useful. The dependence on VATS is made use by how in normal combat your movement is sluggish and enemies are pretty accurate so combat without VATS isn’t that great. I wish that the developers of the game placed less emphasis on VATS and made the game feel more like a FPS, making combat smoothing and your aiming more precise.

    So what are the negatives of the game? The least surprising one is that bugs are present in the game e.g. it crashed a though times, and sometimes characters would get stuck going to places requiring you to re load your save file. So if you are put off by New Vegas because of the bugs present remember Fallout 3 suffers from the same problem.

    The next main problem is how the game has some annoying restrictions that I can’t figure out why the developers put in. The most annoying of which is that the game prevents you from levelling up beyond level 20. This makes no sense cause if you want to maintain difficultly, you can turn up the difficulty level. Other annoyance include how you rarely use energy weapons at the start of the game so you focus on levelling up other skills, yet towards the end you become almost dependent on energy weapons.

    The final complaint is the ending isn’t that great, and I won’t spoiler it for you, but don’t hold your hopes up.
    Expand
  78. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    Fallout 3 is simply amazing. The world in fallout is huge and filled with great detail. It has some awesome stories just waiting to be found in the wilderness. You can easily sink aver 100 in this game.
  79. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fallout 3 is the best RPG ever. It's original and funny.
    The setting is perfect, you can really feel the after nuclear holocaust climate.
    The combat mechanics are very interesting and the introducing of V.A.T.S. It'a very good idea.
    The main story is also interesting especially in the fight between B. of Steel and Enclave. There are about twenty side missions and most of them are really engaging. There are a few side missions which are a bit boring. But the better side of the game are not the missions, but the exploring of the large map full of interesting places. In every place there's something (weapons, armours, collectibles,...) to find and a bit of monsters to kill. Also the monsters are very original.
    Now, the technical side. The graphics are not so wonderful and the game freezes really often, but It is very vast, so that's comprehensible. The sound, globally, is good, but especially the radios are brilliant and interesting to listen.
    This game is really engaging and its mechanics will kidnap you for long.
    You'll lost months with this game, which never ends.
    Expand
  80. Aug 26, 2013
    9
    Fallout 3. Between this and just cause 2 i dont know what is the best open world game. Fallout 3 sets you in a desroyed Washington D.C and you are well whoever you want to be. you can be an evil marauder or a nice and kind gentelman, your call. I spent over 40 hours on this game but sadly there is a problem with the dlc content on ps3 so i didnt get to play any of them:(. This game has great characters good sense of humor loads of wepons(The terrible shotgun being the best) great gameplay good music and a amazing story. 2 problems, 1 you cant play anymore after your done the campain and 2, its full of bugs and glitches, like i got stuck in an area i could not get out of and i had every rare wepon in the game and i had to start over but other than that this game is nothing short of gaming gold. 9.4 Expand
  81. Sep 25, 2013
    8
    Patience is rewarded in this game, creepy dark corridors with spine tingling enemies, dropping a mini nuke into a group of slavers and tearing any survivors apart with the mini gun. I felt like pulling out at more boring moments but the best is kept till the climax, worth seeing through.
    I got 2 freezes both at the Mall, save often
  82. Nov 26, 2013
    9
    This game is awesome, no dout, but it could use a online multiplayer and 2 player setting and could use a clean of all of the bugs and glitches but otherwise it's awesome
  83. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    Deserving of it's game of the year title, Fallout 3 is a huge open world rpg that is both challenging and entertaining. The moment you enter the wasteland you are open to doing anything the game has to offer. All the missions are entertaining, and the fighting system is good. The story is brilliant, you follow yourself from literally your birth, and you will want to keep playing the main story missions without playing the side missions as I did on my first playthrough (not advisable unless you have the broken steel DLC.) Before buying the game of the year edition I bought a regular copy of the game and I hardly came across a single bug. This game is perfection, no other way to describe it. Expand
  84. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    This game is the most epic game that I've ever played. Its incontable hours of fun, an interesting plot, amazing hidden surprises and tons of different thing to do. Loads of weapons armors, outfits, companions, enemies, things to explore. The background for the game (the different evolution of the world, the destruction of it by the nuclear holocaust, and the sick and crazy pre-war US government, Vault-Tec Executives and the Enclave,the struggle of the humanity to survive and put the society back in its rails) is simply amazing. The mechanics of the game are very nice also, things like V.A.T.S, sneaking, and etc. GO and buy it, you won't regret! Expand
  85. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    i use to play this everyday for 2 years straight. then i stopped for playing it. just sat around and did not get played. now that i dont have it, well my ps3 i still got fallout3 though, i miss it. i got fo3 pc with mods and stuff, but the console version is always the best. ps3 at that
  86. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucksthis game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucks this game sucksthis game sucks this game sucks this game sucks Expand
  87. Feb 8, 2014
    9
    The best RPG on the PS3. A bit too easy. The developer s have created a living post apocalyptic Washington DC. There are many ways to play this game. A true RPG.
  88. Apr 3, 2014
    10
    This is Bethesda's take on the Fallout franchise originally developed by Black Isle Studios. Is Bethesda the right team to take on this series? Yes, yes it is. This game has quality and quantity unlike so many other games. You will play it for 100 hours and will want to play more, it's that good. Aside from the usual bugs present in Bethesda's massive games, this game is the perfect representation of post-apocalyptic survival.
    Pros: - Story (The game has an intriguing story in which a water purifier is to be created in order to provide all sane humans with clean drinking water)
    - Action (The combat system is incredibly deep and fun, with some strategic touches with the new V.A.T.S system)
    - Quests (Not only are the quests all fun, interesting, and deep, there are dozens of them)
    - World size (You will spend many hours discovering what the massive world has to offer)
    Cons: - Bugs (Bethesda's rich and interactive worlds come at a price; bugs. Throughout you're playthrough, you will experience several bugs which can be gamebreaking or just plain silly)
    Overall, the game is the perfect representation of post-apocalyptic life, and it shows the consequences of modern-day technology. The game has tons of quality quests in a detailed and lively world. The combat is deep and fun, never getting boring. The only problems in this near-perfect game are the bugs, a somewhat minor problem in the scheme of games. Pick this masterpiece up if you haven't already.
    Expand
  89. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    I never played the originals, so I can't judge this game as a fan of them. But Fallout 3, in my honest and humble opinion, is the best game of last generation. There is no other game (apart from the recent Grand Theft Auto 5) where i started playing it and watched with child like wonder (ironic considering its explicit adult content.) Sure it has its issues, the overall story is forgettable but not insultingly terrible. The graphics are only serviceable but improved significantly by the incredible art design. There are glitches, lots of them, but it's forgivable considering the scope of the game and the hardware. But all these minor issues are easily outweighed by everything Bethseda did right; such as; longevity, cool thought out quests, a great soundtrack (original and the radio tracks) and the outright amazing lore of the post apocalyptic world. Seriously if you haven't played this game, go to the store and buy the GOTY edition for like £25. It seriously offers ten fold the content some new, £55 games do on the next gen consoles. Expand
  90. Jun 30, 2014
    8
    This game is huge, especially with all the DLC (which is admittedly of varying quality). I love the huge map and post apocalyptic world. The main story isn't as gripping as it could have been (the dodgy voice acting and facial animation are partly to blame) and I wasn't too bothered about completing all the side missions as things got a little too easy once I'd reached a certain level. Nevertheless this is a great game which you can easily put hundreds of hours into. The atmosphere created and post-apocalyptic world you explore is what makes this game special, the gameplay and story isn't perfect however! Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Oct 27, 2010
    76
    Until you can play the game without unpredictable crashing and quirky issues surprising you it's going to be tough to find the maximum amount of fun I know this title can offer.
  2. 100
    This is the kind of hugely ambitious game that doesn't come around very often, and when it does, you'd be a fool not to play it and enjoy the hell out of it and look forward to the day (next-next-gen?) when the fidelity of open-world RPGs takes another big step closer to the uncanny valley's far side.
  3. 94
    It's rare that a game can hit the mark in so many different and often conflicting areas. Fallout 3 offers freedom without sacrificing a focused story. It delivers fantastic combat without forgoing a deep role-playing system. The characters you meet are engaging and oftentimes hilarious without feeling out of place in this harsh world.