Fallout 3 PlayStation 3

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 787 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 94 out of 787

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 19, 2010
    8
    Fallout 3 is a massive game and to this day I still haven't even scratched the surface, but I've played for about 10 hours on my current character and it manages to at least nearly equal Oblivion. It's not quite as amazing as Oblivion was when it released, but it comes close. The combat is great and the quests dynamic. There's little to complain about, except for the bugs which are commonFallout 3 is a massive game and to this day I still haven't even scratched the surface, but I've played for about 10 hours on my current character and it manages to at least nearly equal Oblivion. It's not quite as amazing as Oblivion was when it released, but it comes close. The combat is great and the quests dynamic. There's little to complain about, except for the bugs which are common in every Bethesda game. Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    Wow. Only 5,000 character reviews allowed? That's not nearly enough to describe the beauty of this game. But anyways, guess what? This game is one of the best games ever. Bioshock and Fallout 3 are the best FPS-RPG hybrids in the world. And guess what? They both came out for the PS3 at roughly the same date. Bioshock came a week earlier on the PS3, and I say the PS3 because Bioshock didn'tWow. Only 5,000 character reviews allowed? That's not nearly enough to describe the beauty of this game. But anyways, guess what? This game is one of the best games ever. Bioshock and Fallout 3 are the best FPS-RPG hybrids in the world. And guess what? They both came out for the PS3 at roughly the same date. Bioshock came a week earlier on the PS3, and I say the PS3 because Bioshock didn't come out on the PS3 until about a year after every other version. Anyways, what can I say? You're born, and you make your gender, name, looks, etc. Then you're suddenly 1 year old, and you're introduced to the actual mechanics. Then you're 10, and you're given your Pip-Boy, along with a BB-Gun for your birthday. Then you're 16, and you have to take a test to see where you fit into in the world. Then you're 19, and for some reason, your dad is gone. He disappeared and escaped from your home, vault 101. Vaults are underground shelters, and were created because of the ongoing Nuclear War. Everyone is looking for you since they apparently think you know where he is, which you really don't. After a few tasks, you get out into the real world. Now, this is all the reason why this game got a 9 instead of a 10. The intro, and that's really my only grudge, other then a few glitches. The real world is nothing like you're used to. It's a barren wasteland that you don't even recognize. You go to a nearby town to find more about your father and where the hell he went, and that's about the point that I got to. Now, the great thing about this game is the amount of options. You can choose to shoot the head, the torso, the right arm, the left arm, the weapon, the right leg, and the left leg in the brilliant system known as V.A.T.S. You can choose side quests. You can choose to save people. You can choose to kill people. Even the conversations have options. No matter what, you always have a say in what you do. The combat is the weakest part, though. Even though that's not saying much. That's like saying that 1 YouTube video is worse then the best YouTube video. The combat doesn't feel like how combat in a FPS should be. Bioshock did combat better. But other then that, this is one of the greatest games in existence. And this is where I draw the line. Expand
  3. Nov 30, 2010
    8
    read it if you are new to fallout series
    I never played any of the fallout games. I bought it because i have some friends that love it and i decided to give it a try. I played the game for a few hours and simply couldnt understand what was going on.. or what should i do... I was completely lost.
    After a few months i decided to give it another try, and it took a while but i learned to
    read it if you are new to fallout series
    I never played any of the fallout games. I bought it because i have some friends that love it and i decided to give it a try. I played the game for a few hours and simply couldnt understand what was going on.. or what should i do... I was completely lost.
    After a few months i decided to give it another try, and it took a while but i learned to enjoy the game. It can be really exhaustive sometimes, but in a general it was good fun and in a way, a masterpiece of freedom of choices, I must confess i was really disappointed by the ending , i actually ended the game thinking I was in a side mission.. But the game is like this: most of the times you end up choosing a path without really knowing what will be the consequences. Although this is its weakest point its also the best thing about the game.
    Expand
  4. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    Not much to say about this game, other than that the hours I have logged playing it show me how much I thoroughly enjoyed it. The characters are realistic and interactive, and the story is very personal and well written. The one real complaint I had was that after the final mission we could not roam the wasteland afterwards, however one of the DLC fixed that.
  5. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    I was hesitant to pick up this game because I had not played the former fallout games. But when i finally took the plunge, I had no regrets. It obviously runs on the same engine as oblivion, but with major improvements. Loved this game, the moment i stepped out of the vault and into the capital wasteland. Kept me busy for around 100 plus hours. The only thing I wish it had was a buggy orI was hesitant to pick up this game because I had not played the former fallout games. But when i finally took the plunge, I had no regrets. It obviously runs on the same engine as oblivion, but with major improvements. Loved this game, the moment i stepped out of the vault and into the capital wasteland. Kept me busy for around 100 plus hours. The only thing I wish it had was a buggy or some kind of bike to get you around quicker. The usual glitches appear here, as they did in oblivion. Main storyline is ridiculously short, and lackluster, but the side quests are awesome and well thought up. Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    If there were ever a time to call a video game art this would be it..
    This game is nothing short of a master piece, unique and interesting characters, fantastic dialogue and story, an unbelievable amount of things to do without out it ever feeling repetitive or bland..

    Definitely worthy of the hype!
  7. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    A great game, a change of perspective in RPG, amazing story-line a must buy and play, like all other Bethesda games had some problems in the launch, but like always they fixed with the patches, game is amazing, suck you in, game play difficulty can be changed on the run, like the other Bethesda titles and everything else that makes a perfect game.
  8. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    The most immersive game I have ever played. The Wasteland has an authentically wasted atmosphere, the characters are fun and memorable (Three Dog, Moira, Amata etc). The locations are detailed and interesting, often including minor stories hidden away. The story is very well written and every time I play I look forward to the treks across the landscape as I bump into new people andThe most immersive game I have ever played. The Wasteland has an authentically wasted atmosphere, the characters are fun and memorable (Three Dog, Moira, Amata etc). The locations are detailed and interesting, often including minor stories hidden away. The story is very well written and every time I play I look forward to the treks across the landscape as I bump into new people and discover new places. The quirky humour also complements the game. Expand
  9. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Amazing voice acting, amazing story line, gameplay, DLC, quests, exploring. What more could an RPG player ask for? Bethesda just excels at everything in the RPG category! 10/10
  10. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Utterly amazing. Long hours of game-play, amazing story line, many side quests, large map, and amazing DLC. This is my favorite game, my previous being Fallout: New Vegas.
  11. Jan 10, 2011
    9
    Looking for a fun rpg with a huge open world? Fallout 3 is for you. It has some nice graphics with long quests. The only problem is that it crashes sometimes, but its rare that it will happen.
  12. May 28, 2011
    10
    As with GTA,turning the series into 3D has worked phenomenally.An utter brilliant game and worthy of the many awards it received.Though not without the oddglitch or annoyance,Fallout 3 is one of the best games ever made and will steal a hundred hours of your time without trying.The DLC packs are mainly excellent with Broken Steel and Point Lookout being the better of them.Buy it and waitAs with GTA,turning the series into 3D has worked phenomenally.An utter brilliant game and worthy of the many awards it received.Though not without the oddglitch or annoyance,Fallout 3 is one of the best games ever made and will steal a hundred hours of your time without trying.The DLC packs are mainly excellent with Broken Steel and Point Lookout being the better of them.Buy it and wait impatiently for Fallout 4. Expand
  13. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    now if you are a fan of games like oblivion and morrowind . fallout 3 is your game with guns instead of swords and a nuclear waste land instead of a medevil setting. Fallout 3 improves alot of what the prevous games did . the first much faster load times , alot less buggy and glitchy then the others , the combat system is the most fun of the 3. now i never played the prevous fall out gamesnow if you are a fan of games like oblivion and morrowind . fallout 3 is your game with guns instead of swords and a nuclear waste land instead of a medevil setting. Fallout 3 improves alot of what the prevous games did . the first much faster load times , alot less buggy and glitchy then the others , the combat system is the most fun of the 3. now i never played the prevous fall out games i know i heard a few people saying they liked the older way better and didnt care of the elder scrolls style update they did . i really cant comment since i hadnt played the originals but i know what i like and i really like this game. there are a Ton of things to do in this game , a story that not amazing is entertaining enough to keep you moving foward , lots of places to explore , going good or evil makes for a fun replay . i dont know how Grand Theft Auto 4 beat this out for game of the year . Expand
  14. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    This is a great enjoyable game which i have completed several times. Although it freezes quite often and is very annoying to play on the ps3. also the add-ons for this game add plenty more hours of game play and unique items,weapons and armour.
  15. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    For me, there weren't any bugs, especially in the PS3 GOTY version. I had a great time playing this game and was able to get 100% and all the trophies in about 80 hours. This was a great game through and through, and deserved to be GOTY 2008. Only about 5 freezes throughout my experience with this game, and all of them were caused by trying to do glitches. Buy this game if you wantFor me, there weren't any bugs, especially in the PS3 GOTY version. I had a great time playing this game and was able to get 100% and all the trophies in about 80 hours. This was a great game through and through, and deserved to be GOTY 2008. Only about 5 freezes throughout my experience with this game, and all of them were caused by trying to do glitches. Buy this game if you want something new. I wasn't disappointed at all with this game. With Oblivion getting me hyped for this release, i wasn't surprised on how good this game was. 10/10 Expand
  16. TylerC.
    Oct 28, 2008
    9
    I pre-ordered this at gamestop and I can't wait to go pick it up and play this all night tonight! This gmae looks amazing and the fact that it's a RPG and a shooter, makes it even better. I also am getting LBP, so I will have plenty to do within the week.
  17. BaltazarH
    Jan 16, 2010
    9
    Amazing game. The Developers went to great lengths to fill D.C. with interesting characters and millions of things to do. Gives the player a lot of freedom to play however he/she desires. When you talk about a game that is worth every dollar money, Fallout is it. The only reason it gave it a 9 was because it crashed on me 20% of the time that I was playing it...but it's such a great Amazing game. The Developers went to great lengths to fill D.C. with interesting characters and millions of things to do. Gives the player a lot of freedom to play however he/she desires. When you talk about a game that is worth every dollar money, Fallout is it. The only reason it gave it a 9 was because it crashed on me 20% of the time that I was playing it...but it's such a great game that I just kept resetting and saving often...make sure to get the Game of the Year Edition. Expand
  18. Sammy
    Feb 4, 2009
    8
    Fallout 3 is most definitely a terrific game, yet its far from perfect. The world Bethesda created is truly amazing. The Wasteland is huge and is definitely rewarding to explore. The story is intriguing and well written, and the amount of voice acting in the game is incredible. The biggest enhancement to gameplay comes from the VATS system. It offers a refreshing change of pace and never Fallout 3 is most definitely a terrific game, yet its far from perfect. The world Bethesda created is truly amazing. The Wasteland is huge and is definitely rewarding to explore. The story is intriguing and well written, and the amount of voice acting in the game is incredible. The biggest enhancement to gameplay comes from the VATS system. It offers a refreshing change of pace and never gets old. However, the game suffers from many of the same problems as its predecessor, Oblivion. While the environment is highly detailed, the graphics in the game are somewhat of a letdown. There are low resolution textures, character models are mediocre at best, and the animations are surprisingly horrid. The character animations are so stiff and awkward that they become a distraction in key story moments. Unlike other players of the PS3 version, I did not experience many bugs at all with the most recent patch. The framerate and draw distance can falter at times, but it's nothing deal breaking. Gameplay is generally varied and well-paced, yet objectives are often unclear and fighting super mutants does get old after a while. Also worth noting is the excruciatingly slow walking speed of the character. Oblivion had a horse to make up for this, but in Fallout the player has no choice but to take it nice and slow. Overall, Bethesda depicts a clear and disturbing vision, although it is often clouded by a storm of minor faults. Expand
  19. Joshb
    Dec 26, 2008
    10
    So i got fallout after all the youtube videos and checking out the reviews from people i trust and after playing the game for 4 hours it is not leaving my ps3 that said i am not 1 to criticize heavily on stupid glitches it plays great the world is so huge you have to explore everything and the story is great. That said i keep going and going i want to play this game several times just to So i got fallout after all the youtube videos and checking out the reviews from people i trust and after playing the game for 4 hours it is not leaving my ps3 that said i am not 1 to criticize heavily on stupid glitches it plays great the world is so huge you have to explore everything and the story is great. That said i keep going and going i want to play this game several times just to see the way things play out with every choice. it is easily the best game of 2008. Gta 4 was great but this is something else. If you liked Elder Scrolls IV or you are a fan of real time rpgs. pick this up. my brother watched me play for about an hour then left to go pick it up. Expand
  20. Aug 20, 2010
    10
    Ironic that the game takes place in 2077, yet I feel nothing will surpass this glorious piece of emotion evoking digital art for perhaps 8 decades. Fallout 3 is open, yet constricted. Enormous but precise. It's simplified complexity. This game boils everything beautiful about playing an action adventure game into some of the most simple pleasures. It's as if I'm watching an over theIronic that the game takes place in 2077, yet I feel nothing will surpass this glorious piece of emotion evoking digital art for perhaps 8 decades. Fallout 3 is open, yet constricted. Enormous but precise. It's simplified complexity. This game boils everything beautiful about playing an action adventure game into some of the most simple pleasures. It's as if I'm watching an over the top action movie and fast forwarding to all of the action packed sequences and replaying them in slow motion over and over. The character development is unmatched for anything in it's genre, along with some of the most convincing voice acting I've ever come by. Fallout 3 is, was, and always will be, the future. Expand
  21. Oct 7, 2010
    9
    I once read someone calling Fallout 3, 'Oblivion with guns'. Well, to an extent, that's true. It shares the same quest mechanic as Oblivion, the conversations with NPCs are formatted the same, the map is of a similar size, and the inventory management is also similar. Fallout 3 also is also buggy as hell, perhaps even more so than Oblivion (tread carefully with the GOTY edition).

    However,
    I once read someone calling Fallout 3, 'Oblivion with guns'. Well, to an extent, that's true. It shares the same quest mechanic as Oblivion, the conversations with NPCs are formatted the same, the map is of a similar size, and the inventory management is also similar. Fallout 3 also is also buggy as hell, perhaps even more so than Oblivion (tread carefully with the GOTY edition).

    However, Fallout 3 is far more detailed than Oblivion, which for a game set in a barren wasteland is some achievement. Never has death and destruction felt so alive. The character development via attributes, skills and feats (or 'perks', as they are known) is much more RPG-like with its familiar 'earn stats and allocate them as you see fit' rule, as opposed to Oblivion's 'increase stats by doing' principle. The main story is a little on the weak side, but Fallout 3 is a game that allows you to create your own story. The combination of its side-quests and its open-world platform provide a tabula rasa for the player to carve out his or her own narrative through their decisions and experiences. â
    Expand
  22. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    This game is decent, for an RPG lover it will be a fun experience from start to end. The atmosphere and is well crafted and you will immerse yourself in the setting. The main problem I had with this game was the combat, it's super simple and after a while it gets repetitive and boring. This game would have been a classic if it wasn't for the silly combat.
  23. Jan 1, 2011
    9
    I say this game would be a ten but the problem is that it has too many bugs and freezing issues. Other than that this game is amazing. So amazing I beat it 4 times, and there are very few games I beat more than once
  24. Mar 24, 2011
    8
    this game was pretty good i loved it and i have played through a couple times but i wish that it had a few more side misions or that it wasnt always the same ending and would it have killed them to do more misions i mean the map is absolutly HUGE but there is only a couple places that things actually happen in but i still loved it and will play through it many more times in the future andthis game was pretty good i loved it and i have played through a couple times but i wish that it had a few more side misions or that it wasnt always the same ending and would it have killed them to do more misions i mean the map is absolutly HUGE but there is only a couple places that things actually happen in but i still loved it and will play through it many more times in the future and is a must buy especially now that it is only 15$ Expand
  25. Sep 15, 2011
    8
    Fallout 3 is a unique experience of an alternative future, with near perfect gameplay and a brilliant level-up system. Fans of what was a PC exclusive turn-based rpg were suprised when the third outing of the series would be played in first-person and in real-time. The game isn't a direct sequel to the previous games of the series, but rather an expansion of the universe. The series wasFallout 3 is a unique experience of an alternative future, with near perfect gameplay and a brilliant level-up system. Fans of what was a PC exclusive turn-based rpg were suprised when the third outing of the series would be played in first-person and in real-time. The game isn't a direct sequel to the previous games of the series, but rather an expansion of the universe. The series was traditionaly set in post-apocalyptic America, mainly in what was the state of California. Fallout 3 takes place in what was Washington DC, now known as the Capital Wastland. As a local citizen of Vault 101, you wake up to find out your dad had left the vault andd thus start a long journey to find him and ask about his actions. The gameplay resolves around a Karma system, which affects how locals interact with you. Local towns will give you benefits such as jobs and opportunities to make money if you have good karma, while greedy landlords and slavers will do the same if you have bad karma. The level-up system uses the tradional XP system, but you can only distribute points to your skills at the moment you level up. You also get to choose a perk at every level, which can boost your skills or give you a special ability. The gameplay is acceptable, but not perfect. The firing machanics for ranged weaponry dosen't have an iron sight button, making aiming the weapon harder and less effective. There is the odd bug or two, but only on very rare occasions. The gameplay is challenging at first, but better weapons, armour, skills and perks make the game a bit easy in later occasions. Fallout 3 is an impressive relaunch of post-apocalyptic America with new ideas that work. With plenty to do and memorable moments to remember, it is worth getting if Oblivion feels a bit too traditional. Expand
  26. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    Story: 9 out of 10
    Graphics: 8 out of 10
    Gameplay: 9 out of 10
    Fun: 10 out of 10 (depending on difficulty)
    Controls: 9 out of 10
    Ease to Learn: 8 out of 10
    Length: 9 out of 10
    Re-play: 10 out of 10
    Audio: 8 out of 10
    Bugs/Glitches: 5 out of 10
  27. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    Its a good game, But it gets old quick. If you want a really good game cheack out Skyrim Best game outIts a good game, But it gets old quick. If you want a really good game cheack out Skyrim Best game out there!...........................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!...................................................................................................................................................................................!........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................... Expand
  28. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    This is the Fallout 3 that I came to know and love but on PS3! The only downside is how it runs on PS3. If you can get past occasional lag, then this will be an unforgettable experience. Disregard the naysayers and pick this up!
  29. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    Fallout 3 is simply amazing. The world in fallout is huge and filled with great detail. It has some awesome stories just waiting to be found in the wilderness. You can easily sink aver 100 in this game.
  30. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    I never played the originals, so I can't judge this game as a fan of them. But Fallout 3, in my honest and humble opinion, is the best game of last generation. There is no other game (apart from the recent Grand Theft Auto 5) where i started playing it and watched with child like wonder (ironic considering its explicit adult content.) Sure it has its issues, the overall story isI never played the originals, so I can't judge this game as a fan of them. But Fallout 3, in my honest and humble opinion, is the best game of last generation. There is no other game (apart from the recent Grand Theft Auto 5) where i started playing it and watched with child like wonder (ironic considering its explicit adult content.) Sure it has its issues, the overall story is forgettable but not insultingly terrible. The graphics are only serviceable but improved significantly by the incredible art design. There are glitches, lots of them, but it's forgivable considering the scope of the game and the hardware. But all these minor issues are easily outweighed by everything Bethseda did right; such as; longevity, cool thought out quests, a great soundtrack (original and the radio tracks) and the outright amazing lore of the post apocalyptic world. Seriously if you haven't played this game, go to the store and buy the GOTY edition for like £25. It seriously offers ten fold the content some new, £55 games do on the next gen consoles. Expand
  31. [anonymous]
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    I have been a long time action adventure fan and shooter fan. But this is the most complete revolution in gaming since GTA3. The branching story, weapons, DLC, just keep this game going. This is probably my favorite game of all time. I loved the retro sci fi elements right down to the retro soundtrack that I didn't expect to like. The conversations are interesting, the combat is I have been a long time action adventure fan and shooter fan. But this is the most complete revolution in gaming since GTA3. The branching story, weapons, DLC, just keep this game going. This is probably my favorite game of all time. I loved the retro sci fi elements right down to the retro soundtrack that I didn't expect to like. The conversations are interesting, the combat is deep, it allows a semi turn based or real time shooter combat. Keeping an eye on loot is never boring, collecting the rare guns in this game is fun. This is one of the few games I haven't stopped playing after beating it. Expand
  32. MichelSabbagh
    Jan 7, 2009
    10
    9.5 actually. I never played a Fallout game before. But, I did when I got Fallout 3 for PS3 on Christmas. This game...is amazing. The soundtrack, the characters, the story, the atmosphere, the gameplay, the graphics: All of these factors are just succesful. There are some odd gameplay and deign choices, but I simply enjoyed this excellent RPG. BUY IT. It's my GOTY of 2008.
  33. philipc
    Jan 20, 2010
    9
    this game like oblivion has a lot of things available for the user to do and gives the user a lot of free will in the way you go about doing missions. it creates a very realistic feel of a post apocalyptic world. this goes to far after a few hours you begin to feel depressed at that there is no hope for this world(mainly the music on the radio). thankfully the story has strong impact on this game like oblivion has a lot of things available for the user to do and gives the user a lot of free will in the way you go about doing missions. it creates a very realistic feel of a post apocalyptic world. this goes to far after a few hours you begin to feel depressed at that there is no hope for this world(mainly the music on the radio). thankfully the story has strong impact on the waste. giving hope to a place where there was none. despite it being kind of depressing the game was well done and well told giving the player a lot of choice of what happens. Expand
  34. MitchB.
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    This game was superb. Only comparable game I have played was Metal Gear Solid. The vast selection of things to do. The wide diversity of characters and items. And when you think you might have beat it. Theres still more, trust me, from add-ons to random encounters. The game never ends.
  35. AnonymousMC
    Nov 10, 2008
    8
    First off, this game has a great story, and so much to explore I lose hours of time searching every area I come across. The size of the world and everything there is to see and do really makes you feel like a part of the experience.

    There are some poor glitches I've come across that are kind of annoying. I've gotten stuck maybe a dozen times and have had to reload from my
    First off, this game has a great story, and so much to explore I lose hours of time searching every area I come across. The size of the world and everything there is to see and do really makes you feel like a part of the experience.

    There are some poor glitches I've come across that are kind of annoying. I've gotten stuck maybe a dozen times and have had to reload from my last save, the AI companies, though effective and nice to have, are riddled with glitches and the AI could be better. I don't know how much time I've spent pushing companions from stuck locations, zoning in and out of areas so they enter with me, and they have a tendency to run off and engage everything around them.

    With the undertaking of the size of the world and everything there is to see and do, I find the aforementioned issues pale in comparison to the actual game itself. When I first started playing the game, I really didn't like it a whole lot, however, now I'm damn near addicted and can't wait to uncover more of the map and see everything the game has to offer.
    Expand
  36. DouglasAder
    Feb 3, 2009
    10
    When advising people on games, its important that they understand what genres they like first. What a game gets rated is meaningless if it is not your genre. I rated this game a ten because it is well made but more importantly is the best mix of two majors genres to date: Shooter and RPG. Oblivion did a decent job of combining the two, but it had more of an RPG feel than a Shooter.When advising people on games, its important that they understand what genres they like first. What a game gets rated is meaningless if it is not your genre. I rated this game a ten because it is well made but more importantly is the best mix of two majors genres to date: Shooter and RPG. Oblivion did a decent job of combining the two, but it had more of an RPG feel than a Shooter. This is a dead even mix. If you like both Shooter Games and Role Playing Games, this is a must buy. Expand
  37. JimmiM
    Mar 29, 2009
    10
    Seriously, don't miss it! Its like all your post apocalyptic wet dreams all realized in one slick package. Fantastic pacing, creepy atmosphere. A truly massive open world to explore & conquer. One of the best games I've played in years (& I've been playing them a long time!).
  38. SpencerH.
    Jul 23, 2009
    9
    An amazing game from start to finish. Tons of content and side quests. The gameplay is fun and different, and the world is enormous. A few technical issues keep it from being perfect though, including framerate drops and occasional freezing. Overall, a must have for anyone.
  39. JamesD
    Jan 21, 2010
    9
    Fallout 3 has so many things going for it. A large open world, crazy mutants, diverse characters and some of the greatest fun known in videogaming. It looks rough around the edges but Fallout 3 has a classy retro style that makes its appeal so much more focused. Those who play it thinking it's an FPS will be disappointed but those who want an awesome RPG experience may look no Fallout 3 has so many things going for it. A large open world, crazy mutants, diverse characters and some of the greatest fun known in videogaming. It looks rough around the edges but Fallout 3 has a classy retro style that makes its appeal so much more focused. Those who play it thinking it's an FPS will be disappointed but those who want an awesome RPG experience may look no further. As far as immersive worlds go, this is right up here with Bioshock in terms of scope and depth to the beautifully wrecked environments. Simply put this is better than Oblivion. Expand
  40. BarryP.
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    The best singleplayer experience on the PS3 bar none. It is literally a 50/50 mix of Oblivion and Bioshock, which were easily the 2 best singleplay games before this beasts release. Everything about it is epic in scope: the size of the world (just like Oblivion was), the weaponry, level up system, graphics and dialogue. This is game of the year for me and if GOW2 gets the award ahead of The best singleplayer experience on the PS3 bar none. It is literally a 50/50 mix of Oblivion and Bioshock, which were easily the 2 best singleplay games before this beasts release. Everything about it is epic in scope: the size of the world (just like Oblivion was), the weaponry, level up system, graphics and dialogue. This is game of the year for me and if GOW2 gets the award ahead of Fallout 3 there has to be some rigging going on as it just doesn't compare to this masterpiece. It's not a bowl of flashing colours graphically, don't get me wrong. It's gritty the way you kill people and quite gruesome and the environment is quite dark and creepy but that's what makes it so special. Buy it! Expand
  41. [Anonymous]
    Oct 29, 2008
    8
    It really is Fallout 3; the series' visual style and humor remain intact, and the look-and-feel really is good ol' Fallout 2 again. Aside from being faithful to the series, it's also a really good game (with a few small to medium quirks that keep it from being perfect).
  42. davidA
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    Words cannot describe the beuty of this game. Be who ever you want, do what ever you please, the scope is endless. Sure its abit glitchy, but that didnt worry me too much. The overall experience just shines. Im not sure about replay-abilty, but i will, because it is just awsome. Love it.
  43. JoeBradbrook
    Jan 24, 2009
    9
    I've been unable to put this game down since i bought it. It's huge and totally addictive, the level up system is spot on, and theres just enough variety of weapons and enemies to keep you interested throughout, without becoming overwhelmed. The only thing to stop me giving fallout 3 top marks is the amount and severiety of the bugs found in the game. Not being able to take the I've been unable to put this game down since i bought it. It's huge and totally addictive, the level up system is spot on, and theres just enough variety of weapons and enemies to keep you interested throughout, without becoming overwhelmed. The only thing to stop me giving fallout 3 top marks is the amount and severiety of the bugs found in the game. Not being able to take the GOAT test was particually annoying, as i missed out on a trophy through no fault of my own. Fallout 3 is definately worth picking up, if only for moments of pure gaming gold such as the matrix styled "tranquility lane" quest. Expand
  44. BrianTomson
    Feb 2, 2009
    10
    This was the best game i have ever played. I have beet in three times in the last week once i start playing i can't stop, it is very addicting. This totally blows away any other games i have ever played in the past, if they ever make a sequel i can not wait to get it and hopefully it will be as awesome as Fallout 3
  45. AnonymousMC
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    I cannot believe the amount of detail that the developers coded into this game -- it's easy to make a world that's nice and neat, but to make one that is very messy takes a lot of time. They sure did a great job -- this is by far the largest game I have played (number and size of maps and detail of each location).
    The main story is too short, but the endless side missions and
    I cannot believe the amount of detail that the developers coded into this game -- it's easy to make a world that's nice and neat, but to make one that is very messy takes a lot of time. They sure did a great job -- this is by far the largest game I have played (number and size of maps and detail of each location).
    The main story is too short, but the endless side missions and freedom to do whatever you want, and searching for unique and fun stuff makes this game last for months and months. I sure hope they make another one just like this.
    Expand
  46. MarkD
    Aug 3, 2009
    9
    Great game but not for everyone; Action heads may not appreciate this games finer points. But if you're willing to put in the time and effort and you're not put off by the occasional glitch you'll find Fallout 3 is one of the most engrossing, imaginative games of this generation.
  47. TheLoneWanderer101101
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    This personally in my opinion is the best game ever. I love how broad it is as soon as you leave vault 101. This is a problem, though because the first time I played it I accidentally got lost and went to the school and totally got my @#s whooped by the raiders. But when I went back I realized thats when you're supposed to go to Megaton. For instance Final Fantasy X, for the most This personally in my opinion is the best game ever. I love how broad it is as soon as you leave vault 101. This is a problem, though because the first time I played it I accidentally got lost and went to the school and totally got my @#s whooped by the raiders. But when I went back I realized thats when you're supposed to go to Megaton. For instance Final Fantasy X, for the most part you walk in a straight line until you come to the airship for the second time but by then the game is pretty much over, i mean like wtf Seriously. However in Fallout 3 when you leave the vault you can go straight to Rivet City and nothing will stop you (except for maybe the raiders and super mutants) Bethesda just gives you a wide range of motion to go and fufil your hearts desire, but in doing so, you might get towns to hate you or Talon company workers attack you. If you decide to help and save whats left of the capital wasteland, then wastelanders wil reward you with fabulous prizes. If you decide to destroy it then you will still be rewarded by the slavers. Seriously, if you have any taste in RPG's then this is like a to die for must have game. Even though reaching level 20 can come by real fast, with Broken Steel coming out for the PS3 be sure to save those bobbleheads so can have max S.P.E.C.I.A.L. stats and skills as well, so that way you have a chance to level up even more. The only problem I have with this game though, and this is the biggie is that it will have you playing for hours and hours and eventually will eat up your life away (trust me I've seen it happen before with Fallout and Warcraft not a pretty sight) but if you play this game for a couple hours a week then you'll be fine as long as you just don't get carried away. The addiction of this game is like the effects of a drug its so highly addictive that it can turn people into Fallout zombies. You do not want to be like that. So those of you waiting for my review, I think the FPS/RPG combo is phenominal it makes it seem like a Sci-Fi FPS mix along with that RPG formula that just makes it so awesome. I love this game, but I stopped playing because I just go too hooked into it and decided to quit before I lost my life. Even the fact that the monsters don't have stupid AI makes the fact that Bethesda actually put effort into this game. I am disappointed that Bethesda decided to end the Fallout series with Mothership Zeta (which sucked!) I do believe Bethesda has made one that will surely stay in the books for a long long time. It's amazing how they added the fact of taking drugs and alcohol to increase your stats (which in real life actually decrease your stats if you know what I mean) and visiting random places to interact and kill random people. Since the game is so big, there is a lot of room for errors, but not all of these errors are necessarily bad, some freeze your system, where others let you get duplicate unique weapons and multiple companions. Diablo was great and all, but we have a new king now, I present Fallout 3. Really they should come up with a real wrap to the series like instead of ending the enclave war, to return the United States back to the way it was, or like destroy the Talon Company or get rid of all creatures in the Wasteland. Or they should have you destroy China once and for all, ending all of the wars and preventing future ones from happening. Anyway my review for this game is a GOOGOLPLEX out of 10. Thank you so much Bethesda, bring on more. Expand
  48. MichaelH.
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    Essentially Oblivion with some guns and post apocalyptic Washington DC. The mechanics of the gameplay are the same but seems to have a more evil/neutral/good decision making role than Oblivion. All in all you can play the main story in 10 hours or wander off and put in 100 hours doing side quests so the choice is yours.
  49. SteveG
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    I love this game. It is not "broken," though it is not perfect. This is not for people who only want to play Call of Duty 4 online and want to kill things. This is for people who want to think, solve, plan and kill things. The world you are in is very dense with lots to explore and conquer. I have played for almost 60 hours and I am loving it.
  50. BilltheWhizz
    Nov 2, 2008
    9
    First off i think that this game is better than oblivion, i don't understand why it scored less on the metacritic score. it does have a few bugs (don't go playing around in the ruble) and it can be frustrating at time's (be careful how you shoot), plus the conversation can be a tad lame; but overall a great game i can tell its going to very lengthy, well worth the money. First off i think that this game is better than oblivion, i don't understand why it scored less on the metacritic score. it does have a few bugs (don't go playing around in the ruble) and it can be frustrating at time's (be careful how you shoot), plus the conversation can be a tad lame; but overall a great game i can tell its going to very lengthy, well worth the money. one huge tip i would give is to keep plenty of different saves, and make sure you save before you do something drastic. A GOOD BUY. Expand
  51. DustinS.
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    This game is unreal. I am normally a PC MMORPG gamer and have only recently crossed-over to the console. This game has what I have been looking for, a game that includes stats, equipment upgrades, leveling, insane monsters to kill and a shooter to boot. The story line is about what I expected but the depth of the game is what kept me in it. On-liners, you owe it to yourself to get this if This game is unreal. I am normally a PC MMORPG gamer and have only recently crossed-over to the console. This game has what I have been looking for, a game that includes stats, equipment upgrades, leveling, insane monsters to kill and a shooter to boot. The story line is about what I expected but the depth of the game is what kept me in it. On-liners, you owe it to yourself to get this if you are thinking of putting down the mouse and putting some cool points back in your pocket. Expand
  52. GaryK.
    Oct 14, 2008
    10
    This game reminds me of Bioshock, but most likely because Bioshock was inspired by fallout in many ways. I am not a fan of RPG games, but after getting my early copy of this game, I am truly hooked. This game is one of my favorite games of the year, it exceeded my expectations, though I fear some of the more enthusiastic fans may turn out dissatisfied.
  53. AlbertG.
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    How can so many people have voted on this game if it hasn't been released yet? Votes before the release of the game should not be counted, as I highly doubt users will give this game an average of 6.7 out of 10.
  54. MatthewS.
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    Whilst hardcore players of the previous Fallout titles will have you believe that Fallout 3 isn't much of a successor, Fallout 3 takes the best things from the first 2 Fallout games and adds them to the best things from Oblivion, delivering one of the best RPGs I've ever played. Fallout 3 is sure to go down in RPG history and will win a few Game of the Year awards.
  55. TD
    Oct 31, 2008
    10
    Imagine Oblivion - on Jet and Buffout. This game is insane. People just don't understand that Fallout is not a shooter. Just because it has guns, does not mean that shooting things is the sole purpose of the game. It is a RPG. An action-RPG but an RPG none-the-less. Kids these days don't understand the concept of the game because they never played the original games, so they are Imagine Oblivion - on Jet and Buffout. This game is insane. People just don't understand that Fallout is not a shooter. Just because it has guns, does not mean that shooting things is the sole purpose of the game. It is a RPG. An action-RPG but an RPG none-the-less. Kids these days don't understand the concept of the game because they never played the original games, so they are so quick to judge. My advice, play the first two before you play this and rate it. Then you'll be able to fully appreciate what it is. As a quickie: Best graphics if played on PC, but my PS3 looks WAY better than my roommates 360. Voice acting is top-notch, gameplay is solid (VATS system is a breath of fresh air), and nothing can beat a dark-humor and sadistic Fallout story. Two thumbs way up! Expand
  56. ENOUGH!!
    Jan 10, 2009
    9
    CONGRATULATIONS. IF YOU HAVE BOUGHT THIS GAME, YOU HAVE JUST MADE THE BEST DEAL OF YOUR LIFE. Fallout 3 is packed with content to the brim. There's loads of guns to buy, and there are so many quests to partake in. The characters are beleivable, to a point, but the character models do look a bit wooden. However, this made up for by three other things. 1) V.A.T.S.-If you are obsessed CONGRATULATIONS. IF YOU HAVE BOUGHT THIS GAME, YOU HAVE JUST MADE THE BEST DEAL OF YOUR LIFE. Fallout 3 is packed with content to the brim. There's loads of guns to buy, and there are so many quests to partake in. The characters are beleivable, to a point, but the character models do look a bit wooden. However, this made up for by three other things. 1) V.A.T.S.-If you are obsessed with blowing things up in video games, this can become the sole reason for buying this game. Seeing your enemy get blown to shreds is almost too satisfying. 2) The Character Creation system. This is the first game that I have played where I had to desperately try not to kill every single person in the game. I would cause everyone else to become distateful of me due to low karma. Finally: 3) The skill set. I know that this has been implemented into a slew of games for the past year, but never have I seen it being implemented so well. If you can only buy one game this year, buy Either GTA 4 or Fallout 3. Just don't play to the ending; it'll leave a foul taste in your mouth. Expand
  57. MichaelT.
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    This is the only game i have completed and then restarted straight away. I have completed it a few times and I loaded it up again as there are still bits I failed to do. You can be good or evil depending on your actions. The level of freedom and the scope of the game is immense. In my opinion this should be regarded as one of the greatest games ever made. If you don't own this for This is the only game i have completed and then restarted straight away. I have completed it a few times and I loaded it up again as there are still bits I failed to do. You can be good or evil depending on your actions. The level of freedom and the scope of the game is immense. In my opinion this should be regarded as one of the greatest games ever made. If you don't own this for the PS3, than you are missing out on an experience like no other. Words alone cannot describe how good this game is. Expand
  58. RyanBrighton
    Jan 26, 2009
    10
    The best game i've played in years
  59. EricP
    Jan 7, 2009
    8
    First off, my review comes from the standpoint of having never played Oblivion. I am however a diehard Fallout fan. The storyline is pretty standard for any other in the Fallout series. Nuclear war forces people into underground "vaults" for protection. When everyone emerges, violence in the D.C. Wasteland ensues. The graphics, while not being groundbreaking or revolutionary (hence the First off, my review comes from the standpoint of having never played Oblivion. I am however a diehard Fallout fan. The storyline is pretty standard for any other in the Fallout series. Nuclear war forces people into underground "vaults" for protection. When everyone emerges, violence in the D.C. Wasteland ensues. The graphics, while not being groundbreaking or revolutionary (hence the 720p and the Oblivion engine), are still fairly decent. Subdued colors add to the "postapocalyptic" vibe and the surroundings are pretty bleak in appreance to boot (albeit somewhat redundant at times). The gameplay and battle engine (coined V.A.T.S. for Vault-Tec Assisted Targeting) is really where the fun is at. When triggering V.A.T.S., the game stops and focuses on an enemy, highlighting a specific body part of your choosing. After selecting your body part, the game enters into a cinematic scene in which you shoot said enemy. While this game was supposedly made as a 3rd PS with FPS capabilites, the 3rd person vantage point is pointless and distant. I found that the FP felt the most "natural" and useful. I really felt that Bethesda could have done a better job with maybe focusing less on repairing and maintaining weapons and more on upgrading them. There also seemed to be a lack of armour choices. The sounds are exceptional and really add to the atmosphere. Everything from crickets chirps at nitght to explosions to body parts dismembering is always entertaining. You can also listen to a radio station called Galaxy News Radio which plays old 50's type music. It's not only nostalgic, but it fits the game like a glove for unknown reasons. It somehow makes killing giant mutated creatures more interesting... The Karma system was only good to a fault, it didn't actually affect the storyline at all. I didn't feel as though enough effort was placed into the results of the bad/good karma and the dialogue/actions leading up to them. Some say there are gliches that entirely ruin the game. I have noticed gliches at times, but nothing as serious as some have advertised on their reviews. Over the course of 43 hours of total gameplay, I have only experienced about 5 game crashing gliches. Take that with a grain of salt if you truly must. Overall a very convincing sequel to the Fallout series and very addictive gameplay, but with a couple downfalls that keep it from a 10/10 in my books. Expand
  60. RobS
    Feb 24, 2009
    10
    I think this is an amazing title and has had me totally immersed for weeks. The opening stages are slow but stick with it and you will be reward exploring is a must to get the full experience of the game. The walking can be a little boring at times but as you open up more locations the jump to feature is well worth the inclusion and can save you hours of walking. All in all a must buy in I think this is an amazing title and has had me totally immersed for weeks. The opening stages are slow but stick with it and you will be reward exploring is a must to get the full experience of the game. The walking can be a little boring at times but as you open up more locations the jump to feature is well worth the inclusion and can save you hours of walking. All in all a must buy in my eye's stages above Bethesda other title Oblivian. Expand
  61. VamsiV
    Mar 18, 2009
    9
    Truly superb. This game sacrifices little to nothing for its in depth story line, and intriguing side quests. The game offers more freedoms and action packed combat without crippling the game.
  62. RichieC.
    Nov 11, 2008
    9
    I have played the Fallout 1 & 2 to death, and although this Fallout 3 far surpasses them, even though Interplay (Black Isle, Wasteland) did what they could with them. I miss the random encounter "Easter Eggs" like the Tardis, or the Elvis velvet paintings, the remains of the Dead whale in the middle of nowhere, the Bridge of Death, Star Trek etc. At least there is a UFO reference and I have played the Fallout 1 & 2 to death, and although this Fallout 3 far surpasses them, even though Interplay (Black Isle, Wasteland) did what they could with them. I miss the random encounter "Easter Eggs" like the Tardis, or the Elvis velvet paintings, the remains of the Dead whale in the middle of nowhere, the Bridge of Death, Star Trek etc. At least there is a UFO reference and weapon. This game is only missing more pop-culture references like this. Otherwise another award winning Bethesda Studios game. Expand
  63. KevinC
    Nov 16, 2008
    9
    I got fed up with the game in the first day because of the (minor) glitches with dialog and character animations, and even wanted to trade it in. But then I played it a second time. The world feels small at first, until you realize that there are something like 117 locations to discover and tons of quests to complete. I believe that the Oblivion engine is, ironically, better suited to I got fed up with the game in the first day because of the (minor) glitches with dialog and character animations, and even wanted to trade it in. But then I played it a second time. The world feels small at first, until you realize that there are something like 117 locations to discover and tons of quests to complete. I believe that the Oblivion engine is, ironically, better suited to Fallout then it was to Oblivion. The gore is an awesome touch, and so are the radio stations - nothing beats completing a quest and then hearing the MC Three Dog talking about it an hour or two later. All in all, I haven't touched any other PS3 game since I picked this one up - VATS is awesome and doesn't get boring, the quests are fun and diverse with many different options, and the Karma system is pretty sweet. However, if you spend a long time customizing your character (and I did), bear in mind that you'll never see his or her face (except for brief moments in VATS). Expand
  64. JosephC
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    A great game for gamers that enjoy all genres. I personally have never played Elder Scrolls or any of the older Fallout, I really don't play rpg's all that much, but I did find this game to be superb. I have yet to run into any "glitches", and the gameplay is refreshing and entertaining.
  65. MatthewW.
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    Fallout 3 is a must-own, pure and simple. Any issues are negligible when put up against this game's atmosphere, scope, and detail. It is worth $60 easily, which is my very highest praise for any video game.
  66. blamojenkins
    Oct 21, 2008
    10
    just looking at the pictures and reading the reviews of this game makes me give it a ten b4 i even play it. the fact that this game is going to mix first person shooting, amazing graphics, and awsome gore with the pause combat system of kotor is driving me to the point of insanity. I can not wait this game!!!!
  67. ChristianBjørndalen
    Dec 23, 2008
    9
    A fantastic game! Bethesda has done some amazing work on the engine that gave us The Elder Scrolls, and the cool post nuclear mutant/hero atmosphere from the Fallout prequels oozes through this games' every pore. This will keep you occupied for ages if you play it like me - casually strolling 'round pickin' up side quests and enjoyin' the rippin' scenery :) Blast it!
  68. StevieP
    Dec 30, 2008
    9
    Apart from a few bugs (patch has fixed most of them anyway) this is the best game i have played all year. People say that its "just oblivion with guns" like that's a bad thing.
  69. DannyH
    Jan 19, 2009
    8
    The game has a bad habit of crashing on a semi-regular basis (for me, about every three hours of game play), but checkpoints are so frequent that it will only account for 15 minutes of game play at the absolute worst. Minor glitches aside, the game is highly engrossing, with no shortage of exploration and side quests. My first playthough was around 80 hours, and I immediately restarted The game has a bad habit of crashing on a semi-regular basis (for me, about every three hours of game play), but checkpoints are so frequent that it will only account for 15 minutes of game play at the absolute worst. Minor glitches aside, the game is highly engrossing, with no shortage of exploration and side quests. My first playthough was around 80 hours, and I immediately restarted the game so I could play through again, this time being an "evil" character and making different choices in all the quests, resulting in an alternate storyline. If you're into the exploration, item collecting, and character upgrading aspect of games, you'll be completely sucked into this one. Expand
  70. candidocabrera
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    The Besto Rol in Ps3
  71. RyanV
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    I love this game. I spent a lot of time thinking of something to put in this comments section, but I can't think of anything besides this: If you like shooters, Buy this game; If you like RPGs, buy this game; If you like open world environments, buy this game; if you love kicking mutant/ghoul/bad guy/good guy ass, buy this game. Buy this game for whatever system you have.
  72. JonS.
    Jul 13, 2009
    9
    Phenomenal game! Though a warning to RPG players who demand and endless game, and the reason it receives a 9 rather than a 10 from me: if you're good at this game you will max out your character in less than 60 hours of play. While it was a very satisfying play, hitting a character barrier at level 20 was very disappointing. I had to stop playing and am waiting for the fix to hit the Phenomenal game! Though a warning to RPG players who demand and endless game, and the reason it receives a 9 rather than a 10 from me: if you're good at this game you will max out your character in less than 60 hours of play. While it was a very satisfying play, hitting a character barrier at level 20 was very disappointing. I had to stop playing and am waiting for the fix to hit the PS3. I understand why there was a limit: at this level I was mowing through all in my path, though I'm quite familiar with previous Fallouts and had quite the powerful character. One can easily wind up at level 20 with a mediocre or weak character if you don't use your level progressions wisely. And there's plenty of adventure to be had. My second favorite aspect of this game is the turn-based gameplay incorporation into the game without slowing it down - in fact, it speeds up your combat as it's the optimal method of combat in this game. My absolute favorite thing about this game, though, is the theme. Post-nuclear apocalypse is by far my favorite setting, and the selling point that turned me onto this franchise to begin with. But it's the fantastic gameplay and adventure that keeps you hooked. Expand
  73. LucasK.
    Jul 18, 2009
    10
    This game is astonishing with the amount of freedom it bestows upon you. Even if you beat the games main storyline, there is still hours and hours and hours of gameplay yet to experience.
  74. Nolan
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    I expected this to be good and I was wrong this is one of if not the best game i've played, i sort of liked oblivion on pc but this is just better in everyway, only reason this won't recieve a 10 from me is that its just not perfect (no game has yet not even MGS4) the graphics are good but weird aliasing problems around objects more so around objects with the sky behinde it, likeI expected this to be good and I was wrong this is one of if not the best game i've played, i sort of liked oblivion on pc but this is just better in everyway, only reason this won't recieve a 10 from me is that its just not perfect (no game has yet not even MGS4) the graphics are good but weird aliasing problems around objects more so around objects with the sky behinde it, like its being highlighted. Expand
  75. BoeRye
    Nov 23, 2008
    9
    9.5 Actually. Excellent Game that continues in the Spirit of Fallout 1. Graphics are good, Not mind blowing and the visual glitches so talked about are not that bad. I have yet to have a total crash or reset and the worst bug ive seen is raiders flying about much more than they should. The world at first seems really small but the sheer amount of locations makes it much bigger. While some 9.5 Actually. Excellent Game that continues in the Spirit of Fallout 1. Graphics are good, Not mind blowing and the visual glitches so talked about are not that bad. I have yet to have a total crash or reset and the worst bug ive seen is raiders flying about much more than they should. The world at first seems really small but the sheer amount of locations makes it much bigger. While some of the NPC's come off a bit stiff, you get attached to the main characters, I had to stop playing when dogmeat got kill by a super mutie. The real star of the game is the wasteland itself. It is completely beautiful and there were many times it took my breath away. For fans of fallout if you don't have this game yet get up and go directly to the nearest store and get it immediately. For everyone else I would say if you are tired of the usual hack and slash or shooter then pick this up, it will suck you in. Expand
  76. ReneM
    Dec 23, 2008
    9
    My favorite game of the year by far. The minor gilitcehs and bugs were the only thing that make this game lose a point, and these errors should be largely fixed as a patch will soon be available. The graphics leave something to be desired, but the interface options, the custom character options, the karma system, the side quests, make up for that. I have found myself having fun just My favorite game of the year by far. The minor gilitcehs and bugs were the only thing that make this game lose a point, and these errors should be largely fixed as a patch will soon be available. The graphics leave something to be desired, but the interface options, the custom character options, the karma system, the side quests, make up for that. I have found myself having fun just wandering around the wasteland. The VATS system is great, it makes this game better than your average, 3rd person/1st person shooter. The fact that you can kill anyone you want is great. If you get pissed off at a character, just blow him away with your combat shotgun, but make sure that you wont need the character later on to finish a quest. Although the game also lacks any multiplayer, its still one of the greatest game of the year, and will definatly will have as large of a following that the perivous installments had created. 9.2/10 Expand
  77. Jan 25, 2011
    9
    The VATS system is awesome. I loved playing Oblivion and Fallout 3 GOTY edition is great so far. There are technical issues as with any Bethesda game, such as glitches and graphical problems but this game is so much fun, the blemishes are minor here.

    I am afraid of using the expansion packs because people have expressed problems playing certain areas but the main story has been very
    The VATS system is awesome. I loved playing Oblivion and Fallout 3 GOTY edition is great so far. There are technical issues as with any Bethesda game, such as glitches and graphical problems but this game is so much fun, the blemishes are minor here.

    I am afraid of using the expansion packs because people have expressed problems playing certain areas but the main story has been very good. What really gets me excited are the side quests. The people you meet in Megaton and in GNR Radio Broadcast, the Brotherhood of Steel and others in Rivet City give you interesting new areas to explore.

    This is an RPG game based around a shooter. Almost like Mass Effect in a way with decision trees and character development but more open and expansive. I'm playing this game in 2011 and still think the graphics hold up well to some of today's games. Not a type of game for everyone since it includes talking, story, voice acting, you know to develop a plot. Unlike alot of games, this is slow to develop but you can choose any path you want explore freely instead of being an on the rails affair like COD for once.
    Expand
  78. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    Don't get me wrong this is a great game, and still really relevant considering its quality, at first it is hard to get into but stick with it and you will find it amazing. However don't get it on PS3, go PC. I'm usually pro console, but the modding community for Fallout 3 is extensive and the mods you can find online add so much more to the game.
  79. Sep 1, 2010
    9
    The most stunning thing about Fallout 3 is not the size of the gameworld but the amout of stuff thats been packed into it and the attention to detail. I remember having played the game for close to a year and i was still discovering surprises and twists. No other game comes close to not only giving you the freedom to go where you want and do what you want but also a sense that you justThe most stunning thing about Fallout 3 is not the size of the gameworld but the amout of stuff thats been packed into it and the attention to detail. I remember having played the game for close to a year and i was still discovering surprises and twists. No other game comes close to not only giving you the freedom to go where you want and do what you want but also a sense that you just have to search every nook and cranny to see what you can find. Fallout 3 is more an experience then a game. Expand
  80. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    I picked up this game late in 2008, and only because of pressure from friends. I had never played a Fallout game previously, but had enjoyed The Elder Scrolls: Oblivion, Bethesda's las major effort. I really didn't have much expectation. What I got was a game that ranks squarely in my all-time top 5 (perhaps even 2), and I've been a hardcore gamer for the better part of 25 years.

    The
    I picked up this game late in 2008, and only because of pressure from friends. I had never played a Fallout game previously, but had enjoyed The Elder Scrolls: Oblivion, Bethesda's las major effort. I really didn't have much expectation. What I got was a game that ranks squarely in my all-time top 5 (perhaps even 2), and I've been a hardcore gamer for the better part of 25 years.

    The graphics are very good, but you won't be blown away by them. The visual palette is very subdued, with the environment painted in washed out greens, browns, blues and grays. This isn't by mistake, though. Character models are good, though not on par with games like Mass Effect. However, they are a big step up from those in Oblivion, as they don't appear facially deformed.

    The sound design is great, especially if you have a 5.1 setup.

    Combat is a bit clunky, especially if you are used to true FPS games, which Fallout 3 is not. For what it is, it is more than sufficient. The VATS system slows battles down, and lets you map out each strike/shot. It also lets you end confrontations with a variety of satisfying, bloody (or gooey) flourishes. Weapon customizations allow you to create cool and sometimes ridiculous and amusing armaments.

    How the game plays out is really up to you. If you stick to the main narrative, you can polish of the game in short order (maybe under 10 hours). But that would be bypassing the bulk of the game, and much of what makes it great, which are the enormous variety of sidequests. The Capitol Wasteland is a vast place, and nearly everywhere you turn, you will find people to help or harm, errands to be run, or things destroyed. Your actions will have consequences, as you accrue karma, both bad and good, that affects how you are regarded by others, and options that are open to you. These quests vary from the silly to the serious and thought provoking. Moral dilemmas abound. You can easily log 100 hours without feeling as if the game is spread too thin.

    What really made this game great (in my opinion) was the atmosphere. Bethesda did a spectacular job of crafting a desolate yet relate-able world that is truly emotionally evocative. The bleak palette I mentioned earlier is juxtaposed against cheery, 50's style billboards with colorful ads and sunny catchphrases. You will be wait deep in combat against horrible mutations while listening to happy 40's-50's tunes. You are faced with a desolate, depressing post-apocalyptic waste, yet the ghosts of the pre-war world are always present. It is a decidedly melancholy world, which I thought was very fitting.

    Now for some of the bad, which id pretty PS3-specific. You may have heard that the PS3 version is vastly inferior, which isn't entirely true. Greatly exaggerated, in fact. The graphical differences are minimal, at most. Sometimes the PS3 version actually looks better, depending of the place and time. The only noticeable difference is that the PS3 version freezes with some frequency, particularly late in the game. You can combat this to a degree by deleting the data cache for the game (not the game save file) occasionally. The only time this became a headache for me was in one of the DLC missions, Operation Anchorage, where I saw the worst frame rate drop I had ever seen (which was remedied by saving, deleting the data cache, and reloading).

    But this is absolutely not a deal breaker by any means. This is an immensely enjoyable game that any serious gamer needs. It is, in my opinion, a true benchmark game. By far my favorite of the current generation. If you have a 360 or PS3, you need to play Fallout 3.
    Expand
  81. Oct 12, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Often touted as "Oblivion with guns", Fallout 3 is certainly very similar to the fantasy-world RPG. It is just as immersive as TES IV, with a great soundtrack and world to explore. While many become bored with the dreary landscape and green-and-brown graphics, they don't realize that Fallout 3 takes place in a post-apocalyptic wasteland-not the colourful forests and piercing mountains of fantasy RPGs. Bethesda pulled off the post-apocalyptic theme perfectly, and one really feels as if they are fighting to survive in this devastated world. Fallout 3's gameplay is excellent. Certain skills like persuasion, thieving, sneaking, and ranged attacks (V.A.T.S in particular is excellent) have all been improved on, and the game is a blast to just explore through and interact with the world around you. Sadly, however, Bethesda has still made some of the mistakes that it has with other games in the past. The animations, albeit slightly better than in Oblivion, are still dreadful, and the game's also still full of glitches (sometimes the game becomes completely unplayable, whether it be because of lag or a an NPC randomly dying/glitching in behaviour). While Bethesda hired some top-notch voice actors for Fallout 3, they still didn't hire ENOUGH. Many of the sub-characters' voices are completely recycled. The story also follows the patterns of past games: great-but-not-excellent; and tremendously anti-climatic. However, just as these problems didn't (and shouldn't) stop people from playing Oblivion, the same applies here. Despite all these minor annoyances, Fallout 3 is still a must-buy, featuring a completely immersive, interesting world with excellent gameplay to boot. Delve into the wasteland and forge your own path, Lone Wanderer. Expand
  82. Mar 28, 2011
    10
    Man did I miss the boat on this one. I picked up Fallout 3 in a bargain bin recently 3 years after the hype and euphoria. As an rpg noob ( the last one I played was FF7) I have to say getting into the mindset is the hardest part. You have to walk around and probe and search and chat to people, 'yeh so what?' I hear you say , but for me I wanted to shoot and run cod style. Getting used toMan did I miss the boat on this one. I picked up Fallout 3 in a bargain bin recently 3 years after the hype and euphoria. As an rpg noob ( the last one I played was FF7) I have to say getting into the mindset is the hardest part. You have to walk around and probe and search and chat to people, 'yeh so what?' I hear you say , but for me I wanted to shoot and run cod style. Getting used to the VATS and the menu system was also tricky at first. I also found this game inordinately difficult. Trying to get somewhere with a frail little guy and a pistol with lumbering Giants speeding towards you can be disheartening. But Once the instant travel option has been accessed you can go back and forth easily and quickly. The difficulty setting can also be managed if your getting mauled. Overall though , hours of play rewards a truly mesmeric monster of a game. It oozes atmosphere. The option to be good or evil is also intruiging. It's an awsome journey. Ok bad points. Auto save is a silly function and before removing got me in hot water straight away ( turn it off) . There are too many wandering encounters that can kill you on a whim or at least take away ALL your energy and suck you dry. I dont care how good VATS is you cant take down a giant with a pistol. There should be a way to reduce wandering encounters ( maybe the difficulty setting does?) . Stealing stuff or doing something bad by accident is so easy to do and suddenly you lose karma and the whole of a town wants to kill you. Now thats also very annoying. All of that aside its a truly epic game which Id recommend to even RPG virgins, just make sure you have lots of saves and go in with the right attitude guys. Expand
  83. Oct 27, 2010
    9
    Fallout 3 is an adventurous re-think of the classic RPG game Fallout, rendered in fully-fledged 3D glory and containing one of the most vast and unrestricted landscapes ever committed to pixellated form. Despite a few minor niggles and a wholly unfulfilling ending(/s), I found playing this game to be a real visceral treat. Moments of genuine terror and tension are aplenty, especially ifFallout 3 is an adventurous re-think of the classic RPG game Fallout, rendered in fully-fledged 3D glory and containing one of the most vast and unrestricted landscapes ever committed to pixellated form. Despite a few minor niggles and a wholly unfulfilling ending(/s), I found playing this game to be a real visceral treat. Moments of genuine terror and tension are aplenty, especially if trolling through abandoned subway stations while sitting in a darkened room, wondering where that scuttling sound is coming from and whether you have enough V.A.T.S points to stop it. One of the finest games of recent times. Expand
  84. Oct 28, 2010
    8
    Fallout 3 Game Review
    Fallout 3 is an RPG created by Bethesda Softworks. Fallout 3 is set in post-apocalyptic Washington D.C. in the year of 2277 where nuclear war has scarred the face of human kind with various mutations of the people due to radiation. The player is able to explore this â
  85. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    I wish there was a 9.9 button I could press. I do not give out 10's lightly and though Fallout 3 gets pretty damned close to earning one from me there are a few things that keep it from being a perfect experience.

    I had become pretty jaded with games this decade. The shooters were gettting bland, Square wasn't making anything fun, and most of the series I'd loved on the PS2 hadn't
    I wish there was a 9.9 button I could press. I do not give out 10's lightly and though Fallout 3 gets pretty damned close to earning one from me there are a few things that keep it from being a perfect experience.

    I had become pretty jaded with games this decade. The shooters were gettting bland, Square wasn't making anything fun, and most of the series I'd loved on the PS2 hadn't followed me to my new system. A friend of mine told me about Fallout 3 and initially I was put off by the sheer size of the thing. I figured it'd get boring and frustrating very quickly. I was very wrong.

    The story may be a tad flimsy, but the setting is great. I remember starting the game and that same friend telling me "See all those buidlings out there?", as I glanced around the destroyed cityscape after emerging from the vault. "You can go into everyone of them. If you can see it, you can get to it". This idea of size enthralled me and I soon became obsessed with just the simple idea of surviving the in the waste. Going into caves, abandoned supermarkets, old schools (most of which had their own stories told through journals and atmospherics) and scavenging for priceless items, upgrading and maintaining my weapons and trading to get better equipment. It was all simple but it was so rewarding.

    The game features an amazing sense of freedom. If something lives, you can shoot it. Which means you can truly walk the line between good and evil in a world with real repercussions. You can either work, scavenge and save up for that certain item you've had your eye on, or wait until late at night, kill the shopkeep and rob his store to sell off somewhere else. But the people you kill stay dead. So everyone who plays has a bit of a different experience.

    The blend of first person action and RPG elements works great thanks to a great combat system and inventory screen. This includes the V.A.T.S. targeting system, which allows you to use your attributes and skills to target certain areas for precision kills. Very useful. Or you can just run and gun and shoot from the hip if you are so inclined.

    The game does, hoever suffer from some terrible glitches. Loading screen loops, key items disappearing, NPC characters seemingly forgetting their lines and cues. It's a big game, and there are a great many things going on at all times that you are always altering so I guess sometimes it gets sort of confused. All of that said; this game is not for everyone. There are long stretches of just wasteland wandering and the main story will be over before you know it, if you pursue the story missions. But this is a unique game in a unique environment. It gets as close as I've yet seen to that immersion factor people are always looking out for.
    Expand
  86. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    i salute you! i currently have 200+ hours into this game and have not used any strategy guides for it! you can choose to be good or bad, i went with good 0:) this is more than a game people this is you creating a life with real life altering decisions! most NPCs can be killed and then they are gone forever,.. you lose the quests from them and maybe even a good vender! i love this game soi salute you! i currently have 200+ hours into this game and have not used any strategy guides for it! you can choose to be good or bad, i went with good 0:) this is more than a game people this is you creating a life with real life altering decisions! most NPCs can be killed and then they are gone forever,.. you lose the quests from them and maybe even a good vender! i love this game so much i have the dlc for it and am even getting a pipboy 'thumbs up' tattoo on my shoulder! Expand
  87. May 6, 2011
    10
    fallout 3 is one of the best rpg games and ps3 games ever made the story is just fantastic the tone of the game stuck in the 50s is excellent the best on ps3 the side quests are excellent to with good stories to them the main quest is even better the world is rich in detail and there is lots of things to do and see sure it has bugs but it doesnt ruin the game this is the best ps3 game ifallout 3 is one of the best rpg games and ps3 games ever made the story is just fantastic the tone of the game stuck in the 50s is excellent the best on ps3 the side quests are excellent to with good stories to them the main quest is even better the world is rich in detail and there is lots of things to do and see sure it has bugs but it doesnt ruin the game this is the best ps3 game i have ever played the graphics are dated now but it is still good the dlc operation anchorage/the pitt/broken still/point lookout/ and mothership zeta are all fine no wonder fallout 3 was game of the year it rocks plus its way better than fallout new vegas well done bethesda this was my first fallout game i played i loved everything about it Expand
  88. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    Awesome RPG open world game. Great, moving, immersive story, or you could just wander the Capital Wasteland! Totally up to you. Very interesting characters and enemies scattered across the Wasteland.
  89. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    Game is amazing but yes it has some bugs (did not bother me) and it crashes sometimes. I 've spent over 100 hours on it and I just love it. Crashes started after 70 hours of gameplay. I had one or two crashes every 5 hours... so not so bad...
  90. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Okay, I have owned a PS3 since the start. The Fallout series is the best for replay value I have found yet. I have probably beat the game 10 times and I still find new stuff every time I go through it. Try not to just run through the main story line, go do the side quest. You will enjoy this game, it's even better the tenth time through. I am ready for fallout 4!!!
  91. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    This game is perfect. I've never played a fallout game before. The world was amazing, the story engaging the choices very good and even replayability (and I normally never replay games!). I did not have any problems with glitches and freezes in this game though.
  92. Mar 13, 2012
    8
    Do not let the score fool you. It is far from being obsolete in the great category. The story and drive it relishes to you, through its dialogue, side quests and ultimately its main storyline is what sets it apart from any other 8/10 game. I recommend that you get this for the Xbox360 or PC as the glitches take away a part of the experience of the PS3 version (hence the 8) If future gamingDo not let the score fool you. It is far from being obsolete in the great category. The story and drive it relishes to you, through its dialogue, side quests and ultimately its main storyline is what sets it apart from any other 8/10 game. I recommend that you get this for the Xbox360 or PC as the glitches take away a part of the experience of the PS3 version (hence the 8) If future gaming exists with what this game has done to the gaming industry, we're in for a great ride with Fallout 4. Expand
  93. Aug 8, 2012
    8
    What a great game with such a deep world to explore. Fallout 3's combat system works and goes along with the whole RPG element of the game. Fallout 3 has a great story and the game allows you to pretty much have the freedom of how you want to handle the wasteland with a karma system. There are some downsides tough, things can get repetitive and after your save file gets over about 8 mbWhat a great game with such a deep world to explore. Fallout 3's combat system works and goes along with the whole RPG element of the game. Fallout 3 has a great story and the game allows you to pretty much have the freedom of how you want to handle the wasteland with a karma system. There are some downsides tough, things can get repetitive and after your save file gets over about 8 mb there are occasional freezes. Graphics could be a little better but the immense environment makes up for that. Other than that, you can pick up the game now for a reasonable price plus the game of the year edition has all the DLCs which is a awesome deal. Expand
  94. Feb 24, 2012
    8
    the real downside to FO3 is the crashes, bugs of varying degrees, some bland side quests, and the main story isn't amazing, but I didn't think it was too bad. This is a game with so much to do and so much character, I loved the V.A.T.S. system but what really kept the combat fresh was the tons of unique weapons and armor, probably one of the best aspects of the game. The real-world feelthe real downside to FO3 is the crashes, bugs of varying degrees, some bland side quests, and the main story isn't amazing, but I didn't think it was too bad. This is a game with so much to do and so much character, I loved the V.A.T.S. system but what really kept the combat fresh was the tons of unique weapons and armor, probably one of the best aspects of the game. The real-world feel and actual monuments, buildings, and locations really help create an overall mood to the game. Another awesome part is Galaxy News Radio, the music along with Three Dog is freakin awesome, and is a cool way to add in the feel that what you're doing actually matters when Three Dog reports it. The game isn't perfect, and some quests are boring, some locations run-of-the-mill with nothing too special, but it's counter-balanced with some great vaults with pasts that you discover as you go through them, and hidden gems throughout the wasteland that make exploring worthwhile. This is one of my all time favorite games, and if you can deal with some boring, as well as technical problems, this is an amazing game Expand
  95. Mar 4, 2012
    8
    next to the elder scrolls series fallout is the best open world rpg on the market the storyline is actually interesting the gameplay is fun the vats system is also neat all the guns do different things so the guns are awesome in this game and the world is fun to explore the only problem is besides 2 main towns the game is very lonely i know its supposed to be a nuclear apocalypse but itnext to the elder scrolls series fallout is the best open world rpg on the market the storyline is actually interesting the gameplay is fun the vats system is also neat all the guns do different things so the guns are awesome in this game and the world is fun to explore the only problem is besides 2 main towns the game is very lonely i know its supposed to be a nuclear apocalypse but it gets boring being alone all the time and this game also crashes alot and the graphics are less then amazing but other then that this game is awesome Expand
  96. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    If you are one of the few who CARE about bugs/glitches that occur please ignore this review. This game aside from the afore mentioned bugs/glitches is one of the most immersive, fun, exploratory, interesting games i have ever played. This game does the apocalypse justice.
  97. Apr 10, 2012
    9
    Despite the technical issues, this is still my favorite game of this generation. An interesting story, an amazing atmosphere, great music, great characters, great quests. This post-apocalyptic world will keep you hooked for hours. It has quite a few bugs, even after the many updates, and the visuals aren't anything special. You can certainly feel in every way this was made for the PC, butDespite the technical issues, this is still my favorite game of this generation. An interesting story, an amazing atmosphere, great music, great characters, great quests. This post-apocalyptic world will keep you hooked for hours. It has quite a few bugs, even after the many updates, and the visuals aren't anything special. You can certainly feel in every way this was made for the PC, but that shouldn't keep you from playing this. Expand
  98. Apr 6, 2012
    8
    This post-apocalyptic Action-RPG is huge!! It has vast non-linear landscapes with dozens of cities and towns to explore, deeply layered missions and very compelling story lines, good voice acting and a terrific retro soundtrack that helps set the moody tone from the start. Seemingly endless character types(friends and foes) to meet/kill as you scavenge the immense and ravaged terrain. AllThis post-apocalyptic Action-RPG is huge!! It has vast non-linear landscapes with dozens of cities and towns to explore, deeply layered missions and very compelling story lines, good voice acting and a terrific retro soundtrack that helps set the moody tone from the start. Seemingly endless character types(friends and foes) to meet/kill as you scavenge the immense and ravaged terrain. All the while collecting a vast assortment of weapons(from your first BB-gun to your Mini-Nuke Warheads). Slay baddies and take their body armor/weapons/etc as well. Collect as many valuables as you can carry. They can be sold for Bottle-caps(the currency of the wasteland), which in turn can be used to purchase/repair your supplies/weapons/armor. Many misc found items can be assembled into unique and devastating specialty weapons. I have not even mentioned the very fun selective body part targeting system in addition to the traditional aim and shoot option. That system could be another paragraph. Expand
  99. May 27, 2012
    8
    An engaging and rewarding roleplaying/first person shooter set in post apocalyptic Washington DC. There is excellent storytelling combined with deep and thoughtful choices that are made that impact the game. Bethesda makes gamers drool with the perks system, point allocation, and the all-mighty and all-satisfying VATS system, which allows you to enjoy torching a mutant, blowing the headAn engaging and rewarding roleplaying/first person shooter set in post apocalyptic Washington DC. There is excellent storytelling combined with deep and thoughtful choices that are made that impact the game. Bethesda makes gamers drool with the perks system, point allocation, and the all-mighty and all-satisfying VATS system, which allows you to enjoy torching a mutant, blowing the head off of someone, or nuking an entire town. Fallout 3 is worth playing and is a classic already. Expand
  100. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    This is a game that feels like a real step forward. An intense, fascinating, and fun game that takes you on a real journey. The main story quest is compelling, as is exploring the ruins of Washington D.C. And the surrounding towns. For all the well-documented glitches, Fallout 3 is as perfect a gaming experience as you will find.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Oct 27, 2010
    76
    Until you can play the game without unpredictable crashing and quirky issues surprising you it's going to be tough to find the maximum amount of fun I know this title can offer.
  2. 100
    This is the kind of hugely ambitious game that doesn't come around very often, and when it does, you'd be a fool not to play it and enjoy the hell out of it and look forward to the day (next-next-gen?) when the fidelity of open-world RPGs takes another big step closer to the uncanny valley's far side.
  3. 94
    It's rare that a game can hit the mark in so many different and often conflicting areas. Fallout 3 offers freedom without sacrificing a focused story. It delivers fantastic combat without forgoing a deep role-playing system. The characters you meet are engaging and oftentimes hilarious without feeling out of place in this harsh world.