Fallout 3 PlayStation 3

Fallout 3 Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 920 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Vault-Tec engineers have worked around the clock on an interactive reproduction of Wasteland life for you to enjoy from the comfort of your own vault. Included is an expansive world, unique combat, shockingly realistic visuals, tons of player choice, and an incredible cast of dynamicVault-Tec engineers have worked around the clock on an interactive reproduction of Wasteland life for you to enjoy from the comfort of your own vault. Included is an expansive world, unique combat, shockingly realistic visuals, tons of player choice, and an incredible cast of dynamic characters. Every minute is a fight for survival against the terrors of the outside world – radiation, Super Mutants, and hostile mutated creatures. From Vault-Tec, America's First Choice in Post Nuclear Simulation. Vault 101 - Jewel of the Wastes. For 200 years, Vault 101 has faithfully served the surviving residents of Washington DC and its environs, now known as the Capital Wasteland. Though the global atomic war of 2077 left the US all but destroyed, the residents of Vault 101 enjoy a life free from the constant stress of the outside world. Giant Insects, Raiders, Slavers, and yes, even Super Mutants are all no match for superior Vault-Tec engineering. Yet one fateful morning, you awake to find that your father has defied the Overseer and left the comfort and security afforded by Vault 101 for reasons unknown. Leaving the only home you've ever known, you emerge from the Vault into the harsh Wasteland sun to search for your father, and the truth. [Bethesda Softworks] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. 100
    This is the kind of hugely ambitious game that doesn't come around very often, and when it does, you'd be a fool not to play it and enjoy the hell out of it and look forward to the day (next-next-gen?) when the fidelity of open-world RPGs takes another big step closer to the uncanny valley's far side.
  2. 100
    After this game-experience negative points are hard to find. Sure, the radio program is not mind-blowing and the third-person-view is suboptimal. But this doesn't matter, as Fallout 3 is wonderful and even a class better than Bethesda's last title - Oblivion.
  3. In the end, Fallout 3 feels like a Fallout game, and that is absolutely the highest compliment. Despite the changes, much of the charm and fun of the franchise remains intact, and despite the similarities to "Elder Scrolls 4: Oblivion", I never felt that I was playing anything but a Fallout game.
  4. More than reinventing a game, Bethesda could assure a desirable evolution. In a world devastated by the war, the beauty of the entire environment is the greatest step in Fallout 3.
  5. The overall experience of Fallout 3 is unmatched, and the amount of game Bethesda has packed into this $60 title can't be ignored. Flaws aside, taken as a whole, Fallout 3 is an astounding effort and easily one this year's best gaming experiences.
  6. Fallout 3 is the biggest accomplishment in adventure gaming since Oblivion.
  7. Yet the final product has been injured by this ambition, by having too many options and locations, the quality is spread thin and the lack of restrictions can daze some players.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 180
  1. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Utterly amazing. Long hours of game-play, amazing story line, many side quests, large map, and amazing DLC. This is my favorite game, myUtterly amazing. Long hours of game-play, amazing story line, many side quests, large map, and amazing DLC. This is my favorite game, my previous being Fallout: New Vegas. Expand
  2. DouglasAder
    Feb 3, 2009
    10
    When advising people on games, its important that they understand what genres they like first. What a game gets rated is meaningless if it isWhen advising people on games, its important that they understand what genres they like first. What a game gets rated is meaningless if it is not your genre. I rated this game a ten because it is well made but more importantly is the best mix of two majors genres to date: Shooter and RPG. Oblivion did a decent job of combining the two, but it had more of an RPG feel than a Shooter. This is a dead even mix. If you like both Shooter Games and Role Playing Games, this is a must buy. Expand
  3. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    This game is the most epic game that I've ever played. Its incontable hours of fun, an interesting plot, amazing hidden surprises and tons ofThis game is the most epic game that I've ever played. Its incontable hours of fun, an interesting plot, amazing hidden surprises and tons of different thing to do. Loads of weapons armors, outfits, companions, enemies, things to explore. The background for the game (the different evolution of the world, the destruction of it by the nuclear holocaust, and the sick and crazy pre-war US government, Vault-Tec Executives and the Enclave,the struggle of the humanity to survive and put the society back in its rails) is simply amazing. The mechanics of the game are very nice also, things like V.A.T.S, sneaking, and etc. GO and buy it, you won't regret! Expand
  4. TylerC.
    Oct 28, 2008
    9
    I pre-ordered this at gamestop and I can't wait to go pick it up and play this all night tonight! This gmae looks amazing and the fact I pre-ordered this at gamestop and I can't wait to go pick it up and play this all night tonight! This gmae looks amazing and the fact that it's a RPG and a shooter, makes it even better. I also am getting LBP, so I will have plenty to do within the week. Expand
  5. Oct 27, 2010
    9
    Fallout 3 is an adventurous re-think of the classic RPG game Fallout, rendered in fully-fledged 3D glory and containing one of the most vastFallout 3 is an adventurous re-think of the classic RPG game Fallout, rendered in fully-fledged 3D glory and containing one of the most vast and unrestricted landscapes ever committed to pixellated form. Despite a few minor niggles and a wholly unfulfilling ending(/s), I found playing this game to be a real visceral treat. Moments of genuine terror and tension are aplenty, especially if trolling through abandoned subway stations while sitting in a darkened room, wondering where that scuttling sound is coming from and whether you have enough V.A.T.S points to stop it. One of the finest games of recent times. Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2011
    8
    this game was pretty good i loved it and i have played through a couple times but i wish that it had a few more side misions or that it wasntthis game was pretty good i loved it and i have played through a couple times but i wish that it had a few more side misions or that it wasnt always the same ending and would it have killed them to do more misions i mean the map is absolutly HUGE but there is only a couple places that things actually happen in but i still loved it and will play through it many more times in the future and is a must buy especially now that it is only 15$ Expand
  7. SHODAN
    Nov 5, 2008
    0
    In comparison to the earlier Black Isle Studios Fallouts, Bethesda's Fallout has: One-dimensional, illogical and forgettable characters In comparison to the earlier Black Isle Studios Fallouts, Bethesda's Fallout has: One-dimensional, illogical and forgettable characters with little to no personality. Simple, linear, unoriginal narrative. Poorly-written narrative. Poorly-written dialogue. Poorly-voiced dialogue. None of the series' trademark moral ambiguity. No real freedom (there are unkillable NPCs, unavoidable combat etc.). No real choices or consequences. Tactical combat has been removed. Importance of skills/perks/traits removed. Traits removed. Psychologically and emotionally complex quests no longer present. Nuclear power was a feared thing in post-apocalyptic Fallout, and the issue was dealt with intelligently with much subtle social commentary. In Fallout 3, you can shoot nuclear-powered cars with your nuclear catapult (early in the game...), in a town built around an unexploded nuclear bomb. Fallout 3 fails to deal with any of the interesting human issues that Fallout did. The game lacks any semblance of thoughtfulness. It's also shorter. And easier. The game abuses and contradicts established lore. Fallout 3 fails to even pathetically imitate it's decade-old predecessors' design, originality or meaningfullness. Let alone exceed it. Even when considered, unfairly, outside the context of being a sequel, it is an exceptionally arrogant, incompetent and poorly designed game all on its own. The animations are clunky and awkward. AI is atrocious. Combat is awkward. World textures and character models are ugly and lacking. Art direction is poor. Much of the crowded (who would have thought nuclear winter would be so claustrophobic?) "wasteland" is sloppily and lazily copy-pasted from place to place. The musical score is uninspired and in the style of LOTR-esque epic-fantasy (in fact it sounds very similar to Oblvion...) - which is completely inappropriate in this game's setting. To top it off, the whole thing is buggy and poorly optimized. And Bethesda's attitude towards the original games' fans has been utterly pathetic. Expand

See all 180 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.