Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 730 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Vault-Tec engineers have worked around the clock on an interactive reproduction of Wasteland life for you to enjoy from the comfort of your own vault. Included is an expansive world, unique combat, shockingly realistic visuals, tons of player choice, and an incredible cast of dynamicVault-Tec engineers have worked around the clock on an interactive reproduction of Wasteland life for you to enjoy from the comfort of your own vault. Included is an expansive world, unique combat, shockingly realistic visuals, tons of player choice, and an incredible cast of dynamic characters. Every minute is a fight for survival against the terrors of the outside world – radiation, Super Mutants, and hostile mutated creatures. From Vault-Tec, America's First Choice in Post Nuclear Simulation. Vault 101 - Jewel of the Wastes. For 200 years, Vault 101 has faithfully served the surviving residents of Washington DC and its environs, now known as the Capital Wasteland. Though the global atomic war of 2077 left the US all but destroyed, the residents of Vault 101 enjoy a life free from the constant stress of the outside world. Giant Insects, Raiders, Slavers, and yes, even Super Mutants are all no match for superior Vault-Tec engineering. Yet one fateful morning, you awake to find that your father has defied the Overseer and left the comfort and security afforded by Vault 101 for reasons unknown. Leaving the only home you've ever known, you emerge from the Vault into the harsh Wasteland sun to search for your father, and the truth. [Bethesda Softworks] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. 100
    After this game-experience negative points are hard to find. Sure, the radio program is not mind-blowing and the third-person-view is suboptimal. But this doesn't matter, as Fallout 3 is wonderful and even a class better than Bethesda's last title - Oblivion.
  2. 100
    This is the kind of hugely ambitious game that doesn't come around very often, and when it does, you'd be a fool not to play it and enjoy the hell out of it and look forward to the day (next-next-gen?) when the fidelity of open-world RPGs takes another big step closer to the uncanny valley's far side.
  3. Fallout 3 is a game that hits all the right notes and excels in being a role-playing game that wishes to challenge the genre to bring something bigger and better.
  4. And that's the draw of the game: interacting with a living, breathing world that centers on you as the star. [Holiday 2008, p.60]
  5. A flawed masterpice for the ages. [Summer 2009, p.76]
  6. Kids, Fallout 3 is Oblivion with guns hands down. Again, that's not a bad thing, but it feels like Bethesda missed an opportunity here by playing things safe and that's fine.
  7. Yet the final product has been injured by this ambition, by having too many options and locations, the quality is spread thin and the lack of restrictions can daze some players.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 162
  1. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Utterly amazing. Long hours of game-play, amazing story line, many side quests, large map, and amazing DLC. This is my favorite game, myUtterly amazing. Long hours of game-play, amazing story line, many side quests, large map, and amazing DLC. This is my favorite game, my previous being Fallout: New Vegas. Collapse
  2. BrianTomson
    Feb 2, 2009
    10
    This was the best game i have ever played. I have beet in three times in the last week once i start playing i can't stop, it is veryThis was the best game i have ever played. I have beet in three times in the last week once i start playing i can't stop, it is very addicting. This totally blows away any other games i have ever played in the past, if they ever make a sequel i can not wait to get it and hopefully it will be as awesome as Fallout 3 Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    One of the best RPG's ever made and with a huge open world you will have hours upon hours of fun exploring the ruins of DC. I would recommendOne of the best RPG's ever made and with a huge open world you will have hours upon hours of fun exploring the ruins of DC. I would recommend the Game of the Year Edition if you can, due to all the excellent expansion packs that it has. A truly great game that i deeply recommend to anyone who enjoys action, exploring and an great storyline. Expand
  4. BilltheWhizz
    Nov 2, 2008
    9
    First off i think that this game is better than oblivion, i don't understand why it scored less on the metacritic score. it does have a First off i think that this game is better than oblivion, i don't understand why it scored less on the metacritic score. it does have a few bugs (don't go playing around in the ruble) and it can be frustrating at time's (be careful how you shoot), plus the conversation can be a tad lame; but overall a great game i can tell its going to very lengthy, well worth the money. one huge tip i would give is to keep plenty of different saves, and make sure you save before you do something drastic. A GOOD BUY. Expand
  5. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    This game is decent, for an RPG lover it will be a fun experience from start to end. The atmosphere and is well crafted and you will immerseThis game is decent, for an RPG lover it will be a fun experience from start to end. The atmosphere and is well crafted and you will immerse yourself in the setting. The main problem I had with this game was the combat, it's super simple and after a while it gets repetitive and boring. This game would have been a classic if it wasn't for the silly combat. Expand
  6. Oct 28, 2010
    8
    Fallout 3 Game Review
    Fallout 3 is an RPG created by Bethesda Softworks. Fallout 3 is set in post-apocalyptic Washington D.C. in the year of
    Fallout 3 Game Review
    Fallout 3 is an RPG created by Bethesda Softworks. Fallout 3 is set in post-apocalyptic Washington D.C. in the year of 2277 where nuclear war has scarred the face of human kind with various mutations of the people due to radiation. The player is able to explore this â
    Expand
  7. SHODAN
    Nov 5, 2008
    0
    In comparison to the earlier Black Isle Studios Fallouts, Bethesda's Fallout has: One-dimensional, illogical and forgettable characters In comparison to the earlier Black Isle Studios Fallouts, Bethesda's Fallout has: One-dimensional, illogical and forgettable characters with little to no personality. Simple, linear, unoriginal narrative. Poorly-written narrative. Poorly-written dialogue. Poorly-voiced dialogue. None of the series' trademark moral ambiguity. No real freedom (there are unkillable NPCs, unavoidable combat etc.). No real choices or consequences. Tactical combat has been removed. Importance of skills/perks/traits removed. Traits removed. Psychologically and emotionally complex quests no longer present. Nuclear power was a feared thing in post-apocalyptic Fallout, and the issue was dealt with intelligently with much subtle social commentary. In Fallout 3, you can shoot nuclear-powered cars with your nuclear catapult (early in the game...), in a town built around an unexploded nuclear bomb. Fallout 3 fails to deal with any of the interesting human issues that Fallout did. The game lacks any semblance of thoughtfulness. It's also shorter. And easier. The game abuses and contradicts established lore. Fallout 3 fails to even pathetically imitate it's decade-old predecessors' design, originality or meaningfullness. Let alone exceed it. Even when considered, unfairly, outside the context of being a sequel, it is an exceptionally arrogant, incompetent and poorly designed game all on its own. The animations are clunky and awkward. AI is atrocious. Combat is awkward. World textures and character models are ugly and lacking. Art direction is poor. Much of the crowded (who would have thought nuclear winter would be so claustrophobic?) "wasteland" is sloppily and lazily copy-pasted from place to place. The musical score is uninspired and in the style of LOTR-esque epic-fantasy (in fact it sounds very similar to Oblvion...) - which is completely inappropriate in this game's setting. To top it off, the whole thing is buggy and poorly optimized. And Bethesda's attitude towards the original games' fans has been utterly pathetic. Expand

See all 162 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.