Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Mar 9, 2011
    80
    Though the new gear is lackluster, the path opened to the level 35 cap and new perks is fair compensation.
  2. Mar 8, 2011
    80
    Obsidian delivers a first DLC that matches their Fallout: New Vegas : tense, captivating, despite its linearity. With a tiny bit more difficulty! Once more, we'd almost forget about the aging 3D engine of Bethesda and the poor AI. I experienced it like a little pen & paper RPG scenario of a single night. My thanks to the Obisidian Game Master.
  3. Mar 3, 2011
    74
    Dead Money isn't perfect, but neither was New Vegas. There are some interesting survival horror elements of Dead Money that will make you tense, and enough fun to make you come back for more. This DLC is certainly a solid edition to the Fallout world.
  4. Mar 7, 2011
    70
    So ultimately I think I was happier with the idea of what the designers of Dead Money were trying to accomplish than what they actually created. They put a far above average plot and built a framework of gameplay that somehow managed to break away from the Fallout formula. In the end, however, it's just too much. Too much sneaking around, too many traps, too many reloads. And there are seven more of these things yet to come? God help us all.
  5. Mar 1, 2011
    65
    Trial-and-error frustrations diminish the impact of this add-on's great characters and dialogue.
  6. Feb 26, 2011
    65
    If you already own New Vegas chances are that you've accepted the fact that the game doesn't run well. Dead Money is no different, so don't expect it to be. So for the patient souls out there, this fresh spin on Fallout is a decent buy.
  7. Mar 21, 2011
    60
    A missed opportunity, with Dead Money focusing on mostly the worst aspects of New Vegas. [Issue#203, p.98]
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    This DLC will make you suffer. It will make you squirm in pain. It'll make you develop cusses the human ear has yet to hear, not unlike **** godamnitychrist, and **** It will make you fear radio static. It will make you despise intercoms. And yet.. somehow after going through all this torture, the end story makes me feel just... wow. I think the plot REALLY makes up for this... Basically, it makes the pain you felt into a lesson about greed. You'll enjoy this if you like some darkness to your world, and some difficulty to your Fallout. Two words. Bear. Traps. Full Review »
  2. Dec 17, 2013
    2
    This just doesn't feel like fallout to me. It's too linear and everything you build up, every weapon you have lost.
    Worst thing is that it
    completely breaks the game. The lag is incredible and the game also froze a couple of times. Full Review »
  3. Nov 3, 2013
    8
    Dead Money is actually very interesting and its atmosphere quite unique. It serves as an exciting addition to Fallout: New Vegas. Too bad you can't go back to the Sierra Madre... Full Review »